Free medicines to all Indians, US$ 50 billion each year for healthcare

God of Death

Free medicines to all Indians, US$ 50 billion each year for healthcare

India raises Healthcare expenditures phenomenally

New Delhi: Free medicines to all patients visiting any government health facility across the country could soon be a reality with the health ministry ready to roll out a nearly Rs 30,000-crore ‘free medicines for all’ scheme with strong backing from the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO).

The free medicine initiative, along with an expansion of the National Rural Health Mission to urban areas, a more district-oriented approach and implementation of recommendations of the K Srinath Reddy committee on universal health coverage will be an important focus of UPA-2’s health policy. The scheme is also expected to get strong backing from the Sonia Gandhi-chaired National Advisory Council (NAC) in a meeting on February 17.

At a meeting chaired by Pulok Chatterjee, principal secretary to PM, on Friday, the ‘medicine-for-all’ scheme and other thrust areas got a thumbs up with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh keen to roll out health sector initiatives. The medicine proposal will help cut India’s tremendously high out-of-pocket expenditure on healthcare. Government wants to peg healthcare spending at 2.5% of GDP, or about Rs 2.5 lakh crore a year, in the 12th Plan.

Speaking to TOI, a ministry official said, “We are ready to roll out the scheme which will provide free generic medicines to all those who visit government healthcare facilities across the country. :woot::yahoo::yahoo::cheers:This will reduce out-of-pocket spend and also encourage more people to visit government health facilities. However, we can’t make the announcement now with the elections on as it would violate the Election Commission’s guidelines.”

Instead of increasing public spending on drug procurement when millions of Indian households have no access to medicines because of unaffordability, several large states have cut down funds meant to buy them.

Consider the case of Kerala. Even though the state spent the highest in India on drug procurement last year — 12.5% of its health expenditure — the expense was significantly less as compared to 17% in 2001. Tamil Nadu followed a similar methodology — from 15.3% (2001) to 12.2% (2010). The committee said low public spending on drugs and non-availability of free medicines in government healthcare centres were major factors discouraging people from accessing public sector health facilities.

“We estimate that an increase in the public procurement of medicines from around 0.1% to 0.5% of GDP will ensure universal access to essential drugs, greatly reduce the burden on private out-of-pocket expenditures and increase the financial protection for households,” a report has said. In the past decade and a half, drug prices in India have shot up phenomenally, registering an increase of nearly 40%. e-paper Sign-in

We can’t make the announcement now with the elections on as it would violate the Election Commission’s guidelines.

And telling this to the media is not making an announcement:rolleyes:

Congress and its BS election stunt.

what about fiscal deficit:undecided:

Yaar, koi na koi rona laga rehta hai, agar kare to problem na kara to bhi.

Bro, the thing is this that expenditure on the health is the biggest reason of poverty because as per reports Indians spends most from their own pocket for healthcare and it pushes millions in the poverty.

If govt. take care of healthcare tens of millions will pop out of poverty forever.
:agree:

---------- Post added at 01:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:10 PM ----------

pre election games started?

Its a reality no game.

And telling this to the media is not making an announcement:rolleyes:

Congress and its BS election stunt.

Chalo koi nahi, if somebody do something and get some benefit then I am not against it. At least do something na, what's say??

forced sterilisation is the only answer to reduce population and therefore poverty :) but alas not a popular method.

Yaar, koi na koi rona laga rehta hai, agar kare to problem na kara to bhi.

Bro, the thing is this that expenditure on the health is the biggest reason of poverty because as per reports Indians spends most from their own pocket for healthcare and it pushes millions in the poverty.

If govt. take care of healthcare tens of millions will pop out of poverty forever.
:agree:

---------- Post added at 01:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:10 PM ----------

Its a reality no game.

Chalo koi nahi, if somebody do something and get some benefit then I am not against it. At least do something na, what's say??

Goverment needs to also provide jobs to these people otherwise they will still remain in poverty.

---------- Post added at 08:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:14 AM ----------

bro we have democracy here:cry:

Yes your lucky im not in charge of India :devil: first thing I would do is sterilise half of bihar and UP and nxt will be Bengal

hope the trial test is not part of the election campaign drive.

Also these damn animals roaming around need to be sterilised so their population dies (apart from cows) :)

what about fiscal deficit:undecided:

It is always good to run a fiscal deficit than a surplus......the only care you would like to take that it should not shoot beyond a threshold.... remember you finance deficit through borrowing .....too much deficit could lead to too much borrowing and then ultimately to bankruptcy.

In our case, the deficit is not much due to subsidies for poor people........rather it is a problem on our revenue side where our government is letting go off direct and indirect taxes by subsidizing the rich......there is too much tax subsidies for corporates who do not deserve it. These corporates pay hefty donations to political parties and keep them in their pockets. The corporates need to be taxed fair and square.........but alas.........people only harp on subsides for poor who infact are result of the corporate politician nexus.........

So please do not crib about any subsidies for poor...........their welfare is not only our national duty but our national responsibility.........

I hope these medicine's will be going to the actual people who need it and not sold off in the blackmarket this is my concern.

It is always good to run a fiscal deficit than a surplus......the only care you would like to take that it should not shoot beyond a threshold.... remember you finance deficit through borrowing .....too much deficit could lead to too much borrowing and then ultimately to bankruptcy.

In our case, the deficit is not much due to subsidies for poor people........rather it is a problem on our revenue side where our government is letting go off direct and indirect taxes by subsidizing the rich......there is too much tax subsidies for corporates who do not deserve it. These corporates pay hefty donations to political parties and keep them in their pockets. The corporates need to be taxed fair and square.........but alas.........people only harp on subsides for poor who infact are result of the corporate politician nexus.........

So please do not crib about any subsidies for poor...........their welfare is not only our national duty but our national responsibility.........

Yes, bro.

Ur talking like a informed person.

Even narayan murti was saying the same. Why the hell Mukesh Ambani not taxed for reliance shares he owned.

---------- Post added at 01:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:21 PM ----------

I hope these medicine's will be going to the actual people who need it and not sold off in the blackmarket this is my concern.

When everybody is eligible for free medicine who will buy it in black?????? :rolleyes:

And i have already said use right to information act to keep an tab.

Also "Kya cycle se girne ke darr se, cycle na chalaye???"