Pakistan to buy anti-terror equipment from China

Xeric

RETIRED THINK TANK
Pakistan to buy anti-terror equipment from China: minister :: The Terrorism Research Center ::

Pakistan to buy anti-terror equipment from China: minister
Sat Apr 26, 2:11 AM ET

ISLAMABAD (AFP) - Pakistan will purchase equipment from China to fight terrorist activity, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi said.

China is one of the closest allies and largest arms supplier of Pakistan, which has been hit by a wave of suicide bombings in which more than 1,000 people have died in the past year.

"Pakistan has expressed the desire to purchase some anti-terror equipment from China," Qureshi told a joint press conference with the visiting Chinese foreign minister Yang Jiechi after their talks in Islamabad.

"China has indicated that it will be more than happy to supply this equipment to us, which will strengthen our arms in dealing with terrorist activities."

He did not disclose when and what type of equipment Pakistan would purchase from China.

"We expressed our great desire during the talks to build the bilateral relations to new heights," Qureshi said.

Jiechi said his visit to Pakistan "was another step towards forging even better relationship between the two countries in the fields of defence, economy, investment, energy and security."

"Beijing will further cooperate with Pakistan in dealing firmly with terrorists," he said.

He said that "cooperation between the two countries in peaceful uses of nuclear energy is a great success, as we have undertaken some good projects in Pakistan."

"We think that Pakistan has a right to peaceful uses of nuclear energy," Jiechi added.

Asked if China will participate in a multi-billion-dollar gas pipeline project with Iran and Pakistan, he said, "we are seriously studying China's participation in the project."

"But we need to have more information from Pakistan side about the project," he said.

pehlay fighter jet now the AT equipemnent....is it guud or bad..???

thats great...may be reduction in the deal of F-16 with USA, is to support deal with China....anyhow have you any idea what equipments are in inventory.

I think it is very good. Am sure it will have no hidden circuits that can pass information back like probably all the US equipment being used in Balochistan and Wana has:smitten:

Count your cell phones too. :bunny:

I think it is very good. Am sure it will have no hidden circuits that can pass information back like probably all the US equipment being used in Balochistan and Wana has:smitten:

ji janab ik tu webby bhai is always sarcastic :wave:....aye laga aye saday nalo v pakay fauji nay...
anywaz ya u r right ....US item=bugged items.....
but u knw wht amrika ka mal amrika ka he hai....but may b to cut down the cost this might b a viable option...
overall china do produce ik number mal as being used in the west.....everything u find there is made in china...n its of guud quality...

Pakistan should only buy military hardware from the United States not from China.:pakistan:

there should be something with which u could see ppl hiding in the jungle... may be using infra red or something else.... will be really useful

I dont agree with KingKong, that Pakistan should procure weapons from US as tis not a reliable source as they any time execute ban as per their will. But on the other side China is very reliable source on which pakistan an rely. And there are many projects going in joint colobration between Chins and Pakistan.

Definatly for jungle and Gorilla warfare Infre-red and Night vision system would be good support. As after fighting with taliban PA have enough knowhow about Urban warfare. So its good for pakiatan to get iquipments form China.