Messiach & the Pakistan's Urgent Need for A Turbine Engine

No I have NOT given up. There are no shortcuts. We need leaders not thaikaydar$. The heads are rotten.

Thanks for the reply. It is quite sad to see that. I was very happy to have read some of your old posts where you so passionately put forward the idea of building turbines in-country. It was clear from your post you had found out a way to make them via some shortcuts and perhaps collaborative efforts, cheap and within a relatively short period of time. It is sad to see that you've given up on that dream.

Like it or not my Pakistani brothers but it is a fact that "THE ONE WHO TRIES TO BUILD SOMETHING AND FAILS IS AHEAD OF THE ONE WHO NEVER TRIED" we must give credit to India for their Initiatives in Engine development and i am sure they will be at par with the rest of the world sooner or later but what about us? it is the word "US" that we should be worried about and to take care of. WO SHAKHS KABHI BHI FALAAH NAHI PAA SAKTA JO APNI KAMZORION KO DAUST KERNAY KI BAJAYE DOSRAY KAY AIB TALASH KERAY. its just like refusing to move ahead to beat your opponent instead trying to pull ur opponent back so that u can claim to be ahead of him. aisi soch ghulam qoum ki hoti hai aur muslims to BADA-E-AZAAD hua kertay hain.

No I have NOT given up. There are no shortcuts. We need leaders not thaikaydar$. The heads are rotten.
It's hard to say who anyone is on a forum, who they know etc, but I can try to do my part. Perhaps try to talk to this guy
http://ist.edu.pk/ihtzaz-qamar

...if you don't already know him that is. I think he has the clout, funding, motivation, and independence to do projects like the ones you propose. I know of one he is pursuing quite seriously. Of course, you (or someone) will have to go to him in person. Just talk I guess. There's a minuscule chance something positive will come of it.

From what I gather about who you are, you shouldn't have trouble arranging a meet.

It's hard to say who anyone is on a forum, who they know etc, but I can try to do my part. Perhaps try to talk to this guy

...if you don't already know him that is. I think he has the clout, funding, motivation, and independence to do projects like the ones you propose. I know of one he is pursuing quite seriously. Of course, you (or someone) will have to go to him in person. Just talk I guess. There's a minuscule chance something positive will come of it.

From what I gather about who you are, you shouldn't have trouble arranging a meet.

Given CMs are a strategic necessity, and recent events have once again proven they are effective in swarms, it defies logic that SPD is not working on some kind of turbojet. But given the nature of the project, it will be likely classified, and most probably someone from the internet will not be allowed access. This is unfortunately one of those things that will be kept out of public discourse until PAF itself finds it useful to make some kind of public disclosure.

Pakistanis are as dumb or as smart as anyone else on this planet. I don't know a shyte of turbofan engine. However, IMO, its an art not a science, and every failure takes you closer to the promised land.
All the best to Pakistanis in this endeavour...

Pakistanis are as dumb or as smart as anyone else on this planet. I don't know a shyte of turbofan engine. However, IMO, its an art not a science, and every failure takes you closer to the promised land.
All the best to Pakistanis in this endeavour...

Thanks, dear...

How do you know him?
These are institutional projects. A small or large private teams have no role. If you have IEEE membership, you can join me there at AETA forum. These projects are spread over decades & there is no committment either from civil or military sources. There is lot of information but some is too technical, other is not approppriate for this forum & i have very limited time at disposal.
I am retiring this year after 27 y of service. My emphasis is now set to recruit young lot into practice. I will still be providing limited consultancy services.

How do you know him?
These are institutional projects. A small or large private teams have no role. If you have IEEE membership, you can join me there at AETA forum. These projects are spread over decades & there is no committment either from civil or military sources. There is lot of information but some is too technical, other is not approppriate for this forum & i have very limited time at disposal.
I am retiring this year after 27 y of service. My emphasis is now set to recruit young lot into practice. I will still be providing limited consultancy services.
He is a professor at IST, I keep connections and I hear good things about the work he is doing.

Unfortunately, I'm not an IEEE member. Turbomachinery/Metallurgy is not my area of specialization anyway. I was only hoping that an opportunity for some good work might exist. You never know what seed you plant grows into a tree that bears fruits for many.

