Kerala, Tamil Nadu face off over Mullaperiyar dam

The Center is the most inept government. For that you are willing to doubt being an Indian? There was an earthquake in my state last month. Had state emergency not been declared by our CM, nothing would have happened. THAT is how one gets things done in our country, my friend.

You don't blame the identity or doubt being proud of being an Indian. It only shows how shallow your faith in being of our country is.

its a natural reaction mate most of the keralities are very much worried...we are sitting over a time bomb here

The Center is the most inept government. For that you are willing to doubt being an Indian? There was an earthquake in my state last month. Had state emergency not been declared by our CM, nothing would have happened. THAT is how one gets things done in our country, my friend.

You don't blame the identity or doubt being proud of being an Indian. It only shows how shallow your faith in being of our country is.

The earth quake in your state was a natural disaster while Mullaperiyar is a manmade disaster in waiting. If the dam bursts it will be greatest catastrophe the world has ever seen..3.5 million dead in an instant and all this because of the insensitiveness of a neighbouring Indian state.

If 3.5 MILLION lives can be sacrificed to satisfy the tamil ego.......Then i dont want to be an Indian.

If disaster of such a magnitude is allowed to take place due to sheer negligence and lack of consideration.......it no longer becomes a question of "faith".

If my country can protect my kin, my people and our way of life......then it is worth fighting for......it is worth dying for. If not....then i want nothing to do with it.

The earth quake in your state was a natural disaster while Mullaperiyar is a manmade disaster in waiting. It the dam bursts it will be greatest catastrophe the world has ever seen..3.5 million dead in an instant and all this because of the insensitiveness of a neighbouring Indian state.

I agree but for that, there have to be fierce discussions. The politicians of either TN or Kerala are not concerned for the people mate. They are just causing roadblocks to make sure how much money they can get by "approving" something a little later. That's al.

If you're thinking that they are indeed worried about 3.5 million people, then we won't have had any disaster in this country man-made or otherwise at all.

This is simply a case of "hey I am going to approve your thingy... just tell me how many crores I can get for that nod". And it is common in all the states except a couple.

I agree but for that, there have to be fierce discussions. The politicians of either TN or Kerala are not concerned for the people mate. They are just causing roadblocks to make sure how much money they can get by "approving" something a little later. That's al.

If you're thinking that they are indeed worried about 3.5 million people, then we won't have had any disaster in this country man-made or otherwise at all.

This is simply a case of "hey I am going to approve your thingy... just tell me how many crores I can get for that nod". And it is common in all the states except a couple.

politicians of Kerala are concerned and very active (all parties congress, left, Bjp)..

@tshering...

There is no time for "fierce negotiations". The bloody thing can go bust any moment. Even today there was an earthquake in idukki registering 4 on the richter scale. People are angry and scared .

---------- Post added at 12:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:14 AM ----------

And since when did 3.5 MILLION goddamn human lives become insignificant? Not to mention that most of these are very educated and skilled.

Dude, it may be true for other things, but Kerala politicians are honest when it comes to Mullaperiyar Dam..afterall we are speaking about the lives of 3.5 million people and 5 districts. We are on the down stream and will face the brunt of the devastation. All TN is going to lose is some water for their farmers. We are trying for years to make TN allow us to built new dam, but I don't understand the stubbornness that TN has on this matter.

@tshering...

There is no time for "fierce negotiations". The bloody thing can go bust any moment. Even today there was an earthquake in idukki registering 4 on the richter scale. People are angry and scared .

If that happens I will never forgive TN and Indian nation as a whole.

It stopped being a question money in kerala a long time ago. Its now a question of survival.

Then it is time that you guys press for this dam because of 35 lakh lives are in danger then this requires a state emergency and construction on a priority basis. Rather than asking the center, force the center to agree or suffer the displeasure (politically). That threat would make the netas and babus do anything to appease your politicians.

Otherwise this government doesn't care for any Indian I will tell you that. Only force will make them do things. Anna Hazare ji also had to force the government to concede.

Then it is time that you guys press for this dam because of 35 lakh lives are in danger then this requires a state emergency and construction on a priority basis. Rather than asking the center, force the center to agree or suffer the displeasure (politically). That threat would make the netas and babus do anything to appease your politicians.

Otherwise this government doesn't care for any Indian I will tell you that. Only force will make them do things. Anna Hazare ji also had to force the government to concede.

Kerala government. Its people. Its officials are of a single stance on the mullapperiyar dam issue. The only hindrance are those arrogant nazi self righteous tamilian pricks.

Eventhough I am a Keralite I am not aware of the topography of this particular area. Can Kerala build a new dam downstream without the approval from TN?

Kerala government. Its people. Its officials are of a single stance on the mullapperiyar dam issue. The only hindrance are those arrogant nazi self righteous tamilian pricks.

A "threat" to the center will odd the evens. I am not into a region vs region issue as 35 lakh INDIAN lives are at stake here. But this is a national level disaster in the making and it has to be stopped.

Why has this been only in discussion stages till now? Haven't the state officials taken this as a do or die situation with the center? Things are serious here. This step should have been taken at least 5 years back even if it meant threatening the central government with " you will get no seats to contest elections ever in Kerala". That's the threat that this government fears. Use it.

Eventhough I am a Keralite I am not aware of the topography of this particular area. Can Kerala build a new dam downstream without the approval from TN?

There is that stupid 999 year treaty which prevents us from doing that without consent.