Republic of India - Prime Minister to inaugurate International Energy Forum in New Delhi

Hindustani78

pibimage.jpg

Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas
05-April, 2018 18:30 IST

India will host the 16thInternational Energy Forum (IEF) Ministerial Meeting from 10-12th April 2018 in New Delhi. Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi will formally inaugurate the Meeting on 11th April 2018.Petroleum Ministers from 42 countries would attend the Meeting.The biennial IEF Ministerial Meetings are the world's largest gathering of Energy Ministers who engage in a dialogue on global energy issues. The IEF Ministerial meetings are informal dialogues, at both the political and technical levels, aimed to improve policy and investment decisions, and through increased knowledge and experience sharing. The Minister for External Affairs SmtSushmaSwaraj will deliver the valedictory speech at the Concluding session on 12th April 2018.

Global energy security, sustainable and inclusive growth, energy access and affordability, fiscal regimes and legal reforms to attract investments in the energy sector and energy sector digitalization-benefits and challenges would be part of the deliberations among other important issues.

The International Energy Forum (IEF) is an inter-governmental arrangement set up in 1991,based in Riyadh which serves as a neutral facilitator of informal, open, informed and continuing global energy dialogue among its members comprising of energy producing and energy consuming states, including transit countries.

There are 72 membercountries of IEF, including India, covering all six continents, which are signatories to the Charter of the IEF. Its membership accounts for 90% of global supply and demand for oil and gas.

The Executive Board (EB) set up in 2002 comprising of 31 designated representatives of Ministers of the member states comprise the governing board of IEF. It meets twice a year. International Energy Agency (IEA) and Organisation of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) are non-voting members of the Executive Board. The EB is chaired by the Host State of the next biennial Ministerial Meeting.Currently, India is the Chair of the Executive Board of IEF.

By virtue of being among the top 11 largest consumers of oil and gas (India is presently 4th), India has been the Permanent Member of the Executive Board since its set-up in 2002. India had earlier hosted the 5th IEF Ministerial in 1996 at Goa.

Apart from member countries, invitations have also been extended to 20 other countries where India has oil and gas engagements/interests.

The Joint Secretary (IC), Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, Shri Sunjay Sudhir holding a Curtain Raiser press conference on International Energy Forum IEF2018 (to be held from 10 to 12th April 2018), in New Delhi on April 05, 2018.
s20180405124155.jpg

09-April, 2018 16:05 IST
Prime Minister to inaugurate 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial-Largest gathering of Ministers from energy consuming, producing and transit countries, heads of top organizations to attend

Marking the growing prominence of India in the global energy map, the 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial (IEF16) is being hosted by India and will be inaugurated by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi on Wednesday. IEF16 is the largest gathering of Energy Ministers from across the globe, industry leaders and heads of key international organizations who will debate the future of global energy.

Prominent among those attending the Ministerial Meeting this year are Mr. Dharmendra Pradhan, Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas & Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, India, Mr. Khalid Al-Falih, Minister of Petroleum and Mineral Resources, Saudi Arabia, Mr. Suhail Mohamed Al Mazrouei, Minister of Energy and Industry, UAE, Mr. Bijan Namdar Zangeneh, Minister of Petroleum, Iran, Dr. Mohammed Bin Saleh Al-Sada, Minister of Energy and Industry, Qatar, Mr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Nigeria, Mr. Kosaburo Nishime, State Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan, Mr. Li Fanrong, Deputy Administrator of National Energy Administration, China, Mr. Pavel Sorokin, Deputy Minister of Energy, Russia, Mark Wesley Menezes, Under Secretary of Energy, USA, among others.

Apart from them, Dr. Sun Xiansheng, Executive Director, IEF, Mr. Fatih Birol, Executive Director, IEA, Mr. Mohammad Sanusi Barkindo, Secretary General, OPEC and heads and senior officials from international organizations like CNPC, Total, VOPAK, Exxon Mobil, etc. will also attend the event.

The International Energy Forum (IEF) aims to foster greater mutual understanding and awareness of common energy interests among its members. Its 72 Member Countries are signatories to the IEF Charter, which outlines the framework of the global energy dialogue through this inter-governmental arrangement. Apart from them, 20 countries are also participating in this meeting as special invitees.

Covering all six continents and accounting for around 90% of global supply and demand for oil and gas, the IEF is unique in that it comprises not only consuming and producing countries of the IEA and OPEC, but also Transit States and major players outside of their memberships, including Argentina, China, India, Mexico, Russia and South Africa.

Hosted by India and co-hosted by China and Korea, IEF16 aims to focus on how global shifts, transition policies and new technologies influence market stability and future investment in the energy sector. Dialogue among Ministers and industry leaders on how energy security and system resiliency will evolve along energy transition pathways, and meet global economic, demographic, and environmental challenges, will help secure an energy future that remains affordable, productive, sustainable and fair to all.

IEF16 delegates are invited to consider how global market shifts and energy transition will shape the future of energy security. Participants engage in an energy technology neutral dialogue to strengthen energy market stability and achieve global goals through enhanced market transparency, trade, and investment among producing, consuming and transit countries.

Prime Minister's Office
11-April, 2018 15:21 IST
Text of Speech by the PM at the International Energy Forum Ministerial Meeting (April 11, 2018)

Minister for Energy, Saudi Arabia

Minister for Petroleum and Natural Gas, India

Secretary General, International Energy Forum

Distinguished Delegates

Ladies and Gentlemen.

Welcome to India.

Welcome to the 16thInternational Energy ForumMinisterial Meeting.

I am happy to see such a large participation of Energy Ministers from producing and consuming nations, Heads of International Organisations and CEOsin this forum.

As you come together today to discuss the future of global energy,the world is seeing a great transition in energy supply and consumption.

• Consumption growth has shifted to nonOECD countries: Middle East, Africa and developing Asia;
  • Solar Photo-Voltaic energyhas become economicalcompared to all other energy sources. This is changing the supply paradigm ;
  • Abundant availability of natural gas globally with increased percentage of LNG and natural gas is contributing to the primary energy basket;
  • The US may soon become the largest producer of oil.It is predicted to meet a major portion of the additional oil demand in the next few decades;
  • Coal may gradually go out of favour as a major contributor to primary energy in the OECD World and later in developing countries;
  • The Transport sector will see massive changes in the next few decades with adoption of electric vehicles;
  • The World is committedto the climate change agendabased on the COP-21agreement. The energy intensity of economies will change with focus on green energy and energy efficiency;
Last month I came across an energy forecastprepared by an agency, according to whichIndia will be the key driver of global energy demand in the next twenty-five years. India’s energy consumptionwill grow by four point two percent a year for the next twenty-five years.This is fastestamong major world economies. The report also mentions that Gas demand will triple by 2040.The number of electric vehicles will rise to three hundred and twenty million by 2030, up from three million today.

We are entering an era of energy abundance. However, one point two billion people still do not have access to electricity.Many more do not have accessto clean cooking fuel.We must ensure that this situation is not exploitedto the detri-ment of the under-privileged.People must have universal access to clean, affordable, sustainable and equitablesupply of energy.

Let me share with you some of my thoughtson the hydrocarbon sector and our endeavourto achieve energy security.

Oil and Gas are a commodity of tradebut also of necessity. Whether it is for the kitchen of a common manor for an aircraft,energy is essential.

The world has for too long seen prices on a roller-coaster.

We need to move to responsible pricing,which balances the interests of both the producer and consumer. We also need to move to transparent and flexiblemarketsfor both oil and gas.Only then can we serve the energy needs of humanityin an optimal manner.

If the world has to grow as a whole,there has to be a mutually supportive relationship between producers and consumers. It is in the interests of producersthat other economies keep growing steadily and rapidly. This will ensure growing energy markets for them.

Efforts at artificially distorting prices are self-defeating,as history has shown us. They also cause undue hardships,particularly to those at the bottom of the pyramid in developing and least developed countries.

Let us use this platformto build a global consensus on ‘responsible pricing.’This will serve the mutual interestsof both producers and consumers.

Given global un-certainties,India also needs energy security.My vision for India’s energy future has 4 pillars– energy access, energy efficiency, energy sustainability and energy security.

Energy in general and hydrocarbons in particularare an important part of my vision for India’s future. India needs energy which is accessibleand affordable to the poor. It needs efficiency in energy use.

As a responsible global member of the comity of nations,India is committed to combating climate change,curbing emissions and ensuring a sustainable future.The launch of the International Solar Allianceis a step towards fulfilling this commitment.

Friends.

Currently,India is the fastest growing large economy in the world. All leading agencies such as IMF, World Bank, and ADB are estimating India to grow at 7 to 8 percent in the near future. Our Government has been able to achieve high GDP growthwith low inflation, well controlled fiscal deficit and stable exchange rate.This macro-economicstabilityis boosting both consumption and investment in the economy.

India is also blessed with demographic dividend.The working age population as a share in total population,is one of the highest in the World. Our Government is boosting local manufacturing through Make in India and skilling of youth in industries such as textile, petro-chemical, defence, engineering etc.This, in turn, is alsoincreasing our energy consumption further.

We have also revampedour up-stream policies and regulationsand brought transparency and competitiveness in the sectorthrough the launch of Hydrocarbon Exploration and Licensing Policy. The bidding criteria has been changedto revenue sharingwhich will help reduce government intervention.Currently, a bidding round is open till the 2nd of May. I request you to participate in our endeavortowards increasing production.The Open Acreage and National Data Repositorywill help companies participatein fields they are interested inand help increase the exploration interestin Indian fields.

The Enhanced Oil Recovery Policyaims to promote the use of latest technologyin improving productivity of up-stream fields.

Our Down-stream sectorhas been completely liberalized with market driven petrol and diesel pricesreflecting the changes in price of crude oil. We have moved towards digital platformsin fuel retail and payments.

Our government has encouraged private participationacross the entire oil and gas value chainfrom up-stream production to down-stream retail.

Our Government believes in an integrated approach to energy planning. And,our energy agenda in India is inclusive,market based,and climate-sensitive. This,we believe,would go a long waytowards achieving three energy related componentsof the United Nations Sustainable Development Agenda.Namely:

Universal access to modern energy by 2030;

Urgent action to tackle climate change - in line with the Paris agreement;

Measures to improve air quality;

Friends,

We believe access to clean cooking fuelis very important to improve standards of living. Women benefit the most from it. It reduces indoor pollution,and hardships faced in collecting bio-mass and fire-wood.It gives them increased time for further self-development,and taking up additional economic activities.

In India, throughthe UjjwalaYojana we provide free LPG connections to women from poorhouseholds. The aim is toprovide clean LPG cooking connections to 80 million poor households.35 million connections have already been provided in less than two years.

We propose to shift to BS Six fuels by April 2020,which is equivalentto the EURO Six standards.Our refineries are under-going massive up gradation.They are on targetto meet the ambitious deadlines to provide clean fuel. In fact, here in New Delhi,we have already started offering BS Six standard fuel this month.

We have also launched a vehicle scrapping policywhich will help replace old vehicles with cleaner and energy efficient vehicles.

Our oil companies are assessing all their investmentskeeping in view the energy diversification strategies.

Today, oil companies are also investing in wind and solar capacities,gas infrastructure,and also thinking in the direction of investing in Electric Vehicle and Storage areas.

Friends.

As we are all aware, we are now looking towards Industry 4.0, proposing to change the way industry operates in the future with new technologies and processes like Internet of Things, Artificial intelligence, robotics process automation, machine learning, predictive analytics, 3-D printing, etc.

Our companies are also adopting latest technologies.This will improve efficiency,andincrease safety and reduce costsnot only in down-stream retailbut also in up-stream oil production,asset maintenance and remote monitoring.

In this backdrop,India provides the perfect setting for hosting this event, to ponder over the future of the energy sector.To reflect on how global shifts, transition policies and new technologieswill influence market stability and future investment in the sector.

Friends,

The theme of IEF-16 is “The Future of Global Energy Security.” I am told that the Agenda aims to address issues like global shifts in producer–consumer relations, universal energy accessand affordability,and promoting investments in oil and gas to meet future demand.Maintaining energy security and co-existence of new and existing technologies are also to come up for discussion. These are all pertinentsubjects for the future of our collective energy security.

I believe that the discussions at this forumwill go a long way in benefitting the world citizens in accessingclean, affordable and sustainable energy.

I wish you all a successful and fruitful Ministerial Conference.

Thank you

11-April, 2018 12:30 IST
Indian Consortium and Saudi Aramco Sign MoU for Ratnagiri Mega Refinery in Maharashtra

An Indian Consortium consisting of IOCL, BPCL and HPCL and Saudi Aramco signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) here today to jointly develop and build an integrated refinery and petrochemicals complex, Ratnagiri Refinery & Petrochemicals Ltd. (RRPCL) in the State of Maharashtra. Saudi Aramco may also seek to include a strategic partner to co-invest in the project.

The strategic partnership brings together crude supply, resources, technologies, experience and expertise of these multiple oil companies with an established commercial presence around the world.

A pre-feasibility study for the refinery has been completed, and the parties are now finalising the project’s overall configuration. Following the signing of the MoU, the parties will extend their collaboration to discuss the formation of a joint venture that would provide for joint ownership, control and management of the project.

The refinery will be capable of processing 1.2 million barrels of crude oil per day (60 million metric tonnes per annum, or MMTPA). It will produce a range of refined petroleum products, including petrol and diesel meeting BS-VI fuel efficiency norms. The Refinery will also provide feedstock for the integrated petrochemicals complex, which will be capable of producing approx. 18 million tonnes per annum of petrochemical products.

In addition to the refinery, cracker and downstream petrochemicals facilities, the project will also include the development of associated facilities such as a logistics, crude oil and product storage terminals, raw water supply project as well as centralised and shared utilities.

RRPCL will rank among the world’s largest refining & petrochemicals projects and will be designed to meet India’s fast-growing fuels and petrochemicals demand. The project cost is estimated at around Rs.3 lakh crore (USD 44 billion).

Union Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas and Skill Development & Entrepreneurship, Shri Dharmendra Pradhan said that this a joint partnership between the consortium from India consisting of IOCL, HPCL and BPCL and Saudi Aramco & an additional strategic partner on a 50:50 basis.

The Minister said that this project, with an estimated investment of over Rs. 3 lakh crore, would bring huge benefits to the Region, the State of Maharashtra and the entire country in terms of large-scale employment generation, direct and indirect, as well as all-round economic development of the Region. This project is in line with the vision of Hon’ble Prime Minister of India and His Highness the King of Saudi Arabia

Saudi Aramco President and CEO, Amin H. Nasser said that the signing of MoU marks a significant development in India’s Oil & Gas Sector. He further stated that participating in this mega project will allow Saudi Aramco to go beyond the role of crude oil supplier to a fully integrated position which supports India’s future energy demands. He also noted the opening of Aramco Asia’s New Delhi Office in 2017 with a mandate to expand the Saudi Aramco’s international portfolio in this key economic growth region.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi with the other dignitaries, at the 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial Meeting, in New Delhi on April 11, 2018.
s20180411124325.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi with the other dignitaries, at the 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial Meeting, in New Delhi on April 11, 2018.

s20180411124326.jpg

s20180411124327.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi with the other dignitaries, at the 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial Meeting, in New Delhi on April 11, 2018. The Union Minister for Petroleum & Natural Gas and Skill Development & Entrepreneurship, Shri Dharmendra Pradhan is also seen.

s20180411124328.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi at the 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial Meeting, in New Delhi on April 11, 2018.

s20180411124329.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi and other dignitaries at the 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial Meeting, in New Delhi on April 11, 2018.

s20180411124330.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi and other dignitaries at the 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial Meeting, in New Delhi on April 11, 2018.

s20180411124331.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi addressing the 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial Meeting, in New Delhi on April 11, 2018.

s20180411124332.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi addressing the 16th International Energy Forum Ministerial Meeting, in New Delhi on April 11, 2018.

s20180411124333.jpg

s20180411124334.jpg

s20180411124335.jpg

s20180411124336.jpg

12-April, 2018 18:21 IST
Valedictory Address By EAM at the IEF Ministerial Meeting

My colleague Minister of Petroleum & Natural Gas Shri Dharmendra Pradhan Ji,

Participating Ministers,

Heads of International Organisations,

CEOs

Delegates and

Friends

It gives me great pleasure to be with you all at this Valedictory Session of the IEF Ministerial Meeting. I am indeed happy to see that about 40 Energy Ministers, 10 Heads of International Organisations and top CEOs have engaged extensively over the
last two days. Such a broad swath of participation is a rare event in the world. I am delighted that this event took place in India.

During the inaugural session,you heard from my Prime Minister about the importance energy occupies in his policy matrix. His vision has always been to promote energy access, energy sustainability, energy efficiency and energy security.
I am sure, these objectives also guide most of you. Geo-politics is a complex and evolving subject. Geo-politics of oil is even more complex. I hope that your discussions over the last one and a half days have provided more solutions rather than raising more questions.

Oil and Gas are not only strategic commodities,but price variations impact people down to the bottom of the pyramid.

As the third largest consumer of energy, we carefully observe the shifts in centre of gravity of the oil and gas world, the potential technology disruptions, the financialization of the oil markets,climate change imperatives and innovations.

All these elements have an ingrained capacity to create sudden and disruptive pressure on the operations of global energy assets and energy supplies.

As the External Affairs Minister, energy is beginning to occupy more and more space in my world view. Energy is a key engine of our economic growth. It is also a key element of our diplomatic engagement and outreach.

India took the lead during CoP 21 in Paris.
India and France announced the formation of the International Solar Alliance (ISA).
Today ISA is a reality.
Of the 121 prospective nations,
61 have joined the alliance,
32 have also ratified the framework agreement. The successful first ISA summit in Delhi last month saw the participation of 23 Heads of State and Government and over 75 Ministers. Our commitment is amply reflected in our efforts at a national level.
In India, we have started the world's largest renewable energy expansion program.

We will generate 175 GW of electricity from renewable sources of energy by 2022, of which 100 GW will be from solar power. We have already achieved 20 GW installed solar power. Time again has come for India to take the lead, which according to most projections will lead incremental growth in energy consumption and show the way towards green and clean energy.

We have been working to promote “Climate Justice” to protect the poor and vulnerable from
adverse impacts of climate change.Several schemes have been launched to achieve universal access to
clean, sustainable & affordable energy for our poor.

Prime Minister Modi launched the Saubhagya Scheme in September 2017. It aims at electrifying 40million additional households by December 2018 at an investment of US$ 2.5 billion.

