World’s longest expressway between Delhi and Mumbai to open in March 2023: All you need to know

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway is a greenfield project and not expansion of existing highway. In that sense it's the longest expressway in the world.

What utter nonsense! Some guys can't concede when proven to be wrong. let go of your ego.

What are some of the SEZ along the DMIC that this Expressway will serve?

Seems overkill as an eight lane expressway considering the traffic to be served but maybe future-proofing it, who knows. It will be future-proofed for at least fifty years.

Somehow I have a tough time believing that even the one portion of the Golden Quadrilateral between the Delhi to Mumbai Sector had 100% utilization, then they built this.

India will never become the manufacturing juggernaut China was, Indian leaders don't have the resolve and Indian workers don't have the efficiency to pull it off. Indians would be wise to stick to back-office stuff.

Cheap products sold at 99-cent, pound-land and 100 yen stores, maybe. World-beater products, a firm no (at least for now). I am sorry, but anyone who has seen Indian products sold overseas can attest to this.
I think 8 lanes are too many for now. China started with 4 lanes mostly and then expended to 6 or 8 depends the traffic. They would rather build more alternatives than just one huge line.

The project definitely will create employment and it's a nice thing, but wouldn't it have been better to upgrade the railway network between the two cities? I mean, an HSR (even if not a bullet train) between Delhi and Mumbai would make more sense. It is unlikely that given the fuel prices we have, someone would want to drive for 2 days straight at 130+ KMPH, to reach their destination.

If serving freight traffic from DMIC to the ports is the objective then HSR is not needed, an efficient freight train corridor is however critical.

India for the last five years has already started to use double stack container trains (although slightly risky, still usable, I will explain if asked, don't want to bore people to tears). Look at these situations, India first, then US. Latter is infinitely safer. placing containers in trains at each SEZ location is what you need.

iu

In the US Gunderson, Magnuson and Husky make special double stack container carriers much safer than the Indian example above (loaded lower and therefore CG is lower too).
DSC02824.JPG

iu

I don't know why Indians think that trucked freight via highway is cheaper or less polluting. Idiotic 1950's thinking. Other than carrying containers by river (way cheaper than trucks), rail is next cheapest way (also less polluting) than having polluting individual trucks carry container to ports.

I take back my earlier comment about future proofing by highway. Now that scenario became clear, Indians are back-dated than even Bangladesh. In Bangladesh there are Inland riverine container ports operating near Dhaka, so containers can be carried via river vessel to main ports (ocean-going mother vessels), via rail or via trucks.

Container Trucks via Highway are most expensive, followed by rail and then via river/sea is cheapest per ton of freight carried.

But forget all this. Tens of Billions will be spent here only to get clueless bhakt votes. "India Amrika-ko picchey chhor chuka hai - dekho kitna shan-dar eight lane express-way banaya". That is Gadkari's marching orders and that is what he is doing. Pointless propaganda and showcase project again.

I don't know why Indians think that trucked freight via highway is cheaper or less polluting. Idiotic 1950's thinking.
an efficient freight train corridor is however critical.

We have the largest rail network in the world moving daily the most people in the world on a daily basis. We have a DEDICATED freight network coming up ACROSS India in the Quadrilateral . Far far bigger than just a dedicated freight route between Mumbai and Delhi

Freight Freight and more Freight

Of course we are a very very poor country compared to that thrusting super nation Bangladesh with its vast network of bullet trains, we only have tiny freight trains of 1.5 km long.
As Bangladeshi's drive in their Lamborghini's and porches they should have some patience. We aspire to reach your astronomical achievements in maybe a another 1000 years as long as you decide not to take over India through your military might.

We have the largest rail network in the world moving daily the most people in the world on a daily basis. We have a DEDICATED freight network coming up ACROSS India in the Quadrilateral . Far far bigger than just a dedicated freight route between Mumbai and Delhi

Of course we are a very very poor country compared to that thrusting super nation Bangladesh with its vast network of bullet trains, we only have tiny freight trains of 1.5 km long.
As Bangladeshi's drive in their Lamborghini's and porches they should have some patience. We aspire to reach your astronomical achievements in maybe a another 1000 years as long as you decide not to take over India through your military might.

Stop groveling and creaking your neck in sarcasm. It is getting embarrassing. :-)

What rail network the British gifted you (along with everything else industrial) is none of our concern, we had to build everything from scratch.

Just remember this shloka from back in my early pathshala Boto-brikhya "tol" days,

विद्या परमं बलम्।
Vidyā Paramaṁ Balaṁ.

Knowledge is power

You do know your nominal per capita GDP in India is lower than ours. That is all you need to keep in mind.

You do know your PPP per capita GDP in India is lower than ours. That is all you need to keep in mind.

How many kms of DFC finished last decade? I heard about it since 2006.

If serving freight traffic from DMIC to the ports is the objective then HSR is not needed, an efficient freight train corridor is however critical.

India for the last five years has already started to use double stack container trains (although slightly risky, still usable, I will explain if asked, don't want to bore people to tears). Look at these situations, India first, then US. Latter is infinitely safer. placing containers in trains at each SEZ location is what you need.

iu

In the US Gunderson, Magnuson and Husky make special double stack container carriers much safer than the Indian example above (loaded lower and therefore CG is lower too).
DSC02824.JPG

iu

I don't know why Indians think that trucked freight via highway is cheaper or less polluting. Idiotic 1950's thinking. Other than carrying containers by river (way cheaper than trucks), rail is next cheapest way (also less polluting) than having polluting individual trucks carry container to ports.

I take back my earlier comment about future proofing by highway. Now that scenario became clear, Indians are back-dated than even Bangladesh. In Bangladesh there are Inland riverine container ports operating near Dhaka, so containers can be carried via river vessel to main ports (ocean-going mother vessels), via rail or via trucks.

Container Trucks via Highway are most expensive, followed by rail and then via river/sea is cheapest per ton of freight carried.

But forget all this. Tens of Billions will be spent here only to get clueless bhakt votes. "India Amrika-ko picchey chhor chuka hai - dekho kitna shan-dar eight lane express-way banaya". That is Gadkari's marching orders and that is what he is doing. Pointless propaganda and showcase project again.

Bruh... I was asking for something else and you took it in a completely senseless direction. Never mind.

Thanks for the videos.

In the first video the track, sleepers and roadbed underneath is being laid in the same way they do them in most SE Asian countries (or even internationally), and incidentally the same way that we do in Bangladesh too, including use of ballast tampers, finishers etc. In fact future trackage will be ballast-less altogether for HSR and use continuous welded rail.

I did not understand why National Geographic India had to term this "Extreme Tech" - maybe I missed something. This "tech" is rather par for course. But a program meant for kids I guess...

The major difference between an expressway and a highway is the access control. Expressways have controlled access where a vehicle can enter it only through a limited place and no other road merges with/crosses the expressway anywhere, thereby avoiding possible accidents. While in the case of highways, there are multiple roads which merge with/cross the highways at many places.

Comparison Table Between Freeway Or Highway and Expressway
Parameters of ComparisonFreeway Or HighwayExpressway
DefinitionThey are to aid homes and businesses.They are urban socializers.
Lanes2-3 lanes 2-8 lanes
Toll polesNot includedIncluded
Motorway standardsIncludedNot included
Signs and signalsNo signs of divergence or traffic signals are involved.Involves signalized intersections and divergences

Big difference from a freeway /highway is not the capacity or the speed but the link to adjoining land. it direct access to almost all the frontages while an expressway to none.

Another thing between a freeway/highway and expressway is the aim for which they are built. A freeway/highway is a service road to provide access to homes, business establishments, and businesses. On the other hand, an expressway is a traffic road in service made mainly for managing the traffic movement at high speeds and volumes.

- In expressways, roads are not multiples, controlled access is there where vehicle can enter through a limited place and no further or other road merges or crosses the expressway anywhere. Due to this the possibility of accidents are also less. But in the case of highways, multiple roads are there which merge with or cross the highways at many places.

- Highway is a generic term given to roadways which connect important cities; towns etc, and usually have 4 lanes to provide high speed traffic. But expressway is a high speed road with little access and consists of several facilities like access ramps, lane dividers etc.

for the debate that is going on you guys can fight who has the longest , just want to point out the difference

Expressways may be new and novel in India, but to the rest of the world they are ho-hum and plain-jane.

Don't get all bent out of shape explaining difference between Freeways and Expressways, Western countries had Expressways for close to seventy years now.

Not discounting Indian achievement - but claiming to anyone outside the subcontinent that expressways in India are world's longest and world's first, earth-shaking etc. will invite ridicule, dismissal and laughter. Izzat ka sawal hai.

Us poor Bangladeshi cousins may be impressed, but don't claim it to others.

The US had 2500 mile long Interstate Expressways stretching from Florida to San Diego built in 1945. Ask any of your H1B folks, they will tell you.

World’s longest expressway between Delhi and Mumbai to open in March 2023: All you need to know
Delhi-Mumbai Expressway: The 1380-km eight-lane expressway — passing through Delhi, Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat — will reduce travel time between the cities to 12 hours.

By: Explained Desk | New Delhi |
September 18, 2021 12:38:47 pm
mumbai delhi expressway, delhi mumbai expressway, delhi mumbai expressway features, worlds longest expressway, indian express

Advertisement

lg.php

Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari during inspection of Delhi-Mumbai Expressway in the Dausa, Rajasthan region. (PTI Photo)
Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari on Friday concluded the two-day review of the work progress on the 1380-km eight-lane Delhi-Mumbai Expressway, which will reduce travel time between certain cities to 12-12.5 hours from 24 hours.
Gadkari toured Delhi, Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat over the two days to review progress of the project, being built at a cost of Rs 98,000 crore and scheduled to be completed by March 2023.

