Bangladesh on track to become upper-middle income country: WB envoy

ECONOMY

TBS Report
05 September, 2023, 06:05 pm
Last modified: 05 September, 2023, 06:19 pm

Bangladesh is on the right track to become a high middle-income country by 2041, the World Bank's acting country director for Bangladesh and Bhutan Souleymane Coulibaly said on Tuesday (5 September).

"Bangladesh is one of the fastest growing economies in the world. I strongly believe that the country is on the right track to become an upper-middle income country by 2041, as Bangladesh has maintained its economic growth over the years despite the Covid-19 pandemic", he said while speaking as the Guest of Honour at a discussion meeting titled 'Development of Microenterprises in Bangladesh: Role of RAISE Project' organized by PKSF.

Eminent economist and Chairman of Palli Karma-Sahayak Foundation (PKSF) Dr Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad presided over the discussion meeting. PKSF Managing Director Dr Nomita Halder gave the welcome address.

Dr Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad said that Bangladesh needs to invest in microenterprises if the country wants to benefit from the demographic dividend.

He said development of microenterprises requires implementation of capacity enhancement activities along with financial services.

PKSF is working tirelessly to improve the socio-economic status of the people who lag behind, said Dr Nomita Halder.

The RAISE project is working to improve the overall quality of life of the people, especially the youths by enhancing their capacities, she added.

In a presentation on 'Development of Microenterprises in Bangladesh: Prospects and Challenges', Md Fazlul Kader, Additional Managing Director of PKSF, highlighted the role of various activities and projects of PKSF in the development of microenterprises. Besides, Dilip Kumar Chakravorty, General Manager (Programs) of PKSF and Project Coordinator, RAISE presented on various aspects of the Recovery and Advancement of Informal Sector Employment (RAISE) project.

Former Dhaka University Professor MA Baqui Khalily discussed the presentations. Some participants of the RAISE project shared their experiences at the event. Besides, officials of PKSF and its Partner Organizations and representatives of the World Bank participated in the event.

To enhance human capacities in microenterprises, the RAISE project was launched in February 2022 jointly funded by PKSF and the World Bank.

The project is being implemented in the urban and peri-urban areas of 333 upazilas of 64 districts of the country through 70 Partner Organisations.

Under this five-year project, Tk1.75 lakh youths and micro-entrepreneurs are receiving inclusive financial services as well as capacity development support.

The RAISE project is playing an important role in achieving the Perspective Plan 2021-2041 of the Government of Bangladesh and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by creating opportunities for youths to engage in dignified and decent work environments.

Bangladesh, came into existence in 1971, whereas Pakistan came into existence in 1947. Yet Bangladesh has managed to achieve better economic class in 52 years what Pakistan has not manage to achieve in 76 years.

LANAT on the KHABAS Pakistan Military Establishment .... Khabeeson ki khaslat sowwaron ki hai.

I pray that Allah Subhanahu Wata'aalah purge this malignant cancer which is the establishment, to their core.

Haramkhor, murdood.

WB, IMF and others were also predicting a highly developed Pakistan and SL. They are under the pressure of heavy debt burden now.

BD has also borrowed heavily. It will be repaying $5 billion a year after 2024. And this white guys says BD is becoming a highly developed country like Japan.

ECONOMY

TBS Report
05 September, 2023, 06:05 pm
Last modified: 05 September, 2023, 06:19 pm

Bangladesh is on the right track to become a high middle-income country by 2041, the World Bank's acting country director for Bangladesh and Bhutan Souleymane Coulibaly said on Tuesday (5 September).

"Bangladesh is one of the fastest growing economies in the world. I strongly believe that the country is on the right track to become an upper-middle income country by 2041, as Bangladesh has maintained its economic growth over the years despite the Covid-19 pandemic", he said while speaking as the Guest of Honour at a discussion meeting titled 'Development of Microenterprises in Bangladesh: Role of RAISE Project' organized by PKSF.

Eminent economist and Chairman of Palli Karma-Sahayak Foundation (PKSF) Dr Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad presided over the discussion meeting. PKSF Managing Director Dr Nomita Halder gave the welcome address.

Dr Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad said that Bangladesh needs to invest in microenterprises if the country wants to benefit from the demographic dividend.

He said development of microenterprises requires implementation of capacity enhancement activities along with financial services.

PKSF is working tirelessly to improve the socio-economic status of the people who lag behind, said Dr Nomita Halder.

The RAISE project is working to improve the overall quality of life of the people, especially the youths by enhancing their capacities, she added.

In a presentation on 'Development of Microenterprises in Bangladesh: Prospects and Challenges', Md Fazlul Kader, Additional Managing Director of PKSF, highlighted the role of various activities and projects of PKSF in the development of microenterprises. Besides, Dilip Kumar Chakravorty, General Manager (Programs) of PKSF and Project Coordinator, RAISE presented on various aspects of the Recovery and Advancement of Informal Sector Employment (RAISE) project.

Former Dhaka University Professor MA Baqui Khalily discussed the presentations. Some participants of the RAISE project shared their experiences at the event. Besides, officials of PKSF and its Partner Organizations and representatives of the World Bank participated in the event.

To enhance human capacities in microenterprises, the RAISE project was launched in February 2022 jointly funded by PKSF and the World Bank.

The project is being implemented in the urban and peri-urban areas of 333 upazilas of 64 districts of the country through 70 Partner Organisations.

Under this five-year project, Tk1.75 lakh youths and micro-entrepreneurs are receiving inclusive financial services as well as capacity development support.

The RAISE project is playing an important role in achieving the Perspective Plan 2021-2041 of the Government of Bangladesh and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by creating opportunities for youths to engage in dignified and decent work environments.

To become upper middle class income country Bangladesh needs to protect her agriculture as it is one of the largest contributors to our GDP. We need to force India, with the help of China, to sign a permanent water sharing agreement with Bangladesh. We have to wait until a permanent agreement on water sharing is done before claiming to reach upper middle class income country level in 2041.

right now its poorer than Africa.
See, what has your aunty Hasina bibi done to our country? You guys always praise her for ongoing development in Bangladesh. In reality, she made us poorer than Africa:taz:This is exactly why we have to kick Hasina out of politics and put someone at the helm of power who has more pro people development policy for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh, came into existence in 1971, whereas Pakistan came into existence in 1947. Yet Bangladesh has managed to achieve better economic class in 52 years what Pakistan has not manage to achieve in 76 years.

LANAT on the KHABAS Pakistan Military Establishment .... Khabeeson ki khaslat sowwaron ki hai.

I pray that Allah Subhanahu Wata'aalah purge this malignant cancer which is the establishment, to their core.

Haramkhor, murdood.

You know if you could pass the message onto Bangladeshi migrants in Pakistan to go back to their country, you could get a great job with the ministry of immigration in Pak.

Why are we a dumping ground for Afghan, Bangla, Burma and other migrants? We are an overpopulated country and all these extra migrants are constraining our country.

Why should we be responsible for them since their economy is so great?

See, what has your aunty Hasina bibi done to our country? You guys always praise her for ongoing development in Bangladesh. In reality, she made us poorer than Africa:taz:This is exactly why we have to kick Hasina out of politics and put someone at the helm of power who has more pro people development policy for Bangladesh.
Lmao BD has always been poor, its not like it was Monaco when Hasina was not in power. BD was also a cesspit during British rule ....always some or the other famine or cyclone. The last time BD was rich was under Maurya empire. You Lungis don't need social upheavel or Che-Guevara style revolution, you need to stfu and stitch more chaddi and then slowly industrialize.

To heal all the wounds between our relationships with India, we should sign a defense agreement with China, which I am sure will make India happy. :china:

You think too much of your shit hole. Go ahead and sign but there will be consequences, hopefully you are still in Bangladesh.
What consequences are you talking about? Care to elaborate?