Lets sort this out for once and ever ...

whats t
As any indian-pakistani-Bangladeshi who knows his food, must be aware of Age Old Rivalry and debate between Pulao and Biryani.

So Guys and girls lets sort it out among ourselves .. which is better Pulao or Biryani.

th
vs
th

Whats the difference ?

Yeah roti mostly rice is cooked once in a week even less sometimes.
lol....here we eat both rice and roti.....
in day..both rice with dal and roti are made and in night we have roti......
how about non-veg.....you eat non-veg....right......

whats t

Whats the difference ?

Difference between Biryani and Pulao

Biryani , in its simplest form is an preparation in which rice and meat/vegetables are cooked together in a sealed container over very slow flame.
Biryani is an aromatic and rich rice-based food made with spices and meat/vegetables that is cooked on very slow flame in a sealed container( known as Dum).

Biryani and pulao are somewhat similar if we look at them from a distance, but there are some differences. There are different techniques of preparation and there are differences in their texture, taste and Aroma.

Pulao is made by cooking the ingredients together, Biryani is used to denote a dish where the rice is first cooked separately them layered and cooked/matured on low flame with other ingredients.

Apart from this there are several differences between Biryani and Pulao:

Biryani

Biryani generally has layers
Rice is cooked ¾ separatelly, then layered and dum cooked
Biryani is very rich compared with pulao
It is cooked by DumPukt
Biryani takes more time to prepare.

Pulao

Pulao does not have layer.
Rice is sauteed with other ingredients and cooked together.
Pulao is comparatively light.
It is sauteed then cooked by absorption method.
Pulao takes less time to prepare.
It is comparatively less aromatic and nutritious.

Difference between Biryani and Pulao

Biryani , in its simplest form is an preparation in which rice and meat/vegetables are cooked together in a sealed container over very slow flame.
Biryani is an aromatic and rich rice-based food made with spices and meat/vegetables that is cooked on very slow flame in a sealed container( known as Dum).

Biryani and pulao are somewhat similar if we look at them from a distance, but there are some differences. There are different techniques of preparation and there are differences in their texture, taste and Aroma.

Pulao is made by cooking the ingredients together, Biryani is used to denote a dish where the rice is first cooked separately them layered and cooked/matured on low flame with other ingredients.

Apart from this there are several differences between Biryani and Pulao:

Biryani

Biryani generally has layers
Rice is cooked ¾ separatelly, then layered and dum cooked
Biryani is very rich compared with pulao
It is cooked by DumPukt
Biryani takes more time to prepare.

Pulao

Pulao does not have layer.
Rice is sauteed with other ingredients and cooked together.
Pulao is comparatively light.
It is sauteed then cooked by absorption method.
Pulao takes less time to prepare.
It is comparatively less aromatic and nutritious.
rehne de bhai naa kar now im a vegetarian kyon "dharam brasht " karane pe tulla hai waise hi dieting pe hoon aaj kal pullao, puri, bhatoore kheer sab band hai :cray:

Oh okay I didn't know that.
Yeah I do eat non veg you won't find any Pakistani who doesn't :D NEVER.
hehehe....
I am more of a cow in eating ....only veg....:D
though I once had chicken and fish, when I was very small....
and recently I ate a chicken pakora...without realizing it...with my friends.....:suicide2:
never ate goat....and you know about cow....:lol::lol:

so..non-veg is cooked daily there of its just like a weekly or monthly thing ...for change of taste...

rehne de bhai naa kar now im a vegetarian kyon "dharam brasht " karane pe tulla hai waise hi dieting pe hoon aaj kal pullao, puri, bhatoore kheer sab band hai :cray:
wow...sirji....
mai bhee veg hi hu....:D:D
don't worry..veg biriyani aati hai..aur pulao to veg hi hota hai..:D:D
what is diffrence between both? :ashamed:
refer post #35....:D

hehehe....
I am more of a cow in eating ....only veg....:D
though I once had chicken and fish, when I was very small....
and recently I ate a chicken pakora...without realizing it...with my friends.....:suicide2:
never ate goat....and you know about cow....:lol::lol:

so..non-veg is cooked daily there of its just like a weekly or monthly thing ...for change of taste...

No it depends on a person's liking. People around me do love non veg so its cooked quite often not daily but alternating days. Thats how it is here usually people do love non veg and then Punjabis and food appears almost synonymous to me :lol:

yeah....I like the way punjabis celebrate.....and their liking for food......
here in india too.....you will find punjabis are born to eat.....:lol::lol:
is chole bature famous in pakistan.......that is one of punjabis food and I love it.....
here also....many people are non-veg and its in rise....:D:D

what is diffrence between both? :ashamed:

Alphee you are really a Pakistani na?? :blink:

yeah....I like the way punjabis celebrate.....and their liking for food......
here in india too.....you will find punjabis are born to eat.....:lol::lol:
is chole bature famous in pakistan.......that is one of punjabis food and I love it.....
here also....many people are non-veg and its in rise....:D:D

Yeah it is and so is halwa poori :D You name a dish and punjabis eat it though I won't be able to keep up with the standard of an average Punjabi in terms of food consumption :ashamed: For that you would have to consult our one and only @Armstrong he is a lethal combination of a Punjabi and a Kashmiri :lol:

Alphee you are really a Pakistani na??
well i was brought up in such a way i was exposed very little to the society and Pakistani cuture , cuisine etc :ashamed:
Parents are just too posessive and protective :blink:
I don't know what loadshedding feels like :D never ate Gol gappas on the street :D used public transport only once or twice in my life

Yeah it is and so is halwa poori :D You name a dish and punjabis eat it though I won't be able to keep up with the standard of an average Punjabi in terms of food consumption :ashamed: For that you would have to consult our one and only @Armstrong he is a lethal combination of a Punjabi and a Kashmiri :lol:
hmmm....
halwa poori is lethal combination and I like it........:D
what about jelabi...and samosa....do pakistani have it..
and what about gol-gappe.....girls over here eat them a lot....:lol: