Govt mulls ‘military offensive’ against TTP

same here . any other country have faced the issues we faced from afghanistan have kicked all afghans and seal the border forever not even birds will allowed to cross . look at arabs did to arabs on borders wven they have same religion language culture and almost everything still not a single yemni was able to cross in KSA and Oman as refugee from land borders . jordan kicked all or syrian and palastinens . lebnon whom allowed both in is destroyed . only a brainless will think millions of afghans in pakistan borders are opened thousands crossign day night and there will be peace in paksitan . its seems establishment do not want peace in pakistan otherwise they can seal it like indian border .

Mr. Khan, I'm one of your brethren. You are a very senior member here. But in the above post, you are missing the main issue. That is, support from within the KPK for these people who wreck havoc on our children, our jawans, cities and cantonments! This support only grew in the past few years. So how are we as a nation, supposed to "kick out every Afghan" when our own Pashtun brothers want to support them and hide them from the system? This same question also leads into our political situation where we MUST have our guy (IK) in power whether by hook or crook, undermining the rest of the 180 million Pakistani population's voting rights? I'd like to see an honest response to this.

This contract given to china to run camps like they have in china ? To fix our side ?

About IK vote kara do pata chal jaay ga imran khan ka yaar

Otherwise your Pakistani generals are as or more patriotic than your Khan sahib when it comes to the interests of this country.
Yeah I can see the patriotism while driving in DHA vs driving in regular beat up Pakistan.

This contract given to china to run camps like they have in china ? To fix our side ?

If we start to give prison contracts to China, next will be the police, than Army, our business is already gone to China.....what would be left for us to do in our country? I guess we should just focus on immigrating to other nations?

Its not good idea sir ? What these guys did to us china will not able to do .

The day ceasefire ended, state should have launched an offensive instead they waited for TTP to wreck havoc.

Back in 2005, we made the similar mistake of going for dialogue which only helped TTP and what happened next was there for everyone to see.

Our (read ruling elite) inability to understand the problem at hand and how to deal with it has costed us billions, a hit on global image and most importantly our finest young men. It is terrible to think that a nuclear state has no vision for her own future.

One point to ponder over, where are the tribals in all of this? The TTP moves in and out freely and no one in the FATA takes responsibility for giving aid, succor and the freedom to operate to these terrorists. Where is the responsibility of the tribals in all of this?

The last time the operations were conducted to pacify these areas, an understanding was left with the tribals that they would not allow the TTP to establish a beachhead again. Yet clearly, the tribals too are playing both side of the fence. On one hand they decry government inaction, yet on the other, they are clearly hosting these elements operating across the Pak-Afghan frontiers.

The fact that they are now operating in all of KP and even in ISB goes to show the presence in Afghanistan, FATA and KP in general which are their launching pads.

While the tribal may very well have helped the miscreants settle in, I wouldn't quite paint the issue with a broad brush.

We can see tribal protests all the way from last year where they protested the presence of TTP members in their lands, and the government and establishment of the time kept on pacifying them by saying that we are negotiating. They won't do nothing.

Do you expect that we take plane loads of tribal elders out to Kabul and Kandahar, while at the same time the same tribal start shooting at the TTP? Both cannot go hand in hand.

And more recently the tribal request to the governmnent is to let them take up arms and fight the TTP. Do we want two militias going against each other? That won't turn out good.

I am hearing that there is a silent admission within the estab that they mucked up with the negotiations, and let the TTP regroup. Let's see what follows.

Officials conceded that the policy of talking with the TTP has backfired and the terror outfit had used the talks to regroup. “It was a big mistake and has to be rectified,” said another official.
4alpw6.jpg

umm is operation RAD-UL-FASSAD ongoing or will we have a new name? Also, when is new song being released by ISPR?

And more recently the tribal request to the governmnent is to let them take up arms and fight the TTP. Do we want two militias going against each other? That won't turn out good.
Induct them as foot soldiers in whatever force the Army is using against the militants. Kill two birds with one stone (eliminate the other side; and provide income to the tribals as well).

Its not good idea sir ? What these guys did to us china will not able to do .

These guys....Talibans you referred? On the idea, no, it's not good at all. Like I said, if we start to give everything to the Chinese, what is our role in this country as a nation? What would be left for us to do? It's our country, we need to be responsible for running it and making it better. 75 years of public corruption at ALL levels has brought it to where it is. The ENTIRE population hasn't paid Taxes the way they needed to, from a Grocery store owner to owner of Housing societies, everyone's corrupt and never paid taxes, the country kept on taking loans to run and now we are saying "we ate the country, so let's contract it to the Chinese"?

The institution going on a suicide mission is a political view espoused by one political party looking at their own political fortunes (or temporary misfortunes currently.). You have to look at the bigger picture so follow here.

The sorry situation isn't that PTI is against the army for its involvement in the politics, rather their gripe is with the lack of army support for "their" politics. This is where I have an issue with your "cursing, criticizing" and all other hogwash thrown the military's way. You and your leader IK have not learnt anything.

If you were to say "no more military in politics", I am good with it. I agree with you. But you don't say that. You say Army is bad because it does not support IK and army is only good if it supports IK. This means you/we will be in the exact same damned situation every few years.

I am all for keeping the damned BPS-21 officer in his place. Don't you dare give a single CoAS extension from this point on. But that isn't what your leader is saying. He says these things as a mea-culpa but I doubt what he says. If push came to shove, he will give a future CoAS another extension because now the law allows it and it may be in his interest to curry the favor of the sitting CoAS. Bad deal!

To your very last question, who are we kidding about the NRO? This entire god-damned nation (I am included in the now 210M strong) has been getting NROs in ALL walks of life since the founding of this godforsaken country. On every turn, our people have taken short-cuts, broken laws, done excesses (I am talking about a petty peon to a high flying businessman), so let's not shed tears for our masses. People drop the MC/BC bombs on Bajwas, Sharifs, Khans, Bhuttos not realizing that these people come from within us. They become the very chorrs because of short cuts that our people have taken all their lives. Perhaps when they were not big-shots, they did not pay their taxes, once they become big-shots, they simply steal. Either way its theft. So I am done feeling sorry for ourselves. An elderly in my family said to me recently "hamaray amaal itnay burray hain issi liyay yeh ho raha hai" (such are our misdeeds that they invite all of these ills visiting us). So why am I constantly cursing the other when I have been a party to this mess? Apathy, petty corruption, dishonesty amongst the masses have eaten us hollow from within.

This is why I have stated this repeatedly, when one finger is pointed at another, four are pointed at ourselves.
I applaud you for finding the proverbial 'patli geli'. the nation has defaulted and you are making it into a PTI vs xyz type of political satire.

IF 3 fingers point back at you when you point a finger! then those 3 fingers are pointing at the military establishment.

if the military has decided to declare a war against its own then who does it intend to celebrate when its victorious?

bloody civilians are not the ones who make or made decisions that have brought Pakistan to ruins!

right now people are making laws to abolish crime for the elite. ONLY the elite is getting a NRO.

Lol.. This is idiotic.. Our regime ain't going to force pakistan into commiting suicide by going into Afghanistan.. Don't try that at home.. It will be Pandora box that will bring suffering to both countries.. Pakistan as we know may de-exist... Pakistan will suffer most as these ppl across border have already been thru 50 years of war non stop..

Going into Afghanistan is a dangerous and reckless miscalculation.. That no sane Pakistani will take..

Pakistan armed forces entirely will perish in these mountains.. Don't commit 2.0 Russia like Ukraine by easily dancing your way into a potential 100 year war where there is no victory but just loss on both sides more so in Pakistan side..

Our leadership is not dumb.. Our goal is to even improve our ties further with the Kabul admin and get them in on this operations where both sides carry out this operation together from each border

I applaud you for finding the proverbial 'patli geli'. the nation has defaulted and you are making it into a PTI vs xyz type of political satire.

IF 3 fingers point back at you when you point a finger! then those 3 fingers are pointing at the military establishment.

if the military has decided to declare a war against its own then who does it intend to celebrate when its victorious?

bloody civilians are not the ones who make or made decisions that have brought Pakistan to ruins!

right now people are making laws to abolish crime for the elite. ONLY the elite is getting a NRO.
The army is pretty proud for the Pakistan it has created for itself. Just take a gander at any DHA in the country. It's poles apart from the jaw dropping poverty just outside the boundary walls. Funnily I was passing through to Bedian yesterday; right at the edge of Phase 5 there's a board that has a Quranic verse asking God for forgiveness. Go figure.