I plan to return to the motherland in a couple of years to do my part. I hope I can keep my spirits up. I see a lot of discouragement and disappointment (probably fair) from experienced forumers (like you and Oscar) and my colleagues in the organizations. Everyone seems to be telling me to stay away. I am not sure whether or not I should.

How do you know him?
With ur vast experience and contacts(ppl u came to know in ur field with the right expertise or position), u could try to get private investment and go at it. Use private funding as a first step to carry out R&D and to build/demonstrate a proof of concept. Maybe this would make u/ur company more appealing for gov/military to provide funds to see it to completion?

He is a professor at IST, I keep connections and I hear good things about the work he is doing.

Unfortunately, I'm not an IEEE member. Turbomachinery/Metallurgy is not my area of specialization anyway. I was only hoping that an opportunity for some good work might exist. You never know what seed you plant grows into a tree that bears fruits for many.

I plan to return to the motherland in a couple of years to do my part. I hope I can keep my spirits up. I see a lot of discouragement and disappointment (probably fair) from experienced forumers (like you and Oscar) and my colleagues in the organizations. Everyone seems to be telling me to stay away. I am not sure whether or not I should.
You should look if you can join Paramount group. They are looking for high calibre resources but first priority is always given to citizens and that means you may have to get an exemption because of sensitivity to R&D.

@JamD @denel @Cookie Monster @Oscar @ AllOthers

Pak is a different place now from what it was when i left in 2000 for China. My last visit recently has been heart breaking. Poverty has monstrously expanded with erosion of middle-class. I came from that particular class but now it has totally descended into poverty. I was astounded to see the stark difference between the rich & poor which exists today. This is phenomenal. I was lucky, I escaped in time. My very first post was developing & maintenance engineer looking after humidifiers etc at an industrial weaving plant near gujranwala & there were many such plants back then. Today it was heart-breaking to see most of them closed or near closure. Pakistans industrial backbone is collapsing & all that rot started from bhuttos era but the last 30 yrs & especially the last 17y of musharraf & two democracies have been fatally disastrous.

There is a near desperate need to re-develop Pakistans core industrial infrastructure when >60% populace is living without electricity. You are most welcome. Its a different world, a very challenging one, full of hopes and disappointments but worth living for.

@JamD @denel @Cookie Monster @Oscar @ AllOthers

Pak is a different place now from what it was when i left in 2000 for China. My last visit recently has been heart breaking. Poverty has monstrously expanded with erosion of middle-class. I came from that particular class but now it has totally descended into poverty. I was astounded to see the stark difference between the rich & poor which exists today. This is phenomenal. I was lucky, I escaped in time. My very first post was developing & maintenance engineer looking after humidifiers etc at an industrial weaving plant near gujranwala & there were many such plants back then. Today it was heart-breaking to see most of them closed or near closure. Pakistans industrial backbone is collapsing & all that rot started from bhuttos era but the last 30 yrs & especially the last 17y of musharraf & two democracies have been fatally disastrous.

There is a near desperate need to re-develop Pakistans core industrial infrastructure when >60% populace is living without electricity. You are most welcome. Its a different world, a very challenging one, full of hopes and disappointments but worth living for.
How would you rate the awareness of those in the educated, policy, scientific community and upper/upper-middle class? More often than not, even the worst of elites still need a cadre of relatively well-off people to legitimize and execute their orders. Today, how close (or far) are those well-off people from casting aside the corrupt top?

I thought corruption was endemic at every tier in the society, top to bottom.

I have been thinking about going back as well but am more discouraged the more I learn about whats going on. On the other hand, there is opportunity there as well and if you can make it happen and work smart perhaps.

@messiach if you ever manage to get things going (perhaps by showing how the Indians are developing their own gas turbines), please do let me know. Over the years I've been approached by two engineers, I believe both from RR, one a convert to Islam who dearly wanted to help Pakistan or Turkey and work for either, but I couldn't help either of them.

I could say I have been stating the bold repeatedly for ages but then the majority thinks this country has some noble purpose and image.
You don't believe on that,nobel purpose of loot khosoot:astagh: