What's new

Ukraine says it downed three Ka-52 helicopters in two days

This war simply shows what I have been pounding the table about for ~20 years.

The only thing that breaks stalemates in modern warfare is effective armored advances.

The only way to do effective armored advances is with hard kill active protection systems along with air defense.

As of today, very few of the armor around the world actually has the hard kill active protection systems at the ready to be equipped to a large enough quantity to make such an effective armored advance sustainable.

This played out exactly as anyone who knew anything would know it would play out.

The lack of hard kill active protection systems is what is keeping this conflict, and any near-peer conflict, a stalemate.
I agree in this day an age.

You should take a look at the 33 days war between Hezbollah and Israel. A war that many people forgot existed. A foreshow for what modern warefare would look like, and largely overlooked by the public but not by military people.

How did a militia group with no airforce, or air defence, managed to halt a combined arms armoured advance. What previously took Israel 3 days to do (walk into Beirut) could not be achieved after 33 days. You should take a look at that if you haven't before.

Literally with well trained teams, and the right tools (ATGMs), dealing with 1000s of sorties, you can stop any advance that does not have hard kill active protection. If Hard kill APS, existed then perhaps the results would have been different.

People also forget how heavily outnumbered the Russians are in this fight. They only comitted some 175-200 BTGs whilst Ukraine at the start had ~230BTG. Russia has sent so little to what it actually has in service.
Ukraine never have that amount of number to begin with.......