India to buy 60-63 Rafales jets off the shelf from France; MMRCA deal off:

Understand !! I agree . But my point was When we have mig 29K in service Our Navy sent RFI for rafale . So what it means ? We are not looking to operate migs on Vishal. We are going for big one.

RFI is Request for Information.

IN just wanted Information on Rafale IF it was being made in India. If its NOT being made in India, IN will drop it like a hot potato.

IN is currently very keen on Naval LCA and AMCA in the future. No scope for Rafale.

Holland: the sale of additional Rafale to India "will be discussed"
The Point - Published 14.04.2015 on 14:41 - Changed the 14.04.2015 at 14:46

Negotiations are continuing on the original agreement which covers the purchase of 126 Rafale, the majority of which had to be manufactured in India.

The sale of additional Rafale to India, after an initial contract for 36 aircraft already passed, "will be discussed," but "our partner trust us", said Tuesday the president François Hollande, after recently sowed doubt by New Delhi about it. "The Rafale were sold within a framework that will be negotiated," said Francois Hollande, during a trip to Figeac (Lot). "It was necessary to do very quickly with the 36," said he explained with reference to the announcement made Friday by the Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the acquisition of 36 Dassault Rafale. These 36 aircraft will be manufactured in France. Along with the sale of the 36 Rafale, negotiations are continuing on the original agreement which covers the purchase of 126 Rafale, the majority had to be manufactured in India. "For the rest, it will be discussed with our partner," but "he trusted us," continued Francois Hollande, following statements of India casting doubt on the future of this giant contract.

A contract close to 20 billion euros
The Indian defense minister Manohar Parrikar indicated Monday night that the negotiations would not only after a call for tenders, as for the first 36 aircraft, but "government to government". "The goal could be achieved in a government to government agreement," he said, estimating that the negotiations launched in 2012 were taken in a "whirlwind" no solution in sight. The initial contract for 126 Rafale stated that 108 of them are manufactured in India, but the discussions were skating on the overall cost of the devices as part of an innovative technological transfers. Initially estimated at 12 billion euros, the contract would be closer to 20 billion euros, the cost of production of 108 Rafale products in India proving higher than aircraft assembled in France. In contrast, 36 Rafale, the sale was announced Friday, will come out of the Dassault plants in France.

The sale "is excellent for French industry, but at the same time, we must respect our Indian partner" and "see what part will be manufactured in France and how much will be manufactured in India," added the president Hollande, during a visit of advanced aeronautical industrial sites in Figeac.

Hollande : la vente de Rafale supplémentaires à l'Inde "va être débattue" - Le Point

MMRCA deal may be renegotiated through G2G route: Ex-IAF chief

Welcoming the government's decision to buy 36 Rafale planes, former Indian Air Force (IAF) chief P V Naik today said India should not throw the deal for 126 medium multi-role combat aircraft (MMRCA) into the trash and renegotiate it through Government-to- Government (G2G) route.

"I don't think the (MMRCA) deal is dead. The deal will probably be renegotiated, on a Government-to-Government basis if the price is right," the retired Air Chief Marshal told PTI in an interview.

It was during Naik's tenure as IAF chief that India shortlisted Rafale jet and Eurofighter Typhoon in July 2010 after French firm Dassault Aviation emerged as the lowest bidder. The price negotiations by Ministry of Defence then showed Rafale emerge as the lowest bidder (L1).

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, during his visit to France, announced India would buy 36 Rafale planes from Dassault in fly-away condition through G2G route.

"First of all, purchase of the 36 aircraft outright is a good thing. This is a positive step. The deal will be renegotiated on a G2G basis, like we have been doing with the US so far. We haven't done a G2G deal with any other country," Naik said.

"Don't throw it (MMRCA deal) into the trash," he said, adding this means, whatever price that (French) air force gets at, you (India) will also get it at the same price.

"They say the 36 aircraft will come (to India) in two years. If that happens, it is a good thing. After signing the contract, it takes minimum three years. Probably, we might gain a year or so," the former IAF chief said.

He said people should not get worried about the deal. "You will get the number of aircraft needed."

Asked what more does the Indian Government need to do to expedite the MMRCA deal, Naik said, "They will have to sit here at the ministry level, approve of the G2G deal.

