BREAKING! Mars Orbiter Put In Orbit Successfully!!

Border issues should not be an obstacle to bilateral friendship and cooperation, we are friends, we want to develop together common prosperity.
Well with modi... that can be a issue!!! But I really hope to see sino-indo cooperation in bigger levels! !!

I congratulated India for its achievements, but also reminded Indians that this is only the first step - the baby steps - and that India has a long way to go to become a premier space power. Then I was attacked for no reason by some creature.

This is a proud moment for us. I hope you felt the same when you walked the space. Even though others have achieved it before it is still first for your country. Feel proud of human achievement and encourage these endeavours. You don't have remind us what we are because we already know. Thanks but no thanks.

Couldn't say better, my 2 cents too!!!

I felt that the spacewalk was an engineering achievement - not one of basic or applied science. It was done before, the question was how to do it independently at the lowest cost. I'm wide awake on these issues.

In my opinion, the only time an Asian country will truly achieve breakthroughs in space is when a major astronomical discovery is made at an Asian institution with an Asian satellite/probe/telescope.

nice... well done to ISRO! Glad to see there are some organisations in India doing a real good job... Thank god ISRO is run actually by real professionals & top notch scientists. Not any netas or babus!

Did you see Sanjay Jha being r***d by Arnab tonight on Times Now for trying to argue that MMS should have been given credit by Modi for the mission

Congratulations Indian friends, that's a big achievement!!

Thank you!!

I am waiting for the day, when India helps Afghanistan launch its own sattelite.. I wish that moment come soon enough..

Congrats!

I hope it will inspire Indian youth to study physics and engineering.
Thanks!!

India got a huge number of youth studying physics and engineering, but since there were not many opportunities to excel in these fields out there till very recently, many of them move to western countries. Achievements like these will help India keep outflow of its stock of brilliant minds in check!!

Congrats!

I hope it will inspire Indian youth to study physics and engineering.
Actually lots of Indian students study/are interested in physics and engineering (unlike west). Problem in these fields in India is at the higher education level. Cutting edge research in lacking. Hopefully this will encourage people to focus on that. ISRO is one success story we need many more. Very proud of ISRO.

Total traveling distance 68 crore kilometers and total cost is 454 crore rupees.
That makes it 6.67 rupees cost per km.

Still less than Indian auto rickshaw charge per km..

o_O

I felt that the spacewalk was an engineering achievement - not one of basic or applied science. It was done before, the question was how to do it independently at the lowest cost. I'm wide awake on these issues.

In my opinion, the only time an Asian country will truly achieve breakthroughs in space is when a major astronomical discovery is made at an Asian institution with an Asian satellite/probe/telescope.

I agree that this was not a breakthrough in any meaningful way because there is already a rover on the Mars surface relaying data back to earth. This rover did not detect any methane on Mars surface. If MOM can find any trace of methane then it would be a first. Chandrayan to moon detected the water before we lost communication.So, we will never know what to expect from this Mars mission. Keep watching....

India scripted history on Wednesday when it successfully put the Mars mission in Mars orbit. With this, India becomes the first and the only country to pull something of this magnitude leaving China and Japan behind. But behind such a huge successful launch there's always a team which requires a special mention and not just in end-credits. We bring you the 14 brains behind Mangalyaan who helped put India in the elite club.

1. K Radhakrishnan: He is the chairman of Isro and secretary, department of space. The 65-year-old avionic engineer graduated in engineering from Kerala University in 1970. Radhakrishnan also has an MBA degree from IIM-Bangalore and he also got a doctorate from IIT-Kharagpur. Besides being a top space scientist, Radhakrishnan is an enthusiast of Kerala's classical art form Kathakali and a keen music lover. He received a Padma Bhushan in 2014.

5a47449a99c33d15a5ae5e91d4972352.jpg

2. M Annadurai: He is the programme director of Mars Orbiter Mission. Mylswamy Annadurai joined Isro in 1982 and was the project director for Chandrayaan I, Chandrayaan II, ASTROSTAT, Aditya -I and the Mars Obiter Mission. Annadurai and his works are mentioned in the 10th standard Science Text Book of Tamil Nadu. Born in Kodhawady near Pollachi in Coimbatore district of Tamil Nadu, Annadurai has been leading many Remote Sensing and Science missions at Isro.

