Minority Sikhs in other States living in penury

Prodigy17

Minority Sikhs in other States living in penury: Minority Commission
Pioneer News Service - Chandigarh - Tuesday, July 01, 2008

Harcharan Singh Josh, member minority commission of India on Monday said that Sikhs in some other States like Madhya Pardesh particularly in Tilangana and Gunadhar regions are living in pathetic condition.

Addressing a Press conference here, Josh said that he was preparing a report on the living condition of minority Sikhs in other states and he will send his report to the Prime Minister.

He said that he would also study the problems of Sikhs living in states of Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh and will make part of his report.Josh stated that Sikh clans identified as Sikligar and Vanjare who were blessed by Guru Gobind Singh. They all are living outside Punjab.

Harcharan Singh Josh, said that most of them are living in penury and state government have not made any welfare plans for them.

He said that he had received 32 complaints of discrimination by members of minority communities from Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh.

Harcharan Singh Josh, said that he would raise the issue of ignoring Punjabi language in Chandigarh with the Punjab Governor and UT administrator.

He said that when Prime Minister Dr.Manmohan Singh on October 29,2008 come to Takht Hazoor Sahib for Gurgadi diwas programme, he will present the report on Sikh minorities and will also take up issue of Chandigarh with him.

Taking up the issue of falling standard of education in Punjab and Haryana and scarcity of jobs for Sikhs in these states, he blamed the political leadership for these problems.

Harcharan Singh Josh, also demanded to probe the menace of drugs in school colleges in Punjab.

Harcharan Singh Josh, said that fighting drug menace should be the priority of Punjab Government

Trivia on Banjaras. anyone seen sholay ?

1. Banjaras (incl Labanas and Sikligars) also called gypsies, are a nomadic ST whose numbers varies as per estimates from 10million to 50million, they are spread across the length and breadth of India, though a majority live in Southern India.

2. A majority of the members of these Nomadic Schedule tribe nee gypsies live in abject poverty and are uneducated, usually small time ironsmiths, craftsmen etc and have been like their european brethren Roma people been subject of ridicule for millenia.

3. Though like most Indian communities many of them rever Sikh Gurus and tenets of Sikhism esp as some of the more famous members of these communities had embraced Sikhism during the time of Sikh gurus and played an important role in Sikh history.

4. Those who embraced Sikhism are mostly based in Punjab or around the Sikh holy places such as Nanded, Maharashtra; Bidar, Karnataka etc.

5. Some Sikh charities claim they are lost brethens of Sikhs and must be brought into the Sikh fold. They are trying to teach the Banjaras Punjabi, tenets of Sikhism etc. and helping them economically too.

6. The government, the Sikh political parties and Sikh bodies do not recognise(non-Sikh) members of these tribes as Sikhs and as per Sikh philosophy are not interested in proselytism of any kind.

Forget Sikhs, most people in Madhya Pradesh are poor. So why should Sikhs get special treatment?

To prove that even tho the average household income of sikhs is 50% higher than hindus, they are somehow ill treated by the evil hindooos in india and hence they shud revive the khalistan movement and blah blah blah....

yawn

New survey busts Sachar panel report

Fateh, this is awesome news. You should create a separate thread for busting the Sachar report and see how Pakistanis react. To say the least, they'll be surprised :agree:

Council of Khalistan Convention Very Successful
WASHINGTON, D.C., The Council of Khalsitan’s annual convention was held in Philadelphia from October 6 through October 8. It was very successful. Delegates came from around the country and Canada to support the cause of a sovereign, independent Khalistan. Khalistan is the Sikh homeland that declared its independence from India on October 7, 1987.

Delegates listened to several speakers, discussed strategies for liberating Khalistan, and passed resolutions. They passed resolutions for the independence of Khalistan, denouncing the law in India that anyone can by land in Punjab but Sikhs cannot buy land in Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Uttaranchal Pradesh, supporting those organizations in Punjab which support Khalistan, demanding the release of 52,268 political prisoners illegally held by the Indian government, for technical development in Punjab, and calling for the removal of the fence three miles inside the Indian border because it is an obstruction to them and the women who take food to them are searched by male security guards. If they are searched at all, it should be only by female security guards. Indians know the sensitivity of the situation.

“I would like to thank everyone who helped to make the convention a success,” said Dr. Gurmit Singh Aulakh, President of the Council of Khalistan, which leads the peaceful, democratic, nonviolent movement to liberate Khalistan. “I would especially like to thank Dr. Bakhshsh Singh Sandhu, who did an excellent job as convention president and managed the stage magnificently; the Gurdwara President and his entire Managing Committee, who were very helpful; Dr. Awatar Singh Sekhon, who made an excellent speech; Sardar Manmohan Singh Randhawa; Sardar Harjinder Singh; Sardar Ajit Singh Pannu; Dr. Ranbir Singh Bhalla; Dr. Anahat Kaur Sandhu; Sardar Hardev Singh Bandesha; Sardar Charan Singh Kalsi; Sardar Jas Paul Singh; Sardar Man Paul Singh; Sardar Karaj Singh; Sardar Dharam Singh, the Gurdwara secretary; and Mrs. Sandhu, Mrs. Harjinder Singh, Mrs. Karaj Singh, and all the women who prepared the excellent Langar and participated in the convention; Mrs. Makker, who was a delegate; and everyone who attended the convention or served in any way.” Sardar Kuldip Singh Makker has been appointed to assist the President of the Council of Khalistan with the functioning of the Council. Sardar Makker led the attendees in five chants of “Khalistan Zindabad.”