"I am not aware what transpired during the (Indo-French) discussions. If they have agreed to G2G, then there will be several other items on the basket," the former Air Chief Marshal said.

To a query on his views on the status of overall defence procurement for IAF, he said, "it (procurement) is lagging.

"This (MMRCA) is the biggest deal. It has been in the works for several years. Other things are on track, like additional AWACs, indigenisation and refuelling aircraft."

Drawing the analogy that one car cannot travel on two roads at the same time, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar indicated yesterday the USD 20 billion MMRCA tender may be scrapped.

MMRCA deal may be renegotiated through G2G route: Ex-IAF chief | Business Standard News
Exactly bhai. ... MNRCA is dead but G2G is very possible. Now French have shown interest by openly conveying thru media. This must give lots buzz among their people too. So Rafale might be made in India but now with Private Player of their choice .

RFI is Request for Information.

IN just wanted Information on Rafale IF it was being made in India. If its NOT being made in India, IN will drop it like a hot potato.

IN is currently very keen on Naval LCA and AMCA in the future. No scope for Rafale.
Are Mig29 made in India ? Bhai come on !!!

Exactly bhai. ... MNRCA is dead but G2G is very possible. Now French have shown interest by openly conveying thru media. This must give lots buzz among their people too. So Rafale might be made in India but now with Private Player of their choice .

How much do the private player need to invest to manufacture an aircraft in India ? :disagree:

How are they going to recover the cost ? Buy increasing the price of the Rafale. That is how.

Are Mig29 made in India ? Bhai come on !!!

Mig 29K was purchased BEFORE LCA was flying. Besides we were required to buy as that deal was part of the larger dal to buy Vikramaditya.

Wishful thinking is not reality.

How much do the private player need to invest to manufacture an aircraft in India ? :disagree:

How are they going to recover the cost ? Buy increasing the price of the Rafale. That is how.

Mig 29K was purchased BEFORE LCA was flying. Besides we were required to buy as that deal was part of the larger dal to buy Vikramaditya.

Wishful thinking is not reality.

Well reliance was ready for it . So leave it to them and the French .

As per your logic our IAF will operate rafale too like mig 29 .

Now price will be negotiated thru G2G with less ToT at the moment. If not full tot .

And RFI is not a timepass. It's shows our intent to buy naval version .

Holland: the sale of additional Rafale to India "will be discussed"
The Point - Published 14.04.2015 on 14:41 - Changed the 14.04.2015 at 14:46

Negotiations are continuing on the original agreement which covers the purchase of 126 Rafale, the majority of which had to be manufactured in India.

The sale of additional Rafale to India, after an initial contract for 36 aircraft already passed, "will be discussed," but "our partner trust us", said Tuesday the president François Hollande, after recently sowed doubt by New Delhi about it. "The Rafale were sold within a framework that will be negotiated," said Francois Hollande, during a trip to Figeac (Lot). "It was necessary to do very quickly with the 36," said he explained with reference to the announcement made Friday by the Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the acquisition of 36 Dassault Rafale. These 36 aircraft will be manufactured in France. Along with the sale of the 36 Rafale, negotiations are continuing on the original agreement which covers the purchase of 126 Rafale, the majority had to be manufactured in India. "For the rest, it will be discussed with our partner," but "he trusted us," continued Francois Hollande, following statements of India casting doubt on the future of this giant contract.

A contract close to 20 billion euros
The Indian defense minister Manohar Parrikar indicated Monday night that the negotiations would not only after a call for tenders, as for the first 36 aircraft, but "government to government". "The goal could be achieved in a government to government agreement," he said, estimating that the negotiations launched in 2012 were taken in a "whirlwind" no solution in sight. The initial contract for 126 Rafale stated that 108 of them are manufactured in India, but the discussions were skating on the overall cost of the devices as part of an innovative technological transfers. Initially estimated at 12 billion euros, the contract would be closer to 20 billion euros, the cost of production of 108 Rafale products in India proving higher than aircraft assembled in France. In contrast, 36 Rafale, the sale was announced Friday, will come out of the Dassault plants in France.

The sale "is excellent for French industry, but at the same time, we must respect our Indian partner" and "see what part will be manufactured in France and how much will be manufactured in India," added the president Hollande, during a visit of advanced aeronautical industrial sites in Figeac.

Hollande : la vente de Rafale supplémentaires à l'Inde "va être débattue" - Le Point

MMRCA deal may be renegotiated through G2G route: Ex-IAF chief

Welcoming the government's decision to buy 36 Rafale planes, former Indian Air Force (IAF) chief P V Naik today said India should not throw the deal for 126 medium multi-role combat aircraft (MMRCA) into the trash and renegotiate it through Government-to- Government (G2G) route.

"I don't think the (MMRCA) deal is dead. The deal will probably be renegotiated, on a Government-to-Government basis if the price is right," the retired Air Chief Marshal told PTI in an interview.

It was during Naik's tenure as IAF chief that India shortlisted Rafale jet and Eurofighter Typhoon in July 2010 after French firm Dassault Aviation emerged as the lowest bidder. The price negotiations by Ministry of Defence then showed Rafale emerge as the lowest bidder (L1).

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, during his visit to France, announced India would buy 36 Rafale planes from Dassault in fly-away condition through G2G route.

"First of all, purchase of the 36 aircraft outright is a good thing. This is a positive step. The deal will be renegotiated on a G2G basis, like we have been doing with the US so far. We haven't done a G2G deal with any other country," Naik said.

"Don't throw it (MMRCA deal) into the trash," he said, adding this means, whatever price that (French) air force gets at, you (India) will also get it at the same price.

"They say the 36 aircraft will come (to India) in two years. If that happens, it is a good thing. After signing the contract, it takes minimum three years. Probably, we might gain a year or so," the former IAF chief said.

He said people should not get worried about the deal. "You will get the number of aircraft needed."

Asked what more does the Indian Government need to do to expedite the MMRCA deal, Naik said, "They will have to sit here at the ministry level, approve of the G2G deal.

"I am not aware what transpired during the (Indo-French) discussions. If they have agreed to G2G, then there will be several other items on the basket," the former Air Chief Marshal said.

To a query on his views on the status of overall defence procurement for IAF, he said, "it (procurement) is lagging.

"This (MMRCA) is the biggest deal. It has been in the works for several years. Other things are on track, like additional AWACs, indigenisation and refuelling aircraft."

Drawing the analogy that one car cannot travel on two roads at the same time, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar indicated yesterday the USD 20 billion MMRCA tender may be scrapped.

MMRCA deal may be renegotiated through G2G route: Ex-IAF chief | Business Standard News
@PARIKRAMA what's your thoughts Bro ? Twist in the tale ?

@The_Sidewinder :D wtf ? Roller coaster ride once again

Well reliance was ready for it . So leave it to them and the French .

As per your logic our IAF will operate rafale too like mig 29 .

Now price will be negotiated thru G2G with less ToT at the moment. If not full tot .

And RFI is not a timepass. It's shows our intent to buy naval version .

How is G2G negotiations any different from normal negotiations ? ToT as per MMRCA is 50%. As per normal rules is only 30%.

So how can G2G negotiations lead to MORE ToT ?

At least TRY to be rational.

Buying "126 (fighters) would cost India about Rs. 1 lakh crore. Can we spend so much money on a high-end fighter," Mr Parrikar asked, adding, "you don't agree to a 1 lakh crore deal" without working out how and from where the money will come."

He said the Modi government would now review acquisitions worth Rs. 5,40,000 crore cleared by the previous government.

The BJP government, the minister said, will first acquire only equipment and weapon systems that are critical for the three forces. "We are in the process of weeding out the rest."

"Today we have only 40 LCAs, why can't we have 100 of these?" he said.

How many each of the Rafale and Tejas fighters will be deployed will depend on negotiations with the French government on any further purchase from Dassault, he said

The government, Mr Parrikar said, wants a fighter jet manufacturer to set up a facility in India which "may not necessarily be Dassault."

Good news for tejas:D

How is G2G negotiations any different from normal negotiations ? ToT as per MMRCA is 50%. As per normal rules is only 30%.

So how can G2G negotiations lead to MORE ToT ?

At least TRY to be rational.

