What's new

Friendship and flood relief: A US helicopter pilot’s tale

T-Faz

RETIRED MOD
Reaction score
I am an American helicopter pilot in Pakistan. *My colleagues and I came because Pakistan and its people are enduring the aftermath of a devastating flood. *We were ordered to be here, and we miss our homes, but most of us are glad to help because we believe it’s the right thing to do.

I did not know much about Pakistan before I arrived here. *I knew of the food. *I knew of monsoons and Mohenjo Daro, Karachi and the Khyber Pass, but I had no concept of what Pakistan looked, felt, or sounded like. I even thought many Pakistanis would want us to leave.

I had no idea what the people would be like in person. *I wondered if they would resemble the images I’d seen on TV – would they protest our presence in the streets? *Would they tolerate us? *Or would they simply ignore us and go about their business?

After a few weeks of packing and planning, we were ready to deploy. *Full of excitement and some anxiety, I kissed my wife, took one last picture and was gone.*We flew on a cargo jet from Alaska to Islamabad and the flight took so long I hardly knew whether it was day or night when we finally arrived. *Shouldering my gear, I headed to the terminal, weaving among Pakistani military and civilians on the tarmac. *A US Marine captain guided my group inside where we filled out information cards and relaxed in the cool quietness, surveying our area; smooth stone floors, low-slung furniture, and ceiling fans spinning high above. *The captain was talking to a Pakistani man who had been helping us. *Before we left, the man shook my hand and looked me in the eyes. “Thank you for coming to my poor country,” he said quietly.

I wanted to convey the depth of my feelings toward him and his homeland, but all I said was, “You would probably do the same for us” as I walked away.

That was my first interaction with a Pakistani here.