Motor vehicle tax collection grows by 15pc to Rs12.7bn in 1HFY21

Morpheus

Motor vehicle tax collection grows by 15pc to Rs12.7bn in 1HFY21

The collection of motor vehicle tax increased by 15 percent to Rs12.7 billion during the first half (July–December) of the financial year 2020-21 owing to improved business and commercial activities after ease in coronavirus lockdown.

According to official statistics, the motor vehicle tax collected by all the provinces increased to Rs12.7 billion during the first half of the current fiscal year as compared with Rs11 billion in the corresponding half of the last fiscal year.

Province wise collection data revealed that Punjab contributed the major chunk under this head. The Punjab province collected Rs7.08 billion as motor vehicle tax during the first half of the current fiscal year as compared with Rs6.52 billion in the corresponding half of the last fiscal year.

In terms of growth, the Sindh province registered an increase of 28.48 percent to Rs4.28 billion during the period of July–December of the current fiscal year as compared with Rs3.33 billion during the same period of the last fiscal year.
The collection of motor vehicle tax by the province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa registered an increase of 2.24 percent to Rs865 million during the first half of the current fiscal year as compared with Rs846 million in the corresponding half of the last fiscal year.

The Balochistan province collected Rs413 million as motor vehicle tax during July–December 2020/2021 as compared with Rs303 million in the same period of the last fiscal year.

Earlier in January, the Excise and Taxation (E&T) department, Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) extended the deadline for submitting token tax on vehicles without penalty till January 31.
The decision was taken by keeping in view the enormous rush from the vehicle owners inside the office, Director, E&T Bilal Azam said.

The motorists could submit their vehicle token fee at the excise office from 9 am to 8 pm even after their office time or any designated branch of National Bank of Pakistan in the federal capital, he added. An online interface, he said, had also been set up between the Pakistan Post and the Excise and Taxation department, for collection of token tax of vehicles having Smart Card registration book.

The appellants could submit their token to the authorized Pakistan Post’s offices located in various sectors of the city including, F-8 Markaz, G-9 Markaz, I-10/4, G-8, G-10 Markaz, F-6 and G-6.Azam urged the motorists to use online appointment system, introduced by the department recently, to get their vehicle registered without waiting in long queues.

+++++++++++++++++

Tax tax tax

Car tax increased
Home tax in Islamabad as well
Tax increased on salary.

This idot govt hasn't created any new export or business model.

He will imposed tax on already tax paying people. Start selling govt institutions.

This govt is just eating fruit of trees grown by previous govts

Tax tax tax

Car tax increased
Home tax in Islamabad as well
Tax increased on salary.
I dont if I should laugh or Cry at your mindset bro.. first of all you pay taxes in almost every developed and even developing countries but yaha pe tax dete hue moat pta ni q parti he logo ko...

This idot govt hasn't created any new export or business model.
First of all its not the job of Govt to create new exports.. its the job of businesses to create export revenue...

And job of Govt is make an environment which supports businesses and provides business with ease of business doing facilities..

And your statement that exports have not increased is factually incorrect because exports in many sectors have seen increase...
He will imposed tax on already tax paying people. Start selling govt institutions.
And who are these tax paying people ? 🤔 last time I checked only 3% people were paying "Income tax" which is backbone of tax revenue in any country.. and govts in Pakistan have been imposing other taxes but those 80% of those taxes don't reach national exchequer either..

And can you please explain which govt institution was sold ? I havent heard govt selling institutions but have heard govt geting its land back..
This govt is just eating fruit of trees grown by previous govts
And what fruits will those be ? :rofl:
Import backed consumption based economy was fruit of previous govt right ?
Around 95 billion of external debt was also fruit of previous govt right ?
A f*cked up nearly bankrupt economy was also fruit of previous govt also right ?

Do answer my questions bahi k which institution is being sold ?

I dont if I should laugh or Cry at your mindset bro.. first of all you pay taxes in almost every developed and even developing countries but yaha pe tax dete hue moat pta ni q parti he logo ko...
if i will show you my tax report you will cry with me. i am paying 15 to 18% tax on my income. Alhamdullah i fall in that bracket however this doesnt justify

when you pay taxes in west, your roads are clear , go outside islamabad and see the nature of roads

-> transportation is at its best at west. ( there is only metro bus and train here )
-> medical treatment is at its best ((not US though) , in pakistan ever visited govt hospital ? my wife is doctor so dont start to lie around about medical facilities

if i will show you my tax report you will cry with me. i am paying 15 to 18% tax on my income. Alhamdullah i fall in that bracket however this doesnt justify

when you pay taxes in west, your roads are clear , go outside islamabad and see the nature of roads

-> transportation is at its best at west. ( there is only metro bus and train here )
-> medical treatment is at its best ((not US though) , in pakistan ever visited govt hospital ? my wife is doctor so dont start to lie around about medical facilities
Lolx brother do you know do you know that tax is 20% here in UK if you earn even £1 above personal allowance? 🤔 you pay taxes kudos to you lest hope rest of 97% people too pay taxes and then your tax can go a bit down..