5b3c9d5c7ce217bf0b41b36046a48ddf.jpg

3. S Ramakrishnan: Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre and Member Launch Authorisation Board. A senior Isro scientist has more than four decades of experience in rocketry in the Indian space programme. Joined Isro in the August of 1972 , Ramakrishnan played a key role in the development of PSLV which carried the Mangalyaan into the space. He had said, "From here to go to Mars we are going to use only a fraction of what we did in getting to the (Earth) orbit." The challenge for him was the launch of the rocket. He said the launch window was only five minutes. Ramakrishnan is a mechanical engineer from the College of Engineering, Guindy, Chennai. He received his M.Tech in Aerospace from IIT-Madras with the first rank.

e5913005aa84a11b7e39e42ac344f758.jpg

4. SK Shivakumar: Director of Isro Satellite Centre, Shivakumar joined Isro in 1976. He was part of the team that developed the telemetry system for Chandrayaan-I, India's first lunar exploration mission. He also developed satellite technology and implemented satellite systems for scientific, technological and application missions. He said, "Our baby is up in the space. It was almost like a caesarean."

ba4f1ead47727336fb6aff848f900063.jpg

5. V Adimurthy: Born in Andhra Pradesh and educated at IIT-Kanpur, Adimurthy joined Isro in 1973 and was the Mission Concept Designer of Mars Orbiter Mission. He was also awarded the Padma Shri in 2012.

95b6b3f7ed266fd901ee282cf455f2a1.jpg

6. P Kunhikrishnan: He is the Mission Director for the launcher. From the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre in Thiruvananthapuram, Kunhikrishnan has seven successful PSLV launches under his belt since 2009. He was appointed the mission director for the ninth time. He was responsible for seeing the rocket completes its mission successfully and that the satellite is correctly injected in the designated orbit. The challenge for him was that the orbital characteristic of the Mars Mission is different from regular PSLV missions.

53540cdb09a6a538ad8a683a40a99bb6.jpg

7. Chandradathan: Took over as the Director of the Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre in 2013. He joined ISRO in 1972. Initially, he worked for the SLV-3 project during its design phase and later was involved in the development of solid propellant formulations for SLV-3. Over three decades, Chandradathan made contribution to the realisation of solid motors for sounding rockets, SLV-3, ASLV and PSLV.

34cb772754d62b0abbacc4531815a6b4.jpg

8. AS Kiran Kumar: Joined Isro in 1975, Kumar is the Director of Satellite Application Centre. He was responsible for designing and building three of the orbiter payloads - the Mars Colour Camera, Methane Sensor and Thermal Infrared Imaging Spectrometer. The challenge before him was miniaturising the components as the satellite does not provide much space.

14e92672ad93ee1f9a7b8f924a54c37c.jpg

9. MYS Prasad: He is the director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre and chairman of the Launch Authorisation Board. From 1975 to 1994, he worked in the launch vehicle development programmes of Isro. He was part of the project Ttam of SLV-3, the first indigenously developed launch vehicle of India. As the launch was during northeast monsoon season the challenge was to enhance weather forecasting capability to 10 days and simultaneously carrying out preparatory work for Mars Mission while dismantling the GSLV rocket after the mission was aborted earlier this year.

b2d81684595bbf66a4576f571f0eda2d.jpg

10. S Arunan: He is the project director of Mangalyaan. Arunan was responsible for leading a team to build the spacecraft. The challenge for him was to build a new communication system, which would largely be autonomous so that it could take decision and 'wake up' the orbiter engine after 300 days.

022dcbbfcf0632a17e3c58b932a2db06.jpg

11. B Jayakumar: The associate project director of PSLV project, Jayakumar was responsible for the rocket systems, testing till the final lift-off.

12. MS Pannirselvam: The chief general manager of range operation director at Sriharikota Rocket port, Pannirselvam was responsible for maintaining launch schedules without any slippages.

13. V Kesava Raju: He is the mission director of Mangalyaan. Raju and his team will track the journey of the MOM in the outer space.

14. V Koteswara Rao: He is the Isro scientific secretary.