China: Growing old before it can grow rich?

Korean

BBC News - China: Growing old before it can grow rich?

China: Growing old before it can grow rich?

By Mukul Devichand
BBC News

Will China's rapidly ageing population threaten its economic prosperity?
China's economic miracle has been accompanied by astonishingly rapid population ageing. Could growing old too fast end China's irresistible march out of poverty?

Where Shanghai leads, China follows. The city is ultra-modern - but also one of the fastest-ageing places on Earth.

The glitz of Shanghai's Bund, an avenue of skyscrapers, is close-by. But in the teeming lanes behind the skyscrapers, there are hundreds of fading blocks crammed with the elderly and poor.

The average age goes up as countries develop, because people live longer and have fewer children. But in China, the one-child policy has triggered a rapid decline in the birth rate.

"The speed of ageing in China is unique," says Professor Peng Xizhe, a leading demographer at Fudan University.

China has taken just 20 years to reach an age profile that took Britain or France 60 or 70 years, he says.

New figures show that one in four permanent Shanghai residents is now retired.

The rest of China is catching up - by the year 2050, a third of Chinese people, 450 million, will be aged over 60.

China is already getting "Japan old" well before it could get out of the 3rd world country status, and get forever stuck in the 3rd world status.

India doesn't face this problem thanks to high birthrate, and this is why all the economists project that India will overtake China soon to become the biggest economy on earth.

Chinese are converting in Grand Pa .......

I am wondering how would it be.....Army of Grand Pa.....:D

Dont think so. If ccp can implement 1 child policy, they can also implement 4 child policy, or even 10 child policy. :azn:

Chinese are converting in Grand Pa .......

I am wondering how would it be.....Army of Grand Pa.....:D

Its better to a rich old nation, than a poor young nation.

Dont think so. If ccp can implement 1 child policy, they can also implement 4 child policy, or even 10 child policy. :azn:

There aren't enough women for all the Chinese men to marry. Beside, young Chinese women prefer to become rich men's mistresses than a poor man's only wife.

If the one-child policy is lifted, then the average birth rate would rise to 2, and that's it.

In China's case, it is a poor old nation.

Good joke, it is like forcing someone to go for interc**rse..
CCP soldier -- " Chalo karo varna goli mar dunga "
Poor citizen -- " Saab aaj uuth nahi raha hai " :rofl:

@topic : I have heard that the chinese goevernment allows the people in villages to have two babies, if they want.. If they can implement it over other cities as well then this problem can solved to some extent..

Maybe they will build human farms in future....just to produce labours for their factories and to look after their aged citizens

There aren't enough women for all the Chinese men to marry. Beside, young Chinese women prefer to become rich men's mistresses than a poor man's only wife.

If the one-child policy is lifted, then the average birth rate would rise to 2, and that's it.

In China's case, it is a poor old nation.

You are making too many assumptions about China. Trust me its not that easy to guess what will happen with China in nxt 30 yrs. It has too much money right now. Bigger than thrice korean gdp. They can build as much as they want. They can fight 10 wars and still rebuild their nation. It is still the second fastest growing population and comparison with Japan is plain stupid o your part. Learn to accept facts. Even with massive mismatch in the economy, China has done the unthinkable and impossible. The population is controlled by CpC and can be kickstarted whenever they want.

@topic : I have heard that the chinese goevernment allows the people in villages to have two babies, if they want.. If they can implement it over other cities as well then this problem can solved to some extent..

Three exceptions.

1. Non-Han ethnic minorities can have two children.
2. Rural farmers can have two children if the first one is a girl.
3. Chinese citizens can have more than one child overseas(Including Hong Kong), then return home without a penalty.

You are making too many assumptions about China. Trust me its not that easy to guess what will happen with China in nxt 30 yrs.
There are plenty of examples to refer to.

sorry that kids will take another 25 years to become productive.. by that time it will be late already.. :lol:

if that was so simple Japan would also implement it!

wow indian trolling cheerleaders play nasty havocs on China's demographic and population issues again!

arent you guys more concerned about your backyards over these:

http://www.defence.pk/forums/central-south-asia/207472-almost-5-000-indian-children-die-daily.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/world-affairs/159643-indias-hunger-shame-3-000-children-starve-death-daily.html
Whats the point of posting this thing over here, this thread is for china. And the discussion is going well. If you want to post something about India post on those threads, not here..
@topic : BTW can someone post the female to male ratio for china ??

Nothing to be smug about. China maybe growing old before it gets rich but the West is going bust before it gets old. So essentially everyone is in the same boat.

Whats the point of posting this thing over here, this thread is for china. And the discussion is going well. If you want to post something about India post on those threads, not here..

that is why you guys only laugh at someones issues so as to avoid much bigger problems in your backyards. It is on common matters about demographics and population! You even cannot think out of the box on inter-related scenarios!

India taking over China very soon? Is marijuana legal over there for you to smoke Korean?

I wonder how an indian donning a Korean outfit will look like!?
Kind enough to show this for the entertainment of all members on PDF," Korean" please?!

If you bother reading the poster's comment he clearly thinks with India's mass "pig" productions your country would be the next biggest economy VERY SOON. So posting sources of India's death rate shows the current situation of India.