And do you know the difference between west and Pakistan? Do you know about debt on our heads ? And roads are not that bad in Pakistan and not that good in UK... (they are good bit some places Pakistan se b badtar hain)

And true transportation is best in west but you need to grasp out the idea that theu took decades to come to this stage it didnt happen over night...

Same goes with health... and Pakistan now is working on Universal Health Service which is great step in right direction... KPK has got it fully covered.. lets hope all of the country does...

And lastly I will like to tell you again bro that only 3% of people pay taxes out of those taxes half goes to debt repayment... you can imagine what govt is left with to do stuff if all of us were paying taxes it would get better, not overnight but in a decade or so... that too if more people payed taxes and worked hard..

Btw you didn't have to ignore other stuff.. I spent time on writing it hope you get it 🙏

i worked in europe as well and understand what do you mean ,its easy to sit outside pakistan and analyse

however 3% who pays tax , their tax is getting increased. only 3% suffer more. and those 3% didnt took any loan but they are getting grilled.

, come and live in pakistan and say something, that debt will take 2-3 generations to pay. also please donot tell me something about i have direct interaction with >>>> talking about health services (my wife is doctor working in pakistan) , i request you to visit any govt hospital and then say something. first wait 1 hour of line then you will see doctor for 1-2 min.

I shat so hard after reading this. The voice echoed across Jati Umra and Model Town.
he or either his chacha taya phopa belongs to pmln and gave him contracts and works so that he was earning huge its evident from his post. Thats why he said that govt should give export.
i worked in europe as well and understand what do you mean ,its easy to sit outside pakistan and analyse

however 3% who pays tax , their tax is getting increased. only 3% suffer more. and those 3% didnt took any loan but they are getting grilled.

, come and live in pakistan and say something, that debt will take 2-3 generations to pay. also please donot tell me something about i have direct interaction with >>>> talking about health services (my wife is doctor working in pakistan) , i request you to visit any govt hospital and then say something. first wait 1 hour of line then you will see doctor for 1-2 min.

3% tou ab hoiye hai previous govt mai 1% se 2% tha tab so rahay thai?

aur jo nahi dei rahay aun ko bolo sharam dilao and if govt take action then u will say look zulm horaha awamm per. this awam is corrupt to the core.

LOL, I love your rant

OH boohoo hoo hoo, you pay 18% tax on your income I feel so sorry for you. I pay 35% Income tax in Canada then I pay 13% sales tax on everything we buy on already taxed income, then we pay 85% tax on Gasoline in Canada, property tax, sewer tax, energy delivery charge and then tax on top of that plus NEW one Environment Tax.

Medical facilities in west other than the USA are paid by the Taxes people pay not like in Pakistan, where Idiots want everything given to them without actually paying anything into the system.

talking about health services (my wife is doctor working in pakistan) , i request you to visit any govt hospital and then say something. first wait 1 hour of line then you will see doctor for 1-2 min.

Health responsibility was given to province govt after 18th amendement. If you are in Sindh, you can only blame ppp since they have been in power for the last 10 years.

Liaqatabad paid all of this tax. The above news post is lying. Sons of soil conspiracy to oppress Karachi. They are trying to suppress Karachi/urdu speak voice.
#LiaqatabadPaysMoreTaxThanEntirePlanet #LarOBar # KarachiKoIzzatDo #SOSKarachi #BhaiKoKuchMatBolio!!

i request you to visit any govt hospital and then say something. first wait 1 hour of line then you will see doctor for 1-2 min.

In one post you're saying the current govt. is enjoying the fruits of the previous govt. and then you spit out this gem. I don't know whether to laugh or cry.

Every problem has a solution, except if you want to willingly hold on to Nawaz and Zardari's.
The cure is castration.

West is heavily taxed in everything except vehicles sales tax. Annual Road tax is way way higher than in Pakistan as well. You should pull the tax rates on income and goods etc of Pakistan and UK for example. Huge difference. These countries have huge spending budgets because they have high tax collection and everyone pays (whether employed or self employed). How many self employed pay incomes taxes in Pakistan?

Until people willingly start paying taxes or really clamped down hard to pay, those who can will bear the grunt.

50% of tax revenue is repayment of loans taken by previous governments. So basically Pakistan took the loans and instead of investing to generate tax income to repay, it got looted and spent on non-revenue generating projects.

Govt to Collect Advance Tax on Cars that Are Sold within 90 Days

Posted 13 hours ago by Jehangir Nasir

Toyota-cars-Indus-Motor-Company-IMC.jpg

Every motor vehicle registering authority of Excise and Taxation Department shall collect advance tax from the buyers of the locally manufactured motor vehicles who subsequently sell it within 90 days of delivery of such vehicles, whether prior to or after registration, at the specified rates.

Sources told ProPakistani that the Law Division has vetted the Ordinance which would be promulgated after the signing of the President.

