Chinese company to get Tk 1,200cr this month

Doesnt BD have its own engg firm of repute??

To build Padma bridge??? Even India does not have the capacity... As far as I know the technology required for piling that deep only 4 companies in the world have that capacity.

But what if work isnt upto the mark, isnt this the reason you pay after satisfaction that the work meets the standard ?

Thats why you need pre qualification and previous reputation for the big projects. You wont be able to bid and win the contract only by quoting the price.
The smaller project where you have the question of inspecting and running bill after satisfaction of the work..

To build Padma bridge??? Even India does not have the capacity... As far as I know the technology required for piling that deep only 4 companies in the world have that capacity.
its nothing special AFAIK, seen some images ... looks straight forward, chinese have cost advantage, hence they were awarded the contract

Thats why you need pre qualification and previous reputation for the big projects. You wont be able to bid and win the contract only by quoting the price.

pre-qualification happens everywhere, construction companies are rated, but no-where does any govt pay-before hand for such projects , hence i had that astonishment

its nothing special AFAIK, seen some images ... looks straight forward, chinese have cost advantage, hence they were awarded the contract

:D every pillar you see in that bridge is 140 meter high. The depth of the water is 90 meter. The current in the river is enormous in monsoon season which carry the total water of Ganges and Brhamaputra together. Now you know it.

tubular steel pillars submerged unto the river bed, pump out water, lay foundation ?? It is enormous, but not rocket science

pre-qualification happens everywhere, construction companies are rated, but no-where does any govt pay-before hand for such projects , hence i had that astonishment

In the big project you must pay mobilization cash unless no company will be able to lend that amount of money in short notice from any bank. Construction companies do not leave billions of dollar sit idle for the projects.

tubular steel pillars submerged unto the river bed, pump out water, lay foundation ?? It is enormous, but not rocket science

Not rocket science, yet have you ever study mechanics?

In the big project you must pay mobilization cash unless no company will be able to lend that amount of money in short notice from any bank. Construction companies do not leave billions of dollar sit idle for the projects.

Ehhhr maay ghaaad, mechanics! :o::o: what specific part of mechanics makes this bridge so special :lol:

If a construction company isnt supported by the bank , in terms of Bank Guarantee and term loan, they do not qualify for the tender. No matter now Enormous the project is, it is always funded by the bank or the firm

do you have any knowledge about foundations ?

Ehhhr maay ghaaad, mechanics! :o::o: what specific part of mechanics makes this bridge so special :lol:
bhai crane kabhi kabhi band hojati hai na .. onsight ek mechanic rakhna padta hai :D

If a construction company isnt supported by the bank , in terms of Bank Guarantee and term loan, they do not qualify for the tender. No matter now Enormous the project is, it is always funded by the bank or the firm

You have zero knowledge, Samsung ,Hyundai, China Major bridge type companies ask guarantee from government not the other way around. Are you talking about your next door bridge contractor?

do you have any knowledge about foundations ?
It seems you have neither of them.

Fluid dynamics... Ohh well you the trolls, who am i talking.

You have zero knowledge, Samsung ,Hyundai, China Major bridge type companies ask guarantee from government not the other way around. Are you talking about your next door bridge contractor?

India, Uk and USA, company needs to give guarantee to the Government, 33 Km sea-link is being build in mumbai, all companies are providing bank guarantee to the govt

It seems you have neither of them.

Han bhai, we just throw rocks, balance them on one another and lay-foundation

India, Uk and USA, company needs to give guarantee to the Government, 33 Km sea-link is being build in mumbai, all companies are providing bank guarantee to the govt

Well, we cant take India as an example. :)
I said BD government is very good paymaker. The engineers will call you up before June to collect your dues unless they will be in trouble.

Han bhai, we just throw rocks, balance them on one another and lay-foundation

If that works for you, why should we complain?

Ands if its a PPP, the govt provides them permission that firm can collect toll's from passengers for a particular time, untill it recovers the cost of construction and maintenance for a particular year, no where the govt pay a guarantee or pre-payment, unless the company fears for payment after constructin

Well, we cant take India as an example. :)
I said BD government is very good paymaker. The engineers will call you up before June to collect your dues unless they will be in trouble.
Chalo tumhara paisa, you should know how to pay

If that works for you, why should we complain?
ya it is a brilliant balancing act

soil_right.png
:sleep::victory1:

Ands if its a PPP, the govt provides them permission that firm can collect toll's from passengers for a particular time, untill it recovers the cost of construction and maintenance for a particular year, no where the govt pay a guarantee or pre-payment, unless the company fears for payment after constructin

Chalo tumhara paisa, you should know how to pay

ya it is a brilliant balancing act

View attachment 36620 :sleep::victory1:

LOL, You mean Culvert? :D

Dude, padma bridge design is open for public... go read and learn. I am not civil engineer but if you are then its a good lesson for you. Thanks

This is a summary not detail design
http://www.iabse-bd.org/old/98.pdf

LOL, You mean Culvert? :D
:undecided:

Dude, padma bridge design is open for public... go read and learn. I am not civil engineer but if you are then its a good lesson for you. Thanks

This is a summary not detail design
http://www.iabse-bd.org/old/98.pdf
8 steel piles for foundation .. interesting, only drawback to this design is during earthquake, the movement will loosen the soul between the 8 tubular pile foundation, anyways the report says, actual soil resistance will only be tested once the digging starts, there would be a modification is soil is too soft for this design

If there are other companies that are capable finishing such project and charging lower price, welcome to assign such projects to other companies.

Are there any actually then???

Such a Shame, BD is under money crunch & this Hasina Led RAWAMY Govt. is showering Chinese company with huge sums even before the construction work has started.