Indian deputy consul general arrested in US on visa fraud charges

What is a full body cavity search? - India - DNA

What is a full body cavity search?
1937280.jpg

A full body cavity search is a visual search or manual internal inspection of body cavities for prohibited material such as illegal drugs, money, jewellery, or weapons. This search is different from a strip search as it involves poking fingers or inserting the entire hand into suspect's rectums.

There are two types of BCS — visual and manual.

Visual body cavity search involves checking of body cavities like nostrils, ears, mouth, penis, vagina and rectum with the help of a flashlight. The person undergoing this search needs to regulate the body parts for a proper examination.

Manual search involves body cavities being examined using a finger or the entire hand. However, this type of search is restricted to individuals who either refuse to cooperate with the authorities or when there is a proof of the suspect carrying any of the barred substances.

Guidelines to conduct the search:

According to a Hindu report, the US Marshals Service's (USMS) protocol documents, called the Prisoner Operations Service Directives, have a separate section dedicated to body searches.

As per the body search guidelines in the document, the USMS is authorised to carry out four types of searches — pat-down search, in-custody search, strip-search and digital cavity search.

The guidelines also state that while conducting a strip search that Marshals need to ensure that it is done in a private location where only designated personnel are allowed examine the detainee.

The rules further state that that the search be conducted by a member of the same sex unless it is a physician or nurse, and all efforts be made to protect the modesty of the person.

During the search, the designated officer can instruct the prisoner/detainee to take off all the loose things and conduct a thorough visual examination of the prisoner's body from head to toe.

In the next stage of inspection, the officer can check behind each ear and look inside the prisoner's ear canals, nostrils, and mouth, (under the tongue also), roof of the mouth, and between the lips and gums.

They are also authorised to visually inspect the front part of the body, paying close attention to areas such as armpits, breasts, and genital area.

The protocol also authorises the officer to direct the prisoner to “spread her legs and bend forward at the waist [to] observe the anus area and genitals from the rear.”

Lastly, the protocol advises conclusion of the examination with an observation of the bottoms and between the toes of both feet.

so basically the diplomat did not do anything wrong , she never made a false statement about the funds being provided

Besharam Quam hai hamari. Kuch nahi hona. Do din baad sab bhool jayenge.

Apne desh main aurat safe nahin, bahar main jo hai uske liye kya khaak ladenge.

1. The Consular chief can ONLY be arrested for GRAVE crimes. The fact that she got bail immediately and was released clearly shows that it was not a GRAVE crime under US laws.
Enslavement is considered a "grave crime" in the U.S. Our bad history with slavery, you know.

It also violates the sprite of the Vienna convention that governs inter state relationship.
Not at all:

Article 55: Without prejudice to their privileges and immunities, it is the duty of all persons enjoying such privileges and immunities to respect the laws and regulations of the receiving State.​

The Consular Convention goes on to explicitly discuss procedures for criminal procedures against consular officers.

It should be and will be seen as and unfriendly act by an unfriendly nation. The repercussions will be long lasting and irreversible...Indian has henceforth decided to restore parity and treat the US consul members with the same amount of arrogance and disdain.
Article 72 does discuss customarily favored treatment beyond the limits of the Convention. This could be what infuriates Indian officials so much.

This is strongly suggested by the "retaliation" India instituted against U.S. diplomats. There are protocols for violating protocols. Essentially this sort of thing is "tit-for-tat". So India demanded the examination of tax records filed by U.S. consular officials for their domestics in India? That's fine.

But India also removed some of the security surrounding consular buildings. Of course, the arrest of the deputy consul-general did not threaten the persons of Indian diplomats in general. But in addition to physical security, there is also economic security. The implication - as I read it - is that Indian diplomats consider shafting the domestic help a key perk of their job and an abuse that isn't isolated but the general case - that is, almost all India diplomats in the U.S. are guilty of it. They want to keep their time-honored privilege that consider exists under Article 72.

We shall see how much the US stand by its decision to prosecute the Indian Dy. consul General
You want America's first African-American president - himself a descendant of freed slaves - to set aside a charge of enslavement. Is it really wise for India to press this matter, all to uphold the rights of its consular officials to continue to break the law for their own personal gain?

