KSE Worlds 3rd best market

Hyde

SENIOR MODERATOR
KSE among world’s best markets

Updated at: 1244 PST, Tuesday, April 06, 2010
KSE among world’s best markets KARACHI: The Karachi Stock Exchange (KSE) has secured third position among the 19 best markets of the world on the basis of performance during the period of January to March 2010.

According to international analytical report, Pakistan stock market on the basis of performance stood at number three from January to March whereas increase of 8.4 percent has been recorded in Pakistani markets during the same period.

The report added that Sri Lankan market tops besides Indonesia who stood at second place.

Zaki Bhai, not to be overly critic but isn't this just based on volume increase during the three month period rather than an analysis of the performance? Anyways, an 8 percent volume increase is showing investor confidence and the stock market has been bullish over the past weeks as well.

oh yaar i just shared a news :lol:

and all major stock markets are bullish since past couple of months. Peoples are trusting stock markets once again and they are on 52 weeks high.

KSE (18 Months high)
DOW Jones (12 months high)
S&P 500 (12 Months high)
NASDAQ (12 months high)
London (12 months high)
Paris (12 months high)
NIKKIE (12 months high)

everywhere you see they are on 12 months high.

and KSE was suppose to rise again this is not an impressive news for me remember back in 2008 we were 16,000 points and then dropped to 7000 in 2009 and now it was certain the markets will retrace due to Fibonacci.

Fibonacci - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Fibonacci retracement - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Whatever the reason is....... but the good news is that we are ranked at number 3 in World's best market :lol::lol::lol::lol: and this news will help bringing a lot of new investors in Pakistan i know ;) :yahoo:

Our potential is underused and thats a fact. During 2000-2010, all the Asian markets have been on the boom while we in Pakistan have been engrossed into socio-political nightmares. Now Pakistan has turning its tide of darkness over and many aspects of society are on improve including judiciary, media, public awareness and economic activities. Although getting only slightly better but we have starting bouncing back after hitting the ocean bottom. I hope Pakistan will regain its growth rate and soon Inshallah.

Be aware of Mr. %age and moron looters.

its not the volume. its the return per market share.
but on a critical note, we are the riskiest market as well which takes away most of the advantage. but with political environment calming down, im quite optimistic about this year.

and all major stock markets are bullish since past couple of months. Peoples are trusting stock markets once again and they are on 52 weeks high.

KSE (18 Months high)
S&P 500 (12 Months high)
NASDAQ (12 months high)
London (12 months high)
Paris (12 months high)
NIKKIE (12 months high)

and KSE was suppose to rise again this is not an impressive news for me remember back in 2008 we were 16,000 points and then dropped to 7000 in 2009 and now it was certain the markets will retrace due to Fibonacci.

Whatever the reason is....... but the good news is that we are ranked at number 3 in World's best market :lol::lol::lol::lol: and this news will help bringing a lot of new investors in Pakistan i know ;) :yahoo:

Wooooov.......I doubt the report and analysis.

Because Sensex(BSE) has hit its 25 month high.And the investors got more than 170% return.
Sensex pares early gains to close flat-Market News-Stocks-Markets-The Economic Times

Karachi stock exchange has been star performer for a decade now.

KSE-100 was just over 1000 points at the end of 1999, and it closed at over 9727.40 on Dec 31, 2009. Pakistan rupee remained quite stable at 60 rupees to a US dollar until 2008, slipping only recently to about 80 rupees to a dollar. In spite of the currency decline, Pakistan's KSE-100 stock index surged 55% in 2009 in US dollar terms and 65% in rupee terms. During the same period of 1999-2009, Mumbai Sensex index moved from just over 5000 points to close at 17,464.81. If you had invested $100 in KSE-100 stocks on Dec. 31, 1999, you'd have over $900 today, while $100 invested in the Mumbai's Sensex stocks would be worth $274. Investment of $100 in emerging-market stocks in general on Dec. 31, 1999, would get you about $262 today, while $100 invested in the S&P500 would be worth $91.

Using a 10-year window with year-end closes in 1999 and 2009, it comes to about 21% CAGR. If you discount it for Pak currency decline from 55 to 85 rupees to a dollar (most of which occurred since 2008), then the CAGR return is still a whopping 16% a year....clearly beating all of the BRIC nations' stock performance in this period.

