10 firms, ventures express desire to build Dasu dam

Kabira

LAHORE: The Dasu hydropower project has got a boost as 10 firms and joint ventures with years of experience in project implementation have submitted proposals for the construction of the major dam.
Apart from this, eight of them have also submitted bids for construction of an underground power complex for the project.
Some of the companies have hinted at making financial arrangements for building the main dam and power complex.

“This positive response from major project implementation firms is a result of efforts to attract business and lure investors to this huge hydropower plant,” said Pakistan Water and Power Development Authority (Wapda).
According to Wapda, these firms and joint ventures are internationally recognised in the development of mega hydropower projects. Four of them are from Turkey, one from Italy, three from China, one from South Korea and one from Vietnam.

Evaluation of the proposals had got under way and after completion of the process, bid documents would be issued to pre-qualified investors, it said.

A novel mechanism has been established for the construction of the Dasu dam. Success of the mechanism will open avenues for more mega water and power projects such as Diamer-Bhasha dam and Bunji, Pattan and Thakot hydropower projects.

Dasu is a run-of-the-river project being constructed on the Indus River near Dasu town in Kohistan district of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa.
The project, with expected capacity of generating 4,320 megawatts, is being implemented in two stages. The World Bank is financing the first stage with a credit of $588.4 million and partial credit guarantee of $460 million.

On completion, the first stage will contribute more than 12 billion units of cheap, affordable and environment-friendly electricity to the national grid.
Published in The Express Tribune, May 30th, 2015.

When will it start physically and what is its expected completion date ?

completion will be about 6 to 7 years after actual construction work start i guess. The tricky question is WHEN WILL IT START!! to that, unfortunately we do not have any answer keeping in mind what we have done with our previous such projects!

If as mentioned int he article , it is financed by WB , then what is the issue of not starting it early ?

Should i give you the contact information for ministry of water and power and you can ask them :P

No one have any fking idea what the deal is all about!!

If i say it is because EVERY government knows that this project cannot be completed in there elected terms so someone else will take credit for it so no one bothers to start this, they will come and say i am a PTI supporter :(
However, for me this is the only reason i can think of.

A consortium is needed for a project like the Dasu Dam.

Should i give you the contact information for ministry of water and power and you can ask them :P

If i say it is because EVERY government knows that this project cannot be completed in there elected terms so someone else will take credit for it so no one bothers to start this, they will come and say i am a PTI supporter :(
if you dont have any idea , keep silent , no need to post if you dont know .

:P
Yes boss!!
See i knew it may hurt someone!!
And
if you can share your visionary ideas and CONFIRMED reason for the delay that some well placed source may have given to you, i will be obliged sir.

:P
Yes boss!!
See i knew it may hurt someone!!
And
if you can share your visionary ideas and CONFIRMED reason for the delay that some well placed source may have given to you, i will be obliged sir.
WAPDA - Ongoing Projects

The original tender
T-60.JPG
\
2-The most recent tender for establishing workers colony at Dasu
T-315.JPG

When will it start physically and what is its expected completion date ?
5 years construction period time. was suppose to be started by 2013 and completed by 2018 but slow work on land procurement and govt lack of arranging it shares of 25% money i.e 128 billion rupees
first stage cost is at 4.8 billion dollars with 1 billion dollars to be arranged by WB and rest by supplier credit

A consortium is needed for a project like the Dasu Dam.
nope the dam is already financed by WB. why would you need a consortium for such a project which is small and 75% financed already.
govt share is less than the cost of orange line metro or just twice cost of isl-rawlpindi metro or just 20% of single year PSDP or less than cost of 100 km motorway!
the reasons are obvious political reluctance to spend money on a project which you cannot complete in your tenure.

yes you need a consortium for MEGA projects like bhasha dam which cost 3 times of dasu and has no WB/AB funding at all

A novel mechanism has been established for the construction of the Dasu dam. Success of the mechanism will open avenues for more mega water and power projects such as Diamer-Bhasha dam and Bunji, Pattan and Thakot hydropower projects.

What kind of novel mechanism?

when you dont have money for projects what you do?
its a standarad practice to slow down the project and slow down the money release. This is what is happening regarding DASU and bhasha dam.

none of the above project are strategically important for PML N to start anywhere before 2017. they wil not start them unless they get a 100% financing from outside like in case of Tarbela extension project , where both IV and V have 100% foreign funding

PML N is more concentrated on power crisis in short term, motorways, metros and city development.

i think PML N will start those projects but around 2017-2018 when it has fiscal relaxation as it is too constrained now due to IMF. also starting them now and then will have same political effect.

lastly when it comes to power generation, PML N policy to delay these dams is debatable , this may be the right move to spend on urgent infrastructure projects and short term coal projects rather than dams. however when it comes to flood protection and water conservation even they know its important.

but again dasu dam has no role in flood/water storage as its run of the river project.

its basha dam which is important, however there is severe bottle neck there, how to arrange 14 billion $?

i personally think PML N has put Dasu dam on wait and is trying to get it share of finances through private investment which i think is doable.they also think its not as imp as infrastructure projects and power gen can be achieved by other means.

while when it comes to bhasha dam PML N knows the importance and is trying hard to get finances but is unable to do so. the delay in Bhasha dam is legitimate as it is not easy for any govt to build the dam unless it sacrifices alot of PSDP
the other solutions are not attractive , they are

1. just build the reservoir first
2. do a govt to govt deal
3. take expensive loans mixed with psdp

lastly Asian bank has still asked for govt to wait for a bit, its possible that they agree upon the original 4.5 billion dollars loan they initially agreed for bahsah dam

What kind of novel mechanism?
i think they are talking of some sort of financing arrangement

No government will put their hands in this project. Especially with 3 years left. Thats what common sense dictates knowing the people in power. But I have been wrong before.

its because people dont like dams they like roads and metros.
in any govt running half of the spending goes into non popular projects, non popular but essential as every govt knows that somethings are crucial for survival of the country.
dams come under such category in pakistan due to flood potential and water shortage potential. If the govt is not going to build it than i leave it to your imagination how competent that govt is

Except for four lucky ministries, the government has either reduced or kept unchanged the allocations to others for the next fiscal year under the Public Sector Development Programme (PSDP 2015-16).
total PSDP envelop of Rs580bn.
Rs40bn has been allocated for Railways division
The allocations for National Highway Authority (NHA) have seen the highest increase of around Rs90bn to Rs200bn for next year from Rs111.6bn this year, an increase of 79pc.

Desires se kya hota hai janab, we need practical work on ground