Chinese show interest in IT, telecom sector
November 12, 2015
SHARE :
chinese-show-interest-in-it-telecom-sector-1447268554-1231.jpg

Our Staff Reporter
inShare
ISLAMABAD

A delegation of a Chinese consortium Wednesday visited Ministry of IT to explore investment opportunities in IT sector under Pak-China economic corridor.
The delegation was informed that country’s internet sector offers enormous investment opportunities to Chinese companies. The broadband penetration has risen from 3% to 15% over a short space of less than a year, and has an enormous potential. Visiting delegation showed their interest in IT parks, telecom infrastructure and local manufacturing of mobile handsets.
Chinese team expressed their resolve to continue their time tested partnership with Pakistan and resolved to invest in key sectors of economy to help reap mutual benefits.
The head of delegation Song thanked Minister for IT Anusha Rahman and showed his commitment to bring the big Chinese consortium to invest in IT and telecom sector.
In a separate development, Cabinet Division informed that it has shifted 68 percent of total office operations on Computer based E-Office software.
Within a short span of time the whole division will be completely shifted to e-office suit, a paperless environment, Federal Secretary Establishment Division Nadeem Hassan Asif informed ministry of IT officials during a meeting.

Compared to India and other countries we are still behind in internet usage in South Asia. We also only have graduates and people with masters degrees which make up only 6% of the population. A lot of work is still needed.

I love chinese , but they already fucked up telecom sector in Pakistan . Though calls are cheapest in Pakistan among the globe and Price of Huawei & ZTE equipment is almost 30% to 40% less than their competitors ( ericson , NSN )

But what on stake is the pay they are offering to engineers ! that's really humiliating and they expect to squeeze the blood out of them through work.

I love chinese , but they already fucked up telecom sector in Pakistan . Though calls are cheapest in Pakistan among the globe and Price of Huawei & ZTE equipment is almost 30% to 40% less than their competitors ( ericson , NSN )

But what on stake is the pay they are offering to engineers ! that's really humiliating and they expect to squeeze the blood out of them through work.
Hi, totally agree with you. Our regulatory authorities are fu*ked up. The equipment of these chinese companies maybe world class but the work culture environment is totally chinese and our pakistani brethren are just those, who due to less job availability are willing to work in these work environment or they are just plain stupid. In the end, its the responsibility of our regulatory authorities to straighten them out but who am i blabbering about.

bhai mere chines,marwadi se kam nahi hai ,when it comes to business

Indonesia more than 80 % local business control by chines,but very hard working and successful community

I have to agree with you here

The vendor business is almost taken over by ZTE and Huawei....

The likes of Ericsson and Alcatel completely pushed out

Part of the reason for the low wages is the saturation of engineers related to the telecom/electrical sector

u mentioned calls are cheapest , i,ll take that any day.i call it a win. the engineers are not obliged to work for them , look elsewhere.like in govt job where u dont have to work at all. just kiss *** and a lot of lip service

I have to agree with you here

The vendor business is almost taken over by ZTE and Huawei....

The likes of Ericsson and Alcatel completely pushed out

Part of the reason for the low wages is the saturation of engineers related to the telecom/electrical sector
and erricson and alcatel are PAKISTANI companies , i think not, let the best man or in this case company win

Hi, totally agree with you. Our regulatory authorities are fu*ked up. The equipment of these chinese companies maybe world class but the work culture environment is totally chinese and our pakistani brethren are just those, who due to less job availability are willing to work in these work environment or they are just plain stupid. In the end, its the responsibility of our regulatory authorities to straighten them out but who am i blabbering about.
totally disagree dont like em get urself another job, we have to start working as a nation and let go of govt job mentality that no work all pay

I thought Pakistan was better off than India than broadband connections @ per capita?
It has to do with culture. Many people feel that internet is a corrupting influence or is an unwanted luxury. Pakistanis don't know about the benefits of having internet and vast amount of knowledge and liberation from conservative thoughts it offers. 15% of the population has access to the internet and around 35% is middle class in Pakistan which can afford internet or have cars...

35% of population comes under middle class - The Express Tribune

It means that a lot of people who can afford internet are not using it. Even if we go by conservative estimates of Pakistans middle class being about 20% of the total population internet usage is still low.

Pakistanis are ahead in ownership automobiles though- have more cars than Indians on average. Though the choice is poor. Its been a long time since I have been to Lucknow but even then the car market was very diverse. Indians have a large number of cars and vehicles to choose from but there are more who can't afford cars. There is only a small variety of cars in Pakistan even though they are cheaper.

You should visit sometime. Our entire family moved to Karachi at one time or the other and we quickly integrated. You will see what I talk about as Pakistan being the only hope for muslims worldwide.

Capable engineers are getting what they deserved in Pakistan, a person with 3,4 years experience and with quality certifications can earn 6 digits salary easily.