Dear Drunks,,,,you won't have to lie anymore!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:rofl:
ap is liye ache hoge bcz apki us halat may koi ap k pass nhi hota hoga agar ho tou...............
us tme ap bhi animals jesa he behave kar

lo gee ab drink ke baad bahir se bandy bula lao animal banny ke liye :rofl: hamary to sab mer mara gai hai:P

I keep it simple
Itna to humain bhee pata hay wassi
Dahi + water=Lassi

A very motivational piece of poetry from my favorite Wassi Shah :tup:

Safe drinking Guide

:D

Tips on responsible drinking

Alcoholic beverages have long been a source of both pleasure and problems. College students are often pictured as heavy-drinking party animals. That myth does not reflect the reality at UC Davis. According to a survey done by Student Health Services' Health Education & Promotion program in 2009, over half of UCD students drink 0-3 drinks when they party.

Guidelines for Responsible Drinking

Problem drinkers can be defined as persons whose use of alcohol has detrimental effects on themselves or their relationships. By using alchol in a responsible way you can reduce your chances of developing a drinking problem. The following are some guidelines for responsible drinking.

•Drinking should not be the primary focus of any activity.
•Recognize another's right to drink or not to drink.
•Set a limit on how many drinks you are going to have when you drink, and stick to it.
•Use alcohol cautiously in connection with any medication or other drugs. Example: Antihistamines and alcohol can induce excessive sedation, so it would be best to avoid this combination.
•Drink slowly - if you sip a drink and do not have more than one drink per hour, the alcohol will not have a chance to build up in your bloodstream. This is due to the natural metabolic functioning of the liver.
•Eat before you drink. Eating high-protein foods like cheeses and meats, will slow down the absorption rate so that the alcohol will not hit your system all at once.
•Drinking carbonated beverages with alcohol or carbonated alcohol preparations increases the absorption of alcohol into the bloodstream, while diluting alcohol with water slows absorption.
•When you go with friends to a party, you might want to have a designated driver - someone who will stay sober and drive the rest home. You can take turns for other parties.
•If anyone has had too much to drink, see that they get a ride home with someone sober, or find them a place to sleep.

Tips to Protect Yourself

•Remember that alcohol is still #1 date rape drug. Persons who drink alcohol are more likely to be sexually assaulted.
•Never leave a drink unattended, even for just a minute.
•If you or a friend feel extremely drunk after only a few drinks, get help because you may have been drugged.
•Other two predator drugs being used are roofies and GHB. Both make you feel drunk after 20-30 minutes. Both can cause amnesia and unconsciousness for three to eight hours.
•If you go into a room and the person locks the door, leave immediately.
•Go to a party with your friends and always leave together. If someone you just met wants to walk you home, thank him/her for the offer, but leave with the group you came with. You can always see this person the next day, when you're both sober.

First Aid for the Intoxicated

Due to the physiological effects of alcohol consumption, it is important to know how to administer first aid for an intoxicated person. The following are some guidelines if a problem does develop.

•There is no way to sober up quickly: a cold shower, black coffee, oxygen or exercise only result in a wet, wide awake or tired but intoxicated person. The amount of alcohol in the blood is controlled by the metabolic rate of the liver.
•A general rule of thumb: It will take as many hours to sober up as the number of drinks ingested.
•If a person has had "one too many" and passes out, monitor his/her breathing to make sure it is normal. Roll him/her on his/her side so he/she will not choke in case he/she vomits. If his/her breathing is irregular and he/she doesn't respond, call immediately for medical help; call 9-1-1.
•If the person is not breathing, proceed with mouth-to-mouth resuscitation and get medical help immediately; call 9-1-1.
•Familiarize yourself with the signs of alcohol poisoning.

Alcohol and Sensible Drinking

What are the recommended safe limits of alcohol drinking?

• Men should drink no more than 21 units of alcohol per week (and no more than four units in any one day).

• Women should drink no more than 14 units of alcohol per week (and no more than three units in any one day).

• Pregnant women. The exact amount that is safe is not known. Therefore, advice from the Department of Health is that pregnant women and women trying to become pregnant should not drink at all. If you do chose to drink when you are pregnant then limit it to one or two units, once or twice a week. And never get drunk.
In general, the more you drink above the safe limits, the more harmful alcohol is likely to be. And remember, binge drinking can be harmful even though the weekly total may not seem too high. For example, if you only drink once or twice a week, but when you do you drink 4-5 pints of beer each time, or a bottle of wine each time, then this is a risk to your health. Also, even one or two units can be dangerous if you drive, operate machinery, or take some types of medication.

What is a unit of alcohol?

One unit of alcohol is 10ml (1cl) by volume, or 8g by weight, of pure alcohol. For example:.