Currently, India’s per capita energy consumption is almost one tenth of that of some of the advanced countries. I assure you that we will be responsible in our incremental energy consumption. However, in this regard, India expects the world to share technology knowhow and partnership to achieve the objective of providing clean and affordable energy to its citizen.On the oil and gas front, the rapid expansion of infrastructure and enhanced energy availability has been marked by two clear objectives:
(i) promote energy access; and
(ii) promote clean and affordable energy.

India accords high priority to promoting a gas based economy. Currently natural gas forms a relatively small share of the energy mix. Gas infrastructure projects of over US $ 8 billion are under implementation across the country.
We aim to increase share of natural gas in energy mix from current 6.5% to 15% by 2022. In the last 20 months, under the UJJWALA scheme,35 million new households have started using LPG, taking LPG penetration from 56% in 2014 to 80%. India will leap from Euro IV to Euro VI fuel by April 2020. There is also a concerted effort of replacing Fossil Fuels by Bio-Fuels.

We are well aware that just as energy is a key pillar for our economic growth & development, it is also the same for our neighbours. Our government has been following ‘Neighbourhood First’ in our foreign policy. In line with this policy, we strongly believe that our efforts to build our oil and gas infrastructure should also benefit our neighbours and promote economic development and raise their standards of living. We appreciate the close cooperation of our neighbours in this regard. India supplies 100% of the domestic requirement of petroleum products to landlocked Nepal since 1974.

Last week Prime Minister Modi and Prime Minister Oli of Nepal jointly initiated work on a petroleum product pipeline between India and Nepal. We are also working with Nepal to increase availability of LPG and natural gas and build an
efficient distribution system.

India is engaged with Bangladesh to build a pipeline to supply Diesel to Parbatipur and natural gas to power plant at Khulna. Work is also in progress to build LNG terminals, both land based and floating.

In Bhutan too, India supplies 100% of their petroleum products requirements. We are working closely with them to increase LPG penetration based on our own successful Ujjwala programme.

The Sri Lankan government has been according priority for enhanced use of gas. In this context, India is engaged in setting up an LNG terminal in Sri Lanka to introduce gas as an important and sustainable energy source. In Myanmar, we are working closely with the government to promote use of LPG and provide diesel to the North West region through refineries in our North Eastern states.

A new policy framework has been brought in by our Government, termed as the Hydrocarbon Exploration & Licensing Policy (HELP).

The key elements are:
(i) A single uniform license for exploration and development of both conventional & unconventional hydrocarbon prospects;

(ii) A simple and easy to administer Revenue Sharing Contract Model;

(iii) Full freedom in pricing & marketing of crude oil & natural gas produced;

(iv) Simplified fiscal regime with no levy of cess on crude oil, exemption of custom duty, and,

(v) low graded royalty rates including zero royalty for deep water and ultra-deep water areas during
first seven years.

India is becoming an increasingly attractive investment destination, particularly in oil and gas sector. You are all familiar with the massive economic transformation India is undergoing under the leadership of Prime Minister Modi.

The overhauled indirect tax system with the introduction of GST, programmes to promote skills and domestic manufacture, and the increasing ease of doing business augers well for FDI.Energy fuels growth. Energy fuels aspirations. Energy should also fuel sustainability.
No country, international organization or company alone can provide all the answers.

I am confident that the new ideas, new solutions and new approaches provided by IEF Ministerial Meeting will ensure that we are all better off and the earth is a greener and happier place.
As Helen Keller says, “Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much.

I thank you for your attention.

12-April, 2018 16:51 IST
16th International Energy Forum Ministerial Minister’s Shri Dharmendra Pradhan speech at Concluding Session New Delhi, April 12, 2018

Hon’ble External Affairs Minister Smt. Sushma Swaraj ji,

His Excellency Dr. Sun Xiansheng, Secretary General, International Energy Forum;

My esteemed ministerial colleagues from various countries;

Heads of International Organisations;

CEOs of global oil and gas companies;

Delegates and Friends from media

At the outset, let me thank you all for making the last two days, “Days of Energy”. Let me also thank you for fuelling them with your valuable insights. It is rare for such a distinguished cross-section of Energy Ministers, Heads of International Organisations and CEOs to gather and debate at one place. When such a meeting does take place, that too on a neutral platform which the IEF provides, the global discourse on energy gets richer, more focused and result-oriented.

Today, we find ourselves at a critical juncture faced with a rapidly-transforming energy landscape bringing in changes that are not reversible. We are at such a point, when we have to assess the impact of disruptive technologies, innovations, changes in trade and investment patterns, geopolitics and climate change issues.

It is not easy to sum up the rich intellectual discussions which have taken place in the last two days. However, we have attempted a “Concluding Statement” which reflects on the discussions that have taken place. A copy of the concluding statement has been distributed. The statement will also be put up on IEF website and shared with the media.