Besharam Quam hai hamari. Kuch nahi hona. Do din baad sab bhool jayenge.

Apne desh main aurat safe nahin, bahar main jo hai uske liye kya khaak ladenge.
na na na when IFS is involved things gets changed ,things will go ugly if its not resolved.

Who is "WE" here?

please explain.

My dear fava beans bhai

your posts are now bordering virtual handjobbing. :lol:

Sorry about that :D

It must have been very humiliating and degrading for her to go through the cavity search. America has tossed India's honor into the gutters. How will India retrieve it?

Indian PM and Sonia Gandhi are too weak. They let China and America bully India without uttering a word or raising a hand. Even India's great friend Russia rips India off by overcharging India on military equipments.

When will India take a stand?

It must have been very humiliating and degrading for her to go through the cavity search. America has tossed India's honor into the gutters. How will India retrieve it?

Indian PM and Sonia Gandhi are too weak. They let China and America bully India without uttering a word or raising a hand. Even India's great friend Russia rips India off by overcharging India on military equipments.

do us a favour. stop posting cr@p. also stop posting the SAME CRAP again and again and again

cant blame her.....she was arrested in the heart of NYC in front of bystanders and her own kids

if i were indian - i'd be fuming mad

she did commit a crime though; geneva conventions apply, but in this case - only for consular affairs. On labor issues, theyre quite strict - and she mis-stated facts on the paperwork regarding pay of her domestic servant

to arrest her and throw her in a jail cell with crack addicts and get stripped naked and searched for contraband -- that's extreme!!

Either the Americans were feeling a bit heavy-handed, or the indians did something irritating behind the scenes that made US want to retaliate somehow

removing the safety barriers was a witty move; but it will surely invite American anger. They may downgrade their relations due to risk of terrorism but who knows maybe they'll somehow resolve the issue and deport the diplomat
Those sailors who were smuggling weapons in Indian Ocean are still in Indian custody and the engineer of that trawler has committed suicide by hanging himself in the boats boiler room. American politics handle it's foreign affairs in a very crude manner, as always. But these chose the wrong person and top of that mistreated her knowingly. American Law Inforcement Agencies are very arrogant bunch, they know they will get away with anything. Unfortunately they picked the wrong time as the Congress feels it's cornered and you know what happens to anyone when they feel cornered. Elections right around the corner and Congress has made up it's mind to go out with BANG.!

It will be tough for India (I mean Indian government) to take a stand.

When uncle Sam calls, both INdia and Pakistan governments tend to say Yes Sir Ji.

Those sailors who were smuggling weapons in Indian Ocean are still in Indian custody and the engineer of that trawler has committed suicide by hanging himself in the boats boiler room. American politics handle it's foreign affairs in a very crude manner, as always. But these chose the wrong person and top of that mistreated her knowingly. American Law Inforcement Agencies are very arrogant bunch, they know they will get away with anything. Unfortunately they picked the wrong time as the Congress feels it's cornered and you know what happens to anyone when they feel cornered. Elections right around the corner and Congress has made up it's mind to go out with BANG.!

Congress taking a stand? Sonia and Singh have spines made of wet clay. India is not China or Russia. America will bully India with no fear.

Enslavement is considered a "grave crime" in the U.S. Our bad history with slavery, you know.

1. So GRAVE that the US court give her Bail the same day :lol:

2. There is NO case for Enslavement. Only claims of disparity in Pay which is contentious considering the Nanny's Free House rent, Free food, Free access to chauffeur driven car, Free clothes, Free Medical Insurance, Free dental insurance, Free death Insurance, Diplomatic passport and its privileges and her salary. Her CTC would easily be 5,000 $ per month or more. There is NOT even a prima facie case against the Indian diplomat.

3. In fact considering your history with illegal immigrants, Why was it that even though the nanny absconded from her work place in July and had her Indian passport revoked she was not arrested by the NYPD ?

4. Why was it that when the Delhi High court passed an injunction against the nanny that she was not declared an illegal fugitive in the eyes of the law ?