• One unit of alcohol is about equal to:
◦Half a pint of ordinary strength beer, lager, or cider (3-4% alcohol by volume), or
◦A small pub measure (25ml) of spirits (40% alcohol by volume), or
◦A standard pub measure (50ml) of fortified wine such as sherry or port (20% alcohol by volume).

• There are one and a half units of alcohol in:
◦A small glass (125ml) of ordinary strength wine (12% alcohol by volume), or
◦A standard pub measure (35ml) of spirits (40% alcohol by volume).

But remember, many wines and beers are stronger than the more traditional 'ordinary' strengths. A more accurate way of calculating units is as follows. The percentage alcohol by volume (% abv) of a drink equals the number of units in one litre of that drink. For example:.

• Strong beer at 6% abv has six units in one litre. If you drink half a litre (500ml) - just under a pint - then you have had three units.
• Wine at 14% abv has 14 units in one litre. If you drink a quarter of a litre (250ml) - two small glasses - then you have had three and a half units.

Some other examples

What is acceptable?

Men: As a rule, health experts say that a man should not regularly drink more than 3-4 units a day. In real terms, this means blokes shouldn't exceed two pints of lager or beer, or three glasses of wine a day.
Women: Health experts recommend women should not regularly exceed 2-3 units a day. In real terms this is a pint or a couple of glasses of wine a day.

Why is there a gender difference?

The male body is made up of 66 per cent fluid, compared to 55 per cent for women. This means alcohol is more diluted in a man's body than a woman's. As a result, women tend to get drunk faster than men on the same amount of alcohol.

The amount of alcohol a person consumes is measured in units. Here are some rough examples of what makes up a typical unit:
Half a pint of beer or cider = 1.5 units;
A small glass (125ml) of wine = 1.5 units;
A single measure of spirits (e.g. whisky, vodka, rum or gin) = one unit.

Three pints of beer, three times per week, is at least 18-20 units per week. That is nearly the upper weekly safe limit for a man. However, each drinking session of three pints is at least six units, which is more than the safe limit advised for any one day. Another example: a 750ml bottle of 12% wine contains nine units. If you drink two bottles of 12% wine over a week, that is 18 units. This is above the upper safe limit for a woman.

Isn't alcohol good for you?

For men over 40 and for women past the menopause, it is thought that drinking a small amount of alcohol (1-2 units per day) helps to protect against heart disease and stroke.

Do you know how much you are drinking?

When asked "How much do you drink?" many people give a much lower figure than the true amount. It is not that people lie usually lie about this, but it is easy to not realise your true alcohol intake. To give an honest answer to this question, try making a drinking diary for a couple of weeks or so. Jot down every drink that you have. Remember, it is a pub measure of spirits that equals one unit. A home measure if often a double.

If you are drinking more than the safe limits, you should aim to cut down your drinking.

What are the problems with drinking too much alcohol?

Health risks:

About 1 in 3 men, and about 1 in 7 women, drink more than the safe levels. Many people who drink heavily are not 'addicted' to alcohol, and are not 'alcoholics'. To stop or reduce alcohol would not be a problem if there was the will to do so. However, for various reasons, many people have got into a habit of drinking regularly and heavily. But, drinking heavily is a serious health risk.

If you drink heavily you have an increased risk of developing:.

• Hepatitis (inflammation of the liver).
• Cirrhosis (scarring of the liver). Up to 3 in 10 long-term heavy drinkers develop cirrhosis.
• Stomach disorders.
• Pancreatitis (severe inflammation of the pancreas).
• Mental health problems including depression, anxiety, and various other problems.
• Sexual difficulties such as impotence.
• Muscle and heart muscle disease.
• High blood pressure.
• Damage to nervous tissue.
• Accidents - drinking alcohol is associated with a much increased risk of accidents. In particular, injury and death from fire and car crashes. About 1 in 7 road deaths are caused by drinking alcohol.
• Some cancers (mouth, gullet, liver, colon and breast).
• Obesity (alcohol has many calories).
• Damage to an unborn baby in pregnant women.
• Alcohol dependence (addiction).

In the UK about 33,000 deaths a year are related to drinking alcohol, a quarter due to accidents.

Alcohol dependence:

If you are 'alcohol dependent' you have a strong desire for alcohol and have great difficulty in controlling your drinking. In addition, your body is used to lots of alcohol. Therefore, you may develop withdrawal symptoms 3-8 hours after your last drink as the effect of the alcohol wears off. So, even if you want to stop drinking, it is often difficult because of withdrawal symptoms.

Withdrawal symptoms include: feeling sick, trembling, sweating, craving for alcohol, and feeling unwell. As a result, you may drink regularly to prevent withdrawal symptoms.

The severity of dependence can vary. It can develop gradually and become more severe. You may be developing alcohol dependence if you:.

