India Can Not Be Trusted

ADT

Recommendations

Under the July 18, 2005 joint statement, the U.S. and India committed themselves to “build closer ties in space exploration, satellite navigation and launch, and in the commercial space arena”. This does not require, nor should it encourage, U.S. cooperation on India’s ICBM program directly or indirectly. In fact, the U.S. has already taken a step in the right direction by offering to launch Indian astronauts in upcoming space shuttle missions and to involve them to the fullest extent in the International Space Station.

The U.S. should do more to encourage India to launch its satellites and science packages on U.S. and foreign launchers by making these launches more affordable. The U.S. also should be forthcoming in offering India access, as appropriate, to the benefits of U.S.
satellite programs -- including communications, earth resource observation, and exploration of the cosmos.

India, in fact, has some of the world’s best astrophysicists and cosmologists. It is in our interest, as well as the world’s, that we welcome these Indian experts into the search for basic answers about the universe. We should make the data from the Hubble telescope and similar systems available to Indian scientists and encourage them to become full partners in its analysis.

On the other hand, there are some critical cautions to be observed.

1) Do not be naive about the nature of India’s program.

After more than two decades of reports about India’s interest in an ICBM -- including reports from Russia, statements on India’s ICBM capability by the U.S. intelligence community, and the firing of an Indian official after he publicly described the Surya program -- there should be no illusions. The reports consistently state that India’s ICBM
will be derived from its space launch vehicle technology.

o The U.S. should not believe that it is possible to separate India’s “civilian” space launch program -- the incubator of its long-range missiles -- from India’s military program.

o There should be no illusions about the target of the ICBM. It is the United States -- to protect India from the theoretical possibility of “high-tech aggression”.

o The U.S. intelligence community’s semi-annual unclassified reporting toCongress on India’s nuclear and missile programs was discontinued after April 2003. This reporting should be resumed.

# 2) Do not assist India’s space launch programs.

The U.S. should not cooperate either with India’s space launches or with satellites that India will launch. India hopes that satellite launches will earn revenues that will accelerate its space program -- including rocket development. U.S. payloads for Indian launches -- such as the envisioned cooperative lunar project -- risk technology transfer
(see recommendation #3) and invite other nations to be less restrained in their use of Indian launches.

o The U.S. should resume discouraging other nations from using Indian launches, while encouraging India to resume the practice of launching satellites on other nations’ space launch vehicles.

o Given the frequent reports of Russian cryogenic rockets being used in the Surya, the U.S. should work with Russia to ensure that Russian space cooperation with India does not undercut U.S. restraint.

o Because there is no meaningful distinction between India’s civilian and military rocket programs, the U.S. should explicitly or de facto place ISRO back on the “entities” list of destinations that require export licenses.

o Congress should insist that the U.S. explain its “red lines” regarding space cooperation with India. If these lines are not drawn tightly enough, Congress should intervene.

3) Review carefully any cooperation with India’s satellite programs.

India is reportedly developing multiple nuclear warheads for its long-range missiles. If India develops an ICBM, the next step will be to develop countermeasures to penetrate U.S. missile defenses. Certain satellite technologies can help India with both of these developments.

o The U.S. should review its satellite cooperation to ensure that it does not aid India inappropriately in the technologies of dispensing or orienting spacecraft, of automated deployment of structures in space, or of other operations that would materially contribute to multiple warheads or countermeasures against missile defenses.

4) Stop using cooperation in dangerous technologies as diplomatic baubles.

India is the current example of a broader, disfunctional tendency in bilateral relations to display trust and friendship by opening up the most dangerous forms of cooperation. The U.S. should not fall further into this trap with India -- or with any other nation.

o India needs many other forms of economic and military cooperation more than it needs nuclear and space technology. If India insists on focusing technology cooperation in these areas, the U.S. should take it as a red flag.

o The U.S. removal of technology sanctions imposed after India’s 1998 nuclear tests was an adequate -- and perhaps excessive -- display of friendship. Further technology cooperation should be limited to areas that do not contribute to nuclear weapons or their means of delivery.

