100 bridges can collapse anytime, need immediate attention (India): Gadkari

Keel

China
Published Aug 3, 2017, 3:00 pm IST
Updated Aug 3, 2017, 7:50 pm IST

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/nati...anytime-says-nitin-gadkari-in-parliament.html

Gadkari said his ministry has completed safety audit of 1.6 lakh bridges in the country.

dc-Cover-4ed41727mpu3jvih0rme573m34-20170803145945.Medi.jpeg

Nitin Gadkari also mentioned the British-era bridge over the Savitri river in Maharashtra last year. (Representational Image)

New Delhi: Over 100 bridges in different parts of the country are on the verge of collapse and need immediate attention, Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari said on Thursday.

Gadkari said in the Lok Sabha that his ministry has completed safety audit of 1.6 lakh bridges in the country and found more than 100 structures in dilapidated condition. "100 bridges can collapse anytime and they need immediate attention," he said during Question Hour.

He also referred to a tragedy where two state-run buses and some private vehicles were swept away after a British-era bridge over the Savitri river in the Konkan region of Maharashtra collapsed last year.

Gadakari said his ministry had last year launched a special project to create data of all bridges and culverts in the country as part of the steps to avert mishaps.

Referring to the delay in works on various road projects, the minister said this has been happening due to issues related to land acquisition, encroachment and environmental clearance.

He said road projects worth Rs. 3.85 lakh crore were delayed due to various reasons in the past and most of these issues were resolved and their works are in progress.

images

Kolkata bridge disaster a symptom of India's growth, neglect and fatalism

By Ravi Agrawal

Updated 0906 GMT (1706 HKT) April 1, 2016

Story highlights
  • Kolkata overpass collapse kills 24; rescuers dig for survivors
  • Cities like Kolkata have struggled as more rural Indians throng to urban centers in search of work
  • Like most Indian cities, Kolkata mushroomed out of a collection of villages and grew
Kolkata, India (CNN)As my plane touched down last night in Kolkata, I reflected on how much has changed in the city I grew up in. When I was a child it had a different name: Calcutta, the former capital of the British Raj. Now it's called Kolkata, the change part of a national wave of linguistic and cultural reclamations -- Bombay to Mumbai, Madras to Chennai, Bangalore to Bengaluru.

I left Kolkata in 2001. Every few months I would return. On those visits, everything would feel the same, comfortable, easy, drenched in nostalgia. But when I adjust the telescope a bit and compare then with now -- 15 years later -- things feel very different: The Communist Party is no longer in power; Kolkata has continued to fall behind the pecking order in India, overtaken by previously lesser metropolises; and there's been a considerable brain drain, with the best and brightest students packing their bags for other cities.

Kolkata overpass collapse kills 24; rescuers dig for survivors

Even the old world charm of Kolkata seems masked, diminished: new malls and high rises jostle with the old three and four-storey homes that once dotted the city. The changes are necessary, though, as more and more rural Indians throng to the big cities in search of work and opportunities. Meanwhile, India has gotten more middle class, the youth have become more aspirational.
Perhaps the most visible masking of old Kolkata can be seen in its many overpasses -- what Indians call "flyovers" -- crisscrossing and snaking through the city. They are being built to ease traffic congestion and connect the old parts of the city to newer suburbs, but they are also an eyesore - big, ugly, often plastered with political advertisements or billboards for Bollywood films.
At least one thing hasn't changed. My parents still pick up their now middle-aged son from the airport. Always. They too look a bit diminished, but still sturdy, a constant source of stability in my life. They usually greet me with a big hug. Not last night.

Rescuers dig for survivors from overpass collapse
"It's a shameful day for our city," says my father. He doesn't need to say why. I am home to report on the deadly collapse of a bridge in north Kolkata. Rescue operations were to continue through the night.
As we drive home, we take the usual new shortcut. It's an overpass.
"Is it safe?" I ask. My father says the authorities allow cars to go both directions on the bridge at night. During the day, from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., only one-way traffic is allowed. It can only bear so much weight, he says. It is a well-known fact amongst residents, he says.

