Pakistan General Elections 2013

What party would you vote for in 2013 Elections.

• Total voters
People need to motivate themselves and any friends and family based in Pakistan, to go out and
1. Register to vote
2. Assist others in registering to vote

Every little bit counts.

Both my younger brothers in Pakistan have been active (and I continue to impress upon them the need to continue) in pushing people towards registering to vote in their colleges and workplaces.

We won't change this biradri system overnight, but we need to put all our effort into changing whatever we can.

Even if IK does not win the largest number of seats in the NA, we need him to take away as many as possible from the PPP, PML-N and PML-Q in Sindh and Punjab, so that he is recognized as a political force, and can work from that base to expand his appeal and influence and hopefully encourage people to vote for new faces.

Imran Khan needs to realize that while America is in no position to attack Pakistan overtly, there are many enemies within Pakistan that destroy the fabric of Pakistan with their extremism, unfortunately, I never see him speaking on these issues. Not everything is America's fault. A little self-reflection is needed, if he wants to work for the betterment of Pakistan, rather than advancing his vote bank.

People need to motivate themselves and any friends and family based in Pakistan, to go out and
1. Register to vote
2. Assist others in registering to vote

Every little bit counts.

Both my younger brothers in Pakistan have been active (and I continue to impress upon them the need to continue) in pushing people towards registering to vote in their colleges and workplaces.

We won't change this biradri system overnight, but we need to put all our effort into changing whatever we can.

Even if IK does not win the largest number of seats in the NA, we need him to take away as many as possible from the PPP, PML-N and PML-Q in Sindh and Punjab, so that he is recognized as a political force, and can work from that base to expand his appeal and influence and hopefully encourage people to vote for new faces.

imran needs to get a team of people. he is relying too much on 1 person that is himself. also sadly he is not the brightest that we have

Imran Khan needs to realize that while America is in no position to attack Pakistan overtly, there are many enemies within Pakistan that destroy the fabric of Pakistan with their extremism, unfortunately, I never see him speaking on these issues. Not everything is America's fault. A little self-reflection is needed, if he wants to work for the betterment of Pakistan, rather than advancing his vote bank.

He and PTI actually have denounced violence and extremism on all occasions regardless of who was behind it. PTI stands for taking weapons away from all who posses them illegally and not allow any militia/armed groups in the country.

I agree with you - my reason for supporting Imran Khan is not so much that I agree with all his policies, nor that I believe he will resolve many of Pakistan's problems, but because of the 'principle' of supporting a candidate that is 'new' - one who now actually stands a chance to win seats away from the current political players dominating the scene.

My support for Imran Khan is a 'vote against the incumbents', a 'vote against' the same old faces and political families that have dominated Pakistan for so long and offer no hope for the future.

Don't be a fool to vote for Musharraf.....this time he would be no different than the corrupt Sharif Brothers or Chaudhry and Sons.....

Assalam alaikum

Imran may be is not the brightest but he had shown his leadership qualities when he was captain ( and unlike our zardari did it without jor tor and rishwat). he is sincere, energatic etc and most what i like about him he is not chaploos to the west i believe he can take pakistan to a new high and break this cycle of pml and ppp. Until now nobody came farward and accused him of stealing money from shokat khanam hospital

Bilal bhai as one brother pointed imran is with taking weapons from streets, this is a 1st step.

Vote for imran

TARIQ

I think Imran Khan is the only candidate who can trump the feudals in terms of votes, so I would support him over them regardless. However, I do really hope that he tackles all of the underlying issues, rather than blaming America, because we all want the betterment of Pakistan, & I hope Imran Khan succeeds, & makes Pakistan a better place. I would love nothing more for Imran Khan to succeed, & does good work for Pakistan. Right now, I'd reluctantly vote for Imran Khan, but I hope he can remove my reluctance by proving me wrong.

Most of Punjab's population live in Northern/Central Punjab not Southern Punjab. Besides, BB was assassinated thats why many people gave PPP sympathy votes. Rural Sindh itself is not populated. Only Karachi and Hyderabad are populated places in Sindh and those people in those cities are not fans of PPP.

And maybe the uncles/aunties in these rural areas will still give "baradri" votes, but not the youth. And most of Pakistan's population is under the age of 35.

U r wrong my dear friend. bradari vote is there in big cities as well, i have seen people in highly developed areas like RWP vote for their bradari. last AJK elections are one more example for it, when i asked a person why he voted for PPP, he simply replied, i voted for my bradari not for PPP. It was a shock that on one hand he was not entirely happy with PPP winning the elections but still he voted for PPP candidate just because he was from his own baradari.

but still i wish and pray PTI can win next election, Ameen

If PPP wins again, Pakistan will cease to exist in a few years... :cry:

Actually the biggest threat to Pakistan's existence is PML-N and MQM. MQM's leader hates the existence of Pakistan. We all heard their leader's speech in Delhi begging India to take his people back. PML-N is also starting to hate the existence of Pakistan. You will notice Nawaz Sharif's speeches being so pro-india, anti-army, and calling Pakistan a failed state. He sounds like Altaf Hussain. If PML-N wins the next election (GOD FORBID) the first thing Nawaz will try to do is weaken the army, thats why I think its important for ISI to rig the elections and help a pro-army polticial party win the next elections.