NOW it's 3rd source claiming the same. Negotiations are still on . But thru G2G . Look what french has said. They seems very thankful for the deal of 36 rafale. Now they might look to assemble them in India like we started with MKI . Later we can keep increasing our locally made components . Am just quoting what French and DM has said Bro And on IN interest it's not my speculation or something but the official statement made by Dassault chief executive officer during a press conference. And navy won't just ask for RFI because they are bored . But some serious intent is there for very long time. Given the capability rafale can bring to IN its not a surprise . I strongly belive it's gonna be very positive . Mr.AK Antony had nearly a decade but did nothing so I really willing to give few more months for DM and our proactive PM . I don't see why french won't agree to make in India programme when they are already busy with current orders from French AF , Egypt and IAF . More orders expected from others too. So its a master stroke to buy 36 off the shelf . They must show the same gratitude towards us now. Now let's see what they actually do . And when they openly talk about ongoing talks for additional 124 from the top most source openly why not to belive with that ?

Buying "126 (fighters) would cost India about Rs. 1 lakh crore. Can we spend so much money on a high-end fighter," Mr Parrikar asked, adding, "you don't agree to a 1 lakh crore deal" without working out how and from where the money will come."

He said the Modi government would now review acquisitions worth Rs. 5,40,000 crore cleared by the previous government.

The BJP government, the minister said, will first acquire only equipment and weapon systems that are critical for the three forces. "We are in the process of weeding out the rest."

"Today we have only 40 LCAs, why can't we have 100 of these?" he said.

How many each of the Rafale and Tejas fighters will be deployed will depend on negotiations with the French government on any further purchase from Dassault, he said

The government, Mr Parrikar said, wants a fighter jet manufacturer to set up a facility in India which "may not necessarily be Dassault."

Good news for tejas:D

Wowieeee :victory:Wowieeee:victory: Wowieeee:victory:

Finally .... Our request been answered. He also mentioned about Tejas completing all the certification , clearing all the issues in 1or 2 months :devil:

Good move ... First fill the critical requirements. Then go for future requirement :cheers: ... This 36 is for stop gap. Am now feeling we might go for more rafale in coming years. :cheers:

NOW it's 3rd source claiming the same. Negotiations are still on . But thru G2G . Look what french has said. They seems very thankful for the deal of 36 rafale. Now they might look to assemble them in India like we started with MKI . Later we can keep increasing our locally made components . Am just quoting what French and DM has said Bro And on IN interest it's not my speculation or something but the official statement made by Dassault chief executive officer during a press conference. And navy won't just ask for RFI because they are bored . But some serious intent is there for very long time. Given the capability rafale can bring to IN its not a surprise . I strongly belive it's gonna be very positive . Mr.AK Antony had nearly a decade but did nothing so I really willing to give few more months for DM and our proactive PM . I don't see why french won't agree to make in India programme when they are already busy with current orders from French AF , Egypt and IAF . More orders expected from others too. So its a master stroke to buy 36 off the shelf . They must show the same gratitude towards us now. Now let's see what they actually do . And when they openly talk about ongoing talks for additional 124 from the top most source openly why not to belive with that ?

1. French govt. will say what ever is pleasing for the French public. That is how politicians work. You need to focus on what INDIAN govt. is saying.

2. Dassault has been looking at make in India for the last 3-6 years, nothing has changed.

3. Reason for IN asked for RFI is already explained. What part of that did you not understand ?

4. LOL at your assumption that they will show "gratitude" :cheesy: ..... they will show NO such thing. They are not fools.

5. Dassault in its entire history has not agreed to make its aircraft any where else. No reason to start now.

6. Finally they know Rafale is pretty much the ONLY option for IAF and GoI. Too many vendors for Eurofighter, US is out, SAAB is similar to LCA and Russia is not wanted.

5. Dassault in its entire history has not agreed to make its aircraft any where else. No reason to start now.

Umm...what?

Australia and Switzerland have both manufactured Mirage-IIIs, and Dassault agreed for South Africa's production of both Mirage-III and Mirage-F1 under license (but later had to cancel it due to an arms embargo). They also proposed building mirage-2K in India, which the GoI stupidly rejected.

Umm...what?

Australia and Switzerland have both manufactured Mirage-IIIs, and Dassault agreed for South Africa's production of both Mirage-III and Mirage-F1 under license (but later had to cancel it due to an arms embargo). They also proposed building mirage-2K in India, which the GoI stupidly rejected.