160401151147-india-kolkata-new-exlarge-169.jpg

Kolkata's infrastructure has long struggled with the city's growth.

The collapse
In the morning, as I make my way to the site of the overpass collapse, I'm struck by how unsafe it all seems. Leading up to the exact point of breakdown, hundreds of bystanders are looking on, curious. Are they not scared the bridge above them will collapse?
"Yes, anything can happen here," says one man. But he stays put, almost transfixed.
It is a sense of fatalism in India, of Karma, I've never quite understood. What will happen will happen.
I make my way closer, trying to keep to the sides of the street. The still intact parts of the overpass are above me. There's hardly a couple feet between the overpass, forty feet up, and the buildings on either side. At parts, I imagine residents can reach out and touch the bridge. If completed, their morning view would be a bus belching out carbon monoxide.
I make it to the collapse site. The first thing that hits me isn't the sights around me - I've already seen some of it on the television, I'm expecting it. I'm hit by a strong, almost overwhelming stench. I shudder. It's the smell of death.
I take in the destruction around me. The part of the bridge that collapsed is probably a hundred meters long. Giant columns lie on the ground twisted, crumpled up like cardboard. Big yellow tractors are pushing through the rubble, trying to forge a path through.
I ask one of the workers in yellow hats, from the National Disaster Relief Force, if he thinks they'll save anyone? He grimaces and looks away.
Plumes of smoke go up in the air every time the tractors move. The sound of drilling rents the air. There is a sense of desperation but also of despair. I wander away for a minute to compose myself.

160401131815-ravi-photo-1-exlarge-169.jpg

Babu Lal Singh

I meet Babu Lal, standing by. He's wearing a yellow shirt, most his buttons are undone. He looks desolate. "Did you see it?" He nods. "What was it like?" Initially reluctant to talk, he opens up in colloquial Hindi.
"It was the afternoon," he says. He was serving kachoris, a type of deep fried savory pastry, right by the bridge. He's a street vendor, what Kolkatans called hawkers. "There was a loud explosion, like a bomb blast. I just ran. We all ran. We ran for our lives," he recalls.
Girish Park has been Babu Lal's home since he was born. His home is tucked away in a tiny bylane, right by the site of the collapse. His family is safe but he's angry. "Look around you. Why build this thing? Look how close it is to the buildings," he points out. "Is this any way to live?"
Infrastructure
Like most Indian cities, Kolkata mushroomed out of a collection of villages and grew. And grew. In the 19th century it was one of the great centers of commerce in Asia, a key port and home to flourishing businesses.
But India has struggled to modernize since it became independent in 1947. According to the World Economic Forum's Global competitiveness index, India ranks 55th in the world for basic infrastructure, behind the likes of China, Russia and Indonesia.
Building collapses are not uncommon. These happen because of a deadly cocktail of reasons: lax regulations, rampant corruption, poor building materials and badly trained workers. Buildings are often piled up closely together - when one is poorly built, the others suffer.
View attachment 417860

160401115010-09-kolkata-overpass-restricted-exlarge-169.jpg

Photos: Overpass collapses in Kolkata, India
Rescue workers and volunteers work through the night to free people who got trapped under a collapsed overpass in Kolkata, India, on Thursday, March 31. At least 24 people were killed.

It is less common to hear of a bridge collapsing - in part because bridges are used by everyone, rich and poor, powerful or powerless. They are more democratic. Perhaps that's why there is a greater sense of anger and surprise in Kolkata.

Disaster relief is also a struggle in India.

View attachment 417859

According to eyewitnesses at Girish Park, it was many hours before cranes and trucks arrived on the scene to clear the rubble. In part this is also because Kolkata's roads are so narrow - getting from one place to another in a good time is a struggle, let alone after the collapse of a key arterial bridge.
The rescue
I'm surrounded by members of the West Bengal Police and the NDRF - National Disaster Relief Force - as I write this, ducked away at a bend in the road. One of the workers glances at his watch and exclaims: "It's nearly 24 hours - who can survive this?"
But the workers carry on, clearing the piles of debris. It's a race against time, a race against all hope. I'm fairly sure this isn't the last such story I'll cover in India, unfortunately.

