Centre puts missile test on hold

migflug

Centre Puts DRDO Missile Tests on Hold

http://www.newindianexpress.com/states/ ... 074072.ece

BALASORE: The tests of a couple of missiles developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) have been put on hold on administrative grounds.

If sources are to be believed, the scheduled tests of nuclear capable 4,000-km range ballistic missile Agni-IV and Advanced Air Defence (AAD), dubbed as ‘Ashwin’, have been deferred as the Centre is yet to give the green signal to Launch Authorisation Board (LAB).

As the last trial of Ashwin on April 6 had failed, the DRDO scientists were working on the mission meticulously to make it a grand success.

In fact, the DRDO had requested the State Government to impose marine fishing ban in a radius of 30 kms from the coast of Balasore, Bhadrak, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara and Puri districts from September 29 to October 1 for the proposed test from Integrated Test Range (ITR).

The ban on fishing, first of its kind in the history of any missile test, was imposed in strict adherence with the Coast Guard and State agencies launching an awareness drive among the fishermen.

While DRDO sources said the tests were deferred apprehending its impact on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s foreign tour, sources in the Ministry of Defence (MoD) informed that the PM wanted DRDO to complete the delayed projects first instead of going for repeated trials.

“Communication in this regard has been issued to the DRDO Chief after a review meeting on the performance. DRDO has about 535 ongoing research and development projects worth over `50,000 crore. But most of its projects, starting from the light combat aircraft (LCA) to air-to-air missile systems, are running years behind schedule with huge cost over-runs,” said an official.

The delayed projects include long range air-to-air Astra missile, advanced light weight Torpedo, dual colour missile approach warning system for fighter aircraft, air borne early warning and control system, aero engine Kaveri, Naval light combat aircraft project and long range surface-to-air missile.

Meanwhile, worried with the escalation of costs due to DRDO’s failure to complete the projects in time, Modi has asked all project in-charges to submit a monthly report. The Centre had recently separated the posts of DRDO Chief and Scientific Advisor (SA) to the Defence Minister. Earlier, the DRDO Chief used to hold three important portfolios - Director General of Research and Development (DG R&D), Secretary of Department of Defence Research and Development and the SA.

A Parliamentary Committee in its recent report had also criticised the work culture of DRDO while the armed forces, the users of DRDO developed products, had expressed dissatisfaction over the performance of equipment.

Contacted, an ITR official said the test teams from Bengaluru are camping here. “Though the dates have not been fixed, some missions are on the pipeline,” he said denying to divulge much on the proposed missions

:hitwall::hitwall::hitwall::hitwall: ye kya ho raha hai
Clean up of DRDO. PM Modi is taking personal interest in the DRDO activities, asking for the monthly report. Thorough tuning is required in DRDO, and the govt. have done right to speed up and complete the unfinished project first. The working aproach of Modi is clear, first complete the earlier work, and show the report and then demand the money for the new projects or more tests no problem.

There are three groups of people working in DRDO
1. Who are hardworking and talented and want to work.
2. Who are talented but their talent is to interfere in the work of the 1st group.
3. Who don't have any talent nor they added anything on the work

So the actual output is 1st-2nd + 0 devided by 3 i.e 1/3

Gauging the actual work done because the budget is already allocate without result is the only thing that atleast 2/3 of output should come, so that the 3rd group could get its share of the budget.

Putting tests on hold ?

MODI had already returned from USA

Something not right..

:hitwall::hitwall::hitwall::hitwall: ye kya ho raha hai

Clean up of DRDO. PM Modi is taking personal interest in the DRDO activities, asking for the monthly report. Thorough tuning is required in DRDO, and the govt. have done right to speed up and complete the unfinished project first. The working aproach of Modi is clear, first complete the earlier work, and show the report and then demand the money for the new projects or more tests no problem.
There are three groups of people working in DRDO
1. Who are hardworking and talented and want to work.
2. Who are talented but their talent is to interfere in the work of the 1st group.
3. Who don't have any talent nor they added anything on the work
So the actual output is 1st-2nd + 0 devided by 3 i.e 1/3
Gauging the actual work done because the budget is already allocate without result is the only thing that atleast 2/3 of output should come, so that the 3rd group could get its share of the budget.

Putting tests on hold ?

MODI had already returned from USA

Something not right..

Could have been tactically delayed as the MTCR application was being reviewed.

No decision at MTCR meeting - The Hindu

May be americans were not impressed by modi...

So to complete some delayed projects , they are delaying some other projects ....... wonderfull thinking from part of the govt ...... :hitwall:

May be americans were not impressed by modi...
It is the Pakistan who's aim could be that to impress Americans not Modi, he believe in partnership and deals and buisness because he is Baniya Budhi.

Could have been tactically delayed as the MTCR application was being reviewed.

No decision at MTCR meeting - The Hindu
Repeated tests of ABM which is defensive weapon, shouldn't have any problem, but may be some countries views may be different for the anti ballistic approach which leads the adversaries to go for more offensive and destructive arms race like MRV. Anyway its international politics and Modi and other foreign experts knows better than you and me and only thing that we can do is to speculate whats going on.

