Competing with India!

Oh dear another article stating the obvious. Besides this chap was an advisor to the Sindh govt on plannig and development?

Wow, someone needs to quit their day job. What development has been made in Sindh outside Karachi. ???

People like him are a drain on our civil service.

You call it "the obvious", but do you notice that your countrymen have already called it a "piece of crap"? And my guess is that most of them will dismiss this as untrue. That is why there is yet another article stating the obvious. Because a large number of your countrymen fail to realize the obvious.

Times are changing, watch this space. Call me optimistic!

Pakistan’s knee-jerk response to the emerging India-US strategic partnership is to adopt China as an alternative patron-saint.

The first thing these "experts"need to understand is that in world politics, there are no Guardian Angels and nations would support you only till they have interests in you of some sort. The best thing you can do is to make oneself strong economically and with money in pocket people listen to you.
Having large army or N weapons only makes one a headache for others with best example being N Korea.
& i don't understand why some such writers are painting in such sorry state. The nation although struggling with militancy, has a large young population. If sufficient thought is put up by government in planning for future, the nation can grow to much greater heights.
Pakistan would need to defeat this constant paranoia being fed into public minds.

Adviser to Sindh CM, pat your back for coming up with such an eye opener. Sadly many in Pak would still be in denial and would not accept the sad reality.
Pakistan you must pull up your socks and get going!!
You must oil your machines and make an economy instead of test firing missiles. Handing a gun to every Pakistani would not win you Kashmir, instead it would vitiate the progress of your country, Afghanistan is an example.
Writer is just another traitor.

A good article...and therefore disappointing.

Would have preferred if Pakistan had a single narrative, the kind written by the ex-Foreign Secretary!

I agree with Sarthak - this writer is a traitor to Pakistan.

So is the writer implying that we should cut our self off from whole world and should isolate ourselves.
It's our own business if we are closing our ties with Russia or China, no one should be bothered about it.

And yes the security of countries lies both in economic and military stability. We can't exclude anyone of it from the list. And defence is as essential for us as our economy. The countries which adopts the stratergy of stressing on only one of the factor always lose, and they never comes up as a strong nation.

Our defence budget is still not much as compared to other countries especially one which is our main threat and known for its war mongering mentality.

The problem is our military is going pretty well, so such types of hypocrites instead of pointing out the corruption that our politicians have done, they always opens their guns at our army and defence budgets. And they also failed to see that our defence budget in these days are more important as we are fighting terrorists.

Exactly, problem is that when you vote with your feet, this is what happens. pakistan needs technocrats more than failed businessmen and theocrats.
--
can you explin wiht example please ...
what your suggeston to do so and how?

His advice? I'm guessing, take the advice of islamic scholars, nurture the good taliban, make everybody sport a beard, and hey presto, there will be paradise on earth.
--
heee
may be ....but dont underestimate the power of ..............:-)

Times are changing, watch this space. Call me optimistic!
u r right sir but as your very own rauf kalsrasaid in one of your recent talk shows on the same subject "jinke ghar daane unke kamle bhi sayane ...pehle jaa ke daano ka intezaam ker lo fir india to kya USA bhi pakistani nukta e nazar se iktelaaf nahi ker sagega "rest you are intellegent enof ... cheers mate

Adviser to Sindh CM, pat your back for coming up with such an eye opener. Sadly many in Pak would still be in denial and would not accept the sad reality.
Pakistan you must pull up your socks and get going!!
You must oil your machines and make an economy instead of test firing missiles. Handing a gun to every Pakistani would not win you Kashmir, instead it would vitiate the progress of your country, Afghanistan is an example.
Hey mam you should be worried about your own country when 70% of your country men are living lives beyond poverty level and your pm instead of improving economy, is making new military hardwares as they did recently by testing Agni 5.