“This convention has been a significant step forward for the cause of freedom for Khalistan,” said Dr. Aulakh. “A free Khalistan is the only way to end the repression of the Sikhs and allow the Sikh Nation to live in freedom, peace, security, dignity, and prosperity,” he said. The Indian government has murdered over 250,000 Sikh infants, children, youth, men, women, and elderly since 1984, as well as more than 300,000 Christians in Nagaland, over 90,000 Muslims in Kashmir, tens of thousands of Christians and Muslims throughout the country, and tens of thousands of Assamese, Bodos, Dalits, Manipuris, Tamils, and other minorities.

Indian police arrested human-rights activist Jaswant Singh Khalra after he exposed their policy of mass cremation of Sikhs, in which over 50,000 Sikhs have been arrested, tortured, and murdered, then their bodies were declared unidentified and secretly cremated. Khalra was murdered in police custody. No one has been brought to justice for the kidnapping and murder of Jaswant Singh Khalra. The only witness to the Khalra kidnapping, Rajiv Singh Randhawa, has been repeatedly harassed by the police, including having been arrested for trying to hand a piece of paper to then-British Home Secretary Jack Straw. The police never released the body of former Jathedar of the Akal Takht Gurdev Singh Kaunke after SSP Swaran Singh Ghotna murdered him. In 1994, the U.S. State Department reported that the Indian government had paid over 41,000 cash bounties for killing Sikhs. A report by the Movement Against State Repression (MASR) quotes the Punjab Civil Magistracy as writing “if we add up the figures of the last few years the number of innocent persons killed would run into lakhs [hundreds of thousands.]” The Indian Supreme Court called the Indian government's murders of Sikhs “worse than a genocide.”

The MASR report states that 52,268 Sikhs are being held as political prisoners in India without charge or trial, mostly under a repressive law known as the “Terrorist and Disruptive Activities Act” (TADA), which expired in 1995. Many have been in illegal custody since 1984. There has been no list published of those who were acquitted under TADA and those who are still ******* in Indian jails. Tens of thousands of other minorities are also being held as political prisoners, according to Amnesty International. Last year, 35 Sikhs were charged and arrested in Punjab for making speeches in support of Khalistan and raising the Khalistani flag. “How can making speeches and raising a flag be considered crimes in a democratic society?” asked Dr. Aulakh.

“History shows that multinational states such as India are doomed to failure. Countries like Austria-Hungary, India’s longtime friend the Soviet Union, Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia, and others prove this point. India is not one country; it is a polyglot like those countries, thrown together for the convenience of the British colonialists. It is doomed to break up as they did. Currently, there are 17 freedom movements within India’s borders. It has 18 official languages. “We hope that India’s breakup will be peaceful like Czechoslovakia’s, not violent like Yugoslavia’s,” Dr. Aulakh said. “Montenegro, which has less than a million people, has become a sovereign country and a member of the United Nations,” he said. “Now it is the time for the Sikh Nation of Punjab, Khalistan to become independent.”

Dr. Aulakh stressed his commitment to the peaceful, democratic, nonviolent struggle to liberate Khalistan. “The only way that the repression will stop and Sikhs will live in freedom, dignity, and prosperity is to liberate Khalistan,” said Dr. Aulakh. “As Professor Darshan Singh, former Jathedar of the Akal Takht, said, ‘If a Sikh is not a Khalistani, he is not a Sikh,’” Dr. Aulakh said. “We must free Khalistan now.”

http://www.khalistan.com/PressReleases/PR101006_CouncilofKhalistanConventionVerySuccessful.htm

listen as i am a sikh . i can tell you now that , the black days of our history are gone . we love india same like you do . there are some traitors which are against india , but we dont beleive them .

Punjab Power,
A-D

Dont get me wrong I love India because Sikhs have sacrificed lot to free India from British Raj.

90% of people sent to Kala pani was Sikhs.
121 people were hanged to death for freedom movement, 93 of them were Sikh.

Gandhi and Nehru got all the credit for freedom of India.
Sikhs were majority of India's army that voluntiered to fight for british.
Sikhs were sent to Kashmir to tribes man during 1947-48 war.

What did Sikhs wanted in return, a automus state and what did they got in return? 1984, over 200000 deaths, marrige under Hindu act and now RSS intervention.

