Work on INDIA's BULLET TRAIN is underway in Full Swing

Other things will also be done

But India will be a FIVE trillion economy by 2030

An economy of this size is expected to have at least ONE Bullet Train

JAPAN is giving perhaps the MOST generous loan package ever

expected by who? I am all for large show case projects but this is a white elephant. If you compare demographics of customer profiles for eurostar and that for Mum-Ahm, the eurostar is highly advantaged. YET when the UK govt sold its stake a couple of years ago, they could get only a fourth of their investment.

Mumbai - Ahmedabad is an ideal 'sleeper overnight' trip, and the angadia and businessmen that use it will never pay bullet premium.

Feasibility study exactly takes care of that in financial viability study. I will try find something. And again saying Delhi to Mumbai can't be built in one go no matter how much money one throws in. It's always beneficial that way. One can take example of all previous HSR operating countries. Even our conventional railroad was not built in one go between major cities.

LOL... an armchair expert

I wonder why Railways spend millions of $ on conducting studies when they can just hire you to make stuff up and convince everybody.

The feasibility study for the Delhi-Mumbai corridor was awarded to consortium with China-based Third Railway Survey and Design Institute Group Corporation as a lead partner and India-based Lahmeyer International. But I will inform them that you can do that job for them for free. :lol:

Feasibility study exactly takes care of that in financial viability study. I will try find something. And again saying Delhi to Mumbai can't be built in one go no matter how much money one throws in. It's always beneficial that way. One can take example of all previous HSR operating countries. Even our conventional railroad was not built in one go between major cities.

@Zaki @waz pls take care of offensive posts.

although i settled in different field now..i hold ph.d in relevant topic which you are talking about.. i can dig deep into the topic... feasibility done on those routes which our govt decides... it is always inthe govt court.. please stop saying can't build can't build. thats not valid argument.

expected by who? I am all for large show case projects but this is a white elephant. If you compare demographics of customer profiles for eurostar and that for Mum-Ahm, the eurostar is highly advantaged. YET when the UK govt sold its stake a couple of years ago, they could get only a fourth of their investment.

Mumbai - Ahmedabad is an ideal 'sleeper overnight' trip, and the angadia and businessmen that use it will never pay bullet premium.

The train is expected to run only in 2024.

By which time the Indian economy will be around 15 Trillion $ by PPP. Not to mention the population would have reached 1.6 Billion by then.

The train is expected to run only in 2024.

By which time the Indian economy will be around 15 Trillion $ by PPP. Not to mention the population would have reached 1.6 Billion by then.

well of course I wish absolute best tidings and will pray this doesn't become a white elephant project

It is an infrastructure project being built on 81 % Free money (0.1% interest) and will introduce new technologies in India and not to mention bringing in free positive media attention and global recognition.

I would say the odds of becoming a white elephant is very remote when you consider our population density.

Anyone from railways here ?
Whats the long term plan for bullet trains in India ?
This one is from Japan . Next might be from France and next from China .
Unless we start manufacturing in India , we will have to keep spares for all different manufacturers.
I have no issue with the bullet train but how much will be manufactured in India.
Why not take a decision to replace 50 % of freight and passanger trains with high speed by 2040 or something.
Set up a complete new industry with Japans help for mfng in India.
Else this is just a vanity project

A criminal waste of money IMO. Far better they upgraded existing stations, quadrupled the major lines, improved catering, replaced rolling stock sooner.

Instead we have this vanity project that will likely require highly subsidised tickets to lure travellers away from air travel.
better than somebody would have ate that money in some scam....Modi see the future better than anybody else.

Anyone from railways here ?
Whats the long term plan for bullet trains in India ?
This one is from Japan . Next might be from France and next from China .
Unless we start manufacturing in India , we will have to keep spares for all different manufacturers.
I have no issue with the bullet train but how much will be manufactured in India.
Why not take a decision to replace 50 % of freight and passanger trains with high speed by 2040 or something.
Set up a complete new industry with Japans help for mfng in India.
Else this is just a vanity project
I am not working in railways, but as six members from my family are either working in railways or retired from it, so I know most of operational things. If I don't know I check with my father. He is also grade A employee in railways.

Do you know the number of First Time Air travellers in India

It is in millions ; that is why our Annual Airline traffic is increasing by
20 Percent per annum when the per capita income is growing by 6 Percent

So is the case for A C travel in railways

This is known as upward mobility

Similarly in India the DOMESTIC TOURISM is also in millions

Lakhs of Indians go abroad on Vacations

Dubai ; Bangkok ; USA ; Europe

All these people are the target customers

And the loan repayment period is 65 Years ;with 0.1 Percent Interest

It is as good as free

yes.. he is still acting like random politician.. be it crop loan waiver. it is more a election stunt .. it's been 3yrs almost, many farmers committed suicide in lot of states.. he spend most of time either criticizing congess or praising note ban..
That's the reason all existing non bjp governments that are sleeping will be wiped out of power!!
On the topic: I feel that it is such a waste of money...it could be better used to upgrade British era rail infrastructure.
I feel tier 2 cities should also get airports....which will boost air line industry!!

That's the reason all existing non bjp governments that are sleeping will be wiped out of power!!
On the topic: I feel that it is such a waste of money...it could be better used to upgrade British era rail infrastructure.
I feel tier 2 cities should also get airports....which will boost air line industry!!

well reach out the needy farmers but blanket loan waiver is not good.. why modi promised to only election bound state ?

Because that's where the changes are needed asap...due to poor governance and goonda raj!!
It's inappropriate to continue this discussion here...create a thread and tag me!!!

Because that's where the changes are needed asap...due to poor governance and goonda raj!!
It's inappropriate to continue this discussion here...create a thread and tag me!!!

that's ridiculous, they are not finding cure but temporary election stunt.. these type of loan waivers good for nothing.

Sorry to correct you but bullet train tracks can be used by frieght and normal trains in night leading to lower pressure on normal tracks and increasing uses of HSR.

Subject to many assumptions. Freight trains typically run at slower speed which would be scientifically disadvantageous insofar as it would lead to significant wear of track. So the only practical usage would be high-speed freight.

High speed freight would increase freight charges - no study has been made as to whether those would be economically viable - I would be surprised if it was because speed is not an important factor in rail shipments. It's also not something that has proven to be successful internationally.

Even high-speed freight would cause track fatigue - and for track built at a cost of 6-7x of normal track it does not seem like judicious use of an expensive resource.

http://www.strc.ch/conferences/2009/Vidaud.pdf

https://railturkey.org/2014/12/18/high-speed-and-freight-trains-on-same-line/

If government works, its criminal and if it doesn't work then it again is criminal. I don't understand what is the problem with some problem. When government is already building more than 3000 kms of not all tracks per year and still increasing the average speed, industrial corridor going in full swing and about to be operationalized shortly, it doesn't make sense why high speed railways have to be sacrificed to fill the pockets of some politicians if they come in power next. In that case you will nither get HSR nor normal tracks. And maybe that's better output for you people.

Don't be silly - spending tens of thousands of crores (if not lakhs of crores) of public money on a completely new infrastructure platform that fills no meaningful niche is hardly an example of government 'working'.

There are plenty of low-cost and high-cost projects that the money could be used for.

- concretising major stretches of highway between important satellite towns - approx cost Rs 5 crore / km (20 m of HSR track)
- building low cost airport terminals - cost Rs 1,000 crores (10 km of HSR track)
- replacing older coaches - cost 3 crores a coach (30 m of HSR track)
- better rail safety (between 2009-10 and 2014-15, there were a total of 803 accidents in killing 620 people and injuring 1855 people. 47% of these accidents were due to derailments)
- better station amenities - retiring rooms, safety

These are things the vast majority of rail travellers will use and benefit from - and most can be done at a fraction of the cost of HSR rail. Outside transportation there are a million better ways to use money I can think of. The university in India where I did my first degree was a government university - there was just one photocopier and it created a million headaches. Money can be used to improve infra of universities, hospitals, police thanas, etc.

But no, we need HSR to fill some ego gap that exists in our head, some recognition need that craves satisfaction -no matter how unscientific. The irony is that most of those cheering for such wasteful expenditure will cheerfully prefer a flight over the HSR train if cost is within 10-15%.