Haq's Musings: Karachi Tops Mumbai in Stock Performance

Goldman Sachs, Franklin-Templeton Bullish on Pakistan

KSE market capitalization declines 0.79 pct during week

Market Capitalization
KSE total market capitalization declined by 0.79 percent during last week to reach KD 33.27 billion, as five of KSE’s sectors recorded a decrease in their respective market capitalization, whereas the other three recorded increases. The Investment sector headed the decliners list as its total market capitalization reached KD 3.30 billion, decreasing by 1.96 percent. The Services sector was the second in terms of recorded decline with 1.68 percent decrease after the total value of its listed companies reached KD 9.47 billion. The third place was for the Industry sector, which total market capitalization reached KD 2.96 billion by the end of the week, recording a decline of 1.55 percent. The Banks sector was the least declining with 0.57 percent recorded decrease after its market capitalization amounted to KD 11.21 billion.
On the other hand, the Non-Kuwaiti companies sector headed the growing sectors as its total market capitalization reached KD 3.25 billion, increasing by 2.10 percent. The Insurance sector was the second in terms of recorded growth with 0.95 percent increase after the total value of its listed companies reached KD 302.09 million. The third place was for the Real Estate sector, which total market capitalization reached KD 1.99 billion by the end of the week, recording an increase of 0.53 percent.

KD 33.27 billion = USD115.25Billion

Karachi stock exchange has been star performer for a decade now.

KSE-100 was just over 1000 points at the end of 1999, and it closed at over 9727.40 on Dec 31, 2009. Pakistan rupee remained quite stable at 60 rupees to a US dollar until 2008, slipping only recently to about 80 rupees to a dollar. In spite of the currency decline, Pakistan's KSE-100 stock index surged 55% in 2009 in US dollar terms and 65% in rupee terms. During the same period of 1999-2009, Mumbai Sensex index moved from just over 5000 points to close at 17,464.81. If you had invested $100 in KSE-100 stocks on Dec. 31, 1999, you'd have over $900 today, while $100 invested in the Mumbai's Sensex stocks would be worth $274. Investment of $100 in emerging-market stocks in general on Dec. 31, 1999, would get you about $262 today, while $100 invested in the S&P500 would be worth $91.

Haq's Musings: Karachi Tops Mumbai in Stock Performance

Goldman Sachs, Franklin-Templeton Bullish on Pakistan

I am still thinking how to laugh at your figures.And added to that you are maintaining a blog with some dilusioned numbers

* 4000, March 30, 1992 - On March 30, 1992, the Sensex crossed the 4,000-mark and closed at 4,091 on the expectations of a liberal export-import policy. It was then that the Harshad Mehta scam hit the markets and Sensex witnessed unabated selling.

* 5000, October 11, 1999 - On October 8, 1999, the Sensex crossed the 5,000-mark as the Bharatiya Janata Party-led coalition won the majority in the 13th Lok Sabha election.

* 21,000, Jan 08, 2008 - The Sensex on January 8, 2008 touched all time peak of 21078 before closing at 20873.[3]
BSE Sensex - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

It would be of utmost help,to not talk of something you dont know.

KSE (18 Months high)
S&P 500 (12 Months high)
NASDAQ (12 months high)
London (12 months high)
Paris (12 months high)
NIKKIE (12 months high)

Lol so nice you said all major stock markets in the world and then so easily managed to skip the BSE and the NSE lol

I am still thinking how to laugh at your figures.And added to that you are maintaining a blog with some dilusioned numbers

* 4000, March 30, 1992 - On March 30, 1992, the Sensex crossed the 4,000-mark and closed at 4,091 on the expectations of a liberal export-import policy. It was then that the Harshad Mehta scam hit the markets and Sensex witnessed unabated selling.

* 5000, October 11, 1999 - On October 8, 1999, the Sensex crossed the 5,000-mark as the Bharatiya Janata Party-led coalition won the majority in the 13th Lok Sabha election.

* 21,000, Jan 08, 2008 - The Sensex on January 8, 2008 touched all time peak of 21078 before closing at 20873.[3]
BSE Sensex - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

It would be of utmost help,to not talk of something you dont know.

First of all, there is no need to get personal.

Second, I don't see your point. Riaz is taking about a 10 year date range. You can pick other dates and end up with different closing levels for the Sensex. However, over the 1999-2010 period, the KSE has delivered far higher returns than the Sensex, any way you look at it.

Palestine (PSE) has best performing stock exchange. With return avg 20% from inception 1998. It beats even mighty USA also.

FT.com / Emerging Markets - Push to raise Palestinian bourse?s profile

“Since we opened in 1997, investors have achieved an average annual return of 17.5 per cent. That’s not bad,” he said. More than half the shares currently listed on the PSE are held by local investors, with much of the rest controlled by investors from the Gulf and other Arab countries.

-Warrior