Punjab plans its very own Las Vegas.

Dark Warrior

Punjab plans its very own Las Vegas.
Rohan Dua, TNN | Aug 3, 2012, 01.57AM IST
Article

CHANDIGARH: Forget about canting off to Macau or Las Vegas strip to roll a dice and revel in a tantalising gambling carousal.

Get ready to spin a ball on a little wheel popularly called roulette, see it running around and cheerfully call a bet to the croupier, as you quaff colas and gorge peanuts -- all on the banks of the Satluj river in the rural hinterland of Punjab.

Punjab deputy CM Sukhbir Badal, known for his flamboyance and CEO style of functioning, has ordered the state's infrastructure development agency Punjab Infrastructure Development Board (PIDB) to set up a Las Vegas strip-like casino at Mattewara village near Ludhiana.

A three-member team comprising a PIDB official and two members from an empanelled private agency Infrastructure Leasing & Financial Services Limited (IL&FS) was sent on a four-day visit to Goa last week to study and explore the possibility of installing slot machines and casinos in Punjab, set to become third state in the country after Sikkim and Goa to have casinos.

According to the state visit report, a copy of which is with TOI, the team -- which returned on Thursday -- held meetings with Goa chief secretary P K Shrivastav and special secretary Mohan Lal and had a first hand experience of slot machines in casinos in Panjim.

The casinos planned in Mattewara will have around 30-50 slot machines, video pokers and card games like baccarat, blackjack, pontoon and sicbo and will be open 24 hours.

"These casinos which we are planning are a part of our recreational amusement zone project near Ludhiana. The purpose is to increase the tourist footfall in the state. Our team has just returned from Goa after studying casinos. We're going to seek more advice and help on legal, technical and operational details from Sikkim and Goa governments," PIDB managing director Anurag Aggarwal told TOI.

The Punjab government is likely to discuss the Public Gambling Act, 1867 in its next Assembly session.

The casinos will be built both inside hotels or stand alone on a PPP model near the river.

The initial report has suggested borrowing legal framework from Goa where an annual licence fee of Rs 5 crore is paid by the hotel housing the casinos and an entry fee between Rs 500-Rs 1,000 is charged to every visitor.

Like the exisiting Punjab lotteries system, the casinos are also likely to generate revenue of around Rs 100 crore annunally.

However, Punjab finance minister Parminder Dhindsa debunked the analogy between lotteries and casinos, saying the latter is only for recreational purpose.

"The process is in the initial stages. Casinos will certainly be a big revenue generator. The purpose is not create forced taxation here. We only want to encourage local tourism because when you see the locals from here going to Nepal or Hong Kong, they spend huge money to enjoy these games. Times have changed.But we agree, there might be some criticism as well," said Dhindsa.

Out of 1,400 acres of proposed landscaped area surrounded by thick forests and water bodies, Mattewara village is already set to have a horse racing turf on a 140-acre land, golf course on a 200-acre land and an amusement park.

Three multi-national companies including -- Populace , S Powers and JAA Consultants -- have already made bids for offering consultancy services for the horse racing tracks.

US-based game park company Six Flags is likely to construct the amusement part.

Punjab plans its very own Las Vegas - The Times of India
Make it fast.I want to go their immediately.

Ha ha ..

Good old Punjab.

This will give his political opponents some masala. Will help state revenues though..

Its about time we legalised such things. After all so much is spent on illegal gambling.

good to see the other part of our punjab prospering

Could we rephrase it like this ..

" Good to see the 'progressive' Punjab prospering " ?

Punjab belongs to punjabis at any day, we dont give a damn to what outsiders say...

Which means you give a lot of damn to what punjabis themselves speak.

All Indian Punjabis, aa jaao yahan. Need your response :) :D

I thought Goa was the Macau of India?

its the miami of india tough. theres no macau or lasvegas as of yet. :)

I don't know what you are talking about? Indian Punjab belongs to India.

Pakistani Punjab belongs to Punjab.

As for the gambling and prostitution that is rampant in India, thats their internal affairs.

Its too bad that India is becoming like "Amsterdam" and "Las Vegas."

I though India was a "conservative" country, proud of its moral values.

Hmmmm.

Alcohol(Sikhs+Gambling)^2=Barbadi.

Yes sad right. Alcohol, prostitution, and gambling is now becoming rampant in India.

Allah ka shukr, I have Pakistan.

alcohol, prostitution and gambling is banned in Pakistan.

That is why Pakistan is called the "Land of the Pure."

We don't tolerate bakwass.

As for the gambling and prostitution that is rampant in India, thats their internal affairs.

Yes sad right. Alcohol, prostitution, and gambling is now becoming rampant in India.

Alcohol, Gambling and Prostitution is banned in Pakistan ( Land of Pure ), but widely available for the Patrons in this land of Pure.

Are Bhai Vo to Dekhne Wala ke Nazarye pe Depend karta haii na... Andhe ko to sab Andhera he Dikhai deta haii ... U Speak as if there no Prostitution Going in Pakistan ... & alcohol LOL Just Few Months back Heard the News from Pakistan that Many Died after Drinking Liquor from Deshi Daru ki Bhatti...

I Would Prefer Prostitues & Gambling any day then having... Religious Extremist & Suicide Bombers ... as Prostitution & Gambling can be Controlled in Months or Years if we Bring a Strict Law against it ... But cant say that about religious Extremist & Bombers...

Thanks for ur Concern regarding India's degrading moral value ... No need to Tell that u Dont Tolerate all those things ... we all know How Intolerant u r ... But Thanks for accepting it...

Mean while an another land of Pure Dubai is Now the Gambling Hub of Middle east ... I have heard even People from the Land of Pure play there...

lol stupid to copy the idea of having los vegas in indian punjab. Just having gambling, liquor, prostitution in a city don't make it Los vegas. Punjab has its own ways of life and simplicity. There are many villages in punjab without potable water and regular electricity and they are talking about los vegas. Next we will hear about De Wallen in punjab

Chalo kuch log to sachh bolte hain yahan.....