Conclusion

The target of an Indian ICBM would be the United States. The technology of an Indian ICBM would be that of a space launch vehicle -- either directly via the PSLV or indirectly via the Agni, which is based on India’s SLV-3. The U.S. should not facilitate the acquisition or improvement of that technology directly or indirectly In this matter, U.S. clarity and restraint are what the world -- and India -- need.

The U.S. needs to divert from the present “glide path” and reorient itself and India onto a more productive course of cooperation. It would be a cruel irony if, in the hope of becoming strategic partners, we became each other’s strategic targets.

http://www.npec-web.org/Essays/060207SpeierICBM.pdf

:usflag::pakistan:

Conclusion

The target of an Indian ICBM would be the United States. The technology of an Indian ICBM would be that of a space launch vehicle -- either directly via the PSLV or indirectly via the Agni, which is based on India’s SLV-3. The U.S. should not facilitate the acquisition or improvement of that technology directly or indirectly In this matter, U.S. clarity and restraint are what the world -- and India -- need.

The U.S. needs to divert from the present “glide path” and reorient itself and India onto a more productive course of cooperation. It would be a cruel irony if, in the hope of becoming strategic partners, we became each other’s strategic targets.

:rofl: :rofl:

First of all, a report dated 2006. Wake up !

This thread will see this article ripped in to pieces. It is the joke of the day. Thanks a lot for making me laugh my heart out.

Anyone who knows anything about the Indian space program will know that India has achieved several milestones including cryogenics in a short period of time. Even if it was not possible to separate the defence and space programs, it is well known that ISRO has toiled hard to achieve its global position and most of its progress is based on indigenous technology forced by technology denial all around.

About US using its delivery systems to launch Indian satellites, it is just the opposite. We have the world's most cost effective delivery/launch system and several countries are waiting in a queue to use our systems.

So ... :wave:

o There should be no illusions about the target of the ICBM. It is the United States -- to protect India from the theoretical possibility of “high-tech aggression”.

i never knew we had any hope of targeting the US at all. what will india gain by showing itself as a threat to the US?

o Given the frequent reports of Russian cryogenic rockets being used in the Surya, the U.S. should work with Russia to ensure that Russian space cooperation with India does not undercut U.S. restraint.

i assume that the article is an old one. india has tested its own cryogenic rockets and does not need any further russian help in that field

believe it or not!!

India does not have guts YET to go against USA completely.

because India will lose a lot by breaking ties with USA.

Same goes for USA.

USA needs India to deal with china or any other nation.

:usflag::coffee:

Recommendations

Under the July 18, 2005 joint statement, the U.S. and India committed themselves to “build closer ties in space exploration, satellite navigation and launch, and in the commercial space arena”. This does not require, nor should it encourage, U.S. cooperation on India’s ICBM program directly or indirectly. In fact, the U.S. has already taken a step in the right direction by offering to launch Indian astronauts in upcoming space shuttle missions and to involve them to the fullest extent in the International Space Station.

The U.S. should do more to encourage India to launch its satellites and science packages on U.S. and foreign launchers by making these launches more affordable. The U.S. also should be forthcoming in offering India access, as appropriate, to the benefits of U.S.
satellite programs -- including communications, earth resource observation, and exploration of the cosmos.

India, in fact, has some of the world’s best astrophysicists and cosmologists. It is in our interest, as well as the world’s, that we welcome these Indian experts into the search for basic answers about the universe. We should make the data from the Hubble telescope and similar systems available to Indian scientists and encourage them to become full partners in its analysis.

On the other hand, there are some critical cautions to be observed.

1) Do not be naive about the nature of India’s program.

After more than two decades of reports about India’s interest in an ICBM -- including reports from Russia, statements on India’s ICBM capability by the U.S. intelligence community, and the firing of an Indian official after he publicly described the Surya program -- there should be no illusions. The reports consistently state that India’s ICBM
will be derived from its space launch vehicle technology.

o The U.S. should not believe that it is possible to separate India’s “civilian” space launch program -- the incubator of its long-range missiles -- from India’s military program.

o The U.S. intelligence community’s semi-annual unclassified reporting toCongress on India’s nuclear and missile programs was discontinued after April 2003. This reporting should be resumed.