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/04/01/asia/india-kolkata-bridge-collapse-agrawal/index.html

Bridge collapses - india

Goa bridge collapse toll rises to three

The body of one more person was fished out of the Sanvordem river in South Goa on Friday, following the collapse of a dilapidated foot-bridge late on Thursday.

3 dead, 13 missing in Hooghly river as jetty collapses

At least three persons died and 13 others were still missing after a temporary jetty on the Hooghly river collapsed in Hooghly district of west Bengal on Wednesday, the police said.

Mahad bridge collapse: Indian Navy locates another car with bodies trapped inside

Indian Navy divers on Sunday recovered two more bodies from Savitri river in Raigad district after a British-era bridge in Mahad collapsed due to floods.

Bridge collapses in Himachal Pradesh following heavy rain – Watch dramatic video

Major tragedy averted as bridge collapses in Himachal Pradesh.

Ghaghra river breaches embankment in UP's Gonda, several villages flooded

Several villages in Gonda district of Uttar Pradesh have been flooded and dozens more are threatened following the breaching of Elgin-Charsari embankment by the swollen Ghaghra river, officials said on Tuesday.

Malad bridge collapse: 8 more bodies recovered; toll rises to 22

Eight more bodies were recovered on Friday during the search operation in the Savitri river, where two state-run buses and some private vehicles were swept away after a British-era bridge collapsed in Mahad, taking the toll in the tragedy to 22 as hopes for survivors faded.

President condoles loss of lives in Maharashtra bridge collapse

President Pranab Mukherjee on Thursday condoled the loss of lives in a bridge collapse on the Mumbai-Goa Highway in Maharashtra.

Mumbai-Goa highway bridge collapse: CM Fadnavis orders judicial probe, toll reaches 4

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devedra Fadnavis on Thursday ordered a judicial probe into the Mahad tragedy, where at least 44 people in two buses were swept away after a British-era bridge collapsed on the Mumbai-Goa Highway.

Bridge collapses in Nepal due to flooding – watch dramatic video

A suspension bridge collapsed in Nepal this week due to flooding. The dramatic event was caught on camera.

Portion of pedestrian bridge collapses in Bhopal, two killed

A projected portion of a bridge used by pedestrians collapsed late Monday night, killing a couple near Bharat Talkies area here, police said on Tuesday.

http://zeenews.india.com/tags/bridge-collapse.html

THE NUMBERS
How Dangerous Are India’s Railways?
6:04 AM EST NOV 21, 2016
By
Corinne Abrams

The derailment of a train in northern India that killed more than 130 people highlights the dangers and challenges along the country’s rail network.

Accidents on the rail system resulted in more than 25,000 deaths in 2014, according to the latest statistics available.

While the cause of Sunday’s incident isn’t yet known, it again draws the spotlight onto the country’s rickety rail system.

So how dangerous is traveling on the country’s trains?

Here are the numbers.

The number of railway accidents in India in 2014. Though that was a decrease of 9.2% from a year earlier, 25,006 people died. That figure is much higher than the 768 deaths recorded on America’s railways the same year.

• The number of railway accidents that were reported to be due to someone falling from a train or a “collision with people at track.” In India, passenger trains are often full to bursting, with people hanging out of windows and doors. Pedestrians also often cross tracks by foot. The government has sought to raise awareness about the proper use of level crossings and the dangers of strolling near railway lines.

The number of people who died in railway accidents in Maharashtra in 2014. The western state is home to Mumbai, the country’s financial capital, which has some of the most crowded and dangerous suburban trains.

The number of rail-construction projects active in India as of March 2014. Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has made modernizing the ageing network a priority, and has made building a high-speed corridor a pet project.