5. Why did the govt. of US provide such special treatment to an illegal Indian fugitive from law ?

6. Why did the US further provide a visa for her husband and child by 10th December and facilitate their escape into the US and THEN arrest the Indian diplomat on 12th December ?

7. It was the nanny who claimed a salary of more than 4,500$ when she filled the DS 160 form for A3 visa. Why is she not arrested for Visa fraud when she already had a contract with the diplomat for a far lesser salary ?

8. It can be clearly seen that the nanny was the one perpetuating the fraud, worst that can be claimed is that the Indian diplomat aided and abetted in this fraud (alleged).

Not at all:
Article 55: Without prejudice to their privileges and immunities, it is the duty of all persons enjoying such privileges and immunities to respect the laws and regulations of the receiving State.​

The Consular Convention goes on to explicitly discuss procedures for criminal procedures against consular officers.

Nonsense and Lies. Selective quoting of article 55. It deals with non interference in the internal affairs of the hoste State. Shame on you for lying. There goes your credibility.

Relevant clause is Article 41 which states,

1. Consular officers shall not be liable to arrest or detention pending trial, except in the case of a grave crime and pursuant to a decision by the competent judicial authority. (Grave crime is usually defined as Murder, Rape, Robbery etc. )

2. Except in the case specified in paragraph 1 of this Article, consular officers shall not be committed to prison or liable to any other form of restriction in their personal freedom save in execution of a judicial decision of final effect.

3. If criminal proceedings are instituted against a consular officer, he must appear before the competent authorities. Nevertheless, the proceedings shall be conducted with the respect due to him by reason of his official position and, except in the case specified in paragraph 1 of this Article, in a manner which will hamper the exercise of consular functions as little as possible.

Article 72 does discuss customarily favored treatment beyond the limits of the Convention. This could be what infuriates Indian officials so much.

This is strongly suggested by the "retaliation" India instituted against U.S. diplomats. There are protocols for violating protocols. Essentially this sort of thing is "tit-for-tat". So India demanded the examination of tax records filed by U.S. consular officials for their domestics in India? That's fine.

But India also removed some of the security surrounding consular buildings. Of course, the arrest of the deputy consul-general did not threaten the persons of Indian diplomats in general. But in addition to physical security, there is also economic security. The implication - as I read it - is that Indian diplomats consider shafting the domestic help a key perk of their job and an abuse that isn't isolated but the general case - that is, almost all India diplomats in the U.S. are guilty of it. They want to keep their time-honored privilege that consider exists under Article 72.

You can continue to Read whatever you want into it. That is YOUR privilege. I find your bigoted 'reading' amusing, but along expected lines. Nothing worth responding here.

You want America's first African-American president - himself a descendant of freed slaves - to set aside a charge of enslavement. Is it really wise for India to press this matter, all to uphold the rights of its consular officials to continue to break the law for their own personal gain?

I do not care if your president is born out of a water buffalo or a blue whale. We expect the US govt. to honor the conventions that has guided consular relations for hundreds of years. If you do not, You can be pretty sure we will find our own ways and means to get even. It is as simple as that.

You seem to be living under the mistaken impression that Indians do not consider our consular officials as representatives of 1.2 billion Indians. Let me assure you that we do. If they are bastards, they are OUR bastards. I DO think it is wise to treat the US the way it has been treating India.

In an email to colleagues published by the media, Khobragade said she stressed to arresting authorities that she had diplomatic immunity only to suffer repeated searches and jailed with "common criminals".
How can you become a deputy consul without knowing your immunity is only partial and doesn't cover personal conduct outside of your official duties?

I must admit that I broke down many times as the indignities of repeated handcuffing, stripping and cavity searches, swabbing, in a hold-up with common criminals and drug addicts -
Apparently all standard procedure. In these cases by the Consular Convention the only special treatment the consul merits is that proceedings be instituted "with a minimum of delay."

The arrest touches a number of hot buttons in India, where fear of public humiliation, particularly among the middle and upper classes, resonates deeply, and pay and conditions for servants is kept mostly private.
The Consular Convention and U.S. law and State Dept. guidance are quite clear on this matter: this is one piece of India that Indian officials cannot carry with them to the United States.

