Modi wants to use solar to bring power to the 400 million Indians without electricity

On what basis 400mn people without electricity was calculated? I mean, each journal puts up its own figure. One puts 500mn, another 200mn, this one 400mn.

First proper census is required from the govt to calculate the number of people without electricity and armed with that data, the power requirement must be fulfilled.

South asian average is 71 with only maldives as an exception in terms of electricity access.

View attachment 32352

http://www.worldbank.org/content/dam/Worldbank/document/SAR/Reducing Poverty by Closing South Asia's Infrastructure Gap_Web.pdf

Does world bank consider Indian poverty line in their database or they use the International standard for their calculations ? :what::what::what:

269 Million is as per Planning Commission of India report for 2012, thought it should have fallen down further by now but still Rs.22-28 per person per day is not even $0.50/day.:(

India’s poverty level falls to record 22%: Planning Commission - Livemint

Thank you. Now show this Yogi bear.

n whats wrong with my post btw???
i provided the link for the latest World Bank report which clearly states 400 Million without electricity in India.

Do take some time read the article first:
Energy - Energy - The Facts

269 Million is as per Planning Commission of India report for 2012, thought it should have fallen down further by now but still Rs.22-28 per person per day is not even $0.50/day.
I can take guarantee of Haryana..Peoples here are getting electricity in each village, town and city. But electricity in Villages come for 12-14 hours only and that's the only problem. Maybe in some places of states like Bihar, Jharkhand and North East are not getting enough electricity but i doesn't mean that 400 million peoples are living without electricity in this country.

Solar Power Cost
The cost of power generated from coal and natural gas can range from Rs. 2 to 3 per KWh. The cost of wind power falls between Rs. 3 and 3.2 per KWh. However, as of 2009, the cost of Solar Power from photovoltaic cells and solar thermal falls between Rs. 10 and Rs 15 per KWh.

Advantages Of Solar Power
Solar Power is becoming increasingly practical every day. From being an expensive source of electricity, solar energy has turned into an economical power source in the long-run. In addition to these savings, you are also going to save the monthly electrical bills as there are no recurrent bills to be paid.

The amount of electricity generated from solar energy depends upon the available sunlight. However, with new advances in technology it is possible to generate sufficient amount of electricity even in cloudy conditions.

The biggest advantage of using Solar Power is that it is an inexhaustible source of energy. Once you have installed the system, you don’t have to worry that you would ever be without electricity because the sun is always going to be there. However, at times the amount of electricity generated may be lesser and you would have to depend upon the utility grid. But, there are going to be times when you would be able to sell the excess electricity.

The next advantage of using solar energy is that it doesn’t emit any pollution into the environment. Solar panels don’t release any emissions into the atmosphere while generating electricity. This is not something that can be expected from electricity generated from thermal sources and hydroelectric source. Additionally, there are efforts on way to recycle solar panels.

Solar Power is flexible in its setup. When you want to power your entire home, a large number of solar panels can be mounted on the roof, and when you require solar energy to power the garden lights or something that requires less electricity, a smaller number of solar panels are required. Installing Solar Power systems can be timesaving because it doesn’t require running long wiring.

Solar Power can also be used for running a wide range of devices. It is suitable for running homes, industries and even for powering satellite. Even, solar powered cars have been developed, and efforts are on way to make these vehicles more economical. solar energy technology is also developing at a fast rate, making it more practical and economical.

Nowadays, even government is offering rebate and tax exemptions to those who install Solar Power in their home. This makes it possible for homeowners to install these systems at affordable prices. In the most remote locations, solar energy is the ideal source of electricity. In fact, it is more economical to install solar panels in such areas than running power lines.

A big advantage of solar energy systems is that a properly installed system doesn’t require much maintenance. When compared to other power sources, this is a big advantage because you cannot bear the heavy cost of power system maintenance.

Disadvantages of Solar Power
There is one disadvantage to Solar Power systems regarding reliability and consistency. A regular supply of sunlight is essential to keep generating electricity. Although, once the sun goes down, the solar energy level drops very fast. This makes it important to have a power storage device in the form of batteries so that you can have uninterrupted supply of electricity. If there are no batteries, there is going to be no electricity without sunlight.

The majority of disadvantages about Solar Power are more economical in nature. Even after lots of technological development, the solar panels used to produce electricity are quite expensive. A single solar panel can generate only a small amount of power. This means a large number of solar panels are required to generate enough amount of electricity to power houses and industries.

It is also required that the panels are angled properly through the day in order to align with the direct sunlight. Hence, it is essential to implement a mechanical adjustment system so as to turn the panels according to the angle of sunlight.

