Poor economic management: Amid declining exports, trade deficit widens 15.4%

Qalandari

ISLAMABAD:
Despite the government’s attempts at reducing the trade deficit, Pakistan’s overall exports to the rest of the world remained dismal during the first nine months of the ongoing fiscal year, standing only at $18 billion.

While exports plunged almost 6% during the July-March period, imports in the same period grew on an average of 3%, widening the trade deficit by 15.4%, said the Pakistan Bureau of Statistics on Tuesday.

In absolute terms, the trade deficit widened to $16.2 billion in first three quarters of the current fiscal year, which was roughly $2 billion more than the projections of the International Monetary Fund. The wide gap between actual trade deficit and the IMF’s projections will also have implications on overall financing requirements.

graph-03.jpg

In its latest report that was released early this month, the IMF had projected a $14.1-billion gap between exports and imports for the July-March period.

Pakistan’s exports contracted 5.95% in July-March, amounting to $17.93 billion. The export receipts were $1.1 billion less than the exports made in the comparative period of the previous fiscal year. It was more than the amount the country raised from international debt markets by floating Islamic bonds. Exports were $413 million less than IMF’s projections.

Pakistan has been availing duty-free access to European markets and also trying to win similar benefits from the United States. Although, the country is said to have made $1 billion additional gains by availing the GSP Plus facility, its overall exports are badly hurt due to loss of competiveness and extremely narrow export-base.

Contrary to contraction in exports, Pakistan’s import bill increased to $34.1 billion in the first nine months of the fiscal year, showing an increase of $1.1 billion or 3.1% over last year’s imports. The IMF had projected that Pakistan’s imports would grow to $32.5 billion in first nine months – an assessment that went off the mark by $1.6 billion. The increase in imports has occurred despite a decreasing oil import bill, caused by a plunge in global oil prices.

National planners have projected a 5.8% growth in exports and 6.2% growth in imports for the current fiscal year. The government has projected that imports in the current fiscal year will increase to $44.2 billion as against $26.99-billion of exports, meaning the trade deficit will stand at $17.2 billion. The IMF has recently revised its trade projections for Pakistan. As against earlier projections of 1% growth in exports, the IMF sees a negative half percentage point growth. Similarly, it has lowered import growth projections from 6% to 3.2%.

The higher than the projected trade gap may compound the government’s woes that is struggling to achieve the upward revised target of building foreign currency reserves. The IMF has asked the government to increase State Bank of Pakistan’s gross official reserves to $15.43 billion by the end of the current fiscal year.

Yearly statistics

The yearly trade figures also portray similar trends. In March alone, the trade deficit widened 13.7% to $1.58 billion, according to the PBS.

As against $2.23 billion exports of March last year, the receipts from exports stood at $1.9 billion last month, showing contraction of 13.5%. The imports in last month also plunged to $3.5 billion – lower by 3.1% over imports in the same month previous year.

On a monthly basis, trade deficit in March also widened by 8.5% over February due to 2.6% growth in exports and 5.2% increase in imports, data from PBS showed.

9MFY15: Amid declining exports, trade deficit widens 15.4% - The Express Tribune

because gov. keeps interfering in currency markets....In my opinion this is entirely due to the artificially lowered dollar prices....

genius if dollar gets stronger there will be less dollars coming in since Pakistan only has x amount of products and y amount of quantity to export.

-with a cheaper dollar, imported goods are cheaper.
-with a cheaper dollar, for every dollar worth of export you get less rupees which puts upward pressure on export product prices, which makes exports less profitable and possibly less price competitive in international markets if exporters raise prices.

with the amount of export Pakistan does dollar value matters squat
right now you biggest export is human which brings you remmitances, cheaper dollar means those poor soles living outside send more dollars.

But we have greater imports than exports so exports loss could be offset by cheaper import prices due to dollars.

These are trade deficit figure why remittances are taken iNto account. by the way fall in export merchanzide will hit the industry.

with the amount of export Pakistan does dollar value matters squat
right now you biggest export is human which brings you remmitances, cheaper dollar means those poor soles living outside send more dollars.

Go tell that to the USD10B textile export industry which is competing on prices with China, India, Bangladesh, Thailand etc...

Your second line makes little sense....Before, their families in pakistan would get 110 rupees for every dollar, now they're getting just rs 100 for every dollar...

how ever for the guy who wanted to import stuff, previously a dollar worth of goods cost rs.110, now its cheaper at just rs.100. So the importer will definitely take advantage of low dollar prices and import even more stuff than before.

But we have greater imports than exports so exports loss could be offset by cheaper import prices due to dollars.

These are trade deficit figure why remittances are taken iNto account. by the way fall in export merchanzide will hit the industry.

no. You don't understand, since dollars are suddenly cheaper, imported stuff is cheaper in rupees and exports are less profitable in rupees. Overall, pakistan will loose more forex than before with these exchange rates.

pakistan balances out its current account for a large part using remittances and there's those idiots saying pak should risk more than USD8B worth of remittances coming in from arab countries by not supporting their war...

Go tell that to the USD10B textile export industry which is competing on prices with China, India, Bangladesh, Thailand etc...

Your second line makes little sense....Before, their families in pakistan would get 110 rupees for every dollar, now they're getting just rs 100 for every dollar...

how ever for the guy who wanted to import stuff, previously a dollar worth of goods cost rs.110, now its cheaper at just rs.100. So the importer will definitely take advantage of low dollar prices and import even more stuff than before.

My first line only makes little sense to you because you are not in my shoes, to me it makes a lot of sense because I took responsibility of one kids university education and a year ago I was sending 1000 every semester now I am sending 1300....this is where your govt claims "Hamari policy ki waja se remmitances berh rehy hay" :)

as far a dollars earned by exports, you are a part of Quota regime :(

no. You don't understand, since dollars are suddenly cheaper, imported stuff is cheaper in rupees and exports are less profitable in rupees. Overall, pakistan will loose more forex than before with these exchange rates.

pakistan balances out its current account for a large part using remittances and there's those idiots saying pak should risk more than USD8B worth of remittances coming in from arab countries by not supporting their war...

but what you dont understand is most exports have a good size of imported materials in them, Pakistan hardly has any 100% export products other than rice and cotton. a big part of our textiles uses imported cotton

I know what u were saying. lemme explain a lil more . Imeant if dollar falls ,imports get cheap. Exports bring less forex , but the fall in import prices wont help offsetting the decrease in forex amount, as in books and analysis.
Ok forget,tell me how do u think gov is artifically effecting currency value and why?
Secondly, also read this i took from above, "its overall exports are badly hurt due to loss of competiveness and extremely narrow export-base."
See our export base is effected,and nodoubt power outages....

@Shamain For the life of me I cannot read/understand the last line in your DP. 'Chal beh' I understand but what is 'deya bacheya' ?

Deya in punjabi means....'ka' as in of. Like i say he is his son. So his will be deya.
And bacheya is a punjabi way of saying bacha.
That is, the dp means.
Chal beh keep calm ka bacha.

Deya in punjabi means....'ka' as in of. Like i say he is his son. So his will be deya.
And bacheya is a punjabi way of saying bacha.
That is, the dp means.
Chal beh keep calm ka bacha.
I see now. I got confused because its a mixture of bhaiya Urdu and Punjabi. 'Chal beh' is what Karachi bhaiys would say and rest is Punjabi. Proper Punjabi would be "chal wey keep clam deya bacheya".

Nai naii i only wanted chal beh. It sounds cool to me. Not chal wey. Nai nai yeyi sahi hai :[

My first line only makes little sense to you because you are not in my shoes, to me it makes a lot of sense because I took responsibility of one kids university education and a year ago I was sending 1000 every semester now I am sending 1300....this is where your govt claims "Hamari policy ki waja se remmitances berh rehy hay" :)

as far a dollars earned by exports, you are a part of Quota regime :(

but what you dont understand is most exports have a good size of imported materials in them, Pakistan hardly has any 100% export products other than rice and cotton. a big part of our textiles uses imported cotton

your child is studying in pakistan and you're abroad ? If so, then yes, you've found out about one of those cases where remittances could increase due to cheaper dollar...But we're talking here of import/export , the trade balance.

Exports also have a good amount of local inputs in them like labor, skilled and unskilled both, capital/machinery etc etc. In any case, imports DO increase with a cheaper dollar.....so that's one thing that's hard to argue on. With regards to exports, your point does make sense....

I know what u were saying. lemme explain a lil more . Imeant if dollar falls ,imports get cheap. Exports bring less forex , but the fall in import prices wont help offsetting the decrease in forex amount, as in books and analysis.
Ok forget,tell me how do u think gov is artifically effecting currency value and why?
Secondly, also read this i took from above, "its overall exports are badly hurt due to loss of competiveness and extremely narrow export-base."
See our export base is effected,and nodoubt power outages....

Gov. (SBP) injected something like $50m into currency market just a few months after coming into power and just made threats that traders should sell dollar because prices may fall even more ( lol ). The purpose is to show "stable currency" to awam and with a cheaper dollar people can now buy imported stuff at lower prices...So it's a lolly pop for awam....

your child is studying in pakistan and you're abroad ? If so, then yes, you've found out about one of those cases where remittances could increase due to cheaper dollar...But we're talking here of import/export , the trade balance.

Exports also have a good amount of local inputs in them like labor, skilled and unskilled both, capital/machinery etc etc. In any case, imports DO increase with a cheaper dollar.....so that's one thing that's hard to argue on. With regards to exports, your point does make sense....

Gov. (SBP) injected something like $50m into currency market just a few months after coming into power and just made threats that traders should sell dollar because prices may fall even more ( lol ). The purpose is to show "stable currency" to awam and with a cheaper dollar people can now buy imported stuff at lower prices...So it's a lolly pop for awam....

no its not my child, but this is how it is for everyone who is sending money to Pakistan and hence increasing the amount of remittances...and no we are not only talking about exports we are talking about how value of dollar impacts Pakistan.