State Department deputy spokeswoman Marie Harf admitted it was a "sensitive issue" but insisted it was a "separate and isolated incident" which should not "be tied together" and allowed to affect broader US-Indian ties.
I'm afraid that Harf is mistaken (or prevaricating) and that this sort of abuse by India's diplomats isn't isolated but widespread. At least, that's the message I receive from the angry and widespread (rather than isolated and specific) retaliation India has instituted in response to the deputy consul's arrest.

As well as removing the barricades around the embassy, authorities in Delhi have also demanded that US consular officials return identity cards that speed up travel into and through India and halted import clearances for the embassy, including for alcohol.
As I've mentioned elsewhere, the usual response to this sort of thing is tit-for-tat. The DC's arrest had nothing to do with security of India's diplomats, but the removing-barricades-in-response sends a message suggesting it does. I interpret this message as a statement that India's diplomats feel financially threatened by the U.S. going after them for underpaying their domestics.

With the elections just months away in India, both the ruling Congress party and the main opposition are keen to be seen as standing up to the United States over the issue.
I wonder if there are any cooler heads in India who dare to voice an opposing opinion right now?

"There are double standards at play here, as US authorities would not have flouted protocol similarly if the accused had been Chinese or British," it said in an editorial.
I don't think the Brits do what the Indian DC did, and I'm not sure the Chinese don't pay their diplomats enough to afford domestics in their household - or they don't want their diplomats to have them.

"For that matter, what would US reaction have been if their diplomats had been subjected to similar treatment abroad for alleged minor transgressions of local legislation?"
Except that while enslavement may be a "minor transgression" in India it is a very serious one by the laws of the United States.

What is a full body cavity search? - India - DNA

What is a full body cavity search?
1937280.jpg

A full body cavity search is a visual search or manual internal inspection of body cavities for prohibited material such as illegal drugs, money, jewellery, or weapons. This search is different from a strip search as it involves poking fingers or inserting the entire hand into suspect's rectums.

There are two types of BCS — visual and manual.

Visual body cavity search involves checking of body cavities like nostrils, ears, mouth, penis, vagina and rectum with the help of a flashlight. The person undergoing this search needs to regulate the body parts for a proper examination.

Manual search involves body cavities being examined using a finger or the entire hand. However, this type of search is restricted to individuals who either refuse to cooperate with the authorities or when there is a proof of the suspect carrying any of the barred substances.

Guidelines to conduct the search:

According to a Hindu report, the US Marshals Service's (USMS) protocol documents, called the Prisoner Operations Service Directives, have a separate section dedicated to body searches.

As per the body search guidelines in the document, the USMS is authorised to carry out four types of searches — pat-down search, in-custody search, strip-search and digital cavity search.

The guidelines also state that while conducting a strip search that Marshals need to ensure that it is done in a private location where only designated personnel are allowed examine the detainee.

The rules further state that that the search be conducted by a member of the same sex unless it is a physician or nurse, and all efforts be made to protect the modesty of the person.

During the search, the designated officer can instruct the prisoner/detainee to take off all the loose things and conduct a thorough visual examination of the prisoner's body from head to toe.

In the next stage of inspection, the officer can check behind each ear and look inside the prisoner's ear canals, nostrils, and mouth, (under the tongue also), roof of the mouth, and between the lips and gums.

They are also authorised to visually inspect the front part of the body, paying close attention to areas such as armpits, breasts, and genital area.

The protocol also authorises the officer to direct the prisoner to “spread her legs and bend forward at the waist [to] observe the anus area and genitals from the rear.”

Lastly, the protocol advises conclusion of the examination with an observation of the bottoms and between the toes of both feet.

I cant believe one can hide things in some of the mentioned body places. How can you hide something in your armpit? :disagree:
If these things were done, i think calling it barbaric would b an understatement.

Congress taking a stand? Sonia and Singh have spines made of wet clay. India is not China or Russia. America will bully India with no fear.
i wouldn't say wet clay rather call em lazy opportunists, when shown there true face would resort to any measure to show themselves as the aggressors. It's election time buddy atleast they are not inciting riots and political killings.