White House Set to Sell New Fighter Jets to Pakistan in Bid to Bolster Partnership

Should Pakistan go for this offer?

• No thanks Uncle Sam.

Votes: 89 57.8%
  • Yes, offcourse F16 an awesome machine.

Votes: 47 30.5%
  • We need a twin Engine Jet. CA/F18 would be best

Votes: 18 11.7%

• Total voters
I thk its pretty depressing that every time we try to go east, US gives us the same old lollipop(F-16) and we are happy
Its time we demand something better

This order will not impact any other procurement plan by PAF both is terms of capability and allocation of financial resources. These are Blk 52s. There will be another repeat order of similar size for Blk 52s after the US elections and maybe some more MLUed ones. With this order the number of F16s will go upto 86. The plan is to have a total of 100/110 F16s. Smaller incremental order make sense as it spreads out limited resources and are easy to get through US congress. Without much hala gula PAF has built a very sizable and potent F16 fleet. Compare that to the Indian Rafael deal. The point I am trying to make is that we give less credit to our military planners than they deserve especially in view of the financial and political challenges they face. F16s will be the last fighter jet Pakistan will buy from the US. The future is all indigenous, Chinese or Russian but with sub components from all over the world including Europeans.

Learn some manners!

You seems to be hearing a little more than what they have said that's the problem.
And you don't? You are talking your imagination and wishful thinking, add also 300 J-11D and 200 J-10C to your lists:blah::hitwall:

SU-35 supporters taking Lead in above polling F-16 Fanboys are losing. Russia SU-35 is a better option without any strings.

This order will not impact any other procurement plan by PAF both is terms of capability and allocation of financial resources. These are Blk 52s. There will be another repeat order of similar size for Blk 52s after the US elections and maybe some more MLUed ones. With this order the number of F16s will go upto 86. The plan is to have a total of 100/110 F16s. Smaller incremental order make sense as it spreads out limited resources and are easy to get through US congress. Without much hala gula PAF has built a very sizable and potent F16 fleet. Compare that to the Indian Rafael deal. The point I am trying to make is that we give less credit to our military planners than they deserve especially in view of the financial and political challenges they face. F16s will be the last fighter jet Pakistan will buy from the US. The future is all indigenous, Chinese or Russian but with sub components from all over the world including Europeans.

Are you sure Europeans are any better than the US? Wasn't the JF-17 project delayed because Pakistan wanted Western avionics and engine, but could not get them from either US or Europe?

I think these would be 8 new F-16 BLOCK 52
Pakistan has an option(already approved from congress) to buy 18 more fighters.I hope they go for most advance version till yesterday, like F-16 bloc v, with Grumman AESA radar.

8 F-16 is most likely replacement for lost F-16 over the years. Just to make up the numbers. There is nothing sensational about it. US is using it so as to improve the atmosphere during Nawaz-Obama meet. Consider the news as a room freshener if you will. It is neither a lollipop nor an attempt to block other defense acquisitions of Pakistan. It is just an appeasement. Enjoy the moment while it lasts.

For those who are bashing F-16 without knowledge, please read about what newer F-16s can do. It is a formidable beast and can rip through hostile environment at present and in future.
Are you telling Pakistanis to know more about F-16s ?omg ?lolzz
Guess what , we knew more then even the manufacturer himself ?
But with that knowledge ,that dam pice of shyt can't protect us in kargill like war ?
So what's the dam point having it ?
with all of american weapons in our inventory , its always their dam congress cutting our supplies at the monument we needed the most, we have enough of that shyt ,& its time to move on ?
if they can give ,we will take ,if they don't we don't needed it ,simple ?
& any way we will get the real beast $u-35 , soon .

I'm very sceptical. Pakistan should not be buying anymore F-16s with its own money. These aircraft have stringent usage conditions. More importantly, we need this money to buy aircraft which aren't sanction prone such as Su-35 or Chinese fighters. The F-16s are good fighters, but we need to look beyond.

I think this is a US proposition and we need to ditch it. They are sweating at the moment when they see how rapidly the relationship between Pakistan and Russia/China is developing. The Americans obviously don't have anything else to offer apart from F-16s or soya beans.

Exactly. americans want to get assurance from Pakistan that we will not deploy our tactical nukes and for this to happen, USA is offering too little i.e. only 8 F - 16s with same old stringent conditions which in time of need is a strong probability will be of no use. Pakistan should never bargain on tactical nukes. F-16s should be accepted only if they are offered without pre-conditions.

One can feel the growing concern among our adversaries regarding tactical nukes which will be a very effective ploy against larger numbers. Tactical nukes will serve to deter our enemies and may buy us time to gather some kind of parity in conventional weapons which should definitely not be ignored.

Lol Pakistan ko russia Su-35 ki image tak sale nahi karna wala .. .. US se f-16 lene ka budget nahi pakistan ka ... Better hai Junk fight 17 hi or lelo .... its 5th generation fighter plane far better than su-35, f-16,18,22 or Indian Rafael

F-16 toh pehlay bhi liay thay, abb bhi lain gy . Jahan tak Su-35 ki baat hai toh what makes you wonder why the russians wont sell them , they already signed a multibillion dollar pipeline deal with us. You talk about Jf-17 being junk. Your IAF (Imported Air Force ) has cut the wings of your own LCA. Indian Rafael ?hahahahahahah :omghaha: spelling toh yaad karlo munay

As per reports back in 2000 US approves 18 C/D block 52+ Jets to Pakistan with option of 18 more but due to earth quick Pakistan opted not to get more f-16. But now financial conditions are quite stable so Pakistan avail that old offer and going to buy 8 F-16 C block 52+ with an option of 10 more.
The offer has expired thanks to Zardari and his useless lot of lazy sos and sos.
A

I don't even know why people are criticizing this deal. PAF played safe with ordering just 8 block52's. There would surely be additional order to take the figure to original plan of 36 blck 52's.

What is there to hate here?

8 F-16 is most likely replacement for lost F-16 over the years. Just to make up the numbers. There is nothing sensational about it. US is using it so as to improve the atmosphere during Nawaz-Obama meet. Consider the news as a room freshener if you will. It is neither a lollipop nor an attempt to block other defense acquisitions of Pakistan. It is just an appeasement. Enjoy the moment while it lasts.

For those who are bashing F-16 without knowledge, please read about what newer F-16s can do. It is a formidable beast and can rip through hostile environment at present and in future.
Are you telling Pakistanis to know more about F-16s ?omg ?lolzz
Guess what , we knew more then even the manufacturer himself ?
But with that knowledge ,that dam pice of shyt can't protect us in kargill like war ?
So what's the dam point having it ?
with all of american weapons in our inventory , its always their dam congress cutting our supplies at the monument we needed the most, we have enough of that shyt ,& its time to move on ?
if they can give ,we will take ,if they don't we don't needed it ,simple ?
& any way we will get the real beast $u-35 , soon .