Another View Point : Devyani Khobragade incident exposes Indian hypocrisy

PARIKRAMA

Devyani Khobragade incident exposes Indian hypocrisy

New Delhi: India has finally managed to force the American government to send Indian Foreign Service officer Devyani Khobragade home. After a month long legal and diplomatic battle, Devyani is on her way back to India.

For the first time, since Independence the Indian Foreign Service (IFS) was so outraged over an alleged insult to Indian sovereignty and just to save one of their own from the US laws, the lobby flexed its muscles. The reaction was unprecedented. The government also played into the hands of the IFS lobby, totally ignoring the plight of a poor house maid Sangeeta Richards, who is also an Indian.

After she left for India, an elated father of Devyani said, "I want to thank the MEA, PM, Media for their support. We've got justice today. Devyani is coming back to India now. She has left with full diplomatic immunity, thus vindicating the stand that only Indian courts can adjudicate the matter. We weren't concerned whether Devyani continues in US or not."

Indian diplomatic corps wants the rest of India to believe that Devyani is a victim. Its a knee-jerk reaction to the incident, removing security barricades outside the US embassy, withdrawing their diplomatic privileges and finally asking the US embassy to shut its bar and spa have proved that our diplomats can go to any extent to save their skin in the name of national 'honour'.

A large section of the media also fell for it. Without bothering to ascertain the facts, the media went on a high decibel anti-America campaign.

Many right thinking Indians were horrified by the reaction. There have been much more serious incidents of US insulting India in the past. The media and some political parties wanted the government to act against the US. The same IFS lobby was keeping quite. It was almost unconcerned. They did not want the Indian government to act against the US. They were advising the government not to do what the media and political parties want the government to do. As a seasoned journalists said, "They were busy wining and dining with the same Americans."

Where was the IFS anger after 26/11? Where was the IFS anger after the US refused to hand over David Hedley, the master mind of 26/11 attack on Mumbai?

Where was the IFS anger after the Italian marines killed poor Indian fishermen? Where was the IFS anger after several dozens of Indians were sent to jail abroad on trumped up charges? Where was the IFS anger after Chinese troops entered the Indian soil? There was a complete silence. The IFS lobby behaved like as if such incidents never happened.

As per the US laws, what Devyani has allegedly committed is a serious crime. She is accused ill treating her maid and not paying the stipulated salary.

All of us know how the rich and influential treat their servants and maids at home. Nobody would be surprised, if we do the same thing even in America? There is no reason for us not to believe the version of Sangeeta Richards on her employer Devyani.

Disregarding Sangeeta's rights and plights, the Indian government also backed Devyani and even threatened Sangeeta with arrest. But, the US, which believes in equal rights wanted to make an example of Devyani case. It went ahead with the prosecution.

The whole incident has exposed Indian hypocrisy and it's established classes utter contempt for the under privileged. All of them wanted to save a well paid, well 'educated', well off diplomat from going to jail in the US for an alleged serious crime. How can Devyani, claim that she wants to fight for the rights of Dalit women, if she can't treat her own poor maid with minimum dignity?

Jeremy Carl a Research Fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, and a former resident of India who has written extensively on Indian politics and US-India relations makes a scathing attack on India's overreaction and silence over the real victim the maid in a hard-hitting piece on CNN website in following sentences.

Carl writes, "In addition to the Indian government's extremely provocative steps, the treatment of the case by most of the Indian media has also shown a substantial moral blind spot: Few members of either the commentariat or the political class, neither of whom were short on outrage over Khobragade's treatment, seemed to evince much sympathy for the maid in question, who, if prosecutors are believed, has been the victim of a crime, not the perpetrator of one.

Quite to the contrary, according to Indian media reports, the maid's family in India were threatened when she made her initial complaint and eventually were temporarily brought to the US to assure their safety during the prosecution.

The deafening silence in the maid's defense, in favor of a full-throated defense of an alleged criminal of the higher social class, tells a sad story about the reality of power and privilege in India that will be familiar to many foreigners who have spent substantial time in the country.

Indian politicians play frequent lip service to the "aam admi" or common man, but the Indian press is daily filled with accounts of horrific mistreatment meted out by upper-class Indians against India's "common citizens" (for example, just last month a member of India's parliament was arrested for beating a servant to death -- allegedly over the quality of her dusting). In that context, it is worth noting that this is not the first recent case of alleged abuse of domestic servants at India's New York Consulate."

As the US media and some right thinking journalists back home rightly said, the Devyani incident is a wake up call for India's aam aadmi. India's bureaucracy, India's Police service, India's Diplomats and its privileged class will never fight for its poor. The political class is a puppet in their hands. When their cosy club's existence is threatened, they stand up and fight in the name national 'honour'.

Whatever may be the truth in Devyani case, Indian government must conduct an independent inquiry into the whole incident. If Devyani is found guilty, she should face the Indian laws, which is not an 'insult' to our sovereignty.

Poor house maid Sangeeta Richards, who is now facing an uncertain future in the US, must also get justice. Afterall, our Constitution says that all are equal. In a real democracy, poor and helpless people should be more equal than the rich and powerful.

Writer details

D P Satish,

DP SATISH @dpsatishcnnibn
I am a Journalist. I love books, cinema, music, Cricket and much more!! A hillman by birth and heart!!

Rightly said by the writer...

There's something fishy about this whole episode...

Devyani Khobragade owns 11 properties including a flat in Adarsh society

Mumbai: Devyani Khobragade, the Indian diplomat who is at the centre of a diplomatic row with the US, is one of the 25 allottees who have been found ineligible to own a flat in the controversial Adarsh Housing society by a judicial panel which probed the scam.

According to Maharashtra government rules, an official applying for a flat under a government quota has to give a signed affidavit stating that they do not own any other flat.

Devyani had an apartment in Oshiwara locality in the city which too she had got under the government quota.

devyani-khobragade-property-221211.jpg

Seven of Devyani's properties including land have been shown as inherited from her father Uttam Khobragade.
Her father Uttam Khobragade, a retired IAS officer, was alleged to have facilitated extra floor space index (FSI) to the upscale 31-storey Adarsh society in Colaba by transferring an adjoining Brihanmumbai Electric Supply and Transport Undertaking (BEST) plot to the society.

Uttam Khobragade has, however, denied any wrongdoing in the scam.

"We purchased the flat under the reserved quota after paying the correct price. Why should we return the flat," he asked.

Apart from the flat in Adarsh society, Devyani has 10 more immovable properties, according to her property returns for year ending December 31, 2012, available on the Ministry of External Affairs website.

The collective present value of seven of these properties has been shown at little over Rs 78 lakh, while that of the flat in Adarsh building is Rs 90 lakh. The value of three properties has not been mentioned in the return.

The purchase of the flat in Adarsh society, according to the return, was made from proceeds from the sale of her flat in Meera Cooperative Housing Society at Oshiwara.

Seven of the properties including land have been shown as inherited from her father of given by him as gift.

Her annual income from five of the 11 properties has been shown at Rs 1.26 lakh. While eight of these properties are in Maharashtra, two others are in Ernakulam district of Kerala and one in Gautam Buddha Nagar in Uttar Pradesh.

The Maharashtra government has rejected the conclusions of the report.

The row between India and the US erupted after Khobragade, the Indian Deputy Consul General in New York, was arrested in the US for alleged visa fraud and subjected to ill-treatment.

devyani-khobragade-property-details.jpg

Can anybdy throw light the remuneration of say a diplomat like devyani or her father?? umm.. i just wish to understand.. buying a property in mumbai requires huge bank loans for 20 years.. ( i am also a salaried guy after all)// the above properties makes me wonder why i passed my engineering and MBA from tier 1 colleges with scholarship and living a life where i know i may have to take a 20 year loan to buy a house.. may be i shud have also tried IAS and IFS.. at least i cud have been more well off then..

May be i am wrong.. pls if sumbdy can shed some light i wud be greatful..

I guess Indian court won't be lenient on Devyani. She should be booked under stipulated IPC for forgery and irregularity in Adarsh scam.Make example of her in India.

Devyani Khobragade owns 11 properties including a flat in Adarsh society

OMG ..... Dr. Devyani owns 11 properties !!!!!

This is unacceptable. She must be arrested and humiliated.

India is a poor country and everyone must either own no house or only 1 property. Worse is she is a dalit who owns 11 properties.....only Brahmins can own so many properties. Shame Shame puppy shame.

I guess Indian court won't be lenient on Devyani. She should be booked under stipulated IPC for forgery and irregularity in Adarsh scam.Make example of her in India.
but if property's are gifted to her she cant be prosecuted(I don't know if they are brought by her or not) ,it's her Father who GIFTED her Property has to face trial(if they are brought illegally) , and i think the JUSTICE SHALL BE SERVED by not only dragging him into courts but there are 1000's of corrupt politicians and bureaucrats who are corrupt and they should be Punished too.
but again it wont stop the corruption (that does not mean we should not DRAG them to courts) ,because "BIMARI KA JAAD SE ILLAJ HONA CHAIHE" so don't just break branches of tree,they will grow again you have to strike at very roots of problem.
and this can be done by Draggign the Italian MAFIIA Queen and her crazy son including Robot wardrobe to courts.

THANKS.

LOL

India is a poor country and everyone must either own no house or only 1 property. Worse is she is a dalit who owns 11 properties.....only Brahmins can own so many properties. Shame Shame puppy shame.

