Edhi Foundation fears drop in donations after propaganda campaigns
DAWN.COM — PUBLISHED 24 MINUTES AGO
WHATSAPP
0 COMMENTS
PRINT
KARACHI: Faisal Edhi, son of late philanthropist Abdul Sattar Edhi, said in an interview with BBC Urdu on Monday that the Edhi Foundation fears a drop in donations as certain conservative elements are maligning his father and attempting to spread negative propaganda about him.

"There is a risk of lack of donations for the organisation because there is an active campaign run against the Edhi Foundation every year," Faisal Edhi said.

Since many people contribute to the foundation because of Edhi's personality and his work, rumours of his passing tended to spread during Ramazan. "Certain elements spread negative propaganda and rumours in order to keep people from donating to the foundation," he said.

Read: Edhi’s granddaughter, staff continue to serve humanity as usual

When asked who spreads these rumours, Faisal believed "those who are backward, reactionary and hold extremist views" are responsible. "Mullahs and capitalists have always distressed Edhi," he said.

"Mullahs in their Friday sermons have on occasion called him an Ahmadi, sometimes a kaafir, sometimes an Agha Khani, and urged people not to give charity to the foundation," Faisal said, adding that he did not understand the motivation behind the 'propaganda', despite the organisation bringing in fewer donations as compared to mosques and seminaries.

"Now I can only pray and request others to forgive him and leave him be. He is dead now, so there is no point in issuing fatwas about him," he said.

Edhi passed away at the age of 88 in Karachi on Friday night last week. A state funeral was held for the philanthropist at the National Stadium in Karachi amid tight security, with President Mamnoon Hussain and all three chiefs of the armed forces in attendance alongside other top military and civilian leadership.

Police designated different entry points to the venue for public and VIPs and security personnel from the army, Rangers and police commandos were deployed around the stadium as well as on all routes leading to the venue.

Faisal disagreed with criticism that the state had hijacked his father’s funeral.

"People said they faced a lot of difficulties reaching [the funeral], and that they came anyway out of their love and support for Edhi. But the state has a responsibility and a way of doing things. Even if we disagree with that, even if it might be flawed, I believe what the state did was for the best."

Faisal went on to elaborate on the ideological underpinnings of the organisation ─ and his upbringing.

"Edhi was a man who held socialist ideals and brought me up with those principles too. We discussed it a lot. We’ll take the foundation forward based on those principles, even if we have to run it on the footpaths."

"May Allah grant me the courage and strength to run the Edhi Foundation along the right path, as well as my father ran it."

WHATSAPP
0 COMMENTS
PRINT

The ignorant and illiterate Mullahs are one segment of the society which have contributed nothing, but division and hate. Time has come to deal properly with this abhorrent and divisive section of the society. First, they opposed the creation of Pakistan. Today, they sow hate and division among the people. The Mullahs cannot achieve a fraction of what Edhi has achieved.

People of Pakistan Love Edhi Sahab , Y ? Is it Religion ? The Answer is NO!! . Then , Is it any Luxury Life Style or Billions of $$$$ ??? The Answer is Again NO!! , Then , Is it any Political Power or Any other Technocratic or Bureaucratic Power or Influence ??? Answer is Again Big NO!!!!!

THEN WHAT IS THE ANSWER , Y PEOPLE OF PAKISTAN LOVE HIM???

Because He is a True Human Being and He Loved Humanity and Served Humanity , A True Pakistani Who Loved Pakistan More then any Mollvi sahib or Any Politician . He Helped all the needy Rich or Poor , Muslim or Non - Muslims etc . etc List is very long and I am out of words already .

So Bhai Faisal Sahab Please Just don't worry about any type of Mollvi or Politician , They are Jealous from your Father and They want to harm the fame of your father , They are trying it from many Decades and they haven't have any success and there will no success in Future too.

Note: GOVT of Pakistan should and will have to do some thing here , Issue Order to all Religious outfits any bad mouthing against Edhi Sahab will be Punish . And Pemra and All TV channels should have to stop airing those Interviews which Mollvis are using against Edhi Sahab (I am 100% that Politicians are Behind Mollvis )

Thank you all and Salute to Great Man :pakistan: :pakistan::pakistan::pakistan::pakistan:

images

Noble-Prize27896361_20167816536.jpg

edhiheader2.png

I don't think Edhi foundation should worry about donations. Most people know what's right from wrong.

