PDF THINK TANK: ANALYST

Provinces asked to crack down on Rs800 bn power thieves

Tahir Khalil
Wednesday, August 28, 2013
From Print Edition

ISLAMABAD: The federal government has written a letter to provincial governments to launch a crackdown on influential accused involved in the Rs800 billion electricity theft annually.

According to the federal government, influential people and mafia are involved in Rs200 billion power pilferage annually in every province of the country. It was made clear in the letter that the federal government would itself take action in case of non-cooperation by any province in this regard and the concerned provincial governments would be responsible for maintaining law and order during the action. The government has prepared lists of power thieves and Kunda mafia.

Excerpt: Provinces asked to crack down on Rs800 bn power thieves - thenews.com.pk

Strong action by the new government, so far PM Nawaz Sharif and his cabinet are doing a superb job.

When are the power thieves in India going to be brought to book too? We should follow Nawaz Sharif's example and hang them by their balls!

Do you think Sonia Gandhi or Manmohan singh are corrupt?

Are you serious ? Rs 800 billion is a huge figure !

All that happened under the vile degenerate PPP Government of Zardari.

then why was punjab government failed to cut electricity thieves when they had the chance last time when punjabis suffered 12-18 hr load shedding?

this is all jut a bakwas nothing else

Well we would appreciate you not bringing India in every thread.

then why was punjab government failed to cut electricity thieves when they had the chance last time when punjabis suffered 12-18 hr load shedding?

this is all jut a bakwas nothing else
Well its for their own interest, from this year on wards, if the provinces don't recover power and utility dues, the amount will be deducted from federal transfers. Whatever Punjab is doing it for its own interest, if other provinces don't wana follow the lead, its their choice, lesser development spending for them in the future. :)

no, my question is punjab is the biggest electricity chor, why didnt shahbaz shareef curbed electricity chori in punjab last five years? when punjab was burning 12-18 hours a day?

and lol dear, you cant actually bully anything here, karachi generates 70% of the revenue of pakistan, sindh generates 70% of the gas and thus electricity

no revenue no tax, no development for entire punjab

if punjab tries to do anything we will first stop punjab using the port and then we will stop giving you the gas :lol:

according to the law sindh can first satisfy all its needs before giving away anything to punjab

where will you replace from furnace oil to coal when it will be sindh which eill be giving you 99.99% of the coal

so the card is your hand to play wisely

No government has done anything to stop bijlee chori. Full stop.

I am waiting to see what the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government announces on this front because it seems they are the only ones with a solution.

no,my question is punjab is the biggest electricity chor, why didnt shahbaz shareef curbed electricity chori in punjab last five years? when punjab was burning 12-18 hours a day?

and lol dear, you cant actually bully anything here, karachi generates 70% of the revenue of pakistan, sindh generates 70% of the gas and thus electricity

no revenue no tax, no development for entire punjab

if punjab tries to do anything we will first stop punjab using the port and then we will stop giving you the gas :lol:

according to the law sindh can first satisfy all its needs before giving away anything to punjab

where will you replace from furnace oil to coal when it will be sindh which eill be giving you 99.99% of the coal

so the card is your hand to play wisely
A food for thought
The Senate session, chaired by Nayyar Hussain Bokhari, was told by the ministry in a written response that FESCO, GEPCO, LESCO, MEPCO, IESCO, SEPCO, HESCO, PEPCO, and KESCO lost Rs 600 million, Rs 360 million, Rs 2.35 billion, Rs 280 million, Rs 3.66 billion, Rs 7.47 billion, Rs 16.17 billion, Rs 59 billion and Rs 90 billion respectively on account of theft and line losses.
Rs90b lost in power theft, Senate told
Leakage and theft: Power worth Rs90 billion lost – The Express Tribune
Just compare the figures with the rest and you will get your answer. Despite this only Punjab government has the spine to work against thieves. Have your party done anything even in slightest sense in this regard?

A food for thought

Rs90b lost in power theft, Senate told
Leakage and theft: Power worth Rs90 billion lost – The Express Tribune
Just compare the figures with the rest and you will get your answer. Despite this only Punjab government has the spine to work against thieves. Have your party done anything even in slightest sense in this regard?

i think you failed to read this

http://www.defence.pk/forums/social...yment-bills-punjab-electricity-gas-theft.html

KESC has done a lot for curbing power theft and thats why despite being twice of lahore, karachi still faces less electricity load shedding then lahore, despite being the industrial hub and despite punjabi federal government cutting karachi power

if sindh wants it can stop gas supply to punjab because punjab is the biggest gas thief in the country

Look at the Page 3-4,probably the sentence suits you better.
KESC has done a lot for curbing power theft and thats why despite being twice of lahore, karachi still faces less electricity load shedding then lahore,
Being a private company, that is what they do, but have your party ever during its 13 years supported KESE's anti theft drive politically? Rather it was PPP,MQM nexus which stopped KESE to fire 4000 Muftakhor employees inserted into the organization by these two parties. Facepalm, no?
despite being the industrial hub and despite punjabi federal government cutting karachi power
Don't know about industrial but it has become a hub of violence recently.
if sindh wants it can stop gas supply to punjab because punjab is the biggest gas thief in the country
I guess the gas is produced by "Rural Sindh" not the "Urban Sindh" as your party's ethnic politics policy. First accept the mandate of Rural Sindh before becoming their thekaydars.

Don't know about industrial but it has become a hub of violence recently.

then please return to faisalabad, why are you staying in karachi, go earn your bread in faisalabad, we dont want thankless people over burdening our already overburdened city

Being thankless is one thing but being a thakaydar and racist is another.

go back to your faisalabad you thankless guy

if you dont own karachi, you have no rights being in the city

karachi me rehna he tu karachi ko own kerna seekho

rone gaane se, karachi ko bura bhala kehne se kuch nahi hota

karachi tum jaise naa shukre logon ko paal raha he

tum jaise logon ko to samundar burd ker dena chahye

punjab itna acha he to jao punjab waapis, we dont need you ok?

hissa lene to ajate ho yahan, karachi ko own tk nahi kerte