O'Bahn, An Idea Pakistan Should consider?

FuturePAF

duobus07a.jpg

guided-trolleybus-tram-1a.jpg

Should Pakistan consider modifying the tracks in side major cities with O'Bahn style concrete sides, but keeping the tracks working, so both trains and buses can run on these tracks?

With modern Signal enhancements planned under CPEC anyway, and the need for more metro lines, upgrade these tracks to carry urban commuter in buses as well as intercity commuters on trains could be the most cost effective manner to address the urban transport problem.

Transporting workers and students from the furthest out places at the edge of our cities all the way to the city centers.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O-Bahn_Busway

. . . . .
Nice idea, should be explored...The traffic needs to be re-engineered using modern tools

Please aap sponsor kar dain na apni pocket money se :p:
Tax day to rahi hoon,aur kya karoon?

This can work when you have networked system which integrate both train and bus system

Politicians like to show off new MetroBus projects, but the issue of funding comes up, IF we can convince the government to convert sections of track to dual Rail-O'Bahn Systems, then they can finance rail infrastructure in urban areas under metro projects. O'bahn could also be seen as a way to take the pressure off the main line from being re-routed into each city center. The savings of building a more straight alignment could be invested into these O'bahn systems (on low ridership tracks) and the signals to make them work.

Using the most cost-effective mode of transportation will help save money, and creating multi-modal hubs; such as bus terminals and O'bahns at one train stations per city, will allow the track to be used most efficiently.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...l-for-improving-rail-track-and-signal-system/

“Why passengers will travel to Lahore from Sargodha by train that reaches the destination in five hours or so, while the road journey is just two hours or so?” he maintained.

if the savings is poured into better signals, and converting underutilized track into O-bahns, then we could save a lot of money. There are hundreds of kilometers of derelict track that run through our cities, and O-bahns are the cheapest ways to run them, especially if the ridership will be low at first, if they become more frequently used we can switch the track back to running trains. The funding can come from private ventures looking to run a private metro system at the cheapest cost, and a mix of advertisements at fair ticket prices could make them profitable due to the need to work in the cities but only being able to afford to live further away. We can't afford billion dollar metro-bus and metro-train projects.

Just looks at the Islamabad airport Metro-bus project. Perfectly good track that could have been converted to an O-Bahn just north/north-west of the airport. An O-Bahn would also allow relatively fast speeds, without having to build a whole new right of way (basically another highway just for buses). The great thing about O'bahns is once you get to an area without track, these are just buses that can travel on regular roads, and go into regular bus terminals or regular bus stops.

Expensive solution ... need higher initial investment but this is the right solution

A cost analysis for the most likely well traveled section should be studied; O'Bahn versus running a regular train versus light rail trains on these tracks, considering all the costs. If a private company is willing to make the investment, then the government should encourage them by cutting red tape (but not offer to subsidize the business venture), especially with tax breaks for a number of years (5-10 years).

duobus07a.jpg

guided-trolleybus-tram-1a.jpg

Should Pakistan consider modifying the tracks in side major cities with O'Bahn style concrete sides, but keeping the tracks working, so both trains and buses can run on these tracks?

With modern Signal enhancements planned under CPEC anyway, and the need for more metro lines, upgrade these tracks to carry urban commuter in buses as well as intercity commuters on trains could be the most cost effective manner to address the urban transport problem.

Transporting workers and students from the furthest out places at the edge of our cities all the way to the city centers.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O-Bahn_Busway

We don't have enough rails and you want them converted to bus tracks? First we need trains, both intracity and intercity. Along with subway systems like most developing nations. Then we can talk about this and tram systems.

gory ne 1800s me tram bana li hum se pichli railway nahi sambhal rahi, why are we so much incompetent

this is good concept but first economy should generate more wealth to be able for funding such projects

We don't have enough rails and you want them converted to bus tracks? First we need trains, both intracity and intercity. Along with subway systems like most developing nations. Then we can talk about this and tram systems.

Not convert, but modify by adding concrete edges as in the pictures so that both trains and buses can run on the same track. the added cost would be concrete and improved signals. The buses could run on the same power as the trains or their own power depending on which ever is more feasible.

you don't have to lose the track or modify the train track for the train
guided-trolleybus-tram-3.jpg

the buses have special rollers on the side to guide them along this concrete lining at maximum speed.
201603-020624.jpg

3c4c9b165c65852761dde31781cadf95.jpg

Its the "Duo Bus System" in the German city of Essen. while that line is used by buses and trams, we should study it between our regular trains and metro-buses. From this video you can see the tram and the bus are running on the same line.