Under the draft Tax Law Amendment Ordinance 2021, the Board would have the power to share data or information including real time data, videos, images received under the Sales Tax Act 1990 with any other ministry or division of the federal government or provincial government, subject to the limitations and conditions as may be specified by the Board.

The government may exempt sales tax on goods temporarily imported into Pakistan by international athletes or sportsmen which would be subsequently taken back by them within 120 days of temporary import, as per draft Tax Law Amendment Ordinance 2021.

Through the proposed Tax Law Amendment Ordinance 2021, every motor vehicle registering authority of Excise and Taxation Department shall collect advance tax from the buyers of the locally manufactured motor vehicles who subsequently sell it within 90 days of delivery of such vehicles, whether prior to or after registration, at the specified rates. Provided that no collection of this advance tax would be made after June 30, 2021.

Under the draft Tax Law Amendment Ordinance 2021, every banking company maintaining a foreign currency value account (FCVA) or a non-resident Pakistani Rupee Value Account (NRVA) of a non-resident individual holding Pakistan Origin Card (POC) or National ID Card for overseas Pakistanis (NICOP) or computerized national identity card (CNIC) shall deduct tax from capital gains arising on disposal of debt instruments and government securities and certificates (including Shahriah compliant variant) invested through aforesaid accounts at the specified rates.

Through an amendment in section 236C of the Income Tax Ordinance 2001 under the Tax Law Amendment Ordinance 2021, if the seller or transferor is a non-resident individual holding Pakistan Origin Card (POC) or National ID Card for overseas Pakistanis (NICOP) or computerized national identity card (CNIC) who has acquired the sale immovable property through a foreign currency value account (FCVA) or a non-resident Pakistani Rupee Value Account (NRVA) maintained with the authorized banks in Pakistan under the foreign exchange regulations issued by the State Bank of Pakistan, the tax collected under this section from such persons shall be final discharge of tax liability in lieu of capital gains taxable under section 37 of the Income Tax Ordinance 2001 earned by the seller or transferor from the property so disposed off.

If the buyer or transferee is a non-resident individual holding Pakistan Origin Card (POC) or National ID Card for overseas Pakistanis (NICOP) or computerized national identity card (CNIC) who has acquired the said immovable property through a foreign currency value account (FCVA) or a non-resident Pakistani Rupee Value Account (NRVA) maintained with the authorized banks in Pakistan under the foreign exchange regulations issued by the State Bank of Pakistan, the tax collected under this section from such persons shall be final discharge of tax liability for such buyer or transferee, draft Ordinance said.
Under the draft Tax Law Amendment Ordinance 2021, the rate of advance tax on sale to distributors, dealers or wholesalers of fertilizers shall be 0.25 percent, if they already are or get themselves registered under the Sales Tax Act 1990 within 60 days of the promulgation of the Tax Law Amendment Ordinance 2021.

As per draft Tax Law Amendment Ordinance 2021, it is proposed that the rate of tax deducted under section 151 of the Income Tax Ordinance 2001 shall be 10 percent from the profit on debt from a debt instrument whether conventional or Shahriah compliant, issued by the federal government under the Public Debt Act 1944 or its wholly owned special purpose company, purchased by a resident citizen of Pakistan, who has already declared foreign assets to the Board through a foreign currency value account (FCVA) maintained with authorized banks in Pakistan under the foreign exchange regulations issued by the State Bank of Pakistan. Provided that the tax so dedicated would be the final tax.

The provisions of section 100BA and rule 1 of the Tenth Schedule of the Income Tax Ordinance may not be appliable on non-resident individual holding Pakistan Origin Card (POC) or National ID Card for overseas Pakistanis (NICOP) or computerized national identity card (CNIC) or a non-resident Pakistani Rupee Value Account (NRVA) maintained with the authorized banks in Pakistan under the foreign exchange regulations issued by the State Bank of Pakistan,

The tax payable by cotton ginners on their income and profits shall not be more than sum of one percent of their turnover from cotton lint, cotton seed, cotton oil seed and cotton seed cake, the draft Ordinance stated.

The provisions of section 231A, 231AA and 236P shall not apply to the holders of the foreign currency value account (FCVA) and non-resident Pakistani rupee value account (NRPRVA) in respect of their accounts only.

The provisions of clause (ae) of sub-section 1 of section 114 and section 181 of the Income Tax Ordinance shall not apply to a non-resident individual holding Pakistan Origin Card (POC) or National ID Card for overseas Pakistanis (NICOP) or computerized national identity card (CNIC), foreign currency value account (FCVA) or a non-resident Pakistani Rupee Value Account (NRVA) maintained with the authorized banks in Pakistan under the foreign exchange regulations issued by the State Bank of Pakistan.
Provided that this clause shall not apply in certain cases as specified in the Tax Law Amendment Ordinance 2021.

The Ordinance is expected to waiver off other taxes already approved by the Cabinet to facilitate promotion of four-wheeler electric vehicles (EVs) in the country.
Cabinet had approved the removal of additional customs duty and three percent additional sales tax on imports of EV cars.

+++++++++++++++++++++++