LOL i laughed at ur post... owing 100 properties is also ok if she did it with ethical terms.. if its nt then its a shame for all of us.. BTW, i have also friends who are dalits and were my batchmates in IIT,,, they dont owe 11 properties and they do take a housing loan to build 1 house,, 7 properties of Ms Devyani 's rental income cannot be 1.26 lacs where 2 Bhk rent in mumbai varies from 15K -35K depending on the locality..

it's property not properties but ...dear Brother i really don't get your sarcasm, kindly explain.

LOL i laughed at ur post... owing 100 properties is also ok if she did it with ethical terms.. if its nt then its a shame for all of us.. BTW, i have also friends who are dalits and were my batchmates in IIT,,, they dont owe 11 properties and they do take a housing loan to build 1 house,, 7 properties of Ms Devyani 's rental income cannot be 1.26 lacs where 2 Bhk rent in mumbai varies from 15K -35K depending on the locality..

So when are you planning to take action against Robert Vadra for owning 10,000 ACRES of land in Rajasthan ? :lol:

Congratulations on having "Dalit" friends. I am sure they must be 'ecstatic' under the warm glow of your friendship. :cheesy:

it's property not properties but ...dear Brother i really don't get your sarcasm, kindly explain.

Her father is known to be a corrupt and powerful bureaucrat, however there is nothing to indicate that she has indulged in corruption. Thought the apple may not have fallen far from the tree.

LOL

yea dude you are right if this guy did not buy the property on ethical terms then he should be prosecuted.

but you know owning a 50 acre plot in outskirts of Maharashtra wont cost you fortune it's easy for upper middle class to buy at least 50 acre as an investment.

but i personally believe that DK's father is a corrupt IAS officer. (what i believe is not always the truth)

So when are you planning to take action against Robert Vadra for owning 10,000 ACRES of land in Rajasthan ? :lol:

Congratulations on having "Dalit" friends. I am sure they must be 'ecstatic' under the warm glow of your friendship. :cheesy:

Her father is known to be a corrupt and powerful bureaucrat, however there is nothing to indicate that she has indulged in corruption. Thought the apple may not have fallen far from the tree.

yea even i believe he is corrupt and he should be punished. But i think we should wait for NAMO to come because i don't this guys will give him proper punishment because even the congressi politicians are involved in the scam.

Well my friends are always happy with me bcz i respect them as human above the so called class and creed.. BTW don think that was my first encounter.. i studied in Kendriya Vidyalaya where parents of my friends were from all strata of the society.. so u can ridicule as much as u want.. but fact remains they are my friends whether they belong to X or Y caste is immaterial...

About Robert Vadra Case, i can safely say one thing.. Mr Khemka did his part of the job.. Unfortunately in our country, there are certain ppl who are exempted from so called law of land and the judiciary process... Be it ppl who are connected to political parties or big honcho industrialists who swing both ways to party in power or even film stars or celebs... If we had a system which could take on such characters properly on all these so called irregularities, the country would have progressed much better..

Since u said Mr vadra's name.. Lemme quote few more example..

You are aware of Andhrapradesh vs Telengana issue: Ask any localite who is the real owner of all Cement companies in whole AP? not on paper but in reality.. you will come to know of a son of late CM owing all those companies.. Who is owing the large tract of lands as well as invested in infrastructure companies of AP? Again you will hear the same name... Such is his control over such stuff that on paper nobody can point things directly but indirectly everybody knows who had pumped tens of thousands of Crs of Cash into the corporates.

Take Karnataka: Outside bangalore to almost bangalore city, large tract of lands belong to a single politician who had recently joined back BJP.. everybody even Lokayukta knew he is corrupt.. Any action taken? Zero

Take Mumbai: We met a giant corporate who was asking my employee for a loan syndication.. We asked the source of funds.. they said they will divulge when main bankers are present and then in the syndication meeting, they selected 5 public sector bank DGM's, took them aside and with us also and revealed the source of funds belonging to a late political figure whose son is so called "reality Star". All so called bankers kept quiet.. and the syndication was successful.. {BTW i had quit the Job the very next month once this was done.. i protested a lot against the sources of funds.. my seniors asked me to shut up so i changed my job... LOL)

Take West bengal: A major Microfinance company which had grown exceptionally is being funded indirectly by present ruling party..

Take Assam: the contracts for road/infratsructure is won by bigger companies and sub letting is being done to so called local Surrendered ULFA influential ppl who gets the work done with AK 47s for land acquisition and clearing... also "security" is provided by them. The story is same for other NE states too...

The list is long and endless and its pan india.. each of these ppl get away.. why bcz within our system there is a loophole and provisions via which such folks slip away and no government ever will fix that // LOL not even the so called alternative to present ruling party..

Unless the people in the system changes, such examples will always continue to exist