• need a drink every day
• drink alone often
• need a drink to stop trembling (the shakes)
• drink early, or first thing in the morning (to avoid withdrawal symptoms)
• often have a strong desire to drink alcohol
• spend a lot of you time in activities where alcohol is available, for example, if you spend a lot of time at the social club or pub
• neglect other interests or pleasures because of alcohol drinking.

Alcohol drinking and problems to others

Heavy alcohol drinking in one person often seriously damages others. Many families have become severely affected by one member becoming a problem drinker. Emotional and financial problems often occur in such families. It is estimated that 3 in 10 divorces, 4 in 10 cases of domestic violence, and 2 in 10 cases of child abuse are alcohol related. Often the problem drinker denies or refuses to accept that the root cause is alcohol.

Some common myths about drinking alcohol

Myth - "Coffee will sober me up".
Caffeine in coffee is a stimulant so you might feel more alert, but it won't make you sober.

Myth - "I'll be fine in the morning"
Alcohol is broken down by the liver. A healthy liver can get rid of about one unit of alcohol an hour. Sleep will not speed up the rate at which the liver works. Just because you have a night's sleep does not necessarily mean you will be sober in the morning. It depends on how much you drank the night before.

Myth - "Alcohol keeps me alert"
Alcohol can make you think that you are more alert, but it actually has a depressant effect which slows down your reflexes.

Myth - "Beer will make me less drunk than spirits"
Half a pint of beer contains the same amount of alcohol as a single measure of spirits.

Myth - "I'll be fine if I drink plenty of water before I go to bed"
This can reduce hangover symptoms by helping to prevent dehydration. But it wont make you any less drunk, or protect your liver or other organs from the damaging effect of alcohol.

Myth - "The recommended safe limits are too low"
They are based on good research which has identified the level above which problems start to arise. For example, if a man drinks five units each day (not greatly over the recommended limit) then, on average, he doubles his risk of developing liver disease, raised blood pressure, some cancers, and of having a violent death.

Myth - "Most people drink more than the recommended limits"
Studies show that about 1 in 3 men, and about 1 in 7 women drink more than the weekly recommended levels. So, if you drink heavily, it might be what your friends do, but it is not what most people do, and you are putting yourself and others at risk.

Myth - "It's none of my business if a friend is drinking too much"
This is a matter of opinion. Some people would say that if you are a real friend, it really is your business. You may be the one person who can persuade your friend to accept that they have a problem, and to seek help if necessary

Tackling the problem of heavy drinking

Once they know the facts, many people can quite easily revert back to sensible drinking if they are drinking above the safe limits. If you are trying to cut down, some tips which may help include:.

• Consider drinking low alcohol beers, or at least do not drink 'strong' beers or lagers.
• Try pacing the rate of drinking. Perhaps alternate soft drinks with alcoholic drinks.
• If you eat when you drink, you may drink less.
• It may be worth reviewing your entire social routine. For example, consider:

◦cutting back on types of social activity which involve drinking
◦trying different social activities where drinking is not a part
◦reduce the number of days in the week where you go out to drink
◦going out to the pub or club later in the evening.

• Try to resist any pressure from people who may encourage you to drink more than you really want to.

The problem of denial

Some people who are heavy drinkers, or who are alcohol dependent, deny that there is a problem to themselves. The sort of thoughts that people deceive themselves with include: "I can cope", "I'm only drinking what all my mates drink", "I can stop anytime".

Coming to terms with the fact that you may have a problem, and seeking help when needed, is often the biggest step to sorting the problem.

Alcohol Poisoning:
How to Help a Drunk Friend

Know How Much Alcohol is Safe

In general, if you drink, you should only consume one drink per hour. A drink is defined as one 12-ounce beer, one 4-ounce glass of wine, one 10-ounce wine cooler or one 1-ounce of 80-proof hard alcohol. Factors such as body weight, height and body chemistry should also be considered. Many mixed drinks have more than one serving of alcohol. Be sure to know how much alcohol is in your drink.

When Someone is Intoxicated

•CONTINUALLY MONITOR THE INTOXICATED PERSON.
•CHECK THEIR BREATHING, waking them often to be sure they are not unconscious.
•A DRUNK PERSON should not be put in charge of another drunk person.
•DO NOT exercise the person.
•DO NOT allow the person to drive a car or ride a bicycle.
•DO NOT give the person food, liquid, medicines or drugs to sober them up.
•DO NOT give the person a cold shower; the shock of the cold could cause unconsciousness.

REMEMBER: THE ONLY THING THAT CAN SOBER A DRUNK PERSON IS TIME!!!!

signs of alcohol poisoning

You should call 9-1-1 if you see someone exhibiting behavior that might indicate alcohol poisoning such as any of the following symptoms:

•Unresponsive, unable to be awakened
•Slow, shallow breathing (13 or fewer breaths per minute or time lapses of more than 8 seconds between breaths)
•Cold, clammy, pale or bluish skin
•Repeated, uncontrolled vomiting
After you call 9-1-1, place the person on his/her side with knees bent to prevent choking from vomiting. Do not leave that person alone!

How To Tell If Someone Has Alcohol Poisoning

•If the person is breathing less than thirteen times per minute or stops breathing for periods of eight seconds or more, CALL 9-1-1.
•If the person is asleep and you are unable to wake him/her up, CALL 9-1-1.
•Look at the person's skin. If it is cold, clammy, pale or bluish in color, CALL 9-1-1.
•If the person is continually vomiting (repeated, uncontrolled), CALL 9-1-1.

Other Important Factors

•Stay with a person who is vomiting! Try to keep the person sitting up. If s/he must lie down, keep the person on his/her side with his/her head turned to the side. Watch for choking; if the person begins to choke, GET HELP IMMEDIATELY, CALL 9-1-1.
•If a person drinks alcohol in combination with any other drug, the combined effect could be fatal. CALL 9-1-1.
•If the person is not in need of medical attention and is going to "sleep it off," be sure to position the person on his/her side placing a pillow behind him/her to prevent them from rolling out of this position. This is important to help prevent choking if the person should vomit. STAY WITH THE PERSON AND WAKE HIM/HER UP FREQUENTLY. Even though the person is sleeping, alcohol levels may continue to rise, causing the person to become unconscious, rather than asleep. If at any time you can not wake the person up, CALL 9-1-1.
•Any person that has altered consciousness, slowed respiration, repeated, uncontrolled vomiting, or cool, pale skin is experiencing acute alcohol intoxication (alcohol poisoning). This is a medical emergency and you MUST get help. CALL 9-1-1.

Alcohol And Health
Moderate drinkers tend to have better health and live longer than those who are either abstainers or heavy drinkers. In addition to having fewer heart attacks and strokes, moderate consumers of alcoholic beverages (beer, wine or distilled spirits or liquor) are generally less likely to suffer hypertension or high blood pressure, peripheral artery disease, Alzheimer's disease and the common cold.

Sensible drinking also appears to be beneficial in reducing or preventing diabetes, rheumatoid arthritis, bone fractures and osteoporosis, kidney stones, digestive ailments, stress and depression, poor cognition and memory, Parkinson's disease, hepatitis A, pancreatic cancer, macular degeneration (a major cause of blindness), angina pectoris, duodenal ulcer, erectile dysfunction, hearing loss, gallstones, liver disease and poor physical condition in elderly.

Longevity

Moderate drinkers tend to live longer than those who either abstain or drink heavily.

•A Harvard study found the risk of death from all causes to be 21% to 28% lower among men who drank alcohol moderately, compared to abstainers.

•A large-scale study in China found that middle-aged men who drank moderately had a nearly 20% lower overall mortality compared to abstainers.

•Harvard's Nurses' Health Study of over 85,000 women found reduced mortality among moderate drinkers.

•A British analysis of 12,000 male physicians found that moderate drinkers had the lowest risk of death from all causes during the 13 year study.

•A large study of about 88,000 people conducted over a period of ten years found that moderate drinkers were about 27% less likely to die during the period than were either abstainers or heavy drinkers. The superior longevity was largely due to a reduction of such diseases as coronary heart disease, cancer, and respiratory diseases.

•A large study funded by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism found that moderate drinking increased the length of life by about 3% among white males.

•A twelve year long prospective study of over 200,000 men found that subjects who had consumed alcohol in moderation were less likely to die than those who abstained from alcohol.

•A study of more than 40,000 people by the Cancer Research Center in Honolulu found that "persons with moderate alcohol intake appear to have a significantly lower risk of dying than nondrinkers.”
•An analysis of the 89,299 men in the Physicians' Health Study over a period of five and one-half years found that those who drink alcohol in moderation tend to live longer than those who either abstain or drink heavily.

•An Italian study of 1,536 men aged 45-65 found that about two (2) years of life were gained by moderate drinkers (1-4 drinks per day) in comparison with occasional and heavy drinkers.
•A study of 2,487 adults aged 70-79 years, who were followed for an average period of over five and one-half years, found that all-cause mortality was significantly lower in light to moderate drinkers than in abstainers or occasional drinkers (those who drank <1 drink per week).

Healthier Lives
Moderate drinkers tend to enjoy better health than do either abstainers or heavy drinkers.

•A nation-wide survey in the U.S. revealed that daily moderate drinkers experienced significantly less acute hospitalization.
•A nine year study of predictors of good health found moderate alcohol consumption to be associated with the most favorable health scores.
•A nation-wide Canadian study found moderate drinkers who consumed alcohol daily to have 15% less disability than the general population.
•A Dutch study found that moderate drinkers under stress were less likely to be absent from work than were either abstainers or heavy drinkers.

Heart Attacks

Moderate drinkers are also less likely to suffer heart attacks than are abstainers or heavy drinkers.

•Harvard researchers have identified the moderate consumption of alcohol as a proven way to reduce coronary heart disease risk.

UcurveChart.gif

An exhaustive review of all major heart disease studies found that "Alcohol consumption is related to total mortality in a U-shaped manner, where moderate consumers have a reduced total mortality compared with total non-consumers and heavy consumers."

•A National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism study asserts that "The totality of evidence on moderate alcohol and CHD (coronary heart disease) supports a judgment of a cause-effect relationship... there are cardioprotective benefits associated with responsible, moderate alcohol intake."
•An extensive review of recent medical research by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism found that, with few exceptions, studies from at least 20 countries around the world demonstrate a 20- to 40-percent lower coronary heart disease CHD incidence among drinkers compared to nondrinkers. Moderate drinkers exhibit lower rates of CHD-related mortality than either heavy drinkers or abstainers.
•A study of 18,455 males from the Physicians Health Study revealed that those originally consuming one drink per week or less who increased their consumption to six drinks per week or less has a 29% reduction in CVD risk compared to those who did not increase their consumption. Men originally consuming 1-6 drinks per week who increased their consumption moderately has a 15% decrease in CVD risk compared to those who made no change.
•The Harvard Health Professionals Follow-Up Study of over 44,000 males found moderate alcohol consumption to be associated with a 37% reduction in coronary disease.
•A British study of women found moderate consumption of alcohol to be associated with lower levels of cardiovascular risk factors. 31
•A study of over 5,000 women with type 2 diabetes mellitus by Harvard researchers found that coronary heart disease rates "were significantly lower in women who reported moderate alcohol intake than in those who reported drinking no alcohol." Women who drank more than 5 grams (about half a glass) a day reduced their risk of CHD (fatal or nonfatal) by more than half.
•In a study of nearly 88,000 men, Harvard researchers found that drinking reduced risk of coronary heart disease (CHD) risk among both diabetics and non-diabetics. Weekly consumption of alcohol reduced CHD risk by one-third (33%) while daily consumption reduced the risk by over half (58%) among diabetics. For non-diabetics, weekly consumption reduced CHD risk by 18% while daily consumption reduced the risk by 39%.
•Light to moderate consumption of alcohol appears to reduce the risk of coronary heart disease by as much as 80% among individuals with older-onset diabetes, according to a study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association.
•The Honolulu Heart Study found a 49% reduction in coronary heart disease among men who drink alcohol in moderation.
•Harvard researchers concluded about coronary heart disease that "Consumption of one or two drinks of beer, wine, or liquor per day has corresponded to a reduction in risk of approximately 20-40%."
•At a scientific conference, researchers from Korea, Italy, Germany, Poland, the Netherlands, and the United States reported striking reductions in death among moderate drinkers, with heart disease and total mortality rates about one half or less compared to non-drinkers.
•After over 6,000 participants in the Framingham Heart Study were followed for a period of six to ten years, researchers found that "when consumed in moderation, alcohol appears to protect against congestive heart failure."
•After reviewing the research, Dr. David Whitten reported that "The studies that have been done show pretty clearly that the chances of suffering cardiac death are dramatically reduced by drinking" one or two drinks a day and asserted that "We don't have any drugs that are as good as alcohol."
•Based on the medical evidence, noted investigator Dr. Curtis Ellison asserted that "abstinence from alcohol is a major risk factor for coronary heart disease."
•The American Heart Association, based on the research evidence, concludes that the “Consumption of one or two drinks per day is associated with a reduction in risk of (coronary heart disease) approximately 30% to 50%.”

Heart Attack Survivability

In addition to reducing the risk of heart attacks, the moderate consumption of alcohol also increases their the survivability.

•Drinking alcohol in moderation throughout the year before an acute myocardial infarction (AMI) has been found o reduce the risk of dying afterward. Information on the prior drinking behaviors of about 1,900 patients was collected during their hospitalization for AMI. Deaths of participants were then monitored over the next four years. After adjusting for age, sex and other factors, investigators found that light and moderate drinkers had lower death rates than patients who abstained. Moderate drinkers had the lowest mortality rate, reducing their risk by 32%, compared to abstainers. The health benefits were virtually identical for beer, distilled spirits, and wine.
•Men who consume two to four drinks of alcohol after a heart attack are less likely to experience a second heart attack than are abstainers, according to a study of 353 male heart attack survivors. Researchers found that men who consumed an average of two drinks of alcohol per day were 59% less likely than non-drinkers to have another heart attack. Those who drank an average of four drinks per day experienced a risk reduction of 52% compared to abstainers.

•Drinking alcohol (beer, wine, or distilled spirits) in moderation reduces the damage to effected tissue following a heart attack, according to research by Dr. Ron Korthuis, Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Medical Pharmacology and Physiology at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

How does alcohol reduce heart disease? It appears that moderate consumption of alcohol improves health and longevity in a number of ways, including the following:

•Alcohol improves blood lipid profile
&#9702;It increases HDL ("good") cholesterol
&#9702;It decreases LDL ("bad") cholesterol
&#9702;It improves cholesterol (both HDL and LDL) particle size
•Alcohol decreases thrombosis (blood clotting)
&#9702;It reduces platelet aggregation
&#9702;It reduces fibrinogen (a blood clotter)
&#9702;It increases fibrinolysis (the process by which clots dissolve)
•Alcohol acts through additional ways
Gaining Weight?
Drinking puts on pounds, right? Wrong! To learn more, visit Alcohol, Calories and Weight.
&#9702;It reduces coronary artery spasm in response to stress

&#9702;it increases coronary blood flow
&#9702;It reduces blood pressure
&#9702;It reduces blood insulin level
&#9702;It increases estrogen levels
&#9702;It reduces harmful arterial plaque

Hypertension or High Blood Pressure

•A Harvard University study found the lowest levels of hypertension among young adults who consumed one to three drinks per day.

Chart2.gif

•A study of alcohol consumption and subsequent high blood pressure for eight years among over 7,000 women found that those who consumed an average of about half a drink a day had a 15% lower chance of developing high blood pressure than did women who abstained from alcohol. This is very important because it's one of the few risk factors over which a person has control.

Diabetes
•Medical researchers examined the results of 15 different studies and found that moderate drinkers are less likely to have type 2 diabetes than are abstainers. Teetotalers and heavy drinkers have equally high risk of the disease.
The 15 studies were conducted in the U.S., Japan, Finland, Korea, the Netherlands, Germany and the UK and followed a total of 369,862 men and women for an average of 12 years.
Moderate drinkers (those who drank between about a half a drink to four drinks per day) were found to be 30% less likely to develop type 2 diabetes than abstainers or heavy drinkers.
Whether drinkers consume beer, wine or distilled spirits makes little difference, but the pattern of consumption does. It’s much better to consume frequently (such as daily) rather than infrequently for maximum health benefits.
•The American Diabetes Association reports that "In people with diabetes, light-to-moderate amounts of alcohol are associated with a decreased risk of heart disease, probably because alcohol raises HDL cholesterol, the so-called 'good cholesterol.'"
•An analysis of pairs of twins with different drinking patterns found that those who consumed alcohol in moderation had half the risk of developing type 2 (adult-onset) diabetes compared to those who consumed less alcohol. The study involved nearly 23,000 Finnish twins.
•A study of almost 21,000 physicians for over 12 years has found that men who are light to moderate drinkers have a decreased risk of Type 2 (non-insulin dependent) diabetes mellitus.
•A study of 8,663 men over a period of as long as 25 years found that the incidence of type 2 diabetes was significantly lower among moderate drinkers than among either abstainers or heavy drinkers. These findings persisted after adjusting for age, smoking, blood pressure, HDL cholesterol, waist circumference, parental diabetes, fasting plasma glucose, body mass index (BMI), serum triglyceride concentration, and cardiorespiratory fitness.
•Pre-menstrual women who consume a daily drink of beer, wine or distilled spirits (whiskey, rum, tequila, etc.) have a much lower risk of developing type 2 diabetes than abstainers, according to a study that duplicates similar findings in men. The Harvard study involved about 110,000 women age 25 to 42 over a ten-year period. Dramatic reductions (about 60%) occurred among women who drank between 1/2 and two drinks daily compared to abstainers. The reduction of risk was lower for those who drank less.
•Drinking alcohol (beer, wine, or distilled spirits) in moderation was associated with a lower risk of developing type 2 diabetes among women age 40-70 in a large study in the Netherlands that followed them for an average of over six years. The authors wrote that the “findings support the evidence of a decreased risk of type 2 diabetes with moderate alcohol consumption and expand this to a population of older women.”

•Research, conducted at the University of Padova Medical School in Italy found that consuming alcohol directly improved the action of insulin in both healthy diabetics. Alcohol also improved fatty acid levels.

•And the list of research evidence about the positive effects of moderate drinking on diabetes continues.

Alzheimer’s Disease and Other Dementia
•A French study found moderate drinkers to have a 75% lower risk for Alzheimer's Disease and an 80% lower risk for senile dementia. 73
•Research on 7,460 women age 65 and older found that those who consumed up to three drinks per day scored significantly better than non-drinkers on global cognitive function, including such things as concentration, memory, abstract reasoning, and language. The investigators adjusted or controlled for such factors as educational level and income that might affect the results, but the significant positive relationships remained.
•Researchers in Australia studied 7,485 people age 20 to 64 years. They found that moderate drinkers (males who consumed up to 14 drinks per week and females who consumed up to 7) performed better than abstainers on all measures of cognitive ability. Sex, race, education and extroversion-introversion failed to account for the findings.
•Older people who drink in moderation generally suffer less mental decline than do abstainers, another study finds. Over one thousand persons age 65 and older were studied over a period of seven years. Overall, light and moderate drinkers experienced less mental decline than did non-drinkers.
•Women who consume alcohol (beer, wine or distilled spirits) moderately on a daily basis are about 20% less likely than abstainers to experience poor memory and decreased thinking abilities, according to data from 12,480 women age 70 to 81 who participated in the long-term study.

•A study of about 6,000 people age 65 and older found that moderate drinkers have a 54% lower chance of developing dementia than abstainers. The type of alcohol beverage consumed (wine, spirits, or beer) didn't make a difference in the protective effects of drinking in moderation.

•A study of 7,983 people aged 55 of age or older in The Netherlands over an average period of six years found that those who consumed one to three drinks of alcohol (beer, wine, or distilled spirits) per day had a significantly lower risk of dementia (including Alzheimer's) than did abstainers.
•A study of over 400 people at least 75 years old who were followed for a period of six years found that drinkers were only half as likely to develop dementia (including Alzheimer’s disease) as similarly-aged abstainers from alcohol . Abstainers were defined as people who consumed less than one drink of alcohol per week. 80
•Moderate drinking among older women can benefit memory according to research funded by the National Institutes of Health. Moderate drinkers performed better on instrumental everyday tasks, had stronger memory self-efficacy and improved memory performance," said Dr. Graham McDougall, who led the research. The performance memory tests include such topics as remembering a story, route, hidden objects, future intentions and connecting random numbers and letters. In all cases, the group who drank scored better than those who did not drink. Women who drank alcohol in moderation (defined as consuming up to two drinks of beer, wine or spirits per day) also performed better on attention, concentration, psychomotor skills, verbal-associative capacities and oral fluency. 81
•A study of 1,018 men and women age 65-79 whose physical and mental health was monitored for an average of 23 years found that “drinking no alcohol, or too much, increases risk of cognitive impairment,” in the words of the editor of the British Medical Journal, which published the study.

•A study of over 6,000 people in the U.K. found that those who consume as little as a single drink of alcoholic beverage per week have significantly greater cognitive functioning than teetotalers. Abstainers were twice as likely as occasional drinkers to receive the lowest cognitive functioning test scores. The beneficial mental effects of alcohol were found when a person drinks up to about 30 drinks per week, and increased with consumption. The researchers did not test the effects of higher levels of alcohol drinking. The research team suggests that alcohol (beer, wine, or liquor) improves mental functioning because it increases blood flow to the brain. Dr. Guy Ratcliffe, the Medical Director of the Medical Council on Alcohol, said that “this is a well-researched study, and it’s important that information such as this is available so that people can make informed decisions about alcohol consumption.”

•Moderate alcohol consumption protects older persons from the development of cognitive impairment, according to a study of 15,807 Italian men and women 65 years of age and older. Among the drinkers only 19% showed signs of mental impairment compared to 29% of the abstainers. The relationship continued even when other factors in cognitive impairment, such as age, education, and health problems were considered.
•An 18-year study of Japanese American men found "a positive association between moderate alcohol intake among middle-aged men and subsequent cognitive performance in later life." Moderate drinkers scored significantly higher on the Cognitive Abilities Screening Instrument (CASI), which includes tests of attention, concentration, orientation, memory, and language. Both nondrivers and heavy drivers had the lowest CASI scores.
•The moderate consumption of alcohol was associated with superior mental function among older women compared to abstainers in a study of 9,000 women aged 70 to 79 over a period of 15 years. The women's mental function was assessed with seven different tests. After adjusting for other factors that might affect mental function, the researchers found that the women who drank in moderation performed significantly better on five of seven tests. They also performed significantly better on a global score that combined all seven tests. The researchers found that the effect of moderate alcohol consumption on cognitive functioning was the equivalent of being one to two years younger.
•Drinking alcohol (beer, wine or liquor) in moderation is one of the strategies that can reduce the risk of cognitive decline and dementia in later life according to a review of research conducted by scholars from the School of Aging Studies at the University of South Florida (Drs. Ross Andel and Tiffany Hughes) and the University of Alabama at Birmingham (Dr. Michael Crowe). They carefully analyzed the existing research to identify how dementia can be reduced. Abstaining from alcohol and abusing alcohol are both risk factors for cognitive decline and dementia.

Other

•Common Cold. Moderate drinkers have been found to be more resistant than abstainers to five strains of the common cold virus. Those who consumed 2 to 3 drinks daily had an 85% greater resistance. Those drinking 1 to 2 drinks daily had a 65% lower risk and those who drank less than daily had a 30% lower risk than abstainers.
•Intermittent Claudication (IC). In a study of 18,339 observations, researchers found that drinking alcohol in moderation significantly reduces the risk of intermittent claudication. IC is associated with a two- to four-fold increased risk of death from cardiovascular disease.
•Kidney Cancer. An analysis of data from 760,044 men and women who were tracked for seven to 20 years found that moderate drinkers are about 30% less likely to develop kidney cancer than are abstainers. 90 A large prospective study of 59,237 Swedish women age 40-76 found that those who consumed at least one drink per week had a 38% lower risk of kidney cancer than did abstainers or those who drank less. For women over 55, the risk dropped by two-thirds (66%).
•Metabolic Syndrome. Researchers at Boston Medical Center analyzed data from 8,125 participants in the Third National Health and Nutrition Examination Study. They found that drinkers had a 43 percent lower chance of having Metabolic Syndrome than did abstainers or non-drinkers. After taking into account age, sex, race, education, income, tobacco use, physical activity, and diet, the researchers found that subjects who consumed 1-19 alcoholic drinks per month had a 35% reduction in risk, and those who had 20 or more drinks each month had a 66% reduction in risk of Metabolic Syndrome.
•Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma (Cancer). A review of findings from nine international studies suggests that drinking alcohol reduces the risk of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NHL) by 27%. The protective effect of alcohol did not vary by beer, wine, or distilled spirits consumption.. The research also found that alcohol's protective effect varies by form or subtype of non-Hodgkin‘s lymphoma. Drinkers were about half as likely as non-drinkers to develop Burkitt's lymphoma. The cancer is the sixth most common in the USA.
•Peripheral Artery Disease. Harvard researchers have found moderate drinkers to be almost 1/3 less likely to suffer Peripheral Artery Disease (a significant cause of death among the elderly) than those consuming less than one drink per week.
•Rheumatoid Arthritis. Research studies suggest that the consumption of alcohol reduces the risk of developing rheumatoid arthritis. A large study in Sweden additionally found that the risk of developing the painful disease decreased as the consumption of alcohol increased from light to moderate levels.

And the list goes on...
Moderate consumption of alcohol appears to be beneficial to reducing or preventing even more diseases and health problems:

•Angina Pectoris
•Bone Fractures and Osteoporosis
•Digestive Ailments
•Duodenal Ulcer
•Erectile Dysfunction
•Essential Tremors
•Gallstones
•Hearing Loss
•Hepatitis A
•Hodgkin’s Lymphoma (Cancer)
•*Kidney Stones
•Macular Degeneration (a major cause of blindness)
•Pancreatic Cancer
•Parkinson's Disease
•Poor Cognition and Memory
•Poor Physical Condition in Elderly
•Stress and Depression
•Type B Gastritis

I think for first time after joining in PDF I am going to agree with Gin Ka Pakistan about one thing. Drinking should be prohibited. It destroys poor families. Now, it can not be prohibited for the poors only...So there should be complete Ban. If you enquire a bit, you can find out it is responsible for a large number of crimes which were most possibly avoided if the offenders were in clear state of mind. Smoking, chewing Guthka, Pan mashala etc should be banned too.

Plese dont give the example of West. We do not need to follow them on everything. Islamic countries can lead the world atleast in this aspect. In India, if Gujrat can prohibit drinking, why not other states???

I forgot to mention ....there is nothing called safe drinking or limited drinking, because it is not considered drinking at all. Somebody has said......

" Na pina haram hai,
Na pilana haram hai;
Pi ke honshme aana haram hai....."

I forgot to mention ....there is nothing called safe drinking or limited drinking, because it is not considered drinking at all. Somebody has said......

" Na pina haram hai,
Na pilana haram hai;
Pi ke honshme aana haram hai....."

yaar or koi thread nhi hai wahaan jao :lol:

I said " Don't drink as there is no tomorrow" means too much of drink tun :lazy::lol::lol::lol::lol:

At least the youngman fund his god---oh god-the PORCELEINE GOD---.

Let me ask you this---how many of you had your arms wrapped around the toilet bowl and were saying---oh god---oh god---oh god---please.

At least the youngman fund his god---oh god-the PORCELEINE GOD---.

Let me ask you this---how many of you had your arms wrapped around the toilet bowl and were saying---oh god---oh god---oh god---please.

i made a viedeo of my mate he was tun at all that was funnist day of year hahahhahahah he even can't move his hand that night:rofl::rofl::rofl: but he abuse every one.:rofl::rofl::rofl:

Phir aaplog ke majlish khatam hone ke bad ghor koun pouchha dega????

sorry bhai hum itny bewakoof nhi majlis apny room main lagaty hai
.or kya daru ke liye banda ab japan jai ga?:D