Area required to produce 1 KW of Power :

An area of 10-12 sq mtr. or 100 -120 sq. ft of area (actual is 70 sq ft.) is needed to produce 1 KW of Power. and that too with 15% efficiency(highest) of the panels. So for 1MW of Power we require 2.5 acre of area.

So lastly it requires lot of subsidies and lots of tariff cuts and high volume of productions at home which will bring down the cost of per KWhr at par with conventional energy.

@chak de INDIA @Indian Jaat @skullMAN @nick_indian

269 Million is as per Planning Commission of India report for 2012, thought it should have fallen down further by now but still Rs.22-28 per person per day is not even $0.50/day.
India’s poverty level falls to record 22%: Planning Commission - Livemint

Kaka, i asked if world bank is using 0.50 $/day as the base for calculating poverty rate or 1.25$/day for their calculations ?

i'm not asking about Indian planning commision.

I can take guarantee of Haryana..Peoples here are getting electricity in each village, town and city. But electricity in Villages come for 12-14 hours only and that's the only problem. Maybe in some places of states like Bihar, Jharkhand and North East are not getting enough electricity but i doesn't mean that 400 million peoples are living without electricity in this country.

Haryana, Rajasthan, Gujarat, etc. r not the problem here, but the main issue lies in central India Bihar, Jharkhand, Chathisgharh,etc. These r states with massive poverty n lots of corruption.

We still got hundreds of millions below poverty line, so how do u except them to pay for electricity rents.:undecided:

Kaka, i asked if world bank is using 0.50 $/day as the base for calculating poverty rate or 1.25$/day for their calculations ?

i'm not asking about Indian planning commision.

Arre tau world bank uses $1.25/day base only but the data is generally 2-3 years old thats why i used Indian planning commision data.

PS- $0.5/day is my personal calculation for Rs.22-28/day as per Indian planning commision.

@thesolar65
Solar Power: Cost of production dropped 60%; price to equal thermal power's in three years
Earlier this month, when Madhya Pradesh accepted the bid of Himgiri Energ y Ventures to supply solar power to the state grid at Rs 6.5 a unit, it was a figure to note even by the industry's standards of smashing records by the season. This contract award shaved off 13 per cent from the lowest price at which Indian industry was willing to supply solar power; over three years, the drop is a steep 61 per cent.

pixel.gif

More importantly, the MP tender brought the price of solar power closer to the price of thermal power — produced from coal or gas, and India's largest source. For 2012-13, Delhi's power utilities were projecting to buy conventional power at an average unit price of Rs 5.71.

In other words, at Rs 6.5, solar is just 14 per cent above thermal. Its price prognosis is also better. Even as coal and natural gas become costlier, solar plants bask in free and ample sunshine and falling equipment prices. All this is taking the energy sector towards a game-changing milestone: grid parity, or the situation where solar costs the same as conventional sources.

"Price bids in conventional power have been up to Rs 5 per unit," says Sanjay Chakrabarti, partner (clean energy), Ernst & Young. "Keeping that as the grid parity price, wind power has already achieved grid parity and solar is quite close." The ministry of new and renewable energy is projecting grid parity by 2017 -- five years ahead of its initial projection of 2022.

32172083.cms
Cheaper solar power

Some countries are there. Like Germany, which has 36,000 MW of solar capacity, according to Bloomberg New Energy Finance. An early adopter, Germany started seeing a spike in solar capacity from 2001.

In India, the spike came only in 2012, since when its solar capacity has increased from 2.5 MW to 1,759 MW (See graphic). The Central government is looking to increase capacity through the National Solar Mission, which gives a certain set of incentives to companies and aims to put up 22,000 MW of solar capacity by 2022.

In its last round of bidding, held this January, the government received bids for 2,170 MW, three times the advertised requirement, from 53 companies. Among them were state power utilities, global renewable-energy players and fresh entrants with international funding, holding out an investment of Rs 5,000 crore.

Also active are select states. Madhya Pradesh leads, with Rs 30,000 crore in the pipeline for renewable power development. It is followed by Gujarat, an early mover that has 850 MW of solar capacity at an investment of—11,000 crore up and running. The jump in capacity is coming from the ongoing recalibration in tariffs.

The second phase of the National Solar Mission, from 2013 to 2017, set the tariff at Rs 5.5 per unit, with some financial support from the government in the form of 'viability gap funding'.