PPP is incompetant, but atleast they dont intentionally want to wipe off Pakistan from the world map. Who will they loot off then? India? :lol:

i do sincerely hope that there is no rigging; or at least minimal rigging --got to be realistic

as for Army/ISI -- i dont think they are "with" PTI. They are on the sidelines just observing.

it's like watching immature school-children

i do sincerely hope that there is no rigging; or at least minimal rigging --got to be realistic

as for Army/ISI -- i dont think they are "with" PTI. They are on the sidelines just observing.

it's like watching immature school-children

infact its PTI not on Establishment's side, kushish tou becharo ne bohat ki hai... Saaf Tareeeeeeeeeennnnnnnn, hain ji ?

"establishment needs me, I dont need establishment" Imran khan

:pakistan:

[/COLOR]
U r wrong my dear friend. bradari vote is there in big cities as well, i have seen people in highly developed areas like RWP vote for their bradari. last AJK elections are one more example for it, when i asked a person why he voted for PPP, he simply replied, i voted for my bradari not for PPP. It was a shock that on one hand he was not entirely happy with PPP winning the elections but still he voted for PPP candidate just because he was from his own baradari.

but still i wish and pray PTI can win next election, Ameen

True, but see many power houses have joined PTI, because of their younger generation wants to stand with PTI, as in the case of some Gujjar family*(Taj) from Shakargher, Arain from Lahore*(Mian Azhar), Kamboh from Ichra lahore (Ijaz Chaudhary) etc so be realistic the Baradari system itself is giving its best people to PTI, its not like the Baradri system can remain cut off from the political change that is coming into pakistan's political scenario.

the middle class; if they take over the reins of power in the country, Inshallah Pakistan will change dramatically. :pakistan:

I agree with you - my reason for supporting Imran Khan is not so much that I agree with all his policies, nor that I believe he will resolve many of Pakistan's problems, but because of the 'principle' of supporting a candidate that is 'new' - one who now actually stands a chance to win seats away from the current political players dominating the scene.

My support for Imran Khan is a 'vote against the incumbents', a 'vote against' the same old faces and political families that have dominated Pakistan for so long and offer no hope for the future.

I support also for the same. Else i like Shehbaz Sharif more then him, but i can't forgive PML-N for what they did, just to remove one person out of the looop i.e. Handshake with most corrupt person, and which is the reason why pakistan looks like this today.

Actually the biggest threat to Pakistan's existence is PML-N and MQM. MQM's leader hates the existence of Pakistan. We all heard their leader's speech in Delhi begging India to take his people back. PML-N is also starting to hate the existence of Pakistan. You will notice Nawaz Sharif's speeches being so pro-india, anti-army, and calling Pakistan a failed state. He sounds like Altaf Hussain. If PML-N wins the next election (GOD FORBID) the first thing Nawaz will try to do is weaken the army, thats why I think its important for ISI to rig the elections and help a pro-army polticial party win the next elections.

PPP is incompetant, but atleast they dont intentionally want to wipe off Pakistan from the world map. Who will they loot off then? India? :lol:

Pakistanis really need to wake up, especially those who are putting Zardari on a higher pedestal than Nawaz Sharif.

U.S. offered $5 billion for refraining from nuclear tests: Nawaz Sharif
Then U.S. president Bill Clinton had offered Pakistan a $5 billion package to refrain from conducting tit—for—tat nuclear tests in response to India’s in 1998 but the offer was rejected at the cost of sanctions, Nawaz Sharif, who was the prime minister at the time, said on Friday.

“I told him (Clinton) that we are not among those people who are sold for a few dollars, not now and in future too. Thus we successfully carried out our nuclear tests,” Online news agency quoted Mr. Sharif as telling party activists on the 12th anniversary of the May 28, 1998 nuclear tests.

He is not an angel, I'm not saying that - but he's not a Zardari either. The nuclear tests were a great achievement for Pakistan, and it's a fact that they happened during Nawaz Sharif's term (he's not the only one who gets credit, I agree) but , I can't imagine Zardari ever allowing it to happen, especially if he's getting paid $$$. Oh, and I don't think it is as easy as you say it is for any Pakistani PM to weaken the army...and if he has any distaste for the Army, it is particularly valid, especially after all the unnecessary coups that have happened in Pakistan's history - a thousand times. I don't see anything like that happening in India..

PPP doesn't want to wipe Pakistan off the map because they want to maintain their sole source of high income (stealing money from the poor). Nobody wants to kill the duck that lays golden eggs. Well, if they love the duck that offers them such great benefits so much, they should learn to at least treat it with some respect, lol.