Ah yes, back in 1963 they had done a ToT. Good catch.

Anything after that ?

what's your thoughts Bro ? Twist in the tale ?

See its clear that PM Modi one on one had clearly stated that India is very interested in Rafale and would like to make the entire MMRCA tender of 189 birds purchase work. But certain complexities like
1. the actual cost of TOT transfer (setting up the unit and supply tie ups)
2. the cost of production by HAL (higher cost quoted 2.7 times French produced rafales in terms of manhours)
3. In ability at present to absorb certain hitech like example GaN modules in Aesa radar (Semiconductor industry maturity still not upto that level)

Thus it was very clear that previous government when they realised all this sat on the process for 2+ years as they realised that the potential is immense under 50% offset but perhaps the present defence aero complex may still need more maturity to undertake such a epic technological upliftment required for Rafale.

Translated all this would add cost to Rafale production in India by HAL under MMRCA.
So the alternative is to do away MMRCA and perhaps produce Rafale under Make in India via tie up with Dassault thru G2G route.

the critical question: How will rafale produced by Reliance tie up or any private/ JV tie up would be cheaprer.
The answer is very very simple.
1. offset clause would be 30% not 50% stipulated under MMRCA
2. TOT of critical tech would not be forced upon (straight forward drop in cost)
3. Most importantly it would be ASSEMBLED (via kits) in the Reliance facility (perhaps in Gujarat)
4. The deal may be seeing complementary positions by Ambani brothers - Mukesh taking the assembly and ANil perhaps the MRO or may bewhatever they can share together cohesively.
5. 30% offset means certain localisation which Dassault needs to stick through in letter and spirit (not just simulators) and here comes the push from France government to adherance and review part
6. Weapons package also partially would include indian partners + the MRO business.

This plan is what i believe PM Modi had clearly talked with President Hollande but without taking Reliance 's Name.

Now President Hollande was impressed with 2 points
1. India's wishes to buy Rafales in good numbers
2. It wants hollande meaning French government help as it feels Dassault keeps personal corporate interests first whereas India- france both governments think much beyond that and takes position due to strategic partnership we share together

Of course its a very good news for Hollande as now unemployment and Dassault orders would certainly mean that it is french government which saved Dassault from losing the biggest deal of its lifetime and Hollande position (political) is strengthened with such a good lucrative deal. By reciprocating to PM modi's discussion positively and nudging according to the plan, Make in India is also satisfied. IAF is also kept happy and all the tangles of MMRCA is avoided.

The above interview of Hollande very much makes me feel that this path is what the both leaders have planned.

On top cherry picking would be incase this is actually realised than rumoured Baracuda N reactor help is provided (K15 reactor) which definitely would be potentially the game changer for the N sub project for bigger subs ( this reactor is 150 MW). Not really sure if we would like that reactor help or not as Russian help is already there in 83Mw Arihant. I expect if Hollande convinces a good price route for this Make in India rafale then may be we will see 6 more scorpenes order too..

This my friend is my gut feeling. PM Modi will definitely make some Juggad and ensure 8 years of MMRCA is not wasted but perhaps custom fitted to support his make in India initiative.

Umm...what?

mirage-2000 were all manufactured in france. i remember the offer of mirage-2000 production line.

Ah yes, back in 1963 they had done a ToT. Good catch.

Anything after that ?
As I said, they also offered to transfer the entire M2K production likne to India in 2001. It was our stupidity not to grab the offer with both hands.

Your statement that Dassault hasn't agreed to manufacture its aircrafts anywhere else "in it entire history" is very very wrong.

BTW, how many fighters have they produced, between the Mirage-III family and the M2K?

Seems like they have agreed to manufacture every aircraft they made since the 1960s, outside.

mirage-2000 were all manufactured in france. i remember the offer of mirage-2000 production line.
I know, I was talking about their 2001 offer.

HERE IS DEFENSE MINISTERS INTERVIEW
Highlights
1] Negotiations on for 36 rafales .MMRCA dead
2] During these procurement of more rafales will be discussed but all through gtg route
3] Final number may not necessarily be 90 more.
4] He explains the problem of cost escaltiond due to HAL production.
5lLCA or a single engine aircraft and not ]Rafale will be a replacement for MIG21.