Sikhs should of listened to Jinah when he told Tara singh not to trust Gandhi and Nehru.

Not one person has been convicred to 1984 riots. Never forget your history, jo kaume apna itihas bhool jati hen, vo mit jati hen!!!

there are such things which need to be corrected such as like you mention marriage under hindu act & our own capital ( now we are sharing it with haryana ) .

as far as freefom sacrifice well thats correct . we didnt get much credit compare to gandhi and nehru .

and about seprate state , we are more than happy in India now .

there are alot of things which are used to be correct .

but there is case going on in supreme court for our own marriage act .

and about history , every 4 year old child in punjab know what we had done for our country and what country had done for us .

whenever the wars being fought with pakistan , the punjab get more damage then any other state .

About 200000 i cant say anything . i just can say that days was written by god . and we believe that . WHATEVER HE DONE , ITS ALWAYS GOOD FOR HUMANS . HE NEVER DO ANYTHING TO HARM THE HUMANS .

and i think there should the History of Maharaja Ranjit Singh in schools . History of " The Sikh Empire " From Patna to Kabul .

what more i can say about Punjab & Sikhs now

and i didnt you in RSS intervention

Punjab Power,
A-D
:cheers:

What did Sikhs wanted in return, a automus state and what did they got in return?
1984, over 200000 deaths,
marrige under Hindu act
and now RSS intervention.
Sikhs should of listened to Jinah when he told Tara singh not to trust Gandhi and Nehru.
Not one person has been convicred to 1984 riots.
Never forget your history, jo kaume apna itihas bhool jati hen, vo mit jati hen!!!

Ak47 you are a victim of some false information

1. Sikhs as a community never wanted an autonomous state.

2. In 1984, around 1000-3000 sikhs were systematically butchered by Congress party supporters and miscreants. In retribution Khalistani terrorists killed over 25,000.

3. Hindu marriage act of 1955 is applicable to all Sikhs, Hindus, Buddhists and Jains. THE HINDU MARRIAGE ACT, 1955 I see nothing wrong with this act. A separate act for Sikh marriage is not required as it would contain nothing which is not there in the Hindu marriage act.

4. ?

5. why ? Actually Sikhs shouldn't have listened to Master Tara Singh post-independence and divide Punjab. Congress party was willing to extend Punjab boundaries into Rajasthan and Uttarakhand.

5. That is true and is indeed shameful.

6. ? can you expand on this by using some historical antecedents ?

Ak47 you are a victim of some false information

1. Sikhs as a community never wanted an autonomous state.

2. In 1984, around 1000-3000 sikhs were systematically butchered by Congress party supporters and miscreants. In retribution Khalistani terrorists killed over 25,000.

3. Hindu marriage act of 1955 is applicable to all Sikhs, Hindus, Buddhists and Jains. THE HINDU MARRIAGE ACT, 1955 I see nothing wrong with this act. A separate act for Sikh marriage is not required as it would contain nothing which is not there in the Hindu marriage act.

4. ?

5. why ? Actually Sikhs shouldn't have listened to Master Tara Singh post-independence and divide Punjab. Congress party was willing to extend Punjab boundaries into Rajasthan and Uttarakhand.

5. That is true and is indeed shameful.

6. ? can you expand on this by using some historical antecedents ?

OO come'on

dont force me to tell you that how sikhs been killed by your congress party in delhi . and about 25,000 first read why they did that .

and why should we marriage under hindu act , every community has rights to have there own marriage act , why should we marriage in hindu act just tell me . its good for you ......

the true is shameful for india , a community which done the most for country . what does country give us ????

In BBC survey only 35% youth of india know about Bhagat Singh , Udham Singh . and ask 5 year old child in bihar or UP who is gandhi and nehru . He/she will tel you .....

but still we are happy because our country is growing well .

PUNJAB Power ,
A-D

OO come'on

and why should we marriage under hindu act , every community has rights to have there own marriage act , why should we marriage in hindu act just tell me . its good for you ......

Sat Sri Akal Bhai,

I agree abt the marriage act. there should be common civil code so all this nonsense will go away. either that, or let everyone have their own acts. for obvious reasons, a common code is in our interest.

the true is shameful for india , a community which done the most for country . what does country give us ????

In BBC survey only 35% youth of india know about Bhagat Singh , Udham Singh . and ask 5 year old child in bihar or UP who is gandhi and nehru . He/she will tel you .....

I don't understand this, what shud the country do? Sikhs are the most prosperous group today anyways.

if u r talking abt the way history is presented, i agree and don't agree. i agree that historical due is only given to congress leaders and gr8 historical figures suppressed, but it's not just the sikhs. how many ppl know the great southern empires that ruled all the way to Indonesia? so obviously they know little abt Ranjit Singh or even the maratha empires. yes we shud teach the gr8 aspects of our history, but without creating young minds that live in the past and so called past glory.

reason - read some of the other threads here.