Taliban Rejects All US Demands

OrionHunter

In a conference call from Northern Ireland where President Obama is attending the G8 summit, US officials said they expected Taliban to issue a statement opposing the use of Afghan soil to threaten other countries (which implicitly meant not sheltering al-Qaida); and second, that they support an Afghan peace process.

As it turned out, the statement released by the Taliban was stunning in its implicit rejection of even the minimum US demands and assertive in its own assumption of Afghan leadership and how it would achieve its objectives: “It is well known to all that the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan has been waging jihad to put an end to the occupation and form an independent Islamic system,” it said, assuming the Afghan leadership and making no reference to the Karzai government, the rights of women and minorities, or recognizing the Afghan constitution.

“The Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan considers it its religious and national duty to gain independence from the occupation and for that purpose has utilised every legitimate way and will utilise it in future too,” it maintained.

US officials had also maintained that they had got enough and the “statement that we expect today is this first step in distancing them, distancing the movement from international terrorism” although they conceded “it’s not as far as will demand them to go at the end of the process.”

The officials were cautious about the outcome of what they said was a first step in what could be a complex, long, and messy dialogue. “I think we need to be realistic. This is a new development, a potentially significant development. But peace is not at hand,” one official said.

Article Window

Humbled US makes concessions to Taliban to start talks - The Times of India

It seems it's going to be a messy divorce for the Americans in 2014. It will be utter chaos in Afghanistan degenerating into civil war. How Pakistan which would be the most affected, is going to cope, is the million dollar question.

@OrionHunter if USA wants to talk with Taliban, then why the hell USA went to war against taliban in afganistan in first place ?

more question: is not it Taliban Al Qaeda attacked on 9/11 and killed over thousand Americans ? so America now negotiating the people who killed Americans, where is their Dialog now ''We do not negotiate with terrorist" ?
@Chinese-Dragon @RAMPAGE what do you say guys ?

i am dam sure this negotiation is to turn Al-Qaeda against Pakistan totally (divide and rule policy)

on the name of freeing Afganistan America just established bases.

@OrionHunter if USA wants to talk with Taliban, then why the hell USA went to war against taliban in afganistan in first place ?

more question: is not it Taliban Al Qaeda attacked on 9/11 and killed over thousand Americans ? so America now negotiating the people who killed Americans, where is their Dialog now ''We do not negotiate with terrorist" ?
@Chinese-Dragon @RAMPAGE what do you say guys ?

i am dam sure this negotiation is to turn Al-Qaeda against Pakistan totally (divide and rule policy)

on the name of freeing Afganistan America just established bases.
bhai saari baat ye hai k sher mai ab jaan nahi rahi its economy is ruined, see for ur self sooner or later the talibs will establish their government in afghanistan there is no denying it ! as for al-qaida the talibaan will do better without them the aq is finished !

The problem is that the US failed to read the end result of the war they started in Afghanistan. They were under the mistaken impression that the Taliban would just melt away after their blitzkreig they unleashed in 2001 to dismantle Al-Qaeda, led by Osama bin Laden and to remove from power the Taliban, led by Mullah Mohammed Omar, which at the time controlled 90% of Afghanistan and hosted the Al-Qaeda leadership.

However, 12 years on and the Americans see the war as a seemingly endless one resulting in thousands of American troops being killed and trillions of dollars going into a bottomless sinkhole. They need to get out, and fast, but they cannot leave a vacuum in Afghanistan. They need to have a face saver and peaceful transition, however tenuous that may be. After all they need to show some tangible gains in Afghanistan for all that they've 'sacrificed' in terms of American lives and money.

And thus the dire desperation on their part to talk to the Taliban for arriving at an acceptable mutual agreement for a post withdrawal dispensation.

Says who? Was the 9/11 attack really done by some Yahoos of the Al Qaeda? It most probably was an inside job to make it the raison d'etre to set foot in the Middle East for oil and propagating 'democracy' - Western style - and later occupy Afghanistan on the pretext of going after Osama and his cohorts.

I wouldn't want to dwell on America's aim of establishing a New World Order (NWO) as it would require a whole new thread, but suffice to say that all this was part of this so called NWO which seems to have come a cropper.

Says who? Was the 9/11 attack really done by some Yahoos of the Al Qaeda? It most probably was an inside job to make it the raison d'etre to set foot in the Middle East for oil and propagating 'democracy' - Western style - and later occupy Afghanistan on the pretext of going after Osama and his cohorts.

I believe it is inside job, but they did propaganda that Al-Qaeda did it

Shabash mere sher.

Ask Yzd as to why KSA has gone after the AQ so hard..hint:- its not coz AQ stole some cookies while the americans rammed their own buildings with their own planes.
@Yzd Khalifa Please amplify upon that for my friend here.

Shabash mere sher.

Ask Yzd as to why KSA has gone after the AQ so hard..hint:- its not coz AQ stole some cookies while the americans rammed their own buildings with their own planes.
@Yzd Khalifa Please amplify upon that for my friend here.

lol you really Believe KSA has gone after AQ ? if so then why KSA is the large source of AQ ?

In a conference call from Northern Ireland where President Obama is attending the G8 summit, US officials said they expected Taliban to issue a statement opposing the use of Afghan soil to threaten other countries (which implicitly meant not sheltering al-Qaida); and second, that they support an Afghan peace process.

As it turned out, the statement released by the Taliban was stunning in its implicit rejection of even the minimum US demands and assertive in its own assumption of Afghan leadership and how it would achieve its objectives: “It is well known to all that the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan has been waging jihad to put an end to the occupation and form an independent Islamic system,” it said, assuming the Afghan leadership and making no reference to the Karzai government, the rights of women and minorities, or recognizing the Afghan constitution.

“The Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan considers it its religious and national duty to gain independence from the occupation and for that purpose has utilised every legitimate way and will utilise it in future too,” it maintained.

US officials had also maintained that they had got enough and the “statement that we expect today is this first step in distancing them, distancing the movement from international terrorism” although they conceded “it’s not as far as will demand them to go at the end of the process.”

The officials were cautious about the outcome of what they said was a first step in what could be a complex, long, and messy dialogue. “I think we need to be realistic. This is a new development, a potentially significant development. But peace is not at hand,” one official said.

Article Window

It seems it's going to be a messy divorce for the Americans in 2014. It will be utter chaos in Afghanistan degenerating into civil war. How Pakistan which would be the most affected, is going to cope, is the million dollar question.

Dear Taliban, the situation is soooooo friggin simple for you:

You have to choose, Taliban.

Do you use violence as a tool to get what you want? You'll reap eternal war and suffering for your own kind.

Do you never use violence again to get what you want, resorting to patient dialogue and wide-spread petitioning and overall helping of the people? Then you can join your government and become the leading party, determining national policies such as perhaps an outlawing of all Hollywood content, and a government-sponsored, paid-by-natural-resources movie industry of your own, enhancing Islamic values (especially the ones not involing the chopping off of hands and heads) instead of seeing your country infiltrated by bikinis. The trick to staying IN power is to allow all minorities to have their own political party and a fair say, especially in affairs that concern only them.

Violence, Taliban, will get you farther away from your goals. If you practice international terrorism again, you force the west to come back to you. You've been and will be warned of this time and time again. We have the technological edge. And we invite you at the negotiating table time and time again. Learn to listen to a "no", and keep hoping for a "yes" for about 20 to 50 years at least. Spare your own people 20 to 50 years of suffering, gain their trust and support.

lol you really Believe KSA has gone after AQ ? if so then why KSA is the large source of AQ ?

Oh they may be chummy with a few AQ affiliates down in Syria..otherwise the AQ has always had issues with their King.

Once Assad bites it so will the AQ affiliates..never underestimate what KSA can do to religious numb-nuts..it pays to be honest guardians of the Masjid-al-haram my dear fellow.

Besides as I said..wait for Yzd's reply..the AQ is filled with poor saps who don't even know where their place in the game is anymore...ever so easy to divert..sometimes even for good and honest aims. :angel:

Oh they may be chummy with a few AQ affiliates down in Syria..otherwise the AQ has always had issues with their King.

Once Assad bites it so will the AQ affiliates..never underestimate what KSA can do to religious numb-nuts..it pays to be honest guardians of the Masjid-al-haram my dear fellow.

Besides as I said..wait for Yzd's reply..the AQ is filled with poor saps who don't even know where their place in the game is anymore...ever so easy to divert..sometimes even for good and honest aims. :angel:

Saudis faulted for funding terror - Los Angeles Times
Wikileaks: Saudis 'chief funders of al-Qaeda' - Telegraph
Saudis discover new funding channels for Taliban, al Qaeda - CNN.com
:angel: :angel:

Article Window

Why are you posting crap news? Please read up and don't mislead. Here is what the Taliban said

Taliban agree to peace talks with US over Afghanistan

The Islamic Emirate never wants to pose harms to other countries from its soil, nor will it allow anyone to cause a threat to the security of countries from the soil of Afghanistan.

Did you forget to notice that KSA itself is not complicit in funding..rather certain private citizens are with an emphasis on funds collected during hajj..so who all go about in the hajj..just the saudis..at that rate..Indian/BD/Malaysian/Australian Muslims who knowingly/unknowingly might end up donating to some of these "agents" which the article mentions would end up putting our countries on the AQ fund-raisers list too.:angel:

Does't work that way. Atm KSA's hands are clean as far as "supporting" AQ goes. :D

@OrionHunter, yara, the the struggle within Afghanistan has nothing to do with the "Taliban", they just have been branded as such. The fact of the matter is that they are Pushtoons fighting for a homeland free of tyranny, local and foreign; And no, Afghan Government does not represent the "majority" of it's population, not even by a long shot, those are just statistics for the consumption of average Joe.

Yanks know this very well (now at least) and are trying hard to find the best possible escape-route, out of this quagmire.

The real terrorists are the TTP/LeJ (their creation) and yes..yes LeT too..(our creation), whereas, the Afghan "Taliban" are 99.99% ethnic movement, which will never give up or loose momentum.

Take it or leave it, that's exactly how it is.