While IAF is losing focus on 5th Gen fighter programs, the world is moving on to 6th Gen fighters

INDIAPOSITIVE

SOURCE: PRAVIN DHAUSKAR / FOR MY TAKE / IDRW.ORG
NGAD.jpg
After India walked away from the Indo-Russian 5th generation FGFA program, It was expected that the IAF and Defense ministry will now fast track development of indigenous AMCA 5th generation stealth fighter program but that doesn’t seem to be the case, while IAF is obsessed with securing further orders of the Dassault Rafale that focus on development of 5th generation program is clearly lacking.

India is already too late to join 5th generation bandwagon and might be the last country to initiate 5th generation program which is still not officially sanctioned even though the program has been on the drawing boards for years now but 2018 was also the year when several countries have announced their development plans of a sixth-generation aircraft which puts India in an awkward position now. UK, Germany, and France who have skipped development of 5th generation fighter programs of their own and working to develop 6th generation programs of their own, Germany and France have ganged up to develop a successor for their Eurofighter Typhoon, Panavia Tornado and Dassault Rafale fighters.

China, Russia, and the United States also have independent 6th generation programs of their own which will all become active by 2030. Tejas and Rafale induction and drama behind their procurement only means IAF is not clearly focusing on 5th generation program and beyond that while the world is marching ahead with their own programs which will give them quantum jump in the air warfare capabilities which leave India will be way behind in next decade or so if it doesn’t start focusing on its own local programs soon.

Jump from HF-24 to LCA-Tejas was way harder on India’s non-existing aerospace ecosystem in the country that it caused considerable delays due to India skipping one generation of fighter aircraft development, India can’t avoid doing the same mistake again but due to considerable delays already seen in the AMCA program and lack of in-house technology, India will need to find the money to fund and fast track its own developmental program but also need to stop obsessions with 4.5 generation fighters and start focusing on next-generation technology .

IAF is in a mess. Poor leadership and poor strategic focus is causing a lot of pain to the air force. They are in their worst form right now with no future vision on how to deal with the whole fleet attrition.

Tender after tender, there is no progress and AMCA is nowhere to be seen. FGFA programme was a disaster and we cannot even get the bloody 110 fighter jets.

Nirmala Sitharaman has been a disaster of a Defence Minister, despite her tremendous record as a Minister of Corporate Affairs.

We either need Parikkar back or PM Modi needs to take defence directly under his command once he returns to power post election.

IAF is like a headless chicken. It is almost pathetic situation.

I can't believe one of the most professional forces in the world is being headed by pot-bellied useless babus.

IAF is in a mess. Poor leadership and poor strategic focus is causing a lot of pain to the air force. They are in their worst form right now with no future vision on how to deal with the whole fleet attrition.

Tender after tender, there is no progress and AMCA is nowhere to be seen. FGFA programme was a disaster and we cannot even get the bloody 110 fighter jets.

Nirmala Sitharaman has been a disaster of a Defence Minister, despite her tremendous record as a Minister of Corporate Affairs.

We either need Parikkar back or PM Modi needs to take defence directly under his command once he returns to power post election.

IAF is like a headless chicken. It is almost despicable.
hello mate .... what can NDA govt do alone if baboons in MOD & IAF top brass are confused as to what they want and what they want and keep going in a tail spin whn its time to buy a good fighter.... just look how they botched up LCA :drag:

now tell me do whave money do buy 5th gen .... sriously :azn:

we cant commission 4th gen MKIs & LCA on time due to intence red tape and contant goal post change by MOD & IAF baboons gan you expect these jockers to get 21st gen fighters with 19th centuarry miondset and 20th centuarry rule books ..?

perfect meme for MOD & OAF baboons

MOD EDIT: Kindly stick to serious discussion. For meme's we have "Stupid and Funny" thread running.

Attachments

• keepthemguessing.jpg
    keepthemguessing.jpg
    44.9 KB · Views: 48
Meanwhile, Pakistan works incrementally on improving the JF-17 to keep up with whatever India develops. Now Pakistan is on the verge of inducting a fighter with a modern AESA radar, IRST, HMS, modern longer range BVR missile and High off bore-sight WVR missiles. All at an affordable price to induct them to keep up squadron levels. India could have done the same with the Tejas fighter. It could have been as good as the Gripen NG by now, but their squabbling have cost them the edge they started with.

hello mate .... what can NDA govt do alone if baboons in MOD & IAF top brass are confused as to what they want and what they want and keep going in a tail spin whn its time to buy a good fighter.... just look how they botched up LCA :drag:

now tell me do whave money do buy 5th gen .... sriously :azn:

we cant commission 4th gen MKIs & LCA on time due to intence red tape and contant goal post change by MOD & IAF baboons gan you expect these jockers to get 21st gen fighters with 19th centuarry miondset and 20th centuarry rule books ..?

perfect meme for MOD & OAF baboons

MOD EDIT: Kindly stick to serious discussion. For meme's we have "Stupid and Funny" thread running.

I agree.

Our ministerial babus are the mess.

However, someone has to shove it down the IAF's throats; we cannot be in a limbo and watch our pilots die in old jets.

Someone should have the power to interject and force a decision.

Only PM Modi can force it down the throats of IAF and babu bureaucrats.

This is where sometimes I wish we had a China-like governance model; where Modi ji could easily shove these things down the throats of babus or outright mass sack them so that the next batch of officers hired can see these sacked losers as an example.

I agree.

Our ministerial babus are the mess.

However, someone has to shove it down the IAF's throats; we cannot be in a limbo and watch our pilots die in old jets.

Someone should have the power to interject and force a decision.

Only PM Modi can force it down the throats of IAF and babu bureaucrats.

This is where sometimes I wish we had a China-like governance model; where Modi ji could easily shove these things down the throats of babus or outright mass sack them so that the next batch of officers hired can see these sacked losers as an example.
point is who ..?

its easier said that done look at all educated fools running around in circels even after knowing the truth about rafale deal just cause they some how hate one person more than they hate curroption less in india :haha:

Seriously we need to learn a lot from PAF when comes to supporting indigenous industry and resources management. They are dawn clear about what they want what they dont.

they had no choice and there 75 % fleet ofaef sollas is grounded due to lack of spares and critical source codes besides they are not getting any air to air messiles worth some salt after 2005 from the USA & its major allies ... you want the same fate for india :azn: :coffee:

They still have a plan far more superior in terms of logistical planning.

IAF is behaving like a 13 year old girl in the evening of her first prom night.

MoD needs to temporarily relegate the acquisition process to PMO and we really need Sitharaman to stick to corporate ministry. Defence is not just her cup of tea.

Necessity is the mother of invention...

There lies boons in curses, and curses in boons.....

As for PAF F16s, thanks to Turkey and WOT, all of them are flying and kicking...

Meanwhile, Pakistan works incrementally on improving the JF-17 to keep up with whatever India develops. Now Pakistan is on the verge of inducting a fighter with a modern AESA radar, IRST, HMS, modern longer range BVR missile and High off bore-sight WVR missiles. All at an affordable price to induct them to keep up squadron levels. India could have done the same with the Tejas fighter. It could have been as good as the Gripen NG by now, but their squabbling have cost them the edge they started with.
As for the Ehl-i Iman, a single act of Hosh Amel, done with Iman, Ihlas and Uhhuvet, has a thousand Bereket in it...

Going to a war trusting on foreign equipment, advisors etc. is a disaster in making. Some Bed Baht folks tried it a century ago only to lose a six centuries old Jihan Devlet in six years....