What's new

Who can you be?

muse

ELITE MEMBER
Reaction score
September 18, 2010
Sit Down, Please, and Tell Me How Smart You Are
By ADAM BRYANT

This interview with Kevin O’Connor, chief executive of FindTheBest.com, a comparison search engine, was conducted and condensed by Adam Bryant. Mr. O’Connor is also a founder and former C.E.O. of DoubleClick.

Q. Do you remember the first time you were a manager?

A. I was 21. I didn’t know anything about managing, and I was a terrible boss.

Q. Why?

A. Well, I’d never taken a business class in my life, and I was an engineer at a software company. I just figured the way to be a boss was, you tell people what to do, and you have huge expectations for them. If they can’t keep up, then you yell and scream and get them going. I was working hundred-hour weeks, and I expected everyone to work hundred-hour weeks.

Q. Did you get pushback?

A. After the 20th person went into the C.E.O. and said, “This guy’s a real jerk,” I started getting a little sensitive to it.

Q. What changed?

A. I became a wrestling coach, and that totally changed me. That was my M.B.A.

Q. Tell me about that.

A. The local school down the street had a weak wrestling program. So I’d go down there and burn off some steam from work, and thought it’d be good to help kids. It takes real management and leadership skills to get a 17-year-old to do anything.

Q. So what did you learn?

A. A bunch of things. People would show up to practice late. It was lacking discipline, and I was always a big believer in discipline. I found out it was better to get rid of people that didn’t really care and just really focus on the kids that wanted to be there — the really serious, competitive kids. People want to be good. They want to be successful. They need help believing in themselves. Sometimes they just need help to get going.

Q. What were some changes you made to the team?