Lahore Metro Train Project | News and Updates

Most of the aversion to the metro here is because the shariffs initiated it. Totally illogical. Shariffs have executed excellent motor ways, metro buses and now metro train.
Even the badly studied cpec was started by shariff. This is not good simply because it should have been a private investment by the Chinese rather than a sovereign guarantee by the Pakistanis. Let the Chinese take the risk.
Remove the above and what does Pakistan have in the name of infrastructure ?

This govt. is spoiler, it will spoil whatever comes in its hand.

haha no, metros are a convenience. If you build a metro in the city, people would prefer to travel on that rather than getting stuck in traffic. Metros are preferred in busy cities, if Lahore is a very busy city, then MRT systems will reduce fuel usage as well as save time. Not to forget, there are hardly any metros that run on profit. It's more of a saving that you can get through other means like environment or fuel savings. Nothing to do with being called a developed nation.
Was reading only 2% population of the Hyderabad, India was using the Metro there....in Mumbai it is now only 11.5 kms long, more are planned but slow in implementation.
I agree with earlier comment of @Enigma SIG that walkways and pedestrian zones should have taken the lead...metro could have waited. And public buses in large numbers would have been many times more beneficial than this mammoth 250 billion rupee project. If a robust public bus system was incorporated, it would have been great...but that doesn't gives the optics and grandiosness, which people falls for...
Most of the aversion to the metro here is because the shariffs initiated it. Totally illogical. Shariffs have executed excellent motor ways, metro buses and now metro train.
Even the badly studied cpec was started by shariff. This is not good simply because it should have been a private investment by the Chinese rather than a sovereign guarantee by the Pakistanis. Let the Chinese take the risk.
Remove the above and what does Pakistan have in the name of infrastructure ?
Right...khata hai tau kia lagata bhi hai....

Was reading only 2% population of the Hyderabad, India was using the Metro there....in Mumbai it is now only 11.5 kms long, more are planned but slow in implementation.
I agree with earlier comment of @Enigma SIG that walkways and pedestrian zones should have taken the lead...metro could have waited. And public buses in large numbers would have been many times more beneficial than this mammoth 250 billion rupee project. If a robust public bus system was incorporated, it would have been great...but that doesn't gives the optics and grandiosness, which people falls for...
It's not about what percentage of people use the metro but how many use it. Most importantly, fuel consumption is on the rise everywhere without metros, it'll exasperate the situation. Mumbai metro is already an addition to the Mumbai suburban rails which already run like a mini metro.
Let daily average ridership comes out and only then we can find if it is beneficial. Not now, but maybe after 3-5 years of operation. No infrastructure construction is a waste for developing countries. A lot of business will grow around it.

Orange Line Metro Train Project Consumed The Entire Budget Of Punjab Transport?
By Rana Asim Last updated June 17, 2021 2

800px-Lahore_Orange_line_metro.jpg

PML-N government's gift of Orange Line Metro train to the people of Lahore is proving to be a heavy burden on the pockets of the provincial government this year as well. 92% of the budget allocated for transport projects will be spent on one train only.

According to the budget document, the Punjab government has allocated a budget of Rs 16.80 billion for the Punjab Transport Department in the next financial year.

Out of this Rs 16.8 billion, Rs 15.59 billion will be spent on the Orange Line Metro train project alone.
In other words, only Rs 1.20 billion can be spent for all other transport projects in Punjab province and Rs 15.77 billion will be spent directly on the Orange Line Metro train project only.
According to the budget documents, Rs 278 million will be spent on support services for the Orange Line Metro Train project and Rs 31.25 million on Package Two.
Package III of the Orange Line Metro Train Project will cost Rs. 31.25 million and Package 4 will also cost Rs. 31.25 million

Orange Line Metro Train Project Consumed The Entire Budget Of Punjab Transport?
By Rana Asim Last updated June 17, 2021 2

800px-Lahore_Orange_line_metro.jpg

PML-N government's gift of Orange Line Metro train to the people of Lahore is proving to be a heavy burden on the pockets of the provincial government this year as well. 92% of the budget allocated for transport projects will be spent on one train only.

According to the budget document, the Punjab government has allocated a budget of Rs 16.80 billion for the Punjab Transport Department in the next financial year.

Out of this Rs 16.8 billion, Rs 15.59 billion will be spent on the Orange Line Metro train project alone.
In other words, only Rs 1.20 billion can be spent for all other transport projects in Punjab province and Rs 15.77 billion will be spent directly on the Orange Line Metro train project only.
According to the budget documents, Rs 278 million will be spent on support services for the Orange Line Metro Train project and Rs 31.25 million on Package Two.
Package III of the Orange Line Metro Train Project will cost Rs. 31.25 million and Package 4 will also cost Rs. 31.25 million

lahoris must be proud of it

In the UK we don't have metro projects for buses. We Paint bus lanes on the roads, so buses have a dedicated lane available to them all the time in the busy parts of the city. No other traffic can go in that lane, they are monitored by cameras which will send a fine to your home if you go into these lanes. Some of them don't even have the cameras, people have common decency and abide the law, even if it is a ridiculous one.

I have previously proposed traffic lit bus lanes. All buses could have trackers on them, when they are approaching a bus lane the signal turns to red and normal traffic cannot use the lane. When the bus is clear, the traffic can continue to use the lane as the signal is green. Or even easier just prohibit traffic from using the bus lane during peak times.

1624004471199.png

Attachments

• 1624004413900.png
    1624004413900.png
    764 KB · Views: 47
In the UK we don't have metro projects for buses. We Paint bus lanes on the roads, so buses have a dedicated lane available to them all the time in the busy parts of the city. No other traffic can go in that lane, they are monitored by cameras which will send a fine to your home if you go into these lanes. Some of them don't even have the cameras, people have common decency and abide the law, even if it is a ridiculous one.

I have previously proposed traffic lit bus lanes. All buses could have trackers on them, when they are approaching a bus lane the signal turns to red and normal traffic cannot use the lane. When the bus is clear, the traffic can continue to use the lane as the signal is green. Or even easier just prohibit traffic from using the bus lane during peak times.

View attachment 754481
Pakistani aisa koi rule follow nahen karte aur na karenge.

This is part of the problem. I suspect maybe 1 in 10, or 1 in 100 would obey this sort of rule in Pakistan without threat of a danda.

That is what we need to change. You can't blame that on government or culture, that is within the control of the individual.

This is part of the problem. I suspect maybe 1 in 10, or 1 in 100 would obey this sort of rule in Pakistan without threat of a danda.

That is what we need to change. You can't blame that on government or culture, that is within the control of the individual.
Unless HEAVY and i mean heavy fines are not imposed, no body is going to tow in line.
I remember my time in KSA. You cross one red signal, you were fined 500 riyals (£95) . Two times you cross, 1500 (£290) riyals fine and spend a day in jail. 3rd time your license in cancelled and (£580) fine.

they have increased it now.

CPEC Orange train to go solar​

By Yasir Habib Khan | Gwadar Pro Aug 15, 2022

ISLAMABAD, August 15 (Gwadar Pro)- The first urban railway system Orange Line Metro Train (OLMT) in Lahore is going to go solarized to save the soaring more than Rs 1.9 billion annual electricity bill being consumed on entire operationalization of Metro Train.
Punjab Mass Transit Authority (PMAT) is operating OLMT since the train was handed over to it by the Chinese contractor CR-NORINCO, a joint venture between China State Railway Group (CR) and China North Industries Corporation (NORINCO) in 2020.
In an exclusive interview with Gwadar Pro, General Manager (operation) of PMAT, Ozair Shah said that electrifying OLMT with solar system is inevitable as the per unit cost of electricity varies between Rs. 18 to Rs. 21 that is not viable to run the entire function of OLMT for longer time.
Many conceptual plans are on the cards to materialize solar system for Metro Train weighing up their merits and demerits, he added.
“One of the plans is to build up a solar plant with the capacity of 50 MG or 70 MG. The solar plant will activate a mechanism of input to output through WeLink to power up OLMT instead of using traditional electricity apparatus,” he said.
After the operationalization of OLMT, its total ridership has exceeded 20 million. It has achieved advanced operating international standards with 90,000 train trips, covering a total distance of 12 million kilometers, with trip efficiency at 99.9% and a punctuality rate at 99.9%. Orange Line Metro Railway Project has 26 stations and track spanning over 27 kilometers long.
In addition, travel efficiency of the citizens was greatly improved, and journey of the entire route was reduced from 2.5 hours to only 45 minutes. In addition, the operation of the orange line is playing its role in reducing the use of old cars within the city, reduce emission of gases, improve environmental pollution, and promote the green and sustainable development of the city.
Orange Line Metro is driven by all electric energy to achieve zero pollution and zero emission. It is estimated that the annual fuel emission of gases will be reduced by 30,000 tons.
OLMT is a project under CPEC. The agreement for this project was signed in April 2015, marking its great significance for both China and Pakistan.