Former CJP to sue Imran Khan over rigging allegations

Proudpakistaniguy

By Azam Khan
Published: July 6, 2014
732070-ImranIftikharChaudhry-1404665506-421-640x480.jpg

A close aide of Iftikhar Chaudhry told The Express Tribune that former top judge has made his mind to sue Khan for dragging him in the controversy without any evidence. A close aide of Iftikhar Chaudhry told The Express Tribune that former top judge has made his mind to sue Khan for dragging him in the controversy without any evidence.

ISLAMABAD: Former Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry has decided to adopt legal course against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan for hurling serious allegations—rigging in general elections 2013—against him.

A close aide of Iftikhar Chaudhry told The Express Tribune that former top judge has made his mind to sue Khan for dragging him in the controversy without any evidence. “A notice is almost ready to be sent to Imran Khan, “a family member of former chief justice confided toThe Express Tribune.

Iftikhar Chaudhry, who retired from in December last year, has decided to establish a think-tank-cum consultancy firm.

During last days of his tenure as top judge, Chaudhry also served a contempt notice to PTI chief for terming the returning officers’ role in the general elections as “sharamnaak”. In the recent past, Imran Khan many times alleged that former chief justice is responsible for rigging in general election 2013. While addressing a rally to mark his party’s 18th Founding Day anniversary the PTI chief said the Chaudhry was involved in match fixing of May 11, 2013. He had also alleged that Iftikhar Chaudhry chaired a meeting of returning officers prior to the elections.

PTI chief had demanded that those who are involved in election rigging should be exposed and put on trial under Article 6 of the Constitution.

Terming Imran Khan’s allegations as baseless, the former chief justice said that a chief justice has nothing to do with general elections. It was Election Commission of Pakistan’s duty to appoint Returning Officers to perform election duties, said Iftikhar Chaudhry. “Leveling the accusations without evidence is not appropriate. Bring proof on this count.”

He underlined that correspondence with election commission and returning officers and the record bear testimony that there was no pressure whatsoever from judiciary on election commission.

While addressing a gathering held in the memory of those martyred in Islamabad F-8 Kachehri blast, former top judge said, “I don’t like to comment on anyone’s senseless views,” he said, adding that the ‘absurd’ allegations hurled by the PTI chief did not warrant a response from him.

Former CJP to sue Imran Khan over rigging allegations – The Express Tribune

That ought to teach khan sab to think BEFORE he talks.

He has bad mouthed too many people too many times; and acted like a self proclaimed vigilante;

it is time he put his money where his words have been.

He may pay up and then do it again,
and again, and again.

IK is an emotionally challenged old man. He tends to forget or muddle the facts.

May be Imran Khan has some evidence. That is why he has consistently named the former CJ. Also, his son, who talks like a badmaash, is barking against Imran these days on every channel. So there is something to hide.

Former CJ isnt an angel. A man who got so much respect. Leikan kameenay ko izaat raas he nahee ayee.

Look at his son and his lavish life style. How come he had been living off so well and his dad didnt know what he was up to? The first reference sent by Musharraf also had serious allegation of misappropriation against his son. Being a Pakistani, do I not know how sons and daughters of influential flaunt their influence with bravado!!

Its a strange coincidence that all status quo is ganging up against Imran and PTI. I m not emotionally attached to Imran or PTI. Living abroad, I have seen in practice what Imran says to be the secret of nation success. Also, if he s given an opportunity and he does not deliver, then some one else.

There are many mentally challenged here who in their zeal to bash Imran, make themselves completely ridiculous. Please dont shoot from the hips.

May be Imran Khan has some evidence. That is why he has consistently named the former CJ. Also, his son, who talks like a badmaash, is barking against Imran these days on every channel. So there is something to hide.
Uptil now he hasn't been able to produce any against anyone.....He backed out of his contempt notice by taking a u-turn. This time also, there won't be much different.

Uturn Khan as usual.

Former CJ isnt an angel. A man who got so much respect. Leikan kameenay ko izaat raas he nahee ayee.

Look at his son and his lavish life style. How come he had been living off so well and his dad didnt know what he was up to? The first reference sent by Musharraf also had serious allegation of misappropriation against his son. Being a Pakistani, do I not know how sons and daughters of influential flaunt their influence with bravado!!

Its a strange coincidence that all status quo is ganging up against Imran and PTI. I m not emotionally attached to Imran or PTI. Living abroad, I have seen in practice what Imran says to be the secret of nation success. Also, if he s given an opportunity and he does not deliver, then some one else.

There are many mentally challenged here who in their zeal to bash Imran, make themselves completely ridiculous. Please dont shoot from the hips.

I used to think the same way as you do about Arsalan.

However I changed my mind after watching two a couple of his TV interviews.

I believe he has issues of being a son of a high ranking person. No more and no less.

TV anchors kept on producing news paper rumors, and Imran Khan allegations.

I wish he gets his beard shaved and hair trimmed. He seriously needs to accompany his lawyer, and proper evidence.

Arslan is losing his image in media but he doesn't seem to be a crook like Zardari, or nooras or Altaf mota chor.

Hope you understand.

Looks like kana dajjal Iftekhar is still have strong links & contacts in courts. I am waiting for that day when all the corrupt politicians, judges & other bastards will be punished for harming Pakistan.

May be Imran Khan has some evidence. That is why he has consistently named the former CJ. Also, his son, who talks like a badmaash, is barking against Imran these days on every channel. So there is something to hide..

What is this may be? If there was evidence then it could have been posted on media.. He (just like you) love shooting in the air and it was his personal grudges against chief justice that he started bad mouthing him. You also started name calling him(kameena) for no reason . Ex chief justice had plenty of golden chances to sold himself if he wanted during zardari era and steel mill cases.. Its habit of you and your leader to throw accusation without bringing any evidences

all the dons messed with imran .. didn't do shit about it ..let this one eyed dajjal come . he will be shown his place ...pappa aur beetay dono ko seedha karna parey ga ...
these PDF patwaris should thank PTi that they have saved wealth of Baluchistan from this corrupt guy

all the dons messed with imran .. didn't do shit about it ..let this one eyed dajjal come . he will be shown his place ...pappa aur beetay dono ko seedha karna parey ga ...
these PDF patwaris should thank PTi that they have saved wealth of Baluchistan from this corrupt guy

You are acting like as if Imran has become a prime minister with all National and provincial assembly seats. What are you talking about lol. Imran is a pathetic miserable scum who not only lost miserably in general elections, he also lost two of his own seats, not only that, he had to resort to other lawaris political scums like sheeda talli for his political survival. Baitay jitna moon ho utni baat kiya karo. Okat mat bhulo :)

a patwari measure respect in seats and designations ... bro if u hate sheeda taali so much .. why did ur master keep giving him tickets for years??? what was his fault??? he didnt keep bowing down to sharif family??? bro everyone is not like u .. u keep doing ur pooja ... worry about sharif family wealth and seats .. as far as PTi supporters go .. we are not hungry for seats and money like ur master

Former CJP Iftikhar Chaudhry files Rs 20bn defamation suit against Imran Khan

ISLAMABAD: Former Chief Justice of Pakistan, Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry Thursday served Rs 20-billion defamation notice to Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) Imran Khan over hurling allegations of poll rigging in 2013 general elections.

Talking to media outside the Supreme Court, Naseer Kiayani, Sheikh Ahsan-ud-Din and Taufeeq Asif lawyers of the former chief justice said the defamation notice had been served to Chairman PTI, seeking to apologize within 15 days and withdraw his statement against Iftikhar Chaudhry.

The lawyers stated that the services rendered by the ex-CJP were laudable and the national and international community hailed the services of Iftikhar Chaudhry.

In the notice served to the PTI chief, Iftikhar Chaudhry stated that Imran Khan leveled allegations against him after his retirement that was why he resorted to initiate legal proceedings against Khan.

The notice also stated that Imran Khan levelled baseless allegations against judiciary. Iftikhar Chaudhry's lawyers said that Imran Khan openly accused the former CJP soon after his retirement.

They said that the judiciary sent officers of courts to hold general elections on the request of Election Commission of Pakistan and they were not tilted towards any party.

Imran Khan had been accusing the ex-CJP for his involvement in the rigging of May, 11 general elections.

The footages and other relevant material have been obtained by the counsel team of the former chief justice in this regard.

Iftikhar Chaudhry sends Rs20 billion libel notice to Imran Khan - Pakistan - DAWN.COM