• $16 billion

The amount a government audit found that delays and poor planning had caused costs on the 442 rail projects to balloon.

• 40%

The proportion of the more than 31,000 railway crossing that are unmanned. Those level crossing contribute to about 40% of train accidents, according to a government news release.
https://blogs.wsj.com/briefly/2016/11/21/how-dangerous-are-indias-railways-the-numbers/

The shocking truth about India's deadly railways: Rail Ministry admits 50,000 have been mown down by trains in just THREE years
By Maneesh Pandey

PUBLISHED: 23:47 BST, 19 August 2013 | UPDATED: 23:47 BST, 19 August 2013

• Railway tracks have become one of the biggest killers in India. Over 50,000 people have been mowed down on the deadly tracks in over three years - from 2009 to June 2012 - for which figures are available.
"These deaths are not accident related, but those who lost their lives for trespassing and encroaching around the railway tracks,'' said the railway ministry.

As Mail Today probed the safety record of Indian Railways after the ghastly accident in Bihar's Khagaria on Monday in which 37 were run over by a train, shocking details began to emerge.

article-2397485-1B5EFE02000005DC-308_634x338.jpg

Horrific: Angry protesters set fire to a Raj Rani Express train after it ran over pilgrims at Dhamara railway station, in Khagaria

According to Railways' own safety figures, nearly 14,376 people had died on the tracks in 2009, followed by 12,894 deaths in 2010 and 14,611 in the following year.

Railways had compiled figures only up to June 2012, which shows another 8,412 deaths in those six months. The figure could touch 60,000 if one takes into account the latest fatalities on tracks up to June 2013, says a senior Railway Board official, requesting anonymity.

The official added: "The figure doesn't include those killed in accidents, derailments, blasts and incidents of fire.''

RELATED ARTICLES
SHARE THIS ARTICLE
Among the states that have reported the high fatalities on railway tracks are Maharashtra, which alone accounts for over 10,000 deaths for the 2009 to June 2012 period. Closely following Maharashtra is Tamil Nadu, which has recorded nearly 6,000 deaths and then comes West Bengal where, again, nearly 6,000 people came under running trains.

article-2397485-1B5F13EE000005DC-851_306x387.jpg

In one recent case, a speeding train rammed into a bus carrying a marriage party killing 31 on the spot. Investigations have showed that in some cases, people have been run over as they could not hear the approaching trains because they had earphones plugged in or were talking on their phones.

However, a railway official conceded that in some cases safety practices left much to be desired.

"At least on one count the largest transporter is found partially responsible as the vacancies of gangmen, who guard and supervise the tracks and man level crossings in remote sectors, are pending,'' says a senior official.

Remote sectors apart, deaths on the tracks are reported from the VIP Delhi Division as well. Nearly 1,800 people have been between 2009 and June 2012, says ministry records.

"Most of these deaths in Delhi are of encroachers living next to the tracks or those who are in hurry to cross the tracks,'' says the official.

Haryana and Punjab, which recently began awareness campaigns to highlight the dangers of crossing railway tracks, have reported a high number of track fatalities. In Punjab, nearly 3,000 people have been killed on the tracks, while in neighbouring Haryana, 3,600 were run over by speeding trains.

The rail ministry often blames the funds crunch for its inability to meet safety standards and security around its stations and the entire track length.

But sources conceded that what happened in Khagaria on Monday was avoidable and could have been averted with extra deployment of railway safety personnel at the station.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahom...wn-trains-just-THREE-years.html#ixzz4qGJPyj6G
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

images

Oh my. And Hillary Clinton said India was the largest democracy in the world and should be the model for whole Asia.

Just imagine what Chinese social media would have reacted to this, had it happened in China.
I think in such situation there would be some PLA soldiers on the scene at least to evacuate the people instead of them standing around or have proper rescue equipment nearby just in case. China is quick to mobilize for national emergency I give them props for that

If you watch the whole video in the link, you know there was no hope. No rescue effort whatsoever.
I saw the two heads above water but when I read the article it stated the three perished