Tests should have been done
BUT
Soundbytes post success with tall claims by the successful team and asking for more budget should not be there.

535 projetcs, 50k invested, cost over runs, delays etc tec means lots of work to put house in order.
So do test keep quiet and move on to making the already delayed next project a success

A4 is not the big issue but rather a multi layered defence shield in ABM mode is very critical. In that sense LR SAM project was vital which is still under work. Astra should be priortised for sure. Many critical projects are delayed too long with inadequate explanation to MOD/GOI which now is very critical of such delays.

Also i believe a stern message needs to go to make everybody as defined in post#4 (@knight11 thats very wonderful and critically correct analysis) increase output efficiency level form 33% to at least 66%

It is the Pakistan who's aim could be that to impress Americans not Modi, he believe in partnership and deals and buisness because he is Baniya Budhi.

Repeated tests of ABM which is defensive weapon, shouldn't have any problem, but may be some countries views may be different for the anti ballistic approach which leads the adversaries to go for more offensive and destructive arms race like MRV. Anyway its international politics and Modi and other foreign experts knows better than you and me and only thing that we can do is to speculate whats going on.
For your Info Pakistan already developed and tested MRV and working on MIRV, I think tests were delayed because of technical issues.

Wait guys. these sort of test can not be hold back for a long time. Soon you will see them tested. If you remember that some test were put on hold during the Obama visit also. AAD test is very important. We have developed a new vehicle, light and more agile better speed. That shall increase the lethality of weapon. I am very eager to see it successfully tested.

For your Info Pakistan already developed and tested MRV and working on MIRV, I think tests were delayed because of technical issues.
Thanks for the info but my no where Pakistan was mentioned in my post

Tests should have been done
BUT
Soundbytes post success with tall claims by the successful team and asking for more budget should not be there.

535 projetcs, 50k invested, cost over runs, delays etc tec means lots of work to put house in order.
So do test keep quiet and move on to making the already delayed next project a success

A4 is not the big issue but rather a multi layered defence shield in ABM mode is very critical. In that sense LR SAM project was vital which is still under work. Astra should be priortised for sure. Many critical projects are delayed too long with inadequate explanation to MOD/GOI which now is very critical of such delays.

Also i believe a stern message needs to go to make everybody as defined in post#4 (@knight11 thats very wonderful and critically correct analysis) increase output efficiency level form 33% to at least 66%

535 projects and 50,000 crores with most of the project due to the LCA program. What really needed is the National level mecahanism/authority/Entity/Organisation comprises of the Defense personal from army, navy, airforce, strategic experts and the R&D personal free from political bafoons to work whether to experiment/R&D/Thesis/Study to come up with the idea for building the defence industry for the future and long lasting goal and direct DRDO or R&D PSU to work on that field. Not that sudenly DRDO came up with the idea to make hypersonic, reusable cruise missile and Army don't have where they are going to use it. Or Air Force wanted F-22 raptor par fighter plane to fire missile in Beijing and don't know A B C D that 5th Gen fighter is not a plane but the technology in which the plane is just a small part of the system, and India don't produce PHD's to do research in such tech. and country could not achieve so.

This organisation will advice the GOI, DRDO/PSUs/Armed Force and take advice from them. E.g Drdo came up with the superb idea and think that they can make this or Army feels to have dominance such thing they needs to nullify this threat and needs something, or Govt advice is that for 5 years they can only invest only that much money. So the organisation takes all recomendations and do its R&D to check whether DRDO have such capability to do so in such budget and decided how much time does it takes on the basis of the requirement of the Armed forces keeping in mind the budget allocated or any political problem of the civil govt by doing such project. This will act as the bridge for govt, armed force, and R&D PSU.

DRDO should only concentrate on R&D and development of the task they were given.

Govt will provide the money, and takes the advice to take measures that have long lasting affects, like setting up engineering college to produce more scientists or phd holders in some particular field.

Word with the DRDO/PSU in shaping the defence industy on his requirement rather looking to the face of psu and govt.

Thanks for the info but my no where Pakistan was mentioned in my post
Read your post and you will get it why i mentioned Pakistan have MRV and developing MIRV.
If you are clue less then here is my point India / Modi may be thinking if they developed and test ABM this may lead Pakistan to develop MIRV warheads which is unstoppable by any kind of known ABM's

Read your post and you will get it why i mentioned Pakistan have MRV and developing MIRV.
If you are clue less then here is my point India / Modi may be thinking if they developed and test ABM this may lead Pakistan to develop MIRV warheads which is unstoppable by any kind of known ABM's
Janab you are derailing the thread, there is no link to the Pakistan's Super ability of R&D and development instead related to slow and problems in DRDO. I advice you to go to the Pakistani section where I am ban to go by our mod @Horus , so whatever you want to say or claim pls do that in Pakistani sections of thread and leave us Indians to Dwell in peace and whatever we could achieve.