See its clear that PM Modi one on one had clearly stated that India is very interested in Rafale and would like to make the entire MMRCA tender of 189 birds purchase work. But certain complexities like
1. the actual cost of TOT transfer (setting up the unit and supply tie ups)
2. the cost of production by HAL (higher cost quoted 2.7 times French produced rafales in terms of manhours)
3. In ability at present to absorb certain hitech like example GaN modules in Aesa radar (Semiconductor industry maturity still not upto that level)

Thus it was very clear that previous government when they realised all this sat on the process for 2+ years as they realised that the potential is immense under 50% offset but perhaps the present defence aero complex may still need more maturity to undertake such a epic technological upliftment required for Rafale.

Translated all this would add cost to Rafale production in India by HAL under MMRCA.
So the alternative is to do away MMRCA and perhaps produce Rafale under Make in India via tie up with Dassault thru G2G route.

the critical question: How will rafale produced by Reliance tie up or any private/ JV tie up would be cheaprer.
The answer is very very simple.
1. offset clause would be 30% not 50% stipulated under MMRCA
2. TOT of critical tech would not be forced upon (straight forward drop in cost)
3. Most importantly it would be ASSEMBLED (via kits) in the Reliance facility (perhaps in Gujarat)
4. The deal may be seeing complementary positions by Ambani brothers - Mukesh taking the assembly and ANil perhaps the MRO or may bewhatever they can share together cohesively.
5. 30% offset means certain localisation which Dassault needs to stick through in letter and spirit (not just simulators) and here comes the push from France government to adherance and review part
6. Weapons package also partially would include indian partners + the MRO business.

This plan is what i believe PM Modi had clearly talked with President Hollande but without taking Reliance 's Name.

Now President Hollande was impressed with 2 points
1. India's wishes to buy Rafales in good numbers
2. It wants hollande meaning French government help as it feels Dassault keeps personal corporate interests first whereas India- france both governments think much beyond that and takes position due to strategic partnership we share together

Of course its a very good news for Hollande as now unemployment and Dassault orders would certainly mean that it is french government which saved Dassault from losing the biggest deal of its lifetime and Hollande position (political) is strengthened with such a good lucrative deal. By reciprocating to PM modi's discussion positively and nudging according to the plan, Make in India is also satisfied. IAF is also kept happy and all the tangles of MMRCA is avoided.

The above interview of Hollande very much makes me feel that this path is what the both leaders have planned.

On top cherry picking would be incase this is actually realised than rumoured Baracuda N reactor help is provided (K15 reactor) which definitely would be potentially the game changer for the N sub project for bigger subs ( this reactor is 150 MW). Not really sure if we would like that reactor help or not as Russian help is already there in 83Mw Arihant. I expect if Hollande convinces a good price route for this Make in India rafale then may be we will see 6 more scorpenes order too..

This my friend is my gut feeling. PM Modi will definitely make some Juggad and ensure 8 years of MMRCA is not wasted but perhaps custom fitted to support his make in India initiative.

Bang on man ... I except some positive announcements in few weeks time after PM returns home. All the issue of price now be sorted out with reliance and french already assured the govt about dedicated infrastructure to churn out the issue faced by HAL manpower . So cost will have to come down. Now am waiting for the news on Su35S . Fry mysterious news came out stating Su35S already being testing in India for 2years . That too 2 jets as been flown in. Some serious testing must been taking place .

Now looks like MoD willing to go for 100 tejas and so can reduce the next batch order (if we go for) from 124 to 90 something jets or less . So Migs can be pulled out of service .By that time of 100 tejas or at least previously rumoured 80 in total can be done when Tejas 2 enters production . And so full fleet of Mi21 retirement can be sorted out . This govt as a good motive, very brave to take adverse steps to prop up our fleet strength . MMRCA cancelled mainly due to HAL being roped in unnecessarily . When we know they are already busy and will he for the next 2 decades with AMCA , Sukois upgrades, FGFA etc .

It's positive if you ask me . So agree with your points . Except Submarine nuclear reactor . Which I guess will be drawn out from Akula . We had very detailed discussion on this before few weeks ago .