I note with satisfaction that the substantive agenda for this meeting, which was drawn up in an inclusive and consultative process of the Executive Board, proved stimulating and thought-provoking. We also experimented with a new format for this Ministerial Meeting. Instead of sitting around a table and relying on speeches, we opted for an interactive format in order to generate deeper multi-way dialogue on key issues. The moderators brought in their wide experience to tickle the participant’s intellect and have a substantive and in-depth discussion.

I am happy to share that there was as much discussion on the sidelines as was inside the two meetings halls. This is exactly what we hoped for - a multi-way and multi-dimensional discussion on energy issues.

You heard from Prime Minister Modi yesterday about his vision. Sharing his vision, Prime Minister Modi mentioned 4 pillars – energy access, energy efficiency, energy sustainability and energy security. He also mentioned that Oil and Gas are a commodity of trade but also of necessity. The world needs to move from roller coaster prices to stable and responsible pricing, that balances the interests of both the producer and consumer. He called for a mutually supportive relationship between producers and consumers. The neutral platform of the IEF is the perfect place to build a global consensus on energy-related issues.

While this is the vision of my Prime Minister, it has resonance with most Governments. Energy has to fuel growth. Growth has to fuel development. Development has to raise the standard of living of our people and make the world a happier and more equitable place to live in.

At this stage, I would also like to share an Indian perspective on our expectations from the global hydrocarbon industry as we go forward. India, as already mentioned during this conference, is presently the world’s 3rd largest energy consumer. By all accounts, India’s oil & gas demand is expected to increase nearly 3 fold from 229 Million Metric Tons currently to 607 Million Metric Tons in 2040.

Our rural areas are fast emerging as key demand centers for auto-fuels. At the same time, India is rapidly urbanising: our urban population is tipped to increase from 31% in 2011 to almost 41% in 2030. India is also demographically a young country with half of our population below 25 years of age and about 65% people below 35 years of age. With more and more people coming out of poverty, an aspiring middle class, larger than the population of several countries, has come into existence. Upward social mobility has also led to changed consumption patterns and more energy-intensive lifestyles.

In order to meet the exploding energy needs of its vast population, India imports a large proportion of its crude oil and gas requirements. The average Indian energy buyer is also highly price conscious. It is in this context, therefore, that as a large and reliable consumer of energy, India has often advocated the concept of Reasonable and Responsible energy pricing. With the technological advancements in solar, wind and other renewables driving down energy prices, there are alternatives available today for average consumers. I would like to utilize this platform to urge both producers and consumers, once again, to work for a more equitable pricing regime rather than trying to artificially manage the volume of production and price of crude.

Before closing, let me add a word about investment, which the theme for this Ministerial Forum rightly recognizes, as a key element influencing global energy security. The hydrocarbon industry needs continuous investment in terms of technology, resources and manpower to realize its true potential. I would like to reiterate that the Indian hydrocarbon sector is open for investment. We invite and welcome investors to invest in India’s upstream, midstream and downstream sectors as well as for technological, R&D and academic collaborations.

The schedule of this Ministerial meeting was tight, but I hope that during your stay in Delhi, you got a taste of India - its vibrant economy, its culture, its traditions, its food and I do hope that you will come back to India very soon.

Thank you all.

Click here to see Concluding statement at IEF2018 by Host Country India

Click here to see Press Remarks by Petroleum Minister Shri Dharmendra Pradhan 12 April 2018

pibimage.jpg

Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
04-October, 2018 14:29 IST
Experts Laud India’s Ambitious Offshore WindTarget; Express Optimism

A session titled ‘A Leap Into Offshore’ was held at the 2nd Global RE-INVEST India-ISA Partnership Renewable Energy Investors Meet & Expo at Greater Noida on 3rd October, 2018. Moderated by Mr Steve Sawyer, Secretary General, Global Wind Energy Council (GWEC), the session saw top global experts lauding India’s 30 GW offshore wind industry target by 2030.

Mr Morten Dyrholm, Global Senior Vice President, Marketing, Public Affairs and Communication, Vestas said: “We should indeed applaud the Indian government to set the bar high. We are very optimistic but India needs a fresh approach because we cannot copy-paste the European example here.” Mr Morten Bæk, Vice Minister, Ministry of Energy, Utilities and Climate, Denmarktoo called India’s 30GW offshore target “an ambitious and impressive one.”

The National Institute of Wind Energy (NIWE) has called for ‘Expression of Interest’ for the first offshore wind energy project of India, a 1000 MW offshore wind energy project in Gulf of Khambat, off the coast of Gujarat.MNRE plans to install at least 5 GW of offshore wind capacity by 2022.

Mr Raj Gopal, Principal Secretary-Energy and Petrochemical Department, Government of Gujarat, urged everyone to look at the OFTO model. “The on-shore wind sites are getting saturated and the advantages of off-shore energy are evident. Developers need to collaborate and bring synergy. We also need to think of storage.”

Mr Rajnish Sharma, Technology Director, Wind & Low Carbon Solutions, Equinorshared “there is a lot of drive in corporate India combined with passion and yes-we-can-do mentality. However, it is also important to have a realistic timeline.”

Mr Bhanu Pratap Yadav, Joint Secretary, MNRE remarked that India is moving cautiously, but firmly in the direction towards offshore winds.

Mr UlrikStridbæk, VP, Head of Regulatory Affairs, ØrstedWind Poweragreed saying: “The Indian government and policy makers are on the right path as they have set clear targets. The scenario is very promising. The clarity and transparency is helpful for us developers. Off shore wind power is the shooting star in the renewable energy sector and it is competing with conventional technologies and driving cost reduction.”

About 2nd Global RE-Invest India-ISA Partnership Renewable Energy Investors Meet & Expo:

RE-Invest is a global platform to explore strategies for development and deployment of renewables. It showcases India’s clean energy market and the Government’s efforts to scale up capacity to meet the national energy demand in socially, economically and ecologically sustainable ways. The 2nd Global RE-Invest will build upon the success of RE-Invest 2015 and provide an international forum to established players as well as new segments of investors and entrepreneurs to engage, ideate and innovate.

About ISA:

Vision and mission of the International Solar Alliance is to provide a dedicated platform for cooperation among solar resource rich countries where the global community, including bilateral and multilateral organizations, corporates, industry, and other stakeholders, can make a positive contribution to assist and help achieve the common goals of increasing the use of solar energy in meeting energy needs of prospective ISA member countries in a safe, convenient, affordable, equitable and sustainable manner.

For more details:

Twitter: @REInvestIndia

Facebook: @REInvestIndia

pibimage.jpg

04-October, 2018 14:28 IST
Over 10,000 people attend Re-Invest 2018 on day one; event a grand success

Over 10,000 people attended the 2nd Global RE-Invest India-ISA Partnership Renewable Energy Experts’ Meet & Expo (RE-Invest 2018) on day one, the 3rd, October, 2018 at Greater Noida. This included over 5000 delegates and180 exhibitors. There were 354 business to business bilateral meetings held on day one.The power-packed sessions included the First Assembly of the International Solar Alliance, 2nd Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) Energy Experts Meeting, Chief Ministerial Plenary and country sessions by USA and France among others.

The first Assembly of International Solar Alliance was presided by the Minister of State (IC), Power and Renewable Energy, Shri R K Singh and Minister of State, Ministry of Ecological and Solidary Transition, France, Ms Brune Poirson co-presided the Assembly.

During the business proceedings of the Assembly, a joint declaration was signed between Indian Ocean Rim Association and International Solar Alliance. The Government of Haryana announced solar award in partnership with ISA in memory of Kalpana Chawla, the first woman astronaut of Indian origin to go to space. The Memorandum of Understanding was signed by Minister of Energy, Government of Haryana Dr. Banwari Lal, with ISA in the presence of the President and Co-President of the Assembly.

The corporate partners of ISA presented three cheques for the Corpus Fund of ISA. The first cheque was presented by Secretary Power, Government of India Mr A K Bhalla, and CMD, Power Finance Corporation Mr Rajeev Sharma, for 1USD million. The second cheque was presented by General Manager, Coal India G S Bhatti, for 1USD million. The third cheque was presented by Executive Director, ITPO Mr Deepak Kumar for 2USD million.

Throughout the day, renewable energy experts from the IORA countries deliberated on ways to collaborate and formulate strategies for rapid development and deployment of renewables.

The Chief Ministerial PlenarySession saw representatives from Himachal Pradesh, Puducherry, Andaman & Nicobar Islands and Uttar Pradesh sharing the renewable energy policy initiatives implemented by these states in order to invite investors.

There were country sessions by France and the United States, in which experts from these countries showcased their achievements and shed light on technological trends in different spheres of renewable energy.France and USA organized dedicated country sessions, which culminated in the signing of MoUs (Memorandum of Understanding) and a Joint Announcement.An MoU was signed between the French Agency for Development and Solar Energy Corporation of India, on innovation in Solar Energy and another MoU was signed between the French Commission for Atomic and Alternative Energies (CEA) – Bollore’ Blue Solutions, and Solar Energy Corporation of India (SECI), on storage, grid management and e-mobility. A Joint Announcement of Demand Aggregation Pilots was made between India and USA in the country session by USA.

Day one also witnessed two special sessions. Masayoshi Son, Chief Executive Officer of SoftBank Group, addressed the first special session where he talked about the low prices of solar power in India and highlighted the fact that his solar energy projects will provide free electricity to ISA member countries after 25 years of PPA.

The second special session was addressed by Sonam Wangchuk, Founding Director, Students’ Educational and Cultural Movement of Ladakh. He spoke about how investments in renewable energy must be driven by concern for the planet instead of pure financial gain.Mr Sonam Wangchuk said, “Energy saved is energy generated. If each Indian were to set their watch ahead by one hour from the Indian Standard Time during summer season, the country would save millions of megawatts of energy and benefit enormously. Currently, some countries practice day-light saving time, but if a country the size of India does it, it will be great for the planet,” Wangchuk said.

Sessions titled ‘A Leap Into Offshore’ and ‘Winds of Change’ was also organized, in which top global wind energy experts lauded India’s 30 GW offshore wind energy generation target by 2030. The panel discussed prudent policies to boost investments to accelerate growth of the offshore wind market in India.

On 4th October, the 2nd IORA Renewable Energy Ministerial Meeting is scheduled to take place in addition to ISA expert sessions. Sessions on India’s Energy Basket 2030, Renewable & Grid Challenges, storage solutions, Future of Solar Energy, Corporate Renewable Energy Buyers Roundtable, India’s Rooftop Solar Programme will of special interest.Country sessions by European Union, Australia, UK will also take place through the day focusing on rooftop solar market trends, accelerating innovative financing and technologies for renewables among others. States like Maharashtra, Karnataka will showcase their policy initiatives to invite investors.

On 5th October, the third and final day of RE-Invest 2018, sessions like ‘Making Renewables in India’, ‘Clean Cooking’, country session by Germany and Finland, showcase of policy initiatives by states like Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat and Punjab, are scheduled.

For more details:

pibimage.jpg

04-October, 2018 13:47 IST
States invite investors; promise full support to meet renewable targets

The Chief Minsters’ Plenary Session at the 2nd Global RE-INVEST India-ISA Partnership Renewable Energy Investors Meet & Expo saw representatives of Himachal Pradesh, Puducherry, Andaman & Nicobar Islands and Uttar Pradesh sharing the renewable energy policy initiatives implemented by these states and their vision for capacity expansion.

The session was moderated on October, 3, 2018 by Shri Chandrajit Banerjee, Director General, Confederation of Indian Industries.

Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh, Shri Jai Ram Thakur shared that Himachal Pradesh is planning to allot a solar power project of 1000 MW in Lahaul Spiti, and has taken several steps to attract investments in renewable energy. “Himachal Pradesh is offering land at Re 1 per square meter for renewable energy projects. The state has deferred royalty payments from renewable energy projects. Additionally, Himachal Pradesh has also taken another step to encourage the investors by declaring that for renewable energy projects of up to 25MW, state electricity board will buy power directly.”

Chief Minister of Puducherry, Shri V Narayanasamy said, “The government must support innovation in renewable energy to achieve India’s ambitious targets. The government should protect domestic investors from foreign investors. It must provide subsidy, tax holiday for domestic players to set up solar panel manufacturing facilities in India.” He added, “Puducherry is a Union Territory and needs the government’s support to develop its renewable energy sector. The government’s renewable energy policy should be implementable, feasible and acceptable.”

Briefing about the renewable energy initiatives of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lt Governor of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Admiral (Retd) Devendra Kumar Joshi said, “Andaman & Nicobar is witnessing the development of world class infrastructure and tourism projects. There will therefore be increased demand for energy and an opportunity to invest in the renewable energy sector. Projects of 45 MW of solar energy in and around Port Blair alone are planned to be set up. All new buildings in cities will mandatorily have provision for roof-top solar and this policy will be extended to rural areas.”

Minister of Additional Energy Sources in the Government of Uttar Pradesh Shri BrajeshPathak, said, “The UP government has provided for single window online clearance of rooftop solar. We have also provided 100% stamp duty exemption on land bought for setting up solar energy plants. Additionally, UP is providing 50% concession on charges on solar electricity sold within the state and 100% concession on solar electricity sold outside the state.”

Shri Pathak called for a solar revolution akin to the country’s telecom revolution. “Every house should install a 5KW roof top panel and reap the returns.We shall extend all our support to institutional investors as well as to individual households to adopt solar energy. Lucknow alone has 700 km of rooftops, which can be used for solar energy generation”, he added.

For more details:

pibimage.jpg

01-November, 2018 11:39 IST
Resolution in the first Assembly of the International Solar Alliance for amending the Framework Agreement of the International Solar Alliance for opening up the International Solar Alliance membership to all countries that are members of the United Nations

Benefits:

Opening the membership of the International Solar Alliance will put solar energy in global agenda with the universal appeal for developing and deploying solar energy. It will make International Solar Alliance inclusive, whereby all member countries that are members of the United Nations could become member. Expanding membership will lead to International Solar Alliance initiative benefitting the world at large.

NW/AKT/SH