Pakistan, Saudi Arabia IT MoU: This is what we will get

FOOLS_NIGHTMARE

United Kingdom
Pakistan's IT workforce to get access to Saudi public, private sectors
1696267996521.png

Pakistan and Saudi Arabia have signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to work together in the field of information technology (IT).

The agreement was signed by the Caretaker IT Minister of Pakistan, Umar Saif, and his Saudi counterpart, Abdullah A Al-Sawahah, in Riyadh on Sunday.

It aims to facilitate Pakistani companies to work in Saudi Arabia, provide trained IT manpower to Saudi companies, promote joint ventures with Saudi firms, and establish a startup exchange program with top Saudi tech incubators.

The MoU also includes a bilateral commitment to the digital economy. Both sides agreed to promote the private sector apart from the government level.

Strategic cooperation

The MoU also outlines a number of strategic areas of cooperation, including:

• Setting up a chip manufacturing industry in Pakistan: This would be a major boost to Pakistan's IT sector, and would help to reduce the country's reliance on imported chips.

• Working on electric vehicles, lithium-ion batteries, agriculture technology, and mining technologies: These are all areas where Pakistan and Saudi Arabia have complementary strengths, and cooperation in these areas could lead to the development of new products and services that would benefit both countries.
Special desk for Pakistani IT companies

The interim IT minister of Pakistan, Umar Saif, has also announced that he has met with the Saudi minister of investment, H.E. Khalid al-Falih, who has instructed the Ministry of Investment to establish a special desk for Pakistani IT companies to get registered in Saudi Arabia and to grant licenses (CR) to operate in the kingdom.

This desk will also work with Pakistan's IT industry to offer business opportunities in the public and private sector of Saudi Arabia.

Investment Fund for Pakistani startups

Saif also said that he has set up meetings with the Saudi Public Investment Fund (PIF) to explore the possibility of participating in the VC fund-of-funds for Pakistani startups.

"Incredibly productive meeting with the Saudi Minister of Investment (MISA). Cannot thank the Minister H.E. Khalid al-Falih enough for his warmth and support. He has instructed MISA to establish a special desk for Pakistani IT companies to get registered in KSA and to grant licenses (CR) to operate in KSA," he wrote in a post on X.

The minister also wrote, "Ordinarily, thus process would take months and over 100,000 Riyals of consulting fees. This was the number one demand of our IT companies. This desk will also work with our IT industry to offer business opportunists in the public and private sector KSA. The Minister also setup meetings with the Saudi Investment Fund (PIF) to explore the possibility of participating in our VC fund-of-funds for Pakistani startups."

This would be a significant boost to Pakistan's startup ecosystem and would help to attract more investment into Pakistani startups.

Business is a two way partnership. The sole purpose of business is to make profit. When our government talks about foreign investment, it’s giving a gesture like the other country is donating the money to us.

If the Saudis are going to invest in Pakistan, they will foresee their profit before anything else, nothing wrong in it.

Setting up a chip manufacturing industry in Pakistan: This would be a major boost to Pakistan's IT sector, and would help to reduce the country's reliance on imported chips.

• Working on electric vehicles, lithium-ion batteries, agriculture technology, and mining technologies: These are all areas where Pakistan and Saudi Arabia have complementary strengths, and cooperation in these areas could lead to the development of new products and services that would benefit both countries.

What is this man's, and our ministry's obsession with chip manufacturing in Pakistan?

Do they have any idea what it takes to make chips? Itna asan hota to sari dunya bana rahi hoti.

Hamara bhi wakhra nizam hi hai. We won't get the basics right, but we will go for the top prize.

Assemble laptops, TV's, put those chips in something, provide basic IT infrastructure to your own government and eliminate the red tape, your Foreign Missions in Western countries are using hotmail and Gmail FFS, usay theek karo pehle.

How tf are you gonna make chips? Same with Lipo batteries, we don't even have Lithium in this country. How are you gonna import it? Dollar hain?

kya chip manufacturing ka ch lagaya hua hai inhone...

Business is a two way partnership. The sole purpose of business is to make profit. When our government talks about foreign investment, it’s giving a gesture like the other country is donating the money to us.

If the Saudis are going to invest in Pakistan, they will foresee their profit before anything else, nothing wrong in it.
its just an MOU, not that serious

What is this man's, and our ministry's obsession with chip manufacturing in Pakistan?

Do they have any idea what it takes to make chips? Itna asan hota to sari dunya bana rahi hoti.

