'Cast based' crematorium.

Spring Onion

PDF VETERAN
Jaisalmer plans to set up crematoriums by caste

JAISALMER: For the dead in the desert town of Jaisalmer, their caste tag lives on. A government agency for urban affairs in the western Rajasthan district has sanctioned separate and clearly marked cremation grounds for different castes and communities.

The Urban Improvement Trust (UIT) in its board meeting on July 10 adopted the proposal for developing 47 new crematoriums and sanctioned Rs 5 crore for the project. The money will be spent as per the requirement of various castes and sub-castes, from across the hierarchy. Some of the 47 groups allocated cremation sites are nai, darji, bhatia, kumhar, puskaran, grahaman, ranvanarajput, maheshwari, soni and jeenagar. The UIT is under the jurisdiction of the state's urban development and housing ministry.

"We have taken this decision as people do not like to take bodies to crematoriums that serve several castes. At times, one caste denies others permission to perform last rites in the crematorium designated for their castes," said UIT chairman Umaid Singh Tanwar. The tender has been proposed and the trust is now waiting for a nod from the state government.

Experts warned such an act by a government agency was a violation of the Constitution. "It is very unfortunate and in complete violation of constitutional norms and scientific temper. When you take birth, unfortunately your caste identity is established. But it is beyond rationality that society can even discriminate a body on the basis the dead person's caste," said Rajiv Gupta, former head of sociology, Rajasthan University.

The stamp of legitimacy provided by the UIT comes just ahead of elections in state and is seen by many as a way to appease voters from all sections in an area which is sparsely populated and winning margins are thin. Defending their stand, officials claimed that it was their public responsibility to cater to the people's demands.

Surprisingly post-death apartheid is not new in the town. There are already cremation grounds for different communities like bissa and maheshwari. Several makeshift grounds have been developed by a few other communities. In fact, after tenders were invited by the UIT through advertisements in local newspapers, public representatives brought to the authorities' notice that three or four communities had been left out. These were later included in the list.

"The practice of cremating people in their respective caste grounds has existed since the time when Jaisalmer was a princely state. Even today, these crematoriums are registered in revenue records and municipal council records. It is old tradition here and there is nothing weird about it," said Tanwar.

Jaisalmer plans to set up crematoriums by caste - The Times of India

Caste system is still a big problem in India I guess..

yes we still have caste system in india but now it has entered politics also.its still prevalent in rural areas.in urban areas the distinctions are negligible .one doesnt ask the server in mc'donalds what caste does he belong to when he gives the order.but in rural areas situation is worse than urban,but better than before.things are getting better

yes we still have caste system in india but now it has entered politics also.its still prevalent in rural areas.in urban areas the distinctions are negligible .one asks the server what caste does he belong to when he gives the order.in rural areas situation is worse than urban,but better than before.things are getting better

Who is responsible for it?

Can public awareness programmes change it?

Arre..

Election is near, these Politicians will offer the moon.

Things which should stamped out are encouraged.

Good news. This should help Modi come to power. :yay:
Jaisalmer plans to set up crematoriums by caste

JAISALMER: For the dead in the desert town of Jaisalmer, their caste tag lives on. A government agency for urban affairs in the western Rajasthan district has sanctioned separate and clearly marked cremation grounds for different castes and communities.

The Urban Improvement Trust (UIT) in its board meeting on July 10 adopted the proposal for developing 47 new crematoriums and sanctioned Rs 5 crore for the project. The money will be spent as per the requirement of various castes and sub-castes, from across the hierarchy. Some of the 47 groups allocated cremation sites are nai, darji, bhatia, kumhar, puskaran, grahaman, ranvanarajput, maheshwari, soni and jeenagar. The UIT is under the jurisdiction of the state's urban development and housing ministry.

"We have taken this decision as people do not like to take bodies to crematoriums that serve several castes. At times, one caste denies others permission to perform last rites in the crematorium designated for their castes," said UIT chairman Umaid Singh Tanwar. The tender has been proposed and the trust is now waiting for a nod from the state government.

Experts warned such an act by a government agency was a violation of the Constitution. "It is very unfortunate and in complete violation of constitutional norms and scientific temper. When you take birth, unfortunately your caste identity is established. But it is beyond rationality that society can even discriminate a body on the basis the dead person's caste," said Rajiv Gupta, former head of sociology, Rajasthan University.

The stamp of legitimacy provided by the UIT comes just ahead of elections in state and is seen by many as a way to appease voters from all sections in an area which is sparsely populated and winning margins are thin. Defending their stand, officials claimed that it was their public responsibility to cater to the people's demands.

Surprisingly post-death apartheid is not new in the town. There are already cremation grounds for different communities like bissa and maheshwari. Several makeshift grounds have been developed by a few other communities. In fact, after tenders were invited by the UIT through advertisements in local newspapers, public representatives brought to the authorities' notice that three or four communities had been left out. These were later included in the list.

"The practice of cremating people in their respective caste grounds has existed since the time when Jaisalmer was a princely state. Even today, these crematoriums are registered in revenue records and municipal council records. It is old tradition here and there is nothing weird about it," said Tanwar.

Jaisalmer plans to set up crematoriums by caste - The Times of India

Never heard of different cremation grounds before, this is utter nonsense to have caste based systems

Who is responsible for it?

Can public awareness programmes change it?

nobody.its the system created from centuries.not just hindus we have castiesm in muslims,sikhs and christians also.castiesm per say is not bad.the varna system which is a basis for castiesm in india is an open stratification.hindu texts say that by birth everybody is a sudra and by gaining knowledge one goes up the stratification.but as the times passed some people have misinterpreted the essense and made them favorable to themselves.our laws grant affirmative action against underprevilaged.our constitution guard the right to equality seriously.untouchbility is banned.public awareness will not yield result.only education and enabling environment for the equal participation of masses in the society will change the attitude.i must say that globalization and liberalization along with education and affirmative action have improved the situation.today brahmins are in leather industry.a dalit is working as priests in temples.as the generations pass people will become more liberal.inercaste phenomenon is a regular site today.and after a few generations it will be jusst as common as intra caste marriage.its more a cultural thing..people with smae casts tend to have similar culture and so they try to stick together.as i said because of globalization everything is getting assimilated in to others cultures so things are getting better only that things cant be reversed overnight which were developed centuries ago

overnight???

knowledge does not mean varna system does not mean that knowledge will also give you right to bar your fellows from same faith from entering your temples.

and outdated ideology or varna system must end now.

[Bregs];4760810 said:
Never heard of different cremation grounds before, this is utter nonsense to have caste based systems

rich or poor this or that cast everyone becomes ashes at the end.

overnight???

knowledge does not mean varna system does not mean that knowledge will also give you right to bar your fellows from same faith from entering your temples.

All becomes ashes in he end and all are immersed in sacred Ganga, this all is tamasha to satisfy communal ego of superiority

overnight???

varna system is different from caste system.varna system is more an open stratification which means ur status is decided by ur hard work rather than by birth.which is prettymuch a modern phenomenon.it was transformed in to caste system which is in practice today.i my self dont like caste system. and i'd like to think that it must disappear overnight.but as i said a system which was created from centuries can not be discarded so easliy.it takes generations to make the system more liberal discarding the evil practices.