# 2) Do not assist India’s space launch programs.

The U.S. should not cooperate either with India’s space launches or with satellites that India will launch. India hopes that satellite launches will earn revenues that will accelerate its space program -- including rocket development. U.S. payloads for Indian launches -- such as the envisioned cooperative lunar project -- risk technology transfer
(see recommendation #3) and invite other nations to be less restrained in their use of Indian launches.

o The U.S. should resume discouraging other nations from using Indian launches, while encouraging India to resume the practice of launching satellites on other nations’ space launch vehicles.

o Because there is no meaningful distinction between India’s civilian and military rocket programs, the U.S. should explicitly or de facto place ISRO back on the “entities” list of destinations that require export licenses.

o Congress should insist that the U.S. explain its “red lines” regarding space cooperation with India. If these lines are not drawn tightly enough, Congress should intervene.

3) Review carefully any cooperation with India’s satellite programs.

India is reportedly developing multiple nuclear warheads for its long-range missiles. If India develops an ICBM, the next step will be to develop countermeasures to penetrate U.S. missile defenses. Certain satellite technologies can help India with both of these developments.

o The U.S. should review its satellite cooperation to ensure that it does not aid India inappropriately in the technologies of dispensing or orienting spacecraft, of automated deployment of structures in space, or of other operations that would materially contribute to multiple warheads or countermeasures against missile defenses.

4) Stop using cooperation in dangerous technologies as diplomatic baubles.

India is the current example of a broader, disfunctional tendency in bilateral relations to display trust and friendship by opening up the most dangerous forms of cooperation. The U.S. should not fall further into this trap with India -- or with any other nation.

o India needs many other forms of economic and military cooperation more than it needs nuclear and space technology. If India insists on focusing technology cooperation in these areas, the U.S. should take it as a red flag.

o The U.S. removal of technology sanctions imposed after India’s 1998 nuclear tests was an adequate -- and perhaps excessive -- display of friendship. Further technology cooperation should be limited to areas that do not contribute to nuclear weapons or their means of delivery.

Conclusion

Are APRIL FOOL BANA RAHA HAI YAAR samjaha karo:victory::victory::bounce::bounce:

believe it or not!!

India does not have guts YET to go against USA completely.

because India will lose a lot by breaking ties with India.

Same goes for USA.

USA needs India to deal with china or any other nation.

:usflag::coffee:

DesiGuy Bhai... edit the highlighted part :cheers:

For remaining part, I agree with you. IMO, If US is not in your friends list, never include it in your enemies list.

April fool. Dabba gul..dabbe me pani, tu meri rani. . Ha ha. Enough of the jokes already today. Cant bear more jokes like this thread dated 2006. . .:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

DesiGuy Bhai... edit the highlighted part :cheers:

For remaining part, I agree with you. IMO, If US is not in your friends list, never include it in your enemies list.

If you are on U.S. enemies list, this is what will happen to you:

Oh my god, when Pakistan can't get China to invade India for them, they'll try their best with the US, is that what you're implying.

The author of the article is totally ignorant of India’s space capabilities. Indian space program is not an assisted one but is indigenous. Moreover, the author is overestimating the US influence on Indian Space program and neither is US the sole proprietary of outer space. These kinds of articles are nothing but a Joke.

The need of the day is more cooperation between NASA and ISRO than that is there at present. India and US should move beyond the nonsense of intertwining the space and defense programs.The fruit of this marriage is too sweet to ignore as exemplified by Chandrayaan and the subsequent findings of water on the moon. It is good that NASA is also commited to Chandrayaan-II.

India aims for better establishment of humanity in space....thatis why it is ready to cooperate with all the advanced space agencies like of USA, Russia, EU, China... etc

It can not be concluded that we are targating any country and particularly USA.

Alrighty Uncle Sam . We are going to launch our ICBMs from space on you :sniper::usflag:

And once we are done with you, we are going to launch them on your ally and yaar in the WOT :sniper::pakistan:

And once we have sorted them out, we are going to launch our space ICBMs on another neighbour who has been talking bad about us and claiming our territory :sniper::china:

Now who else is left ? Should we sort out the Brits with our space ICBMs ? :blink:

This thread is soooooooo stupid :rofl:

it's so boring to read comedy novels like this:sick:

please wrote how Indian diwali rocket will threat to amearican space station:hang2: