The Infantry Division of PA

Was wondering if the 34th LID could act as a strategic reserve division for opposite Gurez region, where our position isn't really comfortable.

Isnt it a long stretch i.e from leepa to gurez? I have heard that army was also working on an alternative route from Noori top.

You bring remarkable understanding of PA. Thanks. Serious question. How much of the PA as a institution is of 'desi' origin and how much of it from British era or American 1960s involvement? And what exactly is of 'desi' origin in PA as a institution?

@Signalian

You bring remarkable understanding of PA. Thanks. Serious question. How much of the PA as a institution is of 'desi' origin and how much of it from British era or American 1960s involvement? And what exactly is of 'desi' origin in PA as a institution?

@Signalian
Initially we operated solely along British lines , still have many of their footprint especially the whole rigid discipline , mess life ( although declining ) , however after cento SEATO etc, American influenced doctrine came in and order shifted from nav air army to army air nav, yet British values of NCO etc to the smallest degree kept , yet American war fighting techniques were adopted , PMA runs Almost parralel along the lines of Sandhurst and improves on it with more focus on physical,

Yet post 2001 especially 2007 onwards war on terror , a lot of the new traditions and ways are Desi, our strategic forces conduct has always been Desi,

@Signalian
70% are traditions are from British. Ranks, Berets, Mess etc. Will have to think, just a few on top of my head are as follows.

Desi origin are Muslim Traditions usually.
1. Gentlemen Bismillah and Alhamdulillah
2. Na'ra e Takbeer in exercise/combat.
3. Sir/Good morning Sir is British Greeting. "Sir Assalam o alaikum" is the new greeting.
4. Calling an officer "Sir" and "Sahab" is British. Calling an officer "Sir" and a JCO "Sahab" is desi.
5. Mess system is British, which is used even now in Traditions. Lunger system is Desi. Lunger is usually for OR/NCO/JCO. Barra Khana (Battlion sized lunch) is prepared by lunger system, mess facilities are not used then.
6. We still have PAVO (Prince Albert Victor Own) regiment unfortunately as 11 cavalry.
7. Vulgarities are the same in term of language usage, the desi "maa behan" abuses are not used, all english abuses.
8. The tea culture is still not replaced with coffee, although the level of sugar tea spoons go down with rise in ranks.
9. Batman term has been abolished, not culture, thanks to Non commissioned Batmans (NCB)
10. "Meri Unit, Meri Izzat" holds importance.
11. Newly commissioned 2nd Lt gets "Royal" treatment on first day keeping in mind Azan and Namaz timings, so he instructed to report before zuhr or after isha.
12. Unit motto is not used that much in combat.

Just for fun, You know Mosque is the true solitude of a muslim, especially during Ragging/PT Time/Restrictions as a cadet. Mosque Truly saves a cadet, no senior can stop a cadet from offering salah in mosque :yahoo: