Being a woman in Pakistan

Emo You're overdoing it now..Come on.

what?? They see I am bashing Islam in this post....

i want to ask a question

in india(not mentioning other) ,i have heard many times those ulema or mullah etc
giving speeches like that"woman cant work with man,they cant do job in bank etc etc".y it's so.if it is ,is the same thing happening in other muslim nation or it is in india.coz this type of things make different kind of image of islam.y don't they understand if woman can give birth to man,then y cant they work together.

They suffer from a superiority complex & can't see women standing upto them & earning more than males & to justify their stupidity they use religion

but lemme tell you what apologists will say,"they do not represent Islam'" :lol:

& they think i intended to Bash Islam by highlighting the harassment women face every day by posting this thread...

http://www.defence.pk/forums/current-events-social-issues/60475-all-girls-aren-t-call-girls.html

The insecure people who bash Islam are yet to utter a single word about the misery of women in this country

Adolescent girls’ plight

Today is International Women’s Day. This day is a global celebration of the political, social and economic achievements of women. This year we are also marking 15 years since the fourth UN World Conference on Women in Beijing, China, in September 1995 when 189 states, including Pakistan, came together and agreed to advance the goals of equality, development and peace for all women everywhere and to ensure the full implementation of the human rights of women and girls. In her statement, Pakistan’s prime minister at the time, Benazir Bhutto, highlighted the plight of the girl child in Pakistan. Looking back on the 15 years since Beijing, it seems as if we are regressing as a nation when it comes to the status of Pakistani women and girls.

Adolescent girls in Pakistan are an especially vulnerable section of the population. They are at risk of being subjected to violence in the home, school or community and, not only are they unaware of their rights, they have no support structure to protest abuses. With very little knowledge of their rights and a culture that discourages them from raising their voices against abuse for fear of social retribution or disbelief and marginalisation by the authorities, many young girls suffer in silence till it is too late.

Cases that have come to our attention in the past few months alone include those of two young girls who have been raped by their fathers, two young girls in domestic service who have been allegedly killed by their employers, and a young girl who was in a way handed over by her co-workers to be gang-raped.

Both incest survivors (aged 15 and 18 years) are asking for justice and punishment for the perpetrators. However, incest victims in Pakistan almost never receive legal recourse due to cultural stigma and commonly held stereotypes of girls and family relations that often tend to exonerate the perpetrator and blame the victim. There is no specific provision on incest in the Pakistan Penal Code (PPC) and police, prosecutors and judges often have dismissive and condemning attitudes towards the victims. Perpetrators who stand in relation to the victim also exert influence to prevent the victim from reporting or even dropping charges once filed. A common strategy is to blame the victim’s mother and impugn her character. An examination of incest cases reported over the past 10 years showed that such cases are almost never decided in favour of the victim.

The girls in domestic service include Shazia, aged 12, who died in Lahore after being, apparently, physically tortured and abused by her employer, and Yasmin, aged 15, who was, allegedly, torched to death by her employer in Okara. Despite the examples of these two horrific cases, very little has been done in Pakistan to legally, structurally and institutionally safeguard such young girls from abuse at the hands of their employers. Pakistan’s labour laws prohibit children from working in certain jobs based on their harmful effects on children. Domestic labour, where young girls can live in slavery-like conditions with little or no recourse to education, healthcare and reporting of abuses, should also be classified as such.

Also, last month a young Daewoo hostess from Sialkot was not protected by a Daewoo driver and an armed guard — charged with her protection — against armed men who gang-raped her. The police car dispatched to rescue the girl ‘met with an accident’ and never reached the scene. While the rapists were finally arrested, to our knowledge, Daewoo has not accepted responsibility for its failure to protect an employee against sexual assault on the job.

What is needed, in these and similar cases, is a commitment by the government to systematically examine the lacunae in the legal and administrative system to address such violations and the obstacles faced by girls in accessing the system. A concerted effort must also be made to empower girls through rights education.

While Pakistani women have fought tirelessly for their rights, recent events in parliament are cause for concern. Female MPA Samina Khawar Hayat called upon the Punjab government to amend the existing family laws so that a man no longer has to ask his wife’s permission in order to commit polygamy. Restrictions on polygamy that were fought for by women’s groups in the Muslim Family Laws Ordinance of 1961, are being dismissed in the name of “women’s security and honour”, which this MPA sees as safeguarded through polygamous unions. Ironically, it is these very unions that have been shown around the world to result in deep violations of the rights of women and their children. The security and honour of Pakistani women and girls, as well as the development of the country, would be well served by education, employment and real political participation opportunities for girls and women.

The one positive development over the last 15 years is the establishment of a vibrant and active civil society that does not shy away from taking on difficult issues such as incest and rape, which have immense stigma attached to them. Chief among these is War against Rape, which works with victims of incest, rape and sexual abuse, the Nasreen Foundation Trust, which provides free legal aid to victims of such abuses and Society for the Protection of the Rights of the Child (SPARC), which works for the protection and promotion of child rights in Pakistan. The way forward is clearly encouragement and better resourcing of these and other similar groups so that they can serve their watchdog function and form meaningful partnerships with government institutions so that reforms are informed and enriched by their experience.

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

and where does it mention that Islam is the cause of all these problems?

This is what i read from the above article:

Adolescent girls in Pakistan are an especially vulnerable section of the population. They are at risk of being subjected to violence in the home, school or community and, not only are they unaware of their rights, they have no support structure to protest abuses. With very little knowledge of their rights and a culture that discourages them from raising their voices against abuse for fear of social retribution or disbelief and marginalisation by the authorities, many young girls suffer in silence till it is too late.

Both incest survivors (aged 15 and 18 years) are asking for justice and punishment for the perpetrators. However, incest victims in Pakistan almost never receive legal recourse due to cultural stigma and commonly held stereotypes of girls and family relations that often tend to exonerate the perpetrator and blame the victim. There is no specific provision on incest in the Pakistan Penal Code (PPC) and police, prosecutors and judges often have dismissive and condemning attitudes towards the victims. Perpetrators who stand in relation to the victim also exert influence to prevent the victim from reporting or even dropping charges once filed. A common strategy is to blame the victim’s mother and impugn her character. An examination of incest cases reported over the past 10 years showed that such cases are almost never decided in favour of the victim.

so i'm guessing the Evil Mullah made a fatwa allowing this as well :rofl:

And maybe these people are hardcore Muslims who are using Islam to justify this!

YouTube - Police Strip Search Innocent Woman - OHIO - October 2006

I give a damn about what Ohio Police does, if bad thins in west happens this doesn't means its all right if it happens here, come out of this & that

So your saying that these people do represent Islam? And then you ask us why we accuse you of bashing Islam right?
Never said that, if you people love to assume then no problem...

Mod Edit: Sentence Removed.

^^^^^^^

I didn't brought in religion but denying that religion has no role to play in the subjugation of women is wrong, You people are seeing Islam Bashing in every post then carry on & welcome to my ignore list, Now you can carry on your rant I wont be disturbed

come one babies stop crying now
go and get the milk :flame:

@ topic

wonderful and enlightening topic. Please keep religion away, its a polite request

its very hot here fight of 10 thusends years between women and men in final stage now loooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllll

Keep religion away kids :angry:
why can't you stick with topic?

the women in Pakistan is rising. She is in far better condition than what used to be in year 2000. Wait for me to become a President of Pakistan. I will make sure all women get equal rights and stand side by side with a man :pakistan:

Zaki for president! :mps::thinktank:

agar main election pe khara how to phir Vote bhi dena hai.......... sirf naray hi nahi lagane :lol: - mujhe support nahi vote chahiye

@topic
Good article emo!
There is no point denying that woman faces inequality, brutality all around the world but in case of our country she faces another thing and that is injustice.

agar main election pe khara how to phir Vote bhi dena hai.......... sirf naray hi nahi lagane :lol: - mujhe support nahi vote chahiye

Theek hai magar narey bhi zaroori hotay hein.
PS. Aur degree aslee honey chaihye warna sirf naray.:lol::lol:

Theek hai magar narey bhi zaroori hotay hein.
PS. Aur degree aslee honey chaihye warna sirf naray.:lol::lol:

don't worry, hamara local professor apne ghar main asli degree hi banata hai ;) - kisi ko pata nai chalay ga :P

PS: - Don't worry i have got "asli degree"

obviously men are superior to women BUT women are superrior to men . it is blanced.... and please i dont follow english translation anymore becuse when you translate the meaning changes... it shows you have three translation.... from hadiths a man came to muhammed pbuh and said oh prophet me and my wife argu alot i dont want to hit her what do i do? the prophet said leave untill you boath calm down and then talk ....to verify this i will post a link later

Its both good and bad to be a women in Pakistan. Bad in a sense that they often get abused in our society for almost the slightest of mistake and that is why they have to be careful all the time thus they have limited freedom.

Good in a sense that still i think the respect women get in our society is no where to be found and majority of them do get it. I mean in the past and even still, we have a trend of combined family but as majority of men become henpecked after getting married slowly that trend is coming to an end and thats sad :(. And yes, if the women is young and hot than it makes her feel so good to break so many hearts and still get away with it, isnt that wonderful .. !
So there are pros and cons of being women in Pakistan. I dont see majority of them getting a bad treatment or am i just blind.
I do feel for those who are unable to take serious decisions(Like marrying the man of there choice) on there own or without the will of there parents. Lives of such are dominated and thats a disgust..!

But one wonders how much freedom women can have coz ultimately they have an immense and sacred role of bringing up a future generation and shaping the society on the whole..!

Sure God created man before woman. But then you always make a rough draft before the final masterpiece.