Four Indians abducted in Libya worked at a university

Hindustani78

BANNED
Reaction score
Country
India
Last Updated: Friday, July 31, 2015 - 14:07
Four Indians abducted in Libya worked at a university | Zee News

New Delhi: Three of the four Indian nationals, who have been kidnapped by militants in Libya, are teachers by profession and are employed at the Sirte University. The fourth one was working at the Sirte University branch at Jufra.

The four Indians were abducted near Sirte.

The kidnapping comes even as the fate of 39 Indians kidnapped in June 2014 from Mosul in Iraq remains unknown.

The 39 were kidnapped by the Islamic State militants.

The government maintains the men, all labourers from mostly Punjab, are still alive.

The Indian government had last year issued an advisory asking its citizens to leave Libya.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities...ed-indians-hail-from-ts-ap/article7485316.ece

One of the professors abducted in Libya is from Hyderabad and the other from Srikakulam in Andhra Pradesh. Andhra Pradesh Government’s Special Representative in Delhi, K. Rama Mohan Rao on Friday communicated to the External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj on the identities of the two.

He said that while Gopi Krishna belongs to Hyderabad, Balaram is from Srikakulam. He said they weere abducted and being held hostage by an unknown group. Andhra Pradesh Chief Minsietr N. Chandrababu Naidu has taken note of the incident, he added.

Mr. Rao requested Ms. Sushma Swaraj to instruct the officials of Indian Embassy in Tripoli and also to interact with the Libyan Government to assist and extend full cooperation for the safe return of the Indian hostages.

Meanwhile, Andhra Pradesh Information and Public Relations Minister Palle Raghunatha Reddy said the State Government was making efforts for the safe release of Balaram through the cooperation of Indian and Libyan Governments.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/nation...navdropdownwidget&utm_campaign=topnavdropdown