What is the Delhi-Mumbai expressway?
  • Cost: Rs 98,000 crore
  • Length: 1,380 km
  • Completion schedule: The first phase from Delhi-Jaipur (Dausa)-Lalsot and Vadodara-Ankleshwar is expected to be open to traffic by March 2022. The expressway is expected to be completed by March 2023.
  • The project was kickstarted in 2018 with the foundation stone being laid on March 9, 2019.
  • The expressway will feature a spur to Jewar Airport and Jawaharlal Nehru Port to Mumbai through a spur in Mumbai.
  • The expressway will improve connectivity to economic hubs like Jaipur, Kishangarh, Ajmer, Kota, Chittorgarh, Udaipur, Bhopal, Ujjain, Indore, Ahmedabad, Vadodara and Surat.
  • Out of the 1,380 km, contracts have been awarded for more than 1,200 km where work is under progress.
  • Over 15,000 hectares of land has been acquired across states for the construction of the Delhi-Mumbai expressway.

Key features of Delhi-Mumbai Expressway
  • The eight-lane access-controlled expressway can be expanded to a 12-lane expressway depending on the volume of traffic.
  • The expressway will have wayside amenities – resorts, restaurants, food courts, fuel stations, facilities for truckers, logistics parks.
  • A helicopter ambulance service for accident victims and a heliport, which will use drone services for business as well.
  • Over two million trees and shrubs are planned to be planted along the highway.
  • The expressway is the first in Asia and only the second in the world to feature animal overpasses to facilitate unrestricted movement of wildlife.
  • The expressway will also include two iconic 8-lane tunnels, one tunneling through Mukundra sanctuary without disturbing the endangered fauna in the region for 4 km and the second 4 km eight-lane tunnel will pass through the Matheran eco-sensitive zone.
  • The expressway will result in annual fuel savings of more than 320 million litres and reduce CO2 emissions by 850 million kg which is equivalent to the planting of 40 million trees.
  • More than 12 lakh tonnes of steel will be consumed in the construction of the expressway, which is equivalent to building 50 Howrah bridges.
  • 80 lakh tonnes of cement will be consumed for the project, which is approximately 2% of India’s annual cement production capacity.
  • The project has also created employment for thousands of trained civil engineers and more than 50 lakh man days of work.
mumbai delhi expressway, delhi mumbai expressway, delhi mumbai expressway features, worlds longest expressway, indian express

Advertisement

lg.php

Nitin Gadkari during the inspection of a bridge built across the Narmada river near Bharuch, Friday, Sept. 17, 2021. (PTI Photo)

Haryana
More than 160 km stretch of the expressway which passes through Haryana is being built at a cost of Rs 10,400 crore. “This corridor will improve connectivity in Nuh and Palwal through multiple interchanges to connect the expressway with major highways like KMP and DND Sohna. To address the serious problem of air pollution and traffic congestion in Delhi-NCR, the ministry is undertaking 15 projects worth Rs 53,000 crore, of which 14 projects have been initiated. This expressway will lead to a reduction of 27 per cent in vehicular pollution in Delhi,” Gadkari said.
At least 73 villages in this region will benefit from this stretch.

Rajasthan
Of the total expressway, 374 km passes through the state of Rajasthan and the section is being built at a total capital cost of more than 16,600 crores, with contracts for all 374 kms already awarded.
The corridor will pass through the districts of Alwar, Bharatpur, Dausa, Sawai Madhopur, Tonk, Bundi and Kota. Multiple bridges are being built across the rivers of the state like Banganga river, Banas river, Mezriver and Chambal river. An 1,100-m long elevated stretch has been planned across the Chakan Dam which will be an engineering marvel.
All the packages in Rajathan are under progress with the Delhi-Jaipur (Dausa)-Lalsot section of 214 km targeted to be completed and open to traffic by March 2022. The remaining section from Lalsot to Kota is targeted to be completed by March 2023.

Madhya Pradesh
The Delhi-Mumbai Expressway will pass through Madhya Pradesh (nearly 250km) and is being constructed at an estimated cost of Rs 8,500 crore. Gadkari reviewed the progress in construction of the expressway in Ratlam on Thursday.
According to officials, the eight-lane Delhi-Vadodara-Mumbai Expressway would pass through western MP covering 102.4 km area stretch in Mandsaur, 90.1 km in Ratlam and 52 km in Jhabual. They said of the around 245 km of this road project in Madhya Pradesh, 106 km had been constructed and the time limit to complete the Expressway was November 2022.

Gujarat
As a part of the expressway project, 60 major bridges, 17 interchanges, 17 flyovers and eight road over bridges (ROBs) will be built in Gujarat, Gadkari said while reviewing work progress in Bharuch. The minister said 33 wayside amenities are also proposed to be build on this expressway to provide world-class transport facilities as well as generate employment opportunities in the state.

Farmers fairly compensated
Gadkari said the ministry, in a liberal approach, had paid 1.5 times more than the market price to farmers for land acquisition. “I appeal to farmers to not sell their land to builders and developers, who usually profit when prices increase after road construction. They (farmers) will get more money if they develop the land,” he said.

Karachi to Peshawar motorway
Screenshot_20211229-130712~2.png