According to Tarun Kapoor, joint secretary at the ministry of new and renewable energy, viability gap funding was about Re 1 per unit. He sees this reducing with equipment becoming cheaper, particularly from China, and competing fuels becoming costlier.

"Our experiment with viability gap funding turned out to be successful, with foreign investment coming in," he says. "Looking at the current trend, this amount would gradually go down."

The latest tenders floated by states—which don't offer viability gap funding, but offer subsidised land or tax breaks —give a glimpse. Price bids stood at Rs 6.5 per unit in Madhya Pradesh, Rs 7 in Rajasthan and Rs 8 in Punjab.

Increasing consumer adoption

Solar is also seeing increasing adoption at the consumer level. Micro grids, of 150 watts (powering 20 households) to 5 kilo watt (40 households and commercial use like water pumps) are being set up to independently power villages. There are solar lanterns and street lights.

Inverters, water pumps and other agri machines are increasingly coming in the solar option. Ajay K Goel, CEO of Tata Power Solar, which makes solar equipment, feels adoption of solar-based products has parallels with telecom. "Offgrid products have better reach in areas where grid connectivity is an issue," he says.

"Just as landline connections could not reach deeper pockets of the country but mobile phones did, decentralised systems would serve the same purpose." For example, Lucknow-based Naturetech Infra has installed micro grids in villages in districts of Uttar Pradesh, including Gonda, Sitapur and Unnao.

A micro grid entails installing a small field of solar panels at a central location in a village. The panels generate solar power during the day and store it in batteries. In the night, this power is released for seven hours to houses connected to the grid. Households pay Rs 120 per month to run two bulbs, one fan and a mobilecharging point.

Shubhra Mohanka, director of Delhi-based Solid Solar, says her company sold 10,000 solar inverters—a cleaner and cheaper back-up option than diesel, which costs Rs 16-18 a unit — in UP, Bihar, Delhi and Tamil Nadu last year. "Solarbased products have a huge market in remote areas, where they can easily replace costly diesel and kerosene," says Parag Shah, managing partner of Mahindra Partners and head of Mahindra cleantech division.

Solar is also diversifying into new spaces. Maharishi Solar, for example, does solar-powered garden lights, swimming pool heating, fridge, AC and cooler, among other things. "As more and more creative minds go into it, new technology development will take place," says Pradeep Khanna, the company's CEO & MD. A solar ecosystem is taking shape.

According to me bro India should work on Solar and Wind energy more than any other energy production. This will help in decreasing of population. I mean for how much years we have Coal reserves?

Haryana, Rajasthan, Gujarat, etc. r not the problem here, but the main issue lies in central India Bihar, Jharkhand, Chathisgharh,etc. These r states with massive poverty n lots of corruption.

We still got hundreds of millions below poverty line, so how do u except them to pay for electricity rents.:undecided:

Arre tau world bank uses $1.25/day base only but the data is generally 2-3 years old thats why i used Indian planning commision data.

PS- $0.5/day is my personal calculation for Rs.22-28/day as per Indian planning commision.

Bhai paise deta kon hai electricity ke villages me sab direct chalta hai :lol:

If i calculate the total population of Bihar (103 million) Chattisgarh (25 million) Jharkhan (32 Million) 7 North East States (40 Million) its still 200 million and its total population 400 million peoples without electricity is impossible in India. According to me it can be around 10-20 million hardly :coffee:

View attachment 32361

According to this report Indian poverty % in 2012 was 21.9 % .

So basically who is lying ?

World Bank or IPC ??
Yeah its true Poverty in India is decreasing very fast from 32% 2004-05 to 29% 2009-10 and 22% in 2011-12

I know its true. . .but my point is . . if Wb is using 1.25$/day as the base, poverty rate is just below 22%

and if IPC is using 0.50$/day as the base then how come poverty % is not decreasing. it should go below 10 % . .:cheesy::cheesy::cheesy:

Anyhow our reporters don't know shit about journalism . .saale Ganwar bhare hain pure.

Solar Power Cost
The cost of power generated from coal and natural gas can range from Rs. 2 to 3 per KWh. The cost of wind power falls between Rs. 3 and 3.2 per KWh. However, as of 2009, the cost of Solar Power from photovoltaic cells and solar thermal falls between Rs. 10 and Rs 15 per KWh.

Advantages Of Solar Power
Solar Power is becoming increasingly practical every day. From being an expensive source of electricity, solar energy has turned into an economical power source in the long-run. In addition to these savings, you are also going to save the monthly electrical bills as there are no recurrent bills to be paid.

The amount of electricity generated from solar energy depends upon the available sunlight. However, with new advances in technology it is possible to generate sufficient amount of electricity even in cloudy conditions.

The biggest advantage of using Solar Power is that it is an inexhaustible source of energy. Once you have installed the system, you don’t have to worry that you would ever be without electricity because the sun is always going to be there. However, at times the amount of electricity generated may be lesser and you would have to depend upon the utility grid. But, there are going to be times when you would be able to sell the excess electricity.

The next advantage of using solar energy is that it doesn’t emit any pollution into the environment. Solar panels don’t release any emissions into the atmosphere while generating electricity. This is not something that can be expected from electricity generated from thermal sources and hydroelectric source. Additionally, there are efforts on way to recycle solar panels.

Solar Power is flexible in its setup. When you want to power your entire home, a large number of solar panels can be mounted on the roof, and when you require solar energy to power the garden lights or something that requires less electricity, a smaller number of solar panels are required. Installing Solar Power systems can be timesaving because it doesn’t require running long wiring.

Solar Power can also be used for running a wide range of devices. It is suitable for running homes, industries and even for powering satellite. Even, solar powered cars have been developed, and efforts are on way to make these vehicles more economical. solar energy technology is also developing at a fast rate, making it more practical and economical.

Nowadays, even government is offering rebate and tax exemptions to those who install Solar Power in their home. This makes it possible for homeowners to install these systems at affordable prices. In the most remote locations, solar energy is the ideal source of electricity. In fact, it is more economical to install solar panels in such areas than running power lines.

A big advantage of solar energy systems is that a properly installed system doesn’t require much maintenance. When compared to other power sources, this is a big advantage because you cannot bear the heavy cost of power system maintenance.

Disadvantages of Solar Power
There is one disadvantage to Solar Power systems regarding reliability and consistency. A regular supply of sunlight is essential to keep generating electricity. Although, once the sun goes down, the solar energy level drops very fast. This makes it important to have a power storage device in the form of batteries so that you can have uninterrupted supply of electricity. If there are no batteries, there is going to be no electricity without sunlight.

The majority of disadvantages about Solar Power are more economical in nature. Even after lots of technological development, the solar panels used to produce electricity are quite expensive. A single solar panel can generate only a small amount of power. This means a large number of solar panels are required to generate enough amount of electricity to power houses and industries.

It is also required that the panels are angled properly through the day in order to align with the direct sunlight. Hence, it is essential to implement a mechanical adjustment system so as to turn the panels according to the angle of sunlight.

Area required to produce 1 KW of Power :

An area of 10-12 sq mtr. or 100 -120 sq. ft of area (actual is 70 sq ft.) is needed to produce 1 KW of Power. and that too with 15% efficiency(highest) of the panels. So for 1MW of Power we require 2.5 acre of area.

So lastly it requires lot of subsidies and lots of tariff cuts and high volume of productions at home which will bring down the cost of per KWhr at par with conventional energy.

@chak de INDIA @Indian Jaat @skullMAN @nick_indian

thanks for grt info sir....i know solar power cost too expensive but lot of university works on low cost solar panel. I remember few days ago i watched a short film on future solar panel based on a dish and generate 5 time more power compared to today's solar panel and the project undergoing testing by Australia university. sorry bad english!!!

I know its true. . .but my point is . . if Wb is using 1.25$/day as the base, poverty rate is just below 22%
and if IPC is using 0.50$/day as the base then how come poverty % is not decreasing. it should go below 10 % . .
I don't believe in this data's actually... They are always different in different places. :( You are right if IPC is using 0.50$/day as base them poverty should be below 10% .

Bhai paise deta kon hai electricity ke villages me sab direct chalta hai :lol:

If i calculate the total population of Bihar (103 million) Chattisgarh (25 million) Jharkhan (32 Million) 7 North East States (40 Million) its still 200 million and its total population 400 million peoples without electricity is impossible in India. According to me it can be around 10-20 million hardly :coffee:

Bhai mere almost every state has some portion of people without electricity cover in rural areas while there r slums in cities, in addition as stated earlier people living below poverty line won't be able to afford electricity anyways.

Central India has major concentration of these issues but they r relevant in whole of India.

PS - as for the 400 Million fig plz consult World Bank.:)

thanks for grt info sir....i know solar power cost too expensive but lot of university works on low cost solar panel. I remember few days ago i watched a short film on future solar panel based on a dish and generate 5 time more power compared to today's solar panel and the project undergoing testing by Australia university. sorry bad english!!!

check out some articles here

HyperSolar concentrator could boost solar cell output by 400 percent

read related articles also....