Pakistan's Akhtar blames low pay for fixing

UmarJustice

New Recruit

NEW DELHI: Controversial former Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar said on Friday the cricketers are being tempted into fixing matches because they are underpaid by their board.

"Fixing happens in our culture because there's less money, there are even lesser opportunities. Cricketers victimised by their boards return (to the team) to mint money," Akhtar, 37, told the Headlines Today news channel.

"In 2008, I had no money to even buy a car. I had to borrow money from a friend. I handled it, others go astray.

"Your friends ditch you, (the cricket) board doesn't back you. They all run you down. So when you return you think 'let me teach them a lesson'. Some are corrupt, but some cricketers are turned into criminals by the system."

In this file picture taken on February 16, 2011 Pakistan cricketer Shoaib Akhtar tosses the ball during training session at The Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in Dhaka. AFP PHOTO/Prakash SINGH
Three Pakistani stars - Test captain Salman Butt and pacemen Mohammad Aamer and Mohammad Asif - were jailed last year after being found guilty of spot-fixing during the 2010 Lord's Test against England.

It was the first time international cricketers were handed prison sentences, a scandal described by then-ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat as the worst corruption case since the Hansie Cronje episode.

Former South African captain Cronje, who died in 2002, was banned from the game for life in October 2000, six months after New Delhi police accused him of taking money from a bookie during his team's Indian tour that year.

"We (in Pakistan) don't have much money in cricket. I wasn't playing for India you know. I was an elite star, still after playing for 14 years I only made seven-eight crore rupees ($1.35-1.54 million)," said Akhtar.

Akhtar, whose career was marked by allegations of drug abuse and ball-tampering, bagged 178 wickets in 46 Tests and 247 in 163 one-day internationals between 1997 and 2011.

"I was cleared on all drug charges," he said. - AFP

Cricket: Pakistan's Akhtar blames low pay for fixing

I dont agree.

This implies that a poor man cannot be honest or a poor man is prone to dishonesty.

Our politicians do not fall in the category of poor men yet are dishonest by default.

Its more to do with greed and the lure for an easy buck.

By his logic...A poor man can murder someone for money just because he is poor?

Poor or Rich you need to choose the right path or face the consequences.

Rather it is temptation.................

Temptations exist all around us each day.

Why dont all of us succumb to it ?

Its just the urge to make a quick buck and treat entitled payments ( salaries etc) as pocket money and spurge with the rest made through dishonest means.

Temptations exist all around us each day.

Why dont all of us succumb to it ?

Its just the urge to make a quick buck and treat entitled payments ( salaries etc) as pocket money and spurge with the rest made through dishonest means.
Thats why you are seeing scam a day even by rich all due to temptation.

A Pak int'l team player gets around 5 lakh for a test match, around 3 for ODI and around 1.5-2.5 for a T20, and add to that commercial endorsements, they aren't that poor to go into match fixing. It's just pure greed and lust.

He made 7-8 crore rupees and thats not enough wtf why did he retire than ??

He should be asked how much his family was worth before Pakistan accepted him as a cricketer, furthermore he should also be asked how much an average Pakistani earns in a lifetime, finally he should be asked how long it would take for 95% Pakistanis to earn 7-8 crore rupees, if they even can!!!

I think sportsmen, actors, models are grossly overpaid......their salaries should be on par with any other good paying job and not in millions.........across the world!!

What Shoaib bhai says about IPL and what its doing to our cricket, I agree 100%.

Like it or hate him, when a top cricketer speaks his mind, the armchair cricketers should shut up and listen.

My friends trust me that pakistani players dont fix matches on their own.... PCB helps them fix.... Spot fixing most famous amoung PCB and they take pakistani players help.... Spot fixing can be anything even like scratching pitch, ball temparing, no ball, wide, short length and even chewing ball.... Name it and its all comes in spot fixing.... PCB becomes sheild to pakistani players and thats why pakistani players alot open in spot fixing.... Just check the trump card of PCB.... it shahid afridi.... Chewing ball, scratching pitch, standing on cricket ball and scratching it with shoes spikes.... Shahid afridi done it all.... Why blame players when PCB force them.... Its all due to money problem. PCB dont have enough money.... Spot fixing is multi billion market and pakistani players are hot cards and PCB takes advantage of it.... What is sad is that cricket suffering because of it. PCB dont care about pakistan's image around world.... However fixing match is not easy. So am sure shri lanka vs pak wasnt fixed but yes spot fixing indeed played a role.... Specially again shahid afridi's duck again shri lanka.... Ball didnt spin much yet he got bowled very first ball.... Btw even aus vs pak match was fixed (not for money but to kick india out).... Check replay of the match and u will see aus players played sweep shot and 5 batsman got out exactly same way playing sweep shot.... Whole day this was shown on indian media including other media.... They also told that this was not the first time aus team did this against india playing other teams....

A Pak int'l team player gets around 5 lakh for a test match, around 3 for ODI and around 1.5-2.5 for a T20, and add to that commercial endorsements, they aren't that poor to go into match fixing. It's just pure greed and lust.

Its the same in India....rest is endorsement....you need talent and flair for that. Earn respect, then money. Ask Wasim Akram.