Faisal should not worry.. Mullah also used to whine against Edhi Sahab when he was alive, but they failed miserably..

Original interview was taken by BBC-Urdu. Dawn just republished with little twisted and spicy words.

http://www.bbc.com/urdu/pakistan/2016/07/160711_fiasal_edhi_int_sq

In his interview. he clearly mentioned some other type of groups who work against Edhi.

The thing is that both Mullahs and the elite segment of the society disliked Edhi. He challenged both on their wrongdoings. He challenged the status quo and their shameful mindset. He educated the masses and showed them what their rights are. Let's face it. The work that the Edhi foundation is doing is actually the job of the government. No one pays taxes to the government, but everyone would pay charity to Edhi. Why? Because they know that this money would be well spent unlike their taxpayers money which ends up in offshore accounts.

The government has failed to provide basic health facilities to the common man. Edhi has filled the void nicely and that is a real shame for governmental agencies who are supposed to be immensely resourceful as opposed to an NGO. Edhi has shown everyone a mirror.

One man stood up to the challenge and showed everyone how it is supposed to be done against all odds. Hard work, optimism, dedication and self-belief. Even when the elite oppose your righteous work. Not pessimism, corruption, embezzlement, commission and fraud. Just plain service on humanitarian basis for everyone regardless of creed, color or race.

Mullahs just don't like competition. They cannot bare how a poor man could garner such sympathy and support from the masses. The Mullahs quarrel about a poor kid who didn't choose to be born out of wedlock. Edhi gave such kids a new life. He didn't shun or taunt them like Mullahs. Also, Edhi didn't distinguish between Sunni, Shia, poor, rich or anything else. His service was devoted to everyone. A vital pillar of Islam known as equality.

The Mullahs will say whatever suits Their situations to make haram form halal and
halal to haram

He was talking about MQM. MQM goons didn't let Edhi to have sacrificial animals skins during Eid ul Azha. This is well known fact in Karachi.

The thing is that both Mullahs and the elite segment of the society disliked Edhi. He challenged both on their wrongdoings. He challenged the status quo and their shameful mindset. He educated the masses and showed them what their rights are. Let's face it. The work that the Edhi foundation is doing is actually the job of the government. No one pays taxes to the government, but everyone would pay charity to Edhi. Why? Because they know that this money would be well spent unlike their taxpayers money which ends up in offshore accounts.

The government has failed to provide basic health facilities to the common man. Edhi has filled the void nicely and that is a real shame for governmental agencies who are supposed to be immensely resourceful as opposed to an NGO. Edhi has shown everyone a mirror.

One man stood up to the challenge and showed everyone how it is supposed to be done against all odds. Hard work, optimism, dedication and self-belief. Even when the elite oppose your righteous work. Not pessimism, corruption, embezzlement, commission and fraud. Just plain service on humanitarian basis for everyone regardless of creed, color or race.

Mullahs just don't like competition. They cannot bare how a poor man could garner such sympathy and support from the masses. These Mullahs quarrel about a poor kid who didn't choose to be born out of wedlock. Edhi gave such kids a new life. He didn't shun them like Mullahs. Also, Edhi didn't distinguish between Sunni, Shia, poor, rich or anything else. His service was devoted to everyone.

You are absolutely right. Liberals blame Mullahs for every problem we face. but in reality Mullahs are nothing without proper help/support from elite class.

I am an Indian and I also want to contribute to his fund

I am afraid Edhi foundation seeks donation only from Pakistanis but indeed appreciative.
----------------------------------------

We all know who are these mullahs and which political party(ies) are behind. If we want Edhi's legacy alive we need to come out of our shells, in the streets and be vocal not against mullah or parties but to echo Edhi's message of love for humanity. This way, may be, some day religious and political hijackers would die out itself, may be!

I am afraid Edhi foundation seeks donation only from Pakistanis but indeed appreciative.
----------------------------------------

We all know who are these mullahs and which political party(ies) are behind. If we want Edhi's legacy alive we need to come out of our shells, in the streets and be vocal not against mullah or parties but to echo Edhi's message of love for humanity. This way, may be, some day religious and political hijackers would die out itself, may be!
I feel very sentomental about people who savrifice for rhe greater good.i salute to edhi.