WWF style fake wrestling between Kayani and Panetta

Awesome

RETIRED MOD
WWF style fake wrestling between Kayani and Panetta | Today's Views

The bombastic statement by General Kayani on the expulsion of US trainers, and the diversion of US military aid to the civilian part of the economy was seen by the Pakistanis for what it was–an attempt to salvage the prestige of the Pakistan Army badly battered by the Abbottabad fiasco. The rank and file in the Army boldly questioned the COAS on the incompetence or complicity. Now the statement by the Army and ISI says “Panett told”, no US boots on the ground in Pakistan“. This public posturing is belied by the private conversations which have winked and nodded at the drone attacks with Zardari saying “you are worried about the collateral damage, I am not”. Kayani was heard on Wikileaks specifically asking for more drone strikes.

General Kayani, you cant hunt with the hound and then run with the fox. Neither you, nor General Pasha have come clean on bases given to the US, and you have not come clean on drone strikes. Press reports say that 7000 visas were given to Americans of dubious backgrounds by the embassies in Washington and Dubai etc.

For an army that is half a million strong, why were these CIA agents allowed to run amok in Pakistan. Why did the ISI not track them. Why isn’t the intelligence and police forces keeping tabs on these guys? It is obvious that the continued attacks by the TTP are a reflection of the incompetence of the top brass of the army. Any head of any department would have bowed his head in shame and resigned. Neither General Pasha, nor General Kayani have resigned.

It is quite obvious that the ISI has totally failed in its mission to keep track of the TTP. These guys attack Pakistani installations at will and the Army simply is impotent in doing anything about it. After the attack on the ISI and the GHQ, one would have expected unprecedented security measures and barbed boundary perimeters around military and training facilities. It seems that the Army has been incapable of defending itself or the country.

Four choppers fly towards the Pakistani border, then cross it with impunity, then fly for 90 minutes to Abbottabad, and then are active in an operation for 40 minutes–and General Kayani has to hear about it in a phone call from Washington. Forget the technology. What were the guards in and around Kakul doing? Didn’t they see anything or hear anything? The self-styled gabru sher from the Punjab now wants to be a Kasai and slaughter the sacred cow known as the Army budget. Folks on the left want to scrutinize it and see how much is being spent on housing colonies and BMW 7 series cars.

When you General Kayani had offered to divert US aid meant for the military–to the civilians, you should have taken back on the Mercedes and the BMWs from the Generals. These should be auctioned off and these guys should be given KiAs to go back and forth from their offices.

The CIA Director Leon Panetta arrived in Islamabad to urge Pakistan to reconsider its decision to seek the removal of nearly 100 U.S. military trainers. Why were they allowed on Pakistani soil in the first place. What were you thinking?

The decision to seek the removal of American forces is widely seen as “noora kushti” (WWF style fake wrestling). It is simple posturing, because you General Pasha are also cooperating with the Americans in a so called “Joint Anti-Terror Task force.” We all read the bluster “Mr. Panetta was told point blank, there will be no U.S. boots on the ground.” What does all this mean. How stupid do you think we are?

It is good that Pakistan is playing a positive role in brining about the reconciliation between the pro-Taliban “Haqqani” and the slippery Mr. Karzai, however what steps have you General Kayani taken to prevent the insidious Bharati presence in Kabul–especially the training of Afghan Troops by Bharat.

Why is it so hard for the ISI to penetrate the TTP. Why can’t the Pakistani Army monitor the TTP actions. What good are the AWACs, and the satellites when the TTP can terrorize Pakistanis at will? Why can’t the state have some sort of understanding with the TTP?

In a society like Pakistan's where there is lack of transparency we will ultimately see such lies. Kayani wants to plead for Pakistan's respect (Pakistani Army Pleads for Respect - WSJ.com), yet can't make the simple decision of shooting down a drone. What is the point of telling Panetta to stop the drone attacks, they will never do it, you have to stop them now - although it seems like you don't have the guts to do it.

Kayani's timidness in dealing with the Americans is making the entire army look like cowards, he needs to quit and let someone else more gutsy take charge. He was already supposed to retire and got an extension 'aiwai'. Mike Mullen's job is 10 times more difficult than his, he was never given an extension out of necessity.

Jhoot bolna aur deengay maarna bandh karo. Kuch karsakte ho toh karke dikhao, "Bass bahi bass zyada baat nahi chief sahab!"