Ravi zone development: American-Pakistani team could get consultancy

Edevelop

657076-raviriver-1389336557-414-640x480.jpg

LAHORE: A joint venture between an American company and two Pakistani companies is likely to win consultancy for the River Ravi Development Zone Project, The Express Tribune has learnt.

As many as 19 companies had submitted expressions of interest to the Urban Unit on August 25 and seven were shortlisted.

Out of these, four submitted technical and financial bids. NESPAK’s proposal was not considered on account of lacking international associates.

The three qualifying companies included Korean Yooshin Engineering Corporation, Singapore’s MeinHardt Group and American company International Waterfront Consultants (IWC) in a joint venture with G3 International Consultants (Pvt) Ltd and Consultants Group (CG).

IWC is likely to win the contract by being the lowest bidder, officials close to the evaluation of bids said.

Lahore Commissioner Rashid Mehmood Langrial told The Express Tribune, “Financial bids for the project have been opened and the lowest bidder has been identified.”

He said a final decision was expected to be announced by next week.

LDA’s Metropolitan Planning Director Khalid Lodhi confirmed that the IWC was the lowest bidder and could be notified as winner after the financial bids had been thoroughly analysed. He said the winning company would be given 10 months to submit their pre-feasibility, feasibility and detailed reports.

River Ravi Development Zone Project is estimated to cost $7 billion. LDA, in its meeting in July 2013, concluded that it was not financially capable of developing such a project.

The authority sought a feasibility study by reputed international and local firms so that funding could be attracted to meet the expense of the project.

The project includes high-quality residential, commercial, institutional, cultural and recreational zones along both banks of River Ravi on a stretch of 33 kilometres.

G3 International Consultants Engineering Director Saifullah Ejaz said according to the estimates of partner companies, the project would cost around $14 billion.

He said his company was the only bidding firm having with an international partner with relevant experience in water development projects. He said the company was planning a high-tech settlement in between Lahore and Shiekhupura. He said this would be the first ‘smart’ city in the country.

He said given the magnitude of the project, the company would recommend various financial models, including build-operate transfer and build-lease transfer and partnerships with more international firms.

He said thousands of people would benefit from the project.

He said this would not only be an up scale housing society but also have high-tech industrial zones, education zones, medical zones with underground wiring and metro facilities. He said a water treatment plant would be designed to clean sewerage water.

He said the mini-city would also be environment friendly.

Ravi zone development: American-Pakistani team could get consultancy – The Express Tribune

@cb4 - Butt Sahib, on one hand we've got PTI who lives from Dharna to Dharna on the other we've got the PPP who'd suck us dry given the chance & in between we've got the PML N who'd prioritize a ludicrous Ravi Development Project over a myriad other projects that could've been developed here in Pakistan - Mein kidhaaar aapnaa sir maarooon ! :hitwall:

Quite frankly, i'm sick and tired of internal politics. I give credit to PML-N in being practically ' focused to fulfill promises'. I personally like their approach of making Pakistan economically strong. You can only defeat terrorism and other domestic forms of violence and crimes when you give share of bread.

Butt sahab the fact of the matter is, i can argue with you about urban development all day, but let me just make one thing clear here. Do you support FDI or not ?

After you have answered my first question with a 'Yes', let me now move on to say that what you have read so far (the Title) is not what you think it is. It is Private Development as an official from the Provincial Government described themselves to be financially weak. Furthermore, it outlines that it is more likely to be a BoT (Build Operate Transfer). Hearing that American-Pakistani could potentially win this contract is actually a good initiative to promote Overseas Pakistanis to lift Pakistan's economy.

Its not the end of the world when you have one project. There are hundreds of projects out there with hundreds of companies in the country involved in all sorts of developments. Of course Energy is utmost required as its a basic need. but from the performance and dedication, it looks like is being prioritized the most.

Sadly, there is no country in the world, including in the so called developed, having every city as developed as one major city. There is no perfection. You cannot plan things out the same including cost for a city of 10 million people with a city of 1 million. Its a whole new topic when you we speak of urbanization and its geopgraphical and social nature. I have nothing more to add but a hope that more and more development takes place across other cities and other provinces.

Quite frankly, i'm sick and tired of internal politics. I give credit to PML-N in being practically ' focused to fulfill promises'. I personally like their approach of making Pakistan economically strong. You can only defeat terrorism and other domestic forms of violence and crimes when you give share of bread.

Butt sahab the fact of the matter is, i can argue with you about urban development all day, but let me just make one thing clear here. Do you support FDI or not ?

After you have answered my first question with a 'Yes', let me now move on to say that what you have read so far (the Title) is not what you think it is. It is Private Development as an official from the Provincial Government described themselves to be financially weak. Furthermore, it outlines that it is more likely to be a BoT (Build Operate Transfer). Hearing that American-Pakistani could potentially win this contract is actually a good initiative to promote Overseas Pakistanis to lift Pakistan's economy.

Its not the end of the world when you have one project. There are hundreds of projects out there with hundreds of companies in the country involved in all sorts of developments. Of course Energy is utmost required as its a basic need. but from the performance and dedication, it looks like is being prioritized the most.

Sadly, there is no country in the world, including in the so called developed, having every city as developed as one major city. There is no perfection. You cannot plan things out the same including cost for a city of 10 million people with a city of 1 million. Its a whole new topic when you we speak of urbanization and its geopgraphical and social nature. I have nothing more to add but a hope that more and more development takes place across other cities and other provinces.

Butt Sahib its not that I don't think its not a good thing, I just don't think its the one thing we need right now !

There is a whole list of things that could be improved right now where potential foreign investment could be attracted; let us begin with water sanitation, solid waste disposal, inviting service based companies to come here on a zero tax for the next 10 years policy, asking foreign companies to come & construct high-ways expanding the Motorways, asking foreign companies to build smaller barrages here in the Punjab along with having model farms on the cultivable land they provide where the profits from the produce are shared between the investing company & individual trusts employing thousands of farmers on those lands etc.

There are million & one ways that can be thought to attract foreign investment here to address some of our more pressing issues & that the benefit of that foreign investment percolates down to the common man more readily than the construction of a planned city on the banks of the River Ravi would !

Military Forum Latest Posts