Pakistan Navy's answer SM-2 for Brahmos.

Myth_buster_1

In Aug 2010 first of the eight FFG will be handed over to PN and will go through intensive refurbishments with increased capabilities such as retaining of MK13 launcher that will give the frigate the capability to use missiles again.
MK13 launcher with SM-2
The foreigner operators of FFGs such as Australia and Turkey under a nearly billion dollars program are getting their frigates upgraded that will give them parity with most of the modern frigates today.

I do not want to go into detail about FFG program but the armament that will be acquired for it such as SM-2.

In short words SM-2 will give PN the capability to engage air threats such as sub-super sonic AShM CM, aircraft, helicopters and a secondary capability to engage surface targets such as corvettes and Frigates.
4 or 5 of these hurled towards a enemy's frigate at speed mach 3.5 fallowed by a Harpoon will have a devastating effect!

A surface target destroyed by a SM-2

4583337815_056c267540_b.jpg

4583967244_d24f8001d8_b.jpg

its a hypothetical situation and it may happen.

How is it answer to Brahmos??

Did you only read the title?

Read the descriptions! It has a primary role against air threats such as Brahmos and secondary role against surface targets.

First of all the frigates you are getting are for $70 million per frigate. They are being sold to you as a goodwill gesture and because they are being retired from service.

The frigates will be stripped off all the missiles and weapon systems. Only the frigate will be sold to you, not the weapons. You will install your own weapons on it.
There is no indication that SM-2 will be sold to you or that Pak is interested in SM2.

The RIM-66C/D Standard MR (SM-2MR Block I), was developed in the 1970s by usa navy

another old junk from usa.....
guys kabhi to kuch naya khareedo

Another troller from bharatraksak with no sense what so ever.

SM-2 block IIIA/B cleared IOC in 1998 and is used by more powerful navy USA with Ticonderoga class cruiser and Arleigh Burke class.

how this missile can matchup with brahmos?

this missile got max. range <=166.7km. while brahmos got 290km range.

do you think that BrahMos will give you chance to fire the missile. or in otherwords, to come close to 160km.

Almost every warship of IN is/will be equipped with Brahmos. So, technicall, you need missile with range of atleast 300km.

forget its role....the title says SM-2 is the answer for Brahmos...:confused: care to explain ??

First of all the frigates you are getting are for $70 million per frigate. They are being sold to you as a goodwill gesture and because they are being retired from service.

The frigates will be stripped off all the missiles and weapon systems. Only the frigate will be sold to you, not the weapons. You will install your own weapons on it.
There is no indication that SM-2 will be sold to you or that Pak is interested in SM2.

First of all you know the brain that mighty god gave you kindly use it for once! Or do some research first for a change will you.

Secondly. The Frigates are for free and if we are to buy the frigate would cost any nation about a 100 million dollars. The refurbishment cost is 78 million dollars which will be done according to PN requirements.
Go to this link and educate yourself.

First of all you know the brain that mighty god gave you kindly use it for once! Or do some research first for a change will you.

Secondly. The Frigates are for free and if we are to buy the frigate would cost any nation about a 100 million dollars. The refurbishment cost is 78 million dollars which will be done according to PN requirements.

mere bhai isme SM 2 ke bare me kaha likha hai

Pakistan is not getting the SM-2 in the first place. It is only getting the frigates. So this is a delusional thread, based on a lot of assumptions.

whatt ?only the frigates ??

BTW Growler where is the source confirming its the SM-2 missile that PN is getting and not just the Frigate ?? cause we know its the old retiring frigate that you are getting.

how this missile can matchup with brahmos?

this missile got max. range <=166.7km. while brahmos got 290km range.

do you think that BrahMos will give you chance to fire the missile. or in otherwords, to come close to 160km.

Almost every warship of IN is/will be equipped with Brahmos. So, technicall, you need missile with range of atleast 300km.

You have clearly proved that you lack knowledge of the subject.
Not bothering replying to this low quality post.

Go to this link and educate yourself.

I cant find anything other than a frigate commissioned in 1979 is transferred to PN. Does the missiles comes for free or is it standard equipment?:what::what:

whatt ?only the frigates ??
BTW Growler where is the source confirming its the SM-2 missile that PN is getting and not just the Frigate ?? cause we know its the old retiring frigate that you are getting.

The armament package will be announced soon by the PN officials. SM-2 is a prime candidate for FFG up gradation programs.