Hamara bhi wakhra nizam hi hai. We won't get the basics right, but we will go for the top prize.

Assemble laptops, TV's, put those chips in something, provide basic IT infrastructure to your own government and eliminate the red tape, your Foreign Missions in Western countries are using hotmail and Gmail FFS, usay theek karo pehle.

How tf are you gonna make chips? Same with Lipo batteries, we don't even have Lithium in this country. How are you gonna import it? Dollar hain?
In their knowledge cap they might be talking in terms of PCBs and Integrated circuits or low low end non-processing chips.
FAB build outs are difficult for developed economies let alone a country like ours.

Nothing will come out of all of this. Nothing. Just a few chosen people getting access to projects poorly delivered with some making heafty money.

Building a sustainable IT industry begins with 6 basic ingredients, non-of which we have at scale or in quality.
1) Energy (cheap)
2) Education
3) Alliances and global business relationships
4) Abundant, cheap and fast connectivity
5) Safe and secure environment to enable foreigners
6) Legal framework to protect corporate and IP rights

Without the above or a large set of the above this whole IT thing will just sputter along.

In their knowledge cap they might be talking in terms of PCBs and Integrated circuits or low low end non-processing chips.
FAB build outs are difficult for developed economies let alone a country like ours.

I think that is what they mean and are either deliberately mentioning chips to fool people, or just plain ignorance.

6) Legal framework to protect corporate and IP rights

The most important one. I know someone who made a product, and a very large name HVAC manufacturer in Pakistan simply stole 3 employees from them and then wanted to build the same product in house. Of course there is no IP or patent infringement business in Pakistan so all was good. The company couldn't get a product made, but that's another story.

I have also heard that the sole reason Amazon does not want to come into this market is because of counterfeit and fraud, but just a rumor.

But I agree with you, we need basic rule of law.

In the US I could get a company up and running with a bank account within one day without having to set my foot out of my home.

In Pakistan you go to the bank as a 25 year old wanting to make a start up and opening a bank account and the bank manager would look as you as if you stole his daughter and ran away.

Pakistan's IT workforce to get access to Saudi public, private sectors
View attachment 957654
Pakistan and Saudi Arabia have signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to work together in the field of information technology (IT).

The agreement was signed by the Caretaker IT Minister of Pakistan, Umar Saif, and his Saudi counterpart, Abdullah A Al-Sawahah, in Riyadh on Sunday.

It aims to facilitate Pakistani companies to work in Saudi Arabia, provide trained IT manpower to Saudi companies, promote joint ventures with Saudi firms, and establish a startup exchange program with top Saudi tech incubators.

The MoU also includes a bilateral commitment to the digital economy. Both sides agreed to promote the private sector apart from the government level.

Strategic cooperation

The MoU also outlines a number of strategic areas of cooperation, including:

• Setting up a chip manufacturing industry in Pakistan: This would be a major boost to Pakistan's IT sector, and would help to reduce the country's reliance on imported chips.

Special desk for Pakistani IT companies

The interim IT minister of Pakistan, Umar Saif, has also announced that he has met with the Saudi minister of investment, H.E. Khalid al-Falih, who has instructed the Ministry of Investment to establish a special desk for Pakistani IT companies to get registered in Saudi Arabia and to grant licenses (CR) to operate in the kingdom.

This desk will also work with Pakistan's IT industry to offer business opportunities in the public and private sector of Saudi Arabia.

Investment Fund for Pakistani startups

Saif also said that he has set up meetings with the Saudi Public Investment Fund (PIF) to explore the possibility of participating in the VC fund-of-funds for Pakistani startups.

"Incredibly productive meeting with the Saudi Minister of Investment (MISA). Cannot thank the Minister H.E. Khalid al-Falih enough for his warmth and support. He has instructed MISA to establish a special desk for Pakistani IT companies to get registered in KSA and to grant licenses (CR) to operate in KSA," he wrote in a post on X.

The minister also wrote, "Ordinarily, thus process would take months and over 100,000 Riyals of consulting fees. This was the number one demand of our IT companies. This desk will also work with our IT industry to offer business opportunists in the public and private sector KSA. The Minister also setup meetings with the Saudi Investment Fund (PIF) to explore the possibility of participating in our VC fund-of-funds for Pakistani startups."

This would be a significant boost to Pakistan's startup ecosystem and would help to attract more investment into Pakistani startups.

Most of the agreement except this is garbage